Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Latchetts Caravan And Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Latchetts Caravan And Camp Site
Highlands Lane
Chiddingly
Lewes
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HE
Tel: 01825 872316  or  07971 002201
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rowe n co 1 review from this member

What an outstanding gem of a site!

The owner has to be one of the friendliest, happiest and efficient one we've met!

The site is beautiful, in a superb location for walking the South Downs, it was well laid out, and extremely well kept.

This is definitely one site you'd return to again and again.

Thank you for helping make our holiday so memorable.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madgeplus2 20 reviews from this member

A 5 pitch site with camping in a separate field.

The hard standing pitches are large and well separated from each other.

With a quiet road on one side and a paddock with a couple of horses in on the other this is a very quiet site.

No facilities except for EHU, water point, dustbins and a CDP

Easy walking from the site onto long distance walks and circular walks, the local church and pub are within easy strolling distance and both worth a visit.

All in all a good site with a helpful but unobtrusive owner, we would visit again without doubt.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Holly Frankie 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site early March. The pitches are large enough for the van and full awning. The view from the pitch was across a paddock and on over the fields. Our pitch backed on to the lane but there was very little traffic and not a problem. The owner is very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The Weald Way footpath is just across the lane and we did part of it with our three dogs. Didn't get too far as the ground was very muddy. The pub and church are an easy walk away. There is a village shop about 1/4of a mile away and Lewes and Eastbourne a short car ride. We have booked another long weekend in May and would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jenwe 2 reviews from this member

Beautifully kept site, with hard standings and electrical hook up. Owners very friendly but not intrusive. A site to be proud of. Good area for walking, on the wealdway and very nicely sign posted. There is a lovely pub within walking distance of the site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adrian06 26 reviews from this member

We have just returned from another visit to this site - probably our 5th or 6th! Peaceful, beautifully kept and truly rural with a genuine village feel. Nearby pub is legendary and unique! In separate camping field (no hook-ups) there are now 2 wcs for campers or off gridders. Main site has usual facilities expected on a CS, own sanitation facilities expected, as is usual. Owner very anxious to maintain standards - and she does, by working hard to ensure guests are welcome and the site is kept well. Thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A parsons 1 review from this member

We stayed at Latchetts from Christmas Eve for three nights. There was only us and one other touring van. The site is absolutely lovely, so well kept and a lovely sized pitch. The owner is very pleasant indeed and very welcoming (without being over the top!). We will definitely be going back in the summer when we can really make the most of all the lovely walks and scenery. The local pub is great and within walking distance. We took our little dog with us and it is perfect as there are loads of walks.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wanda1 2 reviews from this member

Excellent place and surroundings. Owner very laid back and friendly. Chiddingly is a world away from the hustle and bustle and yet only a mile away from the main road. Each pitch is very large, our 34' RV was easily accommodated and they are private with a large grass surrounding. We will definitely be returning, maybe with our bikes as the roads are very quiet. I must mention the pub just 300 yards up the road, great atmosphere with live bands and friendly staff. We cannot recommend highly enough and full marks are easily deserved.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jbraund 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of days in October. Handy location for Eastbourne/ Brighton area as we wanted to visit Drusillas with the children (about 15 minutes away) and visit family in Brighton (about 40 minutes).

Good hardstandings with hookups, just as well as the grass area were very soggy and muddy, so the children couldn't roam too much, but more the fault of the weather. (7 year old wasn't impressed).

The owner was friendly and non-intrusive, ready with a wave in the mornings.

Hadn't noticed when booking that there wasn't any toilet/shower facilities, but luckily we have our own so wasn't major issue. Does make the fees seem a little steep though for this time of year.

Nice little site though, all said.

Management response: Thank you for the visit to the campsite and for your feedback.

To confirm you were charged just 14 per night for your unit, 2 adults, 2 children, electric hookup and were placed on a hard standing pitch, which we and other guests feel is very reasonable.

We look forward to welcoming you to our site again in the future

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MandB 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting family in the area. Really nice site with large level pitches. Two separate areas, one for caravans/motorhomes and the other for tents. Jane (the owner) was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Some good walks and a great dog friendly pub down the road which has live music at the weekend, serving excellent food at reasonable prices using local produce. Will definitely return!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clairneville 7 reviews from this member

A beautifully manicured, back to basics site. Perfect for a CL chill out.

We did a couple of nights midweek at very short notice. The owner couldn't have been more helpful.

There's a stunning local church and the site is easy walking distance from a good pub. You know you're in the country but you're not too far off the beaten track either. It doesn't get better than this!

Great country roads to cycle and our teenagers loved Knockhill Moutainboard Centre just 30 mins away.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019