Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clydach Gorge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Clydach Gorge Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Clydach Gorge Caravan Park
Station Road
Clydach South
Gilwern
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 0

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 The owner of this site has advised with regret, that the Clydach Gorge Caravan Park is closing in October 2014.

The reason for the closure is that the planned widening of the adjacent A465 road will commence at the end of the year and will affect most of the site.

The owner would like to thank everyone who visited the park over the last 5 yearS

There is a chance that the site will be relocated and if this comes to fruition he will keep all past customers informed.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Argus1946 5 reviews from this member

 Access from the Heads of the valleys road easy.

Facilities very clean. Chap running the site John very friendly and helpful. There were children on site but there is no play ground.

Had a wonderful week here, some great walks, masses of industrial history (Clydach Gorge ironworks, Blaenavon ironworks heritage centre and the Big pit ), castles ( Raglan )and towns (Abbergavenny )to visit all within a short drive through great scenery.

Would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Llorenda 1 review from this member

 Having just bought a touring caravan I was recommended this site. I rang the owner, John, and he kindly suggested I call in and view it. It was everything I wanted. This is a small site and its kept clean and tidy. John takes a pride it keeping it so. Nothing is too much trouble for him and goes over and above his duties in making sure everything is alright for you (like helping me to put up my awning !). It's a flat site on two levels with electric hook ups. Room for tents on the top level. Toilet blocks are like no others I have seen. Self-contained units with shower, toilet and wash basin with lots of hot water, which is free and not coin operated. There is also a coin operated dryer and washing machine room and an outside area for dish washing. A lot of people have mentioned it is noisy because of the traffic, but I had no bother with it. There is fencing all around and a big gate kept shut so its secure for children. There is no playground or shop but its not far, by car, from the beautiful town of Abergavenny. The surrounding area is beautiful for walks. John gives out leaflets with guides of the walks etc. I enjoyed a stay of 6 weeks and cant wait to go back next year 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrisdixey 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a good example of how easy it is to maintain a perfect site. The owner John is a very amiable chap and cannot do enough for you. He squeezed us in on our second visit and supplied us with electric although no hook ups left. The walks in this area are astounding and you cannot get lost as the owner provides plenty of maps and local information, free of charge. We have now made this our regular site for a weekend! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Henbane 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights before going to the Green Man festival just a few miles away. It's a lovely, well-kept little site with a really excellent modern facilities block featuring self contained shower rooms (ie shower, loo & basin all in one place) - only thing missing is a little shelf for soap/showergel in the showers - which unusually for a small site are free not coin-op. There is also a coin-op washing machine & dryer. There are washing up facilities though not under cover, and a chemical disposal point.

We were in the top section, with hook-up but without hardstanding, and there were no signs of any problems with mud (the weather was fine while we were there but with some overnight rain). It is sheltered and fairly level.

There is no shop at/near the site but a big Asda is just up the road in Brynmawr. There is at least one pub in walking distance - we passed it whilst out walking - and it advertises food but we didn't sample it.

I didn't notice any road noise - the site is on a quiet side road; the A465 which runs by on the far side of the gorge isn't particularly busy (no problems crossing it) and traffic drops to almost nothing at night. Mind you I used to live by the A3 so my definition of constant traffic may be different from previous reviewer's!

As others have said, the owner John was extremely helpful and friendly. We used the free walks leaflet he gave us plus a map of the area we'd printed in advance; as the weather was good we were able to spend both days we were there walking. We are amblers rather than ramblers but there was enough variety of terrain in the area to satisfy serious walkers too.

All this at a bargain price considering it was August - not much more than half the price of other sites we've stayed at in peak season. We shall certainly come back here if we are in the area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wobage 3 reviews from this member

 This is a pretty site - we took the offer of a pitch among the trees on the higher level. Lots of space with a view of the gorge and when quiet, could hear the brook cascading down the gorge. I say when quiet, which was rare. The traffic noise is constant although it seemed to bother me more than my partner.

As you enter the site be careful as the gates are kept closed and there is not enough room to get car and caravan off the road while you open the gate. The first part seems to be nearly full with seasonal pitches and does not come across as very welcoming.

The facilities are basic but adequate and a lot of effort goes into keeping it clean. The owner is exemplary in his customer care, interest in the site and hoping people have a nice time. He cannot be faulted and it was a pleasure to meet him. Overall, it was fine for our long weekend away but would say better suited to families as there are quite a few children on site all season.

Not too far to Abergavenny which is a lovely market town. The site is a good touring base and close to the Brecon Beacons. Overall it is fine for a few days and very good value 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Skipjess 9 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed a 9 night stay at this nice little camp site - we were lucky with 9 days of almost perfect weather. The owner John is extremely welcoming and very helpful - giving out maps of the local walks around the gorge and the nearby hills and canal and also very forthcoming with ideas of other things to visit or do in the local area. We followed a couple of the walks and also investigated the nearby iron works and the Mon & Brec canal which runs through Gilwern less than a mile from the site.

The facilities are very good (with male, female and 2 separate unisex family rooms) and spotlessly clean. The site is separated into 2 areas the first of which has mostly permanent vans (which were well used at the weekend) with 3 reinforced hard standings with ehu. The other field has a grassy area for tents with another mixed area for vans/motorhomes with ehu.

The site is situated between 2 roads but we were not too worried by the noise level. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rolfefamilycampers 5 reviews from this member

 We visited the site for 2 nights over the August bank holiday. Upon arrival we met the owners who were very friendly, we found a nice level pitch and quickly for the tent up, in torrential rain!

The site is small and quite basic, the showers/loos were spotlessly clean despite the weather and included 2 unisex family shower rooms. The shower block has a code and a high handle which prevents kids playing in them which I thought was a great idea although not ideal for disabled visitors.

The site is well maintained and despite the awful rain wasnít too muddy, there is a double gate which is kept closed at all times which makes it nice and safe for kids.

As mentioned in a few reviews it is close to a fairly busy road so you do have road noise but I didnít find this an issue at all certainly didnít stop me or my family sleeping.

The surrounding area is beautiful I would thoroughly recommend the walk past the old Iron Works and along the river.

All in all this is lovely site, excellent value for money, lovely friendly owners and very clean and tidy. I would def recommend and will def be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lpearce 2 reviews from this member

 Small family friendly site with a good toilet block with shower facilities. Basic amenities and no shop but a number of superstores in the area and pubs so unlikely to starve!

Extremely friendly staff and visitors who obviously stay for long periods.

The head of the valley road runs along side the site but there was very little noise owing to the trees that surround the site.

Beautiful walks into the gorge and down to the canal aided by a very helpful pictamap from the site manager and a sheet with advice on buses and eateries in the area.

The weather was really poor on a couple of nights but the site itself seemed to miss the worst of the storm - or we just slept through it having had so much exercise. Really would recommend a visit to the area and this is an ideal spot for exploring if you enjoy small sites. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muzzyme 3 reviews from this member

 Yet another 3night stay @ this wonderful campsite by myself hubby and 3 children (aged 15/10 and 7). The owner is a real nice fella and keeps the site clean and tidy, nothing is to much for him. On the day we arrived he was there to welcome us, if you need any ideas on places to visit or information on the area then he is the man to ask :) On arrival he gives you a map with loads of different walks for all levels of walkers. Keep up the great work, looking forward to coming back again real soon. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement