Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hole Station Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Beaworthy > Hole Station Campsite Reviews

Hole Station Campsite
Highampton
Beaworthy
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX21 5JH
Tel: 01409 231266
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 21
Open: 29/03 To 16/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights in the wind and rain, the nature of the site meant that even with the inclement weather we were sheltered from the worst of it.

A beautiful site with all pitches set in secluded private clearings in woods.

Toilet block adequate, and clean, we didn't use the little cafe but looking at the menu and the people using it they all looked satisfied.

The place is quite remote, which was perfect for us for a peaceful camp, no kids no dogs, just the Twitter of birds the rustle of hedgehogs, and the flutter of bats flying at dusk.

This place could not be more idyllic!

Back to basics camping, with real fires and camp kitchen shelter provided.

My only complaint would be that it is 300 miles from home and we can't visit every weekend! Because if we lived nearer we would seek refuge here at every opportunity.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morticiaskeeper 16 reviews from this member

Although this is an adults only campsite, we were given permission to bring our 15 year old, along with the 19 year old.

Met at the car park by Greg, we were shown to our pitch, it was massive! Plenty of room for our three small tents on the main clearing by the fire, we also had another couple of clearings where we could hang our hammocks. The shelter, fire pit and squirrel box were very useful, and you can hire a tripod to cook over the fire, just make sure you clean it before you return it.

Wood was available from reception, along with kindling and firefighters. The on site food and dining area made it a lazy weekend for food! The only thing better than a cooked breakfast in a woodland campsite is when it is cooked by someone else.

The toilet and shower facilities are. Rural. We were a bit apprehensive about the composting toilet, but it was better than expected. The showers are good, and there is a freezer for food or ice packs.

Very dark at night, it was a bit eery walking through the woods through the fog. Keeping your night vision is much better than taking a torch.

Being a woodland, it can be a bit of a midge magnet, so repellent and a good campfire are needed.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steveandsusie 1 review from this member

This campsite is wonderful to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. A taste of serenity in an all too busy life today. Back to nature with a few mod cons. Peaceful and relaxing break. Loved the friendly Robin. We will be back. Susie and Steve from Truro

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Pammosley 5 reviews from this member

We have just arrived home from spending a wonderful five nights at this tranquil campsite. This was our second visit & we were looking forward to going again.

We opted for a ready erected tent as we are getting lazy! The tent was roomy & a safari type kitchen, table & chairs under a tarpaulin was included in the price. The cooking area is well kitted out with everything you could want (just take matches), even the water was already filled up. The pitches are well spaced out in wonderful deciduous woodland, you could not see your neighbours. There is the option to take your own tent, a tarpaulin cover & food storage cupboard (pesky varmint squirrels!) are included on the pitch. Every pitch has its own fire bowl; logs are bought from reception at only £6 a sack. A cooking tripod can be hire as well. A fire helps keep the midges at bay & is a perfect way to spend an evening with a beer or two.

The whole site is very eco-friendly. Compost toilets are clean & a recycling area for everything. The showers are free & hot. There is space to wash up & freeze ice packs.

A Diner is available morning for breakfasts & evenings for dinners (closed Mondays I think). The food is delicious & a good breakfast sets you up for a days exploring.

We had daytime excursions to Lydford Gorge, Meeth Quarry, Meldon Reservoir & Viaduct & Bude. I must say that it was fantastic to return to the tranquillity of the woods after the hustle & bustle of Bude.

We also went on the three pub walk. This uses quiet lanes & has beautiful country side views. We did miss out the Golden Inn as opening times are limited, but stopped at the Half Moon Inn at Sheepwash (great cider!) & The Torridge at Black Torrington, a traditional country pub with great food, even had fish finger sandwiches much to the delight of my husband!

The owners, Greg & Liz are friendly & welcoming & are full of local knowledge. They are both passionate about the environment. They kindly let us put our moth trap out in the woods & we had some amazing moths in the mornings.

This is the campsite to visit if you want to escape modern life for a while, enjoy nature & chill out.

We look forward to visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trace c 1 review from this member

Just returned from this amazing site and I can honestly say it does exactly as it says on the tin. It really is a lovely place and you can see and appreciate the hard work and dedication to the maintenance of this beautiful area that the owners have achieved.

We stayed in the rent a tent option as only going for a few days and newbies to camping, its a great choice for convenience as you literally only need bedding, Beverages meaning Beer of course! food, matches, wash stuff and clothing.

The rent a tent option has airbeds already pumped up, a fully equipped sheltered kitchen area with gas hob stove, kettle, water in a holder with tap, washing up bowl, cool box, plates, cups etc, fire pit with tripod grill, a wooden table and seating under covered area. I mean seriously how cool is that they have everything ready to roll ???

The pictures don't do it justice really it needs to be seen. The Pitches are all slightly different and all have there own benefits but are all nicely spaced out so you have privacy which is a rarity on most sites and something we really wanted ( we aren't anti people just wanted peace and quiet and to feel like we had the woods to ourselves which is totally how it feels )

The site also consists of a very well kept eco toilet system, I had no idea what that meant before we left but on trying it out think its a great idea. Basically number ones in one toilet and number two's in the dry toilet right next to it. Very well kept, hygienic and environmentally friendly plus enjoyed reading the information poster all about the history/benefits of this toilet system well using it : )

There is also a hole station diner that serves food and drinks mornings and evenings every day except Mondays as I recall with a nice covered seating area (I. Can't remember the serving times so ask the owner) but thought this was a brilliant idea and you can take the food back to your camp area if you bring your plates with you as well.

There is a well kept rubbish recycling area, electric showers, communal washing up station, Wood packs to buy for the fire pits, Freezer in the communal washing up area for ice packs etc and they also fill it with water bottles for you, electric charging point, water refill point, information point with Map and areas of interest but Greg the Owner is great at telling you where to Visit, local shop opening times etc and is very helpful.

There is also the many lovely Animals to appreciate. Dogs, cat ( the beast of hole station) Goats, Horses and Chickens. All adding to the brilliant experience that is Hole Station Campsite ! Loved It. Thank you for a peaceful, relaxing few days in a well kept beautiful woodland campsite.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lilybet 1 review from this member

Stayed in hole station form 3 amazing nights. We had an amazing choice of pitches to choose from, all had there own little something about them. Took me and the other half ages to decide which to choose. Finally found and chose our perfect little paradise. Quiet, peaceful beautiful surrounds. The two owners were lovely and made sure we had what we needed for our stay right at the beginning. The whole time camping we only saw the owner on the first night to check on us and I think it was only twice our fellow campers walked on past all very friendly. Best night sleep we had both had in ages. Would recommend to anybody who needs or wants just a bit of peace and down time just to think and chill and also watch the wildlife all around you. We had one Robin who stayed with us the whole time just kept hopping around from tree to tree. Will most definitely visit again, see you soon

Thanks again hole station campsite

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper184 1 review from this member

Had a wonderful time at this beautiful campsite. Good facilities toilet and showers. Friendly owners and animals! Lots of different pitches to choose from, its nice to choose your own pitch rather than being told where your going to pitch.

Nice places to visit in the local area.

Going again later this year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Romogape 14 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 night stay, and loved it!

If you want to 'get away from it all', Hole Station is the place to go.

We stayed in one on their rent a tent pitches, as travelling by motorcycle it's nice not to worry about taking all the gear. We were very impressed with what was provided, loads of room and plenty of kit, you really only need to bring your sleeping stuff, even had candles (but watch out for the Ninja Squirrels!).

The facilities may not be to everyone's taste, but we were happy with what was provided, in fact the showers are better than we've got at home, and certainly better than plenty of sites we've stayed at! As for the compost loos, surprisingly odour free, easy to use, and make sense!

Loads to do in the area, with places to eat and drink within walking distance.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MikeGandHelenF 1 review from this member

Had an excellent three nights stay at Hole Station. The staff were all friendly and the pitches were excellent. If you like camping that is a bit more peaceful, then you will love Hole Station.

Some nice small towns nearby for food, however, we enjoyed cooking by the fireside and having a few glasses of wine.

A really excellent place to stay!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulandelisa 1 review from this member

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying at hole station the facilities are great. Kept clean and do their bit for the environment. Its so peaceful and quiet. And we enjoyed sitting by the camp fire enjoying a few drinks and a bite to eat. We will definitely be returning over the summer holidays. I would also recommend using the rent-a-tent they are of good size and quality and it is a great value for money. If you want a child free bit of peace and quiet then hole station is the place to go.

Paul & Elisa

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2997 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019