Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colchester Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Reviews

Colchester Country Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BChaplin 1 review from this member

Staff are very friendly and helpful, you feel at home straight away.

Very clean and well presented with a great little play area for the kids.

Good clean shower and toilet facilities all within easy reach of pitches.

Have already booked two more weekends and also looking at getting a seasonal pitch here

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

We stopped going to this park 4 years ago because of the poor condition of the toilets and showers. Noticed that it was under New Ownership and after checking reviews decided we would give it another try.

Booked for a couple days in May and were pleasantly surprised, firstly by the friendliness of the new staff and secondly the vast improvement to the toilet block.

Mentioned to the receptionist that the disabled shower could do with a squeegee to clean the floor after a shower and within a short time one appeared in there (Thank you).

We will certainly be going back there now when we visit our daughter in Essex. Would recommend that previous campers give it another try also.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PLATTFAMILY 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a few days at this lovely site.

Staff were so welcoming and friendly, suggested we chose a pitch by the play area so we could see the children play and directed us to nearest shops (2mins away is a supermarket).

The site was spotless, showers hot and clean they even have an allocated caravan wash with a tower so you can clean the caravan roof properly! Very impressed.

We visited Colechester zoo which is also minutes away and was a fabulous day out, there were plenty of restaurants nearby and we went to the local cinema, handy to have if weather is wet.

Will definitely be visiting again very soon! Thank you.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ravvi 6 reviews from this member

Return visit to this site as have relations living in town. On our last visit 4 years ago we were not overly impressed and have stayed a bit further away and travelled in.

Needed to be closer and gave it another try. The toilets had been spruced up and were cleaned twice a day which was great. Plenty of hot water and heating in also. There is a small play area for children which looked fun. The site was well maintained and the staff helpful. It is an hour's walk into town which was fine. Although buses run regularly past the site. Nice green space opposite for walking the dog although there is a dog walk on site.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor conway 1 review from this member

We visited Colchester holiday park twice in 2015, liked it so we came back this year 2016, , , wow its all changed for the better, Colchester holiday park is now owned and managed by the sellers family who also own thriftwood holiday park in kent, with many years experience in holiday parks the sellers have worked hard to improve Colchester holiday park, with first class facilities with a lovely play park and plenty of space between vans, good hot showers always clean and warm, washing up sinks, 2 laundry rooms with ironing boards, lots of grass for picnics, golf course round the corner, beach 20mins away, 10 minuets walk in to Colchester shopping, 2 large storage compounds with 24 hour security at a good price, all in all Colchester holiday park has raised its game and is now a top touring park well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeghasmail 7 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Colchester, as a temporary stop en route to the Norfolk Broads.

It is a nicely presented site, with friendly and helpful wardens; clean and warm shower facilities; good laundry facilities; well maintained grass areas; a welcoming reception area with hanging baskets; a small shop with basic caravan accessories if needed.

But as a site it is not ideal for a quiet stay, as it is unfortunately located close to the very busy A12/A133 junction.

And the noise is 24/7 with the A12 one of the main roads for container trucks to Felixstowe.

The traffic noise can be extreme, and I used ear plugs for the 4 out of the 5 nights booked.

The 5th night we decided to move on, as we were further aggravated by tree surgeons using chain saws on site from 9 am on Sunday morning.

We asked for a night's refund because of the chain saw noise, but were refused - 'booking conditions'!

On discussion with the owner on departure, we have been offered a 2 night complimentary stay, but unless the A12 is also closed it is unlikely we will take up this offer.

The owners cannot help the road, and it should be said that the proximity of the road means the site is well positioned to easily get to the M25, Harwich, and then North to the Norfolk Broads.

There is plenty of room on the pitches for a large caravan plus awning - although on this visit (for us) it was not awning weather!

Entrance to the site is with an allocated proximity card, giving a good feeling of security.

The hamlet of Flatford (National Trust) is well worth a visit - about a 30 minute drive away.

This is where John Constable painted many of his classic rural scenes.

Unfortunately, for us, the traffic noise would stop us using this site again.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autosleeper03 5 reviews from this member

Visited this site full of wonderful expectations, sadly did not come up to expectations, site Very noisy from the road, the shower block left a lot to the imagination, front door didn't shut properly, every tap leaked, shower rails very rusty, only 1 plug for 3 sinks, heater not man enough for the size of room, and for a price of £19. 00 per night we feel this was just too exorbitant. Not a site we will visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bongo Bonnetts 3 reviews from this member

A beautiful, tidy site in a good location. Many rabbits! Road noise all night.

We arrived late and had to spend first night in car park, but were able to use the toilet block which was spotlessly clean and quiet.

Next morning we were given a hard standing pitch with electricity close to the entrance. All other units in our area were quiet and locked up except for a single man and a couple. There was plenty of space between pitches but also a large empty grassy area behind giving a spacious feel.

When we walked further into the site we were surprised to find other areas busy with families near the excellent play ground, and another section full of camping groups close to the third toilet block. I was so impressed with the thoughtful placing of campers to avoid disturbing each other.

We had a ten minute walk to nearest pub and the bus stop to town.

We will use this site again if we need to stay in Essex.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzypink 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Colchester Camping, for two nights. It is a lovely, well maintained campsite, spacious and tidy. The shower block in the area that we were camping in, was always clean and tidy, with plenty of toilets, basins and showers available. The showers were lovely and warm. I can't comment on the other shower blocks as we didn't use them.

There is a lovely children's play area which my two (5 and 8) thoroughly enjoyed. It probably wouldn't stretch the imagination of over 10's but fab for younger than that. There is a no ball games policy, but Hilly Fields is on the other side of the busy avenue of remembrance, so plenty of room over there to run around. There is a small shop, which although I didn't explore myself, they sell the very important ice lollies for small people! Lots of water points, and washing up areas at each shower block.

AS I've said before, there is a ample room for dog-walking, children playing over the road at Hilly Fields. There is also easy access to the town, with all of it's features including the castle and museums.

Our only complaint, which we knew about before booking, was the noise from the busy A12. The field we were pitched in, was probably the closest in the campsite to the A12, and it was noisy. It didn't spoil our break, but I feel it's worth mentioning as could cause problems for light sleepers, families with tiny children.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JanHorn 1 review from this member

Good well manicured site and generous size pitches. Road noise not a problem on our pitch, but those pitched on the roadside may well struggle. Laundry and dish washing facilities fine. Good playground area.

Toilet and shower facilities very poor, need complete overhaul. In block 2, one shower was unusable as it had a leak at the top so just ran down the pipe, and the other one didn't drain away very well so overflowed the shower tray and wet the cubicle floor making it impossible to get dry and dressed without getting your clothes wet. As a result of this problem the general floor area within the block became wet also, and the mop and bucket provided was hopeless.

I also saw no evidence of the showers and toilets being cleaned during our 4 night stay, which meant I had the pleasure of flushing away someone else's toenails one morning and mopping the floor and shower tray another morning to clear soapy bubbles left by another thoughtless camper. Fellow campers where's your etiquette? Please leave things as you wish to find them.

Finally on the showers, please lose those dreadful plastic curtains that were ripped anyway and we're hanging off their loops. Buy some that will stand up to the job.

A real shame about the showers as the site is actually very pleasant and nicely laid out.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019