Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colchester Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Site Reviews

Colchester Holiday Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragon04 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this site, the staff on reception stayed open late for us, due to bad traffic in the A12 which we really appreciated.

Secure site with large metal gates that were closed during the night as well as barrier further into the site.

The toilet blocks were clean and warm but dated, plenty of rubbish bins situated around the site.

There is road noise but as the noise is 24/7 we didn't notice it.

As for the surrounding area, we only visited Colchester and we went on out motorbike so can't comment on public transport. Colchester is a good day out with plenty to see and do.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 173 reviews from this member

Much has been mentioned of the road noise at this site, well there is but not so bad that it bothered us, anyway we opted for a pitch near the centre of the park away from the road. The park is nicely landscaped and very pleasant, heard woodpeckers and Jays in the adjacent woodland. The site is very secure with heavy gates shut during the night and found the reception staff informative and friendly. There is a pub up the road but never used it instead we walked across the park/small track to Lexden church and caught one of the frequent buses to Colchester, these buses run late so great for a night out. The toilets/showers are a bit dated but clean and functional. Paid 22/night for a large hardstanding pitch with ehu.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shacar 3 reviews from this member

Being camping virgins we did not know what to expect of the site. From the moment we arrived we could see that it was well maintained, secure and the facilities were very clean (Missus very happy!) Members of staff were really friendly and helpful. Site well placed for local public transport and local shops.

Our pitch complete with electric hook up was in a lovely spot, not too near anybody else and level, in the shelter of trees and hedges.

Our experience here has confirmed we made the right decision in buying a tent. We felt relaxed and quite at home.

One slight nuisance is the nearby road noise, but you soon get used to it and we were aware of this before arrival. It did not affect our enjoyable stay in any way.

No longer being camping virgins we are looking forward to many more camping trips, unfortunately Colchester Holiday Park have set the bar high for us!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokes11 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here Easter weekend and if anyone can remember it didn't stop raining the whole week but obviously this is not the sites fault, very nice guy in reception who give us our pitch but turned out a week but water logged but with no problem at all was mover to another pitch, as for the noise if you book a site adjacent to the a12 you can't really complain about road noise, the site itself very clean and toilet/shower blocks very very ample as there was 3 of them(impressed) and cleaned regular we used the site as our first trip of the season to make sure van+awning was all good and no issues before our main holidays, this is owned by the same people as Thriftwood holiday park in Kent.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tiggerdav 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending the Easter bank holiday a lovely clean site, very friendly staff nothing is to much trouble, 5 min drive to the pub for food and drink, very close to Colchester zoo and all amenities that Colchester has to offer.

Although the site is close to the A12 we did not here a lot of traffic noise once we had closed up for the night.

Would certainly return.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 40 reviews from this member

This is a very big, secure site! The staff are helpful and pitches were a good size. 22 per night for hardstanding and electricity. There is constant 24 hour road noise from the (very) nearby A12 but since it is constant it really becomes just a background drone which you will soon become used to. A half mile walk through the adjacent park gets you to Lexden church from which there is a very frequent bus service (numbers 65 and 70) taking about 10 minutes to the town centre which, with its Castle and shopping is an attractive day out. Walking this route will be on a main road and take about 40 minutes. The three facilities blocks are small (three urinals, three hand basins, three showers in each) and will not cope in Summer if all the pitches are in use. That being said, we enjoyed our stay in February and can recommend this site to others.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wispy 7 reviews from this member

After booking in at the very smart reception and entering through the security barrier, we were quite surprised by the clean and well kept site which looked almost picturesque in the afternoon sun. 3 good toilet blocks with well cut grass and lots of facilities including a caravan wash area and an information hut are good ideas, along with a leaflet that gives info (and a map) on nearby supermarkets, shops, doctors, etc.

A small downside was being next to the busy A12, but we didn't find it a problem at all, and I don't think other campers did either, judging by how busy the site was during our bank holiday weekend.

All in all, I think pricing is reasonable for the site and facilities as I've paid almost as much for a LOT! less, so I would say that a return visit sometime is very likely.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karlos65 3 reviews from this member

I read several reviews mentioning the road being noisy but have to disagree, although it's audible it wouldn't be a problem to anyone.

The site is very well kept, the grass pitches were nice and green and all of the staff are friendly and helpful, this seems to emanate through the site as most of the people staying on the site were also especially friendly and helpful too.

There are several shower blocks, the showers are compact inside though but plenty of hot water.

Reception has a few useful essentials albeit a bit pricey (sorry guys, I have to mention the 4 for a large kitchen roll)

Great location, a fivers cab ride from the site to the town and just up the road are some takeaways (they delivered to reception via JustEat) and an Aldi supermarket.

Buses into town not too far away either.

Mersea and Clacton both about half hour away.

All in a good weekend and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 17 reviews from this member

A well organised, clean and friendly site. Toilet block immaculate and warm, powerful showers. Around 2 mile walk into Colchester down cycleway/footpath. In the opposite direction there is an Aldi 0. 5 miles and a large retail park including Sainsbury about a mile from the site. The site is just off the A12 which means there is some road noise. A very good base for visiting Colchester and the surrounding area. There is a dog walk on site and there are public footpaths through fields just the other side of the roundabout.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 29 reviews from this member

Four nights on this site and we had no show stopping problems. If you don't like road noise this site is not for you, A12 runs right past the site and is noisy 24/7. Didn't stop us sleeping, but some would HATE it.

We were told we could get WIFI near to Reception and log on details are provided. We tried two days running, IPAD refused to see the network at all, phone could see it but no signal. 3G was fortunately good in the whole site.

It was quiet when we visited but if it was anywhere near full I can't see 8 showers coping. All facilities were well maintained and clean but just a little tired. Usual push button showers, excellent hot water.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant.

The grassed are, with low occupancy, felt like a well maintained urban park, but there are a lot of pitches and they are close together.

Amazingly these days this site does NOT recycle, I thought you had to, obviously wrong.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Essex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2197 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938