Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Faerie Thyme Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Faerie Thyme Holidays Reviews

Faerie Thyme Holidays
Crwbin
Carmarthen
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA17 5DR
Tel: 01269 871774
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13
Open: 16th April

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KatieMac 8 reviews from this member

Positives to site:

1. Very quiet, pretty site with about 16(?) screened pitches/caravans with only slight slope

2. Good location for exploring Gower coast and around to Tenby

3. Thoughtful on-site 'shed-shop' with charging point, fridge & freezer with eggs, bacon, burgers, marshmallows etc, pots & pans, sleeping bags, local information (although badly organised)

4. Some pitches with fire pits with large covers and picnic tables

5. Shared fire pit area if you don't book an individual one

6. Free shower

7. Promotes recycling, providing black & recycle bag upon arrival

8. Very welcoming owners

9. Covered washing up area (cold water only)

Negatives to site

1. Only one shower which is a basic wet room with sink, mirror & large shelf/seat. Needs a shower curtain to prevent everything getting wet, heater didn't work, shelf outside for shoes is on the wrong side of the door, frequently a queue for the shower

2. Only 2 compost loo huts which sometimes smelt and ran out of loo roll a few times over 3 days. The loos require you climb 1 or 2 steps so you are really on a throne! This was a little awkward and would have been difficult for those with mobility problems or even if you were tall as you will bang your head

3. No cars allowed by your pitch even just to drop off/pick up gear. Only caravan and campervans can drive on. Owner drives a really loud buggie with your gear from carpark to site (200 yards or so) and the site also provides 2 barrows to pull gear. This is fine is good weather but was really annoying when we all packed down in the rain; owner didn't answer the door so buggie wasn't available and the 2 barrows were not enough for everyone packing down. Everyone's stuff got soaked and many were unhappy

4. Drinking water tap located right next to grey waste water area

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salcat 1 review from this member

Just back from 6 memorable and relaxing nights spent at The Oaks pitch, Faerie Thyme. It was even better than it looked on the website, tucked away on the edge of the site in the beautiful woods with red kite, buzzards and ravens providing the only noise, apart from the swooshing of the trees - bliss! The site is small and thoughtfully set out to provide a calm and peaceful atmosphere. Irene, Wish and Caz were so kind and welcoming we immediately felt at home, and we will always remember the impromptu evening gathering where we all had a go at playing a variety of musical instruments and also tried our hand at willow weaving! The honesty shop is well stocked with essentials and interesting goodies. Don't go home without a jar of plum and chilli jam - bloomin' delicious. The covered firepits are a brilliant idea as you can sit out and toast marshmallows whatever the weather! I urge you to visit - this site really is a bit special.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ropayne 1 review from this member

Our two day stay at Faerie Thyme was brilliant! The site was very clean and serene (adult only) with a couple of private pitches nestled in the woods. The facilities were clean and well situated. We had the option of having a campfire on our site or under a shared gazebo which was perfect when the rain came! The owners were so very helpful (directions, forgotten items)and friendly. Thank you for such a lovely stay!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigelic 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fortnights stay at this site.

Lovely, peaceful and quiet set in beautiful surroundings on the edge of woodlands, some pitches being in the woods (suitable for smaller tents only).

The amenities are a bit basic (shower/wet room, 2 ecotoilets, washing up area, and a drinking water tap)but perfectly adequate. Lots to see and do in surrounding area with some lovely beaches just a drive away. Perfect place to de-stress. Owned and run by a very friendly and welcoming family. If you fall in love with the ecotoilets you can buy one to take home. No we're not joking!

Several pitches have a fire pit and shelter, very handy for the shade this time. There is also a very tranquil area with a small stone circle and huge Dreamcatcher for contemplation. All in all a very beautiful and peaceful site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsgordon 3 reviews from this member

Went on a bit of a last minute trip to Faerie Thyme campsite this weekend and it definitely counts as one of our better whims. It is a small site with an adult only policy so it was nice and peaceful, the perfect place to de stress. The toilet and shower facilities are limited and a bit basic but where perfectly adequate. They also operate a small honesty shop that was handy, we got some logs, some eggs and some chocolate raisins! We were lucky with the weather, but even in more inclement weather you would be ok as they have some pitches with open sided covered structures with a fire pit so even in the rain you would have a sheltered place for cooking or just to toast your marshmallows. It didn't matter to us but they also have some EHU pitches. All in all a cracking little site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflie 1 review from this member

Don't be put off by the quirky name; this is a beautiful campsite run by the friendliest and most generous hosts you could wish.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by Irene and Wish who straight away brought us a cup of tea. We paid a little extra for a covered fire pit which was a great boon - we even managed to cook outside in strong winds and rain (it is Wales!).

Once we had settled in, and the owner had helped us to plan where we would visit for the next few days, Wish showed us around the site. There is a charming peace circle marked by four oak saplings and large stones from the nearby disused quarry (we spent a fascinating evening walking around this).

Although there is only one shower, it is in a large wet room and the powerful shower has constant hot water. There are two toilets of the separating composting nature, which may not be to everyone's taste. However, we did not find them smelly in the least.

I would highly recommend this small and friendly campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitzi76 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend stay, on arrival Wish and Irene were there to greet us and show us around the site, all facilities were clean and usable.

We loved the covered fire pits next to your tent pitch which is great when the weather isn't on your side for outside dining. We enjoyed some lovely walks around the area.

Irene and Wish have provided an Honesty shop from which you can buy eggs, kindle, logs, marshmallows and skewers, ice cream chocolate and crisps.

The local pub is now closed, Morrisons is not too far away but a car is needed. We cant wait to go back.

Would give 10 out of 10 but I would have loved to have had a hot water supply for washing dishes.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nanafarmarama 2 reviews from this member

Faerie thyme is a fantastic camp site, irene and wish are the people who own the site and they are great, they welcomed us with open arms, as there was a group of 10 most campsites said they don't do that type of thing, but wish and irene put on a big camp fire for us and really did as much for us as they could do.

There is a lot to do around the site and lots to see it really is the best campsite in wales if not the whole of the UK. The facilities are very clean there is washing space for plates etc, and if you believe in all things magical they have a huge dream catcher for everyone to leave a wish again this campsite is great and they have some fantastic plans for the future we will be back again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Type2camper 1 review from this member

Such a nice quiet relaxing campsite. Irene and Wish who are the campsite owners are very helpful and friendly. Easy to find with tom tom satnav. Digital tv was ace unlike other sites I have stayed at in the area.The rain didn't make the woods any less beautiful and I can't wait to get back there in the dry!

Fab new facilities with new toilets and electric hot shower! everything close to hand on site. Can't wait to get back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campers2010 1 review from this member

So glad we stumbled upon this site! We had a lovely time and unlike some of the larger sites we have been to, this was peaceful, personable, friendly, with brand new facilities and open camp fire which is a delightful campsite rarity these days.

Prices were very reasonable and we particularly enjoyed the lovely woodland at the back, an ideal spot to escape and take in some fabulous views. Irene the site manager is a lovely lady and fabulous cook! Overall we found Faerie Thyme to be good value for money and an ideal base for exploring Carmarthenshire. Would highly recommend.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Carmarthen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019