Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Priory Mill Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Priory Mill Farm
Hay Road
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7SRCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cerisjones 10 reviews from this member

My partner and I spent four nights here and would definitely return. It is a back to basics type of site which we prefer and subsequently it is a very relaxing place to stay. The river Honddu borders one side of the site which is lovely to wake up to and Brecon town is only a ten minute walk away. If you are looking for somewhere to eat I would recommend the Chang Thai restaurant (it looks unloved from the outside but is a lot nicer inside :)).

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Spongemum 3 reviews from this member

Very attractive site but sadly for those in campervans you are put up the end closest to the road and amongst the allocated parking for the tent campers who get the best views of the river.
The road is a fairly busy A road but not too intrusive.
Spotless facilities and lovely eggs from the attractive silver laced Wyandottes and other hens.
Sad not to be able to have a peek in the fabulous looking Mill, probably elf & safety! We did however visit the working water mill at Talgarth on the way home as recommended by the campsite owners, and bought bags of some of their own milled flour.
It was a shame that you couldn't cross the river to a wonderful wooded walk the other side but had to walk up the road first (pavement fortunately) to a bridge but it wasn't far and the Brecon cathedral nearby is well worth a visit as well as the campsite being convenient for the town of Brecon.
Other campers were friendly and there was a good atmosphere. We didn't bother with a campfire as it was quite muggy weather but it was lovely seeing other campers some of whom were clearly meeting up with friends or family and sitting around enjoying their fire pits.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fwoods 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site. Weather was beautiful and we pitched on the river bank, where we were lucky enough to spot a Dipper (bird). The facilities were excellent, and the owners (and their hens) were very friendly. An easy, short cycle ride from Brecon, morning coffee, etc. Would love to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winningblue3 2 reviews from this member

I visited in mid April with my girlfriend, Kate and our small dog, Taco. Kate hadn't been camping for years and, at 4 months old, Taco had never been ever.

We arrived mid after noon and found the site with no issues using the directions given on the site's webpage. My car sits quite low but had no issues driving down the slope to the site. First stop is at the bottom of the sloped drive to check in with the owners. They gave lots of useful information about the site and were able to answer my questions about dog friendly pubs in the area. I purchased wood which comes with kindling too for use in the free fire pits.

We were allowed to pick our own spot on the site and picked somewhere mid way between the far end and the amenities at the top of the site. A flowing river runs down one edge of the long site with a quiet main road running along a ridge on the other side. The site gently slopes towards the river so bare this in mind when laying out bedding. Cars aren't allowed on the grass and cannot be left near tents but whelbarrows are available to transport your kit.

The camping ground consists of well maintained grass and the ground is quiet even. There are no defined pitches and site wasn't overly busy so there was plenty of space between tents. The owners have a small dog which didn't venture far from the house. There are some free range hens which roam the site and are not backward in coming forward where food is concerned. There are signs up apologising for this which state the hens have been known to steal sausages from BBQs etc.

We made use of the free fire pit and borrowed some log stools to use as tables. The washing up area is covered and has two stations. There was washing up liquid and sponges here, not sure if these were left by other campers or provided by the owners. There is a small hut with a fridge/freezer for cool packs. There is also a mains socket here for charging various devices. A small library is also situated in this cabin along with information and guides about the local area.

The toilet shower block is small with 2 showers and a few toilet cubicles. The showers take 50p and run for 5 mins. I founds this plenty. The showers have a small dry area in the cubicle to change. This is small but you can get by. All of the facilities were very clean.

I like my camping basic and so don't really look out for site features that don't interest me. I did not see any electric hookups walking through the site. There are a few standpipes on the site for drinking water and also a chemical toilet facility. There were a few small camper vans at the end of the field in a separate area, I didn't see if there were additional facilities for them there.

Brecon town is no more tha a 10 min walk away. There is a large Morrisons supermarket with pay and display parking. This has a cafe but no pharmacy. There is a Boots pharmacy in the town.

We visited a few of the dog friendly pubs in Brecon and were happy with all of them. Dogs are allowed inside all of the following that we visited.

The Brecon Tap does some great pies and a changing selection of craft style beers. They also have an off licence selling local beers.

The Bank has a wider variety of food and a more run of the mill selection of drinks.

Twenty One A is a bit of everything. Serves breakfast in the morning, meals in the afternoon and cocktails in the evening. They have a ridiculous breakfast challenge which would feed a family. Also of note, massive milkshakes called freak shakes.

Very happy with the site and we will be returning again soon. I'll be buying some of the hens eggs for breakfast this time.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Two WheelCamper 8 reviews from this member

This really is a fantastic site if you want peace, quiet, superb location and a true back to nature feel. The site is located just outside Brecon and you can walk to the town easily via the road or a nice woodland walk which is across the stream from the site. As you enter the site, just pause as you leave the main road and look to your left for an elevated view of the campsite, it is worth it ! There is a fairly steep decent down to the site, not problematic for cars but beware if you are a bigger unit, and a tight turn at the bottom into the site. Stop at the kitchen to book in and meet the owners who are very pleasant and will explain what is what for you. If you take your dog, they must be on a lead at all times.

Then onto the site where you can pitch up wherever you want, the stream to your right and (very quiet) road to your left, as you move further down the site, you get closer to the road and further from the amenities. I was the only person on site as I arrived so pitched up halfway down on the right, next to the stream. The site is elevated from the stream but you only need to walk down to the tractor access to reach it. Just apply a little common sense with little ones if you choose to pitch stream side.

Cars are not allowed on the grass, so park up and use one of the wheelbarrows to ferry your kit to your pitch, you will find these to be level and the grass well trimmed and with no sign of numbers or pitch allocation. This in itself is refreshing, leaving you to pick the best spot for you, the sun sets behind the stream and rises behind the road if your interested in morning sun in your tent.

Fires are encouraged with a free fire pit, but the owners ask you to use only their wood, at 5 a bag which lasted me 2 nights.

The toilets, showers and washing facilities are outstanding, among the cleanest I have ever used while camping, with 50p for a 5 minute shower. There are clips to attach the dog to outside, with only a small number of cubicles I would think at peak times, there may be a short wait. Washing up is outside but undercover, which I liked, there is a hut with lots of info, a fridge and a phone charging point. It is worth noting (and in my view, applauding) that there is no play area or technology for kids here, but who needs it with an open meadow, stream and evening camp fires - it brings you back to being a family, one of the things I love about camping.

This site has the balance spot on, there is enough on site for what you need and little more, it allows you to simply enjoy the place for what it is. The area is superb for anything outdoors orientated and the town of Brecon has all you could want, including a Morrisons.

If you like camping with a TV, a play park, arcades and the like then this site is not for you. If you camp to enjoy the peace and quiet and going to sleep with the sounds of a gurgling stream and an owl hooting appeals, then you have found your ideal site here. Well done to the owners, don't go changing anything anytime soon !

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Totman 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site next to a stream but only a ten minute walk into town.

Very clean toilet and shower block. Thoughtful touches such as wheel barrow to move your kit and log seats. Also fire baskets available and wood for 6 a bag. An information cabin with a freezer for blocks.

I would very much recommend this site for tents but not caravans or larger motor homes because of a tight turning place.

Very welcoming couple who run the site and chicken who provide eggs, occasionally!

We were there for the Brecon jazz festival so it was busy and could have done with an extra wc but in normal times it should be adequate.

All in all, what a genuine campers site should be.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Don and Bo 2 reviews from this member

This is probably the best UK site we have ever stayed on.

Lovely location and run efficiently and discreetly.

The facilities are clean and all worked well, although when busy a short wait may be necessary to use them. (Some people may moan about 50p for a shower, but we saw it as a good way to stop people hogging them).

Brecon is a 10 minute walk and the busy little centre has a refreshingly lively feel, virtually devoid of the usual charity and mobile phone shops, with a large Morrisons and thankfully an Aldi!

Because Brecon is in the Usk Valley there are plenty of gentle walks and cycle rides from the site, but you're still close enough to the major peaks, to avoid using the car.

Unfortunately no eggs were available for sale during our visit because the hens had been visited by an unknown predator, although four newly acquired layers should resolve this.

If you want a really lovely location, peace and quiet, as well as good facilities, Priory Mill is for you.

I've given the Site Facilities 9 and not a 10, purely because a few more loos and showers wouldn't go amiss.

I've given the site a 10 for Child Friendliness not because it has a play area etc, (which it hasn't), but because it has fields, a river, wildlife in abundance, chickens wandering around, camp fires, log seats, no tv, no video games, and huge opportunity for them to discover and learn from means that don't need a plug or a screen.

If you want lively, noisy, organised entertainment etc, this is not for you.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tangoman99 2 reviews from this member

I've just returned from 2 nights at Priory Mill Farm, and what a lovely break we had.

It's a really peaceful, tranquil site, set between a stream and a fairly quiet road. We camped on the bank. The water is fairly fast flowing which keeps down the flies, and we weren't bothered. The white noise from the river was also amazingly soothing at night. I didn't even notice any sounds from the road all weekend, but my friend said she was aware of traffic occasionally but it was never bothersome.

The owners have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the site and their attention to detail is marvellous. They provide fire pits, chopped wood, charcoal, log seats, washing up liquid and scourers in the dishwashing area, mops outside the showers, a complete recycling centre etc. The toilet/shower block was small, but plenty large enough and beautifully clean. The grass was beautifully maintained - it probably helped that no cars were allowed on the grass, but they provided nice wheelbarrows to transport stuff the short distance from the car park. Another nice touch was a large OS map, centered on Brecon, on display next to the toilet block. I really could not have asked for more from a campsite!

While I accept that people look for different things in a campsite, it's pretty clear that this is intended to be a quiet, fairly basic site and in that it EXCELS! There are lots of rules, but they're about common decency - cleaning up after yourselves, keeping the noise down at night etc. I notice some reviewers complained about some rules, e. G. Using only their supplied firewood - I don't think this is about making more money - but rather about ensuring that nobody is burning stuff likely to smoke out their neighbours.

I have to say that the environment fostered by the owners was VERY welcome. I felt it fostered a spirit of mutual respect amongst the campsite users, and I don't believe I've ever been anywhere where EVERYONE was as polite and considerate as here. All too often at campsites I have had to wear earplugs at night in order to keep out the noise of people watching TV, listening to music or simply sitting around a fire talking loudly into the small hours. Here it was so peaceful.

After three lovely, relaxing days here I've come away with a sense of sadness and can't wait to come back.

So read the website, and if that sounds like your kind of place, IT IS! If you want crowds, entertainments and like to party into the small hours STAY AWAY!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lewislaine 2 reviews from this member

Wow-another wonderful visit to this fantastic campsite.

Seasoned campers & this is one of the nicest/picturesque & friendly sites we have stayed at.

Showers/toilets always kept immaculate-great hot showers 50p.

Sitting round campfire in evening-looking at the stars with the sound of the river in background-what more could you want!

Will definitely be back in the spring time.

Lainey & Will.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Erika68 1 review from this member

Great location 10 mins walk from Brecon town. Facilities basic only 2 ladies toilets and 2 showers which cost 50p for 3 mins for a few drops of water but it is hot! Only cold water to wash your pot and pans etc. Can buy their logs for your nightly campfire and borrow a firetray from the owners highlight of the site

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3441 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!