Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashwood Farm Woodland Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Ashwood Farm Woodland Camping Reviews

CLOSED: Ashwood Farm Woodland Camping
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MudandBlossom 2 reviews from this member

 We took a group of 6 families to celebrate my birthday last weekend. Although not cheap, we liked that there was a discount for coming by public transport. The weather was wet at times, but we were wonderfully protected by the canopy of the woodland. It is such a beautiful site. We all had a lovely time and that was due in no small part to the efforts of the site owners. They keep the site very well - it's basic, but eco-conscious, no mod cons; compost toilets are well-maintained, and far preferable to portaloos in my opinion! The kids made dens, we made a roaring fire with wood from the very reasonably priced trust-pile, and it was all perfect! Downsides of the site - erm, none really except slightly sloping ground, and you might not like the fairly long walk from the cars/farmhouse to the woods. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshphillips 1 review from this member

 First time of visiting this site, and it proved to be just as it promised on their web site. Our booking was handled very professionally, as was the welcome when we arrived. Make sure you book the tractor in advance to transport your gear to your pitch as it is quite a trek! We were lucky enough to have a beautiful pitch. The ground was on quite an angle but very dry despite recent rain.

The eco toilet and fresh water areas were kept very clean and well replenished. The owners were full of character and some aspects (including how to use the toilets) were well explained. However, the web site advertises a children's play area - this wasn't shown to us. We did find a trampoline but our children were asked to get off it at 7.30pm even though there were no other campers around to disturb. Also, there is only one shower for the whole campsite which appears to be the one the owners/staff use too ? and be prepared for them sitting outside the door while you shower, not very private. A table in the washing up area would be handy too. All in all, if you want 'back to nature' with owners full of character, this is the place for you. Definitely worth a return visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tombennett 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful campsite! Just got back from a two night stay here in the beautiful Sussex countryside. We arrived at the site a bit later than planned due to traffic on the M25, but found the site easily following the directions on the website. We were met by a friendly lady who gave us a couple of wheelbarrows to put our stuff in, and then took us down to the site itself.

The site is a small walk away (probably about 2/3 minutes), over a road and down a grassed hill. The lady showed us a number of possible pitches and explained the use of the compost toilets and fire pits, also pointing out where the fresh spring water can be found, and the handy piles of firewood. However, it was her son that told us of a really cool pitch right near the top of the wooded hill. The whole site was amazing - real back to nature style - mainly in a wooded area, but also incorporating a meadow field.

It had been raining pretty hard during the day, so it was a little muddy underfoot, but actually most of the site was pretty dry, and by the next morning was absolutely fine to walk around in without needing wellies! However, trying to push our heavily-laden wheelbarrows up a muddy slippery slope at about 8:30pm in fading light. Well perhaps not the best idea! Suffice it to say we both fell face-down in the mud at different times, enough to realise we'd probably make the final 30 yards easier by dumping the wheelbarrows!

We set up our tents, got the bbq going, ate some good steak and drank the beer we'd lugged up the hill. Exploring slightly, I walked up to the field at the top to be met by about 20 deer! Amazing!

I won't go on too much more about our trip, except to say that this was one of the most magical campsites I've ever been to: really friendly people, quiet, relaxing, and in a great location. There were probably 4 or 5 other groups in the site when we were there: one family with a few tents, two or three couples, and another family who arrived the next day.

I can't wait to go back there - two nights is absolutely not enough to explore this area - so much more I want to do, including more walking in the local woods, fishing on the reservoir, taking the Bluebell Railway, drinking more beer at the Old Mill Pub (an extraordinarily good pub, serving cracking food, and delicious real ale), and exploring East Grinstead more.

Can't recommend this site high enough. Top stuff! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FRANCESJANE 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time at this campsite and we are now 'real' hardened campers! With only a compost toilet, water and wood supplied you must be prepared to go it alone! Our pitch was deep in the woods and very secluded. There are some lovely walks and great places to visit such as Standen national trust for a hot cup of coffee! Wendy and Patrick are lovely people and very helpful too. The children loved the freedom to roam and explore, and not have to wash! Will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iitu 4 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful solstice weekend at this site.

The campsite is opposite side of the road from the farm where the shower is, but the campsite has two very well functioning compost toilets. Back to basics.

Pitches were spaciously laid out and surrounded by trees, each with a fire pit. You pay for the use of the fire pit but the wood was free, and of excellent quality. There was some traffic noise from the nearby road but fellow campers weren't rowdy.

Water had run out at one point but generally this was fine.

The walk from East Grinstead station isn't bad but this is probably a better site if you're arriving by car / bike as whichever direction you want to go in you end up walking along the side of the road for a bit and cars go fast. Standed National Trust historic house is very near and worth a visit.

The farm had some very tasty eggs for sale and cute piglets, cats and sheep. Owners Wendy and Patrick were very friendly and helpful.

It was so nice I'm a bit reluctant to say . As it will undoubtedly become very popular and then I can't book a pitch! Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knightskye 4 reviews from this member

 Definitely not for those of fragile disposition. This is a campsite as far from the standard campsite that you may be used to. There are no frills to add to your time away, but the beauty of nature, flora, and fauna. This is a place where you make your own entertainment, so forget the ghetto blaster and bring your guitar and bongos!

This is a campsite which accommodates smaller tents. Mine was a 4 person tent which was quite large and there would only be a few pitches where I could have pitched. Luckily due to the time of year it was very quiet. Although we were not the only people to be mad enough to camp this time of year. There was a young couple and a lovely man with his two very young girls camping too. This is a lovely site for children to ramble about. We could see the potential of bringing our children in the warmer months.

We parked at the farm due to the parking nearer the campsite being a bit muddy. Our gear was taken on the tractor to the site and we followed on down to the site. There were plenty of makeshift firepits for an open fire.

The bio toilet was a great idea and kept clean, along with bins for recycling glass, plastic and paper. Take your non-recyclables home to bin. We were left with a bag of kindling, a firelighter and a supply of fresh water.

I had a great time even though the weather turned for the worse and the temperature plummeted, our spirits didn't over our fire.

The ground did get quite wet and muddy, being clay based soil, it was quite slippery. So bring some wellies!

The farm is a bit of a trek if you want to have a shower, but it's clean.

The farm also sells eggs and will be selling honey. They keep pigs, ducks, chickens and sheep.

It is clear that they have put a lot of money, time and effort into making this an inviting place to stay. They are making a good go at making it organic.

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dinky129 4 reviews from this member

 This site was magnificent, I was initially slightly apprehensive about the basic facilities but found they were more than adequate. The compost toilets were cleaner than some of the concrete toilet blocks that I have been in! The owners are lovely people, we arrived at 9pm after getting stuck on the m25 and were promptly escorted across the field by wendy who offered her help which we graciously accepted. On arriving at the site itself, it was pitch black and we were dreading pitching in the dark, but fortunately we were lucky enough to have wonderful fellow campers who offered their lights and hands to help us pitch, and then the warmth of their fire once we had done!

The pitch we had to begin with was noisy and bright, as it was only a few feet from the main road. We then,after exploring the woods, found a much better and more secluded pitch deeper in the woods in a small clearing. It was nice because the tent was quite sheltered so we were able to sleep in late without even realising! We loved being able to build fires and in fact this is the only campsite that we have spent our days collecting wood and cooking and nothing else. We did have a fun little trip on the bluebell railway, on the advice of wendy. This is a little gem and I had a magical time. Dont go there, then it wont be my secret! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starfield 5 reviews from this member

 This site is not for the amateur who is expecting flushing toilets. Be prepared to get muddy if it rains (do not forget the wellies). Bring your supply of everything as shops are far. Campsite is 5 min walk from camping area but wheelbarrows are provided to carry your stuffs.

Pros:

You do not have to pay for the wood you use

Compost toilets were very clean with hand cleaning gel provided as no water provided

Patrick was very friendly

Campsite was very quiet except for the occasional loud vehicle passing on the nearby road

Cons:

Showers were not ready at this time despite being advertised on the site

Water was not delivered in the morning but fortunately we had our own supply

Thumbs up for this site 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matwalden 4 reviews from this member

 What a great laid back site, just what we were looking for, clean, friendly and simple - I wish the owners the best of luck for the future - looking forward to returning.

Site is a short walk away from the carpark (carrying your kit in wheelbarrows), pitch anywhere in the woods, then relax, nice to have a real fire and no vehicles, wish we could have stayed longer!

Nice pub short walk down the road, good food.

Compost loos where clean and a good idea.

Campers should be made aware that the water provided is to be left on the table for all to use, not to be 'hogged'

We had hoped that the shower would have been finished, but as it is early days you have got to expect that

As this is only their first year I can only see this getting better and better - its going to be another Blackberry wood

Thumbs up from us!

Happy camping 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5469 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement