Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping > Reviews

Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 68 Reviews
                7/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sallyr 1 review from this member

 Such friendly staff. Very clean showers and toilets.

Good walk to local shops, with great bus service to Colchester.

Plenty of services deliver there.

There is traffic noise. But this is just white noise in the back ground.

We enjoyed our few nights of peace and quiet. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris9 2 reviews from this member

 Very good site

Toilets and showers are a bit and need to be updated but they were always clean

Only a few hard standing

I would use again

Nicely situated

Would recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Archdeak 6 reviews from this member

 This site causes a reviewer problems. On one hand there are positives which do not contest the negatives. We stayed on six sites during our east coast tour and this one was the most expensive at £35. Is it great value for money? No. The location is terrible for traffic noise from the A12 road, feels like you’ve pulled on the hard shoulder for the night. If you can tolerate that then best of luck.

Thumbs up to the efforts of the staff for a well manicured site, good facilities that are clean and tidy. The bus service into Colchester is about 15 minutes walk from nearby Lexdon. The staff are friendly and welcoming, which as stated the environment nearby is definitely NOT.

They need to reduce the fees when compared to many other far better sites that charge £10 per night less. Not recommended for obvious reasons and cannot rate this site. Personal opinion of course, but other reviews on this site confirm our viewpoints. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Christine Lechner 1 review from this member

 The location is good in that it only takes about an hour to walk into the city centre, the walk is along wooded paths and across fields and leads straight into the city centre. That was very nice and the walk into town and back was the best thing about the stay.

At over €40 a night to pitch a small tent for 2 adults and a dog, the value for money is shameful and we wondered what on earth we were paying this price for.

Firstly, the site is on a main road - fearfully noisy all night - and it is very difficult to get any sleep. Tents are not soundproof and the information about the noise should be provided on the website.

Secondly, the site is advertised as "high quality" for the "discerning traveller". Discerning travellers expect WIFI as a minimum facility in the 21st century. The staff were friendly, but apparently unable to solve the issue. It would be good if the net were up and running.

I do not have any complaints about the sanitary facilities or cleanliness, but as a camper one only needs toilets, a wash-basin and, possibly, a shower (available at other sites charging £10 a night).

I certainly hope to visit the friendly, historical city of Colchester again, but will look for other types of accommodation. 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 We were allocated a pitch near the facilities as I am blind.

The pitch was sloping greatly.

I can only comment on the accessible shower/toilet room but it was clean although a little dated. I wish would these places would put a soap tray or basket in the shower area. It is so annoying to put shampoo and soap on the floor and then struggle to find it.

The site has a good motorhome point which was useful to us.

A bonus to us was that we were allowed to have a supermarket delivery to our vehicle. Waitrose for those interested.

All in all a clean and well organised site. It was quiet but there again it is December. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nichol 1 review from this member

 Facilities were very well maintained and clean.

Staff friendly.

Dog walking area was a thin short wood stretch not exactly a dog walk area but thanks to another visitor they directed us across the road to an amazing open area where my older children play games and the dog could run around.

Lively open site just a shame about the road noise, even though I was prepared for it and I live on a main road it was a constant noise day and night.

Was in a great place to visit lots of attractions. We visited Brightlingsea, Colchester and the priory ruins.

Local shops nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Btove3 1 review from this member

 We planned a trip that was local and had been recommended this site by friends who had visited before, for its location. I had grandchildren with me and we wanted to go into Colchester and also had tickets to the Zoo.

We found the park to be clean and friendly and inviting, there are full timers there who were very welcoming to us travelling campers.

Unfortunately not all the facilities were open due I guess to the pandemic but those that were were very well appointed and clean. There was a lovely modern play area where my grandchildren spent a lot of time.

The only down side to this site is that you can hear the 12, as they are very near but I new this before I booked so obviously I was well prepared for traffic noise, however, it didn't bother us at all but good to know in advance, it was actually another reason for booking as access was excellent.

I am sure I will visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Windingdown 15 reviews from this member

 This is a very convenient site and as such does have some road noise which as we’d stayed before we expected. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We had booked a hardstanding pitch with hookup for £22. Prior to being shown our pitch we filled up with fresh water and were shown the drive over grey water disposal point. We were on pitch 99 and had we been staying longer or the weather poor we might have asked to move as a large tree opposite blocked the sat dish signal. The toilets were kept very clean.

Can’t comment on child facilities as not applicable to us.

The walk into Colchester took about 1 hour where we visited the shops and park. We booked a table at the Lexdon Crown at the top of the road but unfortunately there were no type of roasts left on the Sunday menu and we didn’t fancy burger, pie or fish/chips so walked back to the MH and had beans on toast - delicious. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulin 1 review from this member

 This was an ideal location for us as we were visiting family in Lexden Colchester. The only drawback is the sound of traffic on the road nearby.

The site is easy to find and the grounds are well kept. The staff are very helpful. The layout of the site is good.

The toilet blocks are neat and clean. Shower is excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alanb2 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean well looked after site at a reasonable cost.

Showers are wonderful toilets etc very clean,

If it has a downside it is noise from the nearby road. We walked into Colchester from the site 
via mobile


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Colchester Country Park Touring And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement