Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Longthorns Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wareham > Longthorns Farm > Reviews

Longthorns Farm
Longthorns
Bere Regis
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 6HH
Tel: 01929 401539  or  07790663654
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 68 Tents Caravans & Glamping
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marrio 1 review from this member

 A lovely clean family friendly site.

We were pitched in the quieter field which suited us perfectly but to be honest the whole site was calm and quiet at this time.

Very well maintained and run by a very friendly, helpful and efficient team.

A most enjoyable relaxing break all round.

We will be coming back in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Stacey 1 review from this member

 Amazing time from start to finish.

We booked last minute as we were going to have a packed day in Dorset. I called before hand to say we were coming, booked online, called when we were there and stayed for 1 night.

The facilities were clean. Saw the alpacas.

The site was very quiet and was just what we needed.

Will definitely be booking again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nicola Price 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely stay at Longthorns. Great level, well-drained pitches clearly marked - lots of space.

Great facilities - clean, well-stocked. Good shop - great pastries!

We didn't use the cafe or bar - but it looked lovely and had we been there longer we would have done.

Alpacas very lovely too! 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaybeth 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for Christmas, the best Christmas ever (even though it rained every day 😂) no stress, no hassle, peaceful, relaxing (no family!) cooked a full Christmas dinner which for once I enjoyed,

The lovely alpacas, the tame sheep Zak & Lulu, lovely scenery, listening to the monkeys at Monkey World that's just down the road,

Lovely helpful manager / warden who helped when our 4x4 got stuck in the mud, yep!

It rained that much 😂😂 even hosing the car & caravan down for us before we left, thank you.

Planning on staying next Christmas too, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Serina 1 review from this member

 This was a lovely place to stay, family are very friendly and made sure you had everything you needed.

We visited Monkey world next door which is a must for anyone who stay’s here.

We will be back soon… 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Darren 1 review from this member

 Had an amazing weekend. Amazing staff. Had an issue with the coffee machine and they were happy to sort it immediately.

Made some wonderful friends and will defo be going back.

They have some alpacas and even though we didn't book onto the alpaca walk they were very happy to stop and give us lots of information about them.

Never been to a campsite with such clean showers and toilets.

Thank you Longhorns campsite staff 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Aruaux 11 reviews from this member

 Really nice campsite!

Easy check in and the pitches are not at all "regimented". Ours was a little bit bumpy in places

( someone may have had a heavier vehicle on it) but this encouraged us to pitch our tent facing longways and not facing into the centre of the field. Which was actually very pleasant and a bit more private!

We did have a smaller tent for the kids to sleep in as well. But plenty of room for the two tents.

Toilets and showers were clean, water hot and plentiful. Same with the washing up area, and never had to queue for either and the site was by no means empty nor did it seem to be at full capacity.

Fire pits to hire were easily available and you get it for the duration of your stay, just pay for extra logs and kindling. I loved the eco friendly firelighters! No smell and work a treat!

Shop has all the essentials and reasonable prices. There is a takeout food menu but its not available on Mondays so we got one from a place recommended by Longhthorns which does deliver or you can go to (its a mile down the rd in Bovingdon Camp) and was really nice.

Every evening there were quite a few people sitting out by a "campfire", which was lovely. First time I've ever had toasted marshmallows!

For anyone who likes Stargazing. A great spot to look at the night sky.

Campsite was lovely and quite after 10pm as per the sites rules.

Monkey world is literally right next door and you can easily walk there, its probably quicker to walk than drive! We did hear the Gibbons hooting in the morning! Brilliant!

Tank Museum is five mins by car, well worth a visit, and much to my surprise, had many families and people of all ages !

I thoroughly recommend Longhthorns, a real gem of a site! Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Bridol 2 reviews from this member

 Great location for a holiday, right next to Monkey World and Tank Museum just down the road, close to both Weymouth and Poole, both worth visiting. In short yes, we do plan on going back because we had a good holiday here :D

In more detail:

Site itself is really nice, mainly flat or gentle slope, several fields and space for the kids to play in the middle of each field. Pitches are round the edge of the field on most fields, they also have glamping and shepherds huts which look nice. Alpaca, and very friendly sheep are added bonus as is the woodland walk. You can book to take the alpaca for a walk if you wish. No playground for kids.

Small shop/Reception open 8am to 8pm, has basics but not much more. Apparently you can order food (orders by 4pm) Tuesday-Sunday but we did not try that and a bar open for a couple of hours in the evening with a large fire pit outside if you don't have your own.

Definitely need to take your torches as the site is not lit. Toilet blocks do have internal lights but none in the washing up area so take a lantern with you or wash up whilst the sun is up ;)

Site quietened down at a reasonable time each night but fellow campers were never noisy anyway just a few feral kids running around too close to fire pits at times which was irritating - not the site's fault. Main noise is from the tanks as the tank driving school is just up the road. They go out about 8pm and are usually back by 11pm, only once did they come back at 3:30am and woke me up but not anyone else in the tent! It is noisy but only lasts maybe 5 minutes each time so really isn't a big deal, its a bit longer when they have the helicopters going too!

In the morning you can hear the singing monkeys which is rather cute.

The washing up area and wash rooms were cleaned very regularly and cant fault them in this respect. They are closed when they are doing a deep clean late morning each day but you can use the loo in the family room when your loo block is closed and it was never a problem. Although there were only 6 loos and showers in the ladies (4 loos, 2 urinals and 6 showers in the mens) they were never crowded and never had to queue. Biggest problem was water pressure so the toilets did not fill up quick enough which meant either you often could not flush or had to wait before you could flush, good pressure in the showers though.

No shortage of hot water for showers or washing up. Tip: if showers were quiet you need to press the button 1-3 times to run the cold off before if got warm, press and run!

What could be improved:

1. More opportunities for campers to meet the alpaca, you could see them all the time but they did not come very close to the fence, plus having their names up and info about them would be nice

2. Lighting in the washing up area (there is a light but guessing the bulb is only 2W )

3. Cubicles with a sink in so you could have a wash in private.

4. Install a divider wall across each shower cubicle with a seat. So, currently they are like extra long toilet cubicles with hooks on the back of the door. You can put your things in a bag so they don't get wet but its challenging to get dressed and keep things dry when there is no bench/stool to keep things off the floor and the whole floor area gets wet.

5. More powerful hairdryer needs to be installed. Currently the hand dryers have more oompf and when you have long thick hair that takes an age to dry this is important

Please note that due to Covid they do NOT have a freezer to refreeze your ice packs (very annoying because we are all capable of putting them in a bag and sanitising them before using them again) but they do sell ice, nor do they have phone charging stations so either turn your phone off or have good battery packs.

They did say that their phone signal was bad, it was around the reception area but on our field we had good signal and 4G no problem. All tourist places need to be booked in advance on their websites (and some restaurants too) so this was more critical than normal. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bettyboop1194 1 review from this member

 Peaceful, well kept. Lovely.

Only issue was there was no phone signal if you wanted it.

Good location, pretty site, can hear the monkeys from monkey world next door :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 Really great location for visits to Monkey World.

They have a llama walking activity you can do which looked fun.

Other than that due to the location you will need to drive to find anything else to do.

I was there during the pandemic but it was a shame the people who run the site were not around much and the shop was shut, but it was an odd time.

It is kept next to a working farm so children would need to be an eye on 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Longthorns Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Longthorns Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Longthorns Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement