Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colchester Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Reviews

Colchester Country Park
Colchester Country Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 33 reviews from this member

 We were allocated a pitch near the facilities as I am blind.

The pitch was sloping greatly.

I can only comment on the accessible shower/toilet room but it was clean although a little dated. I wish would these places would put a soap tray or basket in the shower area. It is so annoying to put shampoo and soap on the floor and then struggle to find it.

The site has a good motorhome point which was useful to us.

A bonus to us was that we were allowed to have a supermarket delivery to our vehicle. Waitrose for those interested.

All in all a clean and well organised site. It was quiet but there again it is December. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nichol 1 review from this member

 Facilities were very well maintained and clean.

Staff friendly.

Dog walking area was a thin short wood stretch not exactly a dog walk area but thanks to another visitor they directed us across the road to an amazing open area where my older children play games and the dog could run around.

Lively open site just a shame about the road noise, even though I was prepared for it and I live on a main road it was a constant noise day and night.

Was in a great place to visit lots of attractions. We visited Brightlingsea, Colchester and the priory ruins.

Local shops nearby. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Btove3 1 review from this member

 We planned a trip that was local and had been recommended this site by friends who had visited before, for its location. I had grandchildren with me and we wanted to go into Colchester and also had tickets to the Zoo.

We found the park to be clean and friendly and inviting, there are full timers there who were very welcoming to us travelling campers.

Unfortunately not all the facilities were open due I guess to the pandemic but those that were were very well appointed and clean. There was a lovely modern play area where my grandchildren spent a lot of time.

The only down side to this site is that you can hear the 12, as they are very near but I new this before I booked so obviously I was well prepared for traffic noise, however, it didn't bother us at all but good to know in advance, it was actually another reason for booking as access was excellent.

I am sure I will visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Windingdown 12 reviews from this member

 This is a very convenient site and as such does have some road noise which as we’d stayed before we expected. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

We had booked a hardstanding pitch with hookup for £22. Prior to being shown our pitch we filled up with fresh water and were shown the drive over grey water disposal point. We were on pitch 99 and had we been staying longer or the weather poor we might have asked to move as a large tree opposite blocked the sat dish signal. The toilets were kept very clean.

Can’t comment on child facilities as not applicable to us.

The walk into Colchester took about 1 hour where we visited the shops and park. We booked a table at the Lexdon Crown at the top of the road but unfortunately there were no type of roasts left on the Sunday menu and we didn’t fancy burger, pie or fish/chips so walked back to the MH and had beans on toast - delicious. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulin 1 review from this member

 This was an ideal location for us as we were visiting family in Lexden Colchester. The only drawback is the sound of traffic on the road nearby.

The site is easy to find and the grounds are well kept. The staff are very helpful. The layout of the site is good.

The toilet blocks are neat and clean. Shower is excellent. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alanb2 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean well looked after site at a reasonable cost.

Showers are wonderful toilets etc very clean,

If it has a downside it is noise from the nearby road. We walked into Colchester from the site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tj parker 1 review from this member

 Liked:- cleanliness, multiple shower blocks, helpful staff, accessibility to places.

Disliked:- Road noise. The site is only 50yds max from the A12. Busy road 24hrs a day. Even at 2/3am you can be woken by heavy traffic.

All children's play facilities taped off even though you could take your kids to the park up the road. (don't know if that was a camping law) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MrsJB47 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Pitches are well marked and maintained. On arrival we were shown to our allocated pitch.

The toilet and showers blocks were all open and were spotlessly clean. Lovely hot showers.

The staff were really nice and very helpful.

Only downside to the site is the passing traffic however it would not put me off staying here again.

It's a short drive to the zoo, indoor swimming pool with slides, crazy golf, Colchester castle and town so there's plenty of choice for things to do. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Collies A 1 review from this member

 Stayed last week for 2 nights. Super site and wonderful staff. Helped when step jammed.

Bus service conveniently local and very regular.

The staff even organised a rain shower in the hot weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Heathe 1 review from this member

 Liked the site very much, but the road noise was a bit too much for us. It went on all night and heavy lorries woke us up.

Couldn't fault the site, clean and tidy, staff were friendly and efficient, showers and loos cleaned regularly.

Such a shame about the traffic noise or we would have rated a lot higher.

We didn't find the "country park", but then we were only there for one night. 
via mobile


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Colchester Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colchester Country Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Colchester Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2769 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement