Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colchester Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Reviews

Colchester Country Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 41 to 49                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NewRangerFamily 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site as an overnight stop en route to and from the Harwich ferry. Its next to the A12 which takes you all the way to Harwich and with light traffic, in around 30- 40 mins.

The overnight pitches are just inside the entrance gate and are laid entirely to gravel with EHU and are also level. They are however slap bang next to the A12 and had it not been for decent ear plugs I dont think I would have got to sleep. Staff were on hand to greet us when we arrived at 9.30pm and to allocate us our pitch.

The site itself is well maintained, clean and obviously well managed. Toilet block and chemical emptying point were both very clean. The staff are polite and friendly.

To be honest, for an overnight stop, I think next time I'll look for a site in a more peaceful location

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazza6997 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for the 1st time, and were very impressed, although it was only for the weekend.
On arrival the greeting from the management and staff was very welcoming and they were very helpful.
The pitch we had was well maintained and had plenty of space for our tent and car.
The facilities, the showers, toilets and washing up blocks were very clean and hot water at all times. Also there's a lovely play area for the kids, there is also a well stocked shop in the reception.
Nearby  is the town centre, the zoo is not far and also plenty of places to eat and drink.
I would like to say that we would camp here again in the future and would fully recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ethan912 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with 3 young children and they had a great time. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the park is very clean and toilet/shower blocks are extremely well maintained, childrens play area was a bonus as most parks have a very limited area thrust into a corner that can't be used for anything else the area at colchester was great and I had a job getting the kids away from it. Yes the road noise is loud but you soon learn to forget about it. Shop appeared very reasonable and stocked the usual mix of accessories and groceries etc.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trevor cooper 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 8 nights at this lovely site. After a bit of confusion over the lack of electric point we asked for on our given pitch the friendly and helpful owners and staff did sort it out. We were given pitches very near to the road which does not ever seem quiet but after a day or so it did not bother us. The childrens play area was excellent and the 6 children in our party spent most of their time there or in the trees.

The shower blocks were very clean but could of done with a second clean especially over the weekend. The second block did seem to get very wet as the water did not drain very well from the showers but the third larger block was better and did have more room. But free showers and washing up facilities, reasonable washing machine and drier facilities prices and use of a washing line. The shop had a large range of goods that were reasonably priced.

The owners had only taken over in december but were very friendly and open to suggestions on improving the site. We would come again as there was lots to do in the surrounding area but maybe ask for a pitch a bit further away from the noisy road.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rpavitt 1 review from this member

Only stayed for the one night but cannot fault the site at all. Friendly and helpful welcome. Some noise from the A12 (but not enough to be troublesome). Toilets/showers were clean and well maintained. The whole site was very well layed out. Would recommend the site. We'll be staying there again!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Freebird 10 reviews from this member

Although arriving late in the evening for an "only overnight" stay our host was very welcomming and allocated us a pitch. As said, the site is well kept and the sanitory building was clean. Noticable where the "do's & don't" signs we encountered but that seemed a general habit in the whole South of the UK, as we experienced later on.

Prices are a bit steep, considdering 20 GBP for a motorhome and two adults for one night with EHU and the campsite is rather noisy at night. Policecars seem to use the exit road for their sirened approach to the motorway and woke us up several times. We left the site at 06:30 AM so we can not make a comment of the quality of other services; to us it sufficed as an overnight stay but we would not book for a long period, however nice the host was.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Alison Fryer 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 days on our way back from Kent. The site is very well maintained, but lies behind a very busy road so be prepared for road noise. There are plenty of toilet facilities which are kept clean, but are a bit on the old side. The site is used mainly as a stop over for visitors from the Netherlands coming over on the ferry from Harwich, and we were kept entertained most nights by the queue of caravans arriving and then leaving by the next morning. The Dutch visitors were very friendly and we got chatting to many of them, who were touring the U.K. and lapped up the information that we gave to them. The site allows tents/large motorhomes and tourers.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josmitheram 1 review from this member

We decided (as novice campers) to opt for a site that was pretty local, 'yet away from the hustle and bustle of London'. We spent two nights here. It was a lovely well kept site with plenty of campers and absolutely hundreds of wild rabbits scampering around, which thrilled us to bits!
The facilities are excellent, heated toilet blocks and plenty of showers, toilets and private washing cubicles. Would go again if in need of an 'easy' camping weekend.
Just one point, the site is adjacent to the A12 which is pretty busy at all times, so theres a constant background traffic noise, does muffle out individual campers noise though.

Reviewer: Suggs 3 reviews from this member

June 2005
Just got back from a weekend break at this site. Not the most friendliest of welcomes, which you generally expect from a CC site.But it is a good base, within easy access to major roads.

There are 3 toilet/shower blocks and all were clean and heated, and had an abundance of hot water. The site is accessed through a barrier which you are given a key for, but be warned if you are after 11.30pm it is locked. However there are late night parking spaces.

There is a well stocked camp shop, which seems to be fairly priced.

This site seems to have a major rabbit population, so the ground is covered with droppings. The site is next to the A12, a major road which never seems to be quiet. Also seems to be in a flight path.

Warning if pitching a tent, the ground is very hard, so new tent pegs needed after a trip to this site. Overall a good site to have as a base to explore the area, as there do not seem to be many sites within this area.

Will return, with ear plugs and stronger pegs next time.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 49     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4894 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019