Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colchester Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Reviews

Colchester Country Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shaz1968 5 reviews from this member

We selected this site as a stop=over on the way up from Brighton to Cromer. Convenient as it is just off the A12 however the road noise was terrible. We were pitched next to the road with rumble strips! As it was just for the one night we stayed put however I would have asked to move had it been for longer.

I do appreciate it was late in the season but the site needed some maintenance. The hard-standing pitches were separated with wooden planters however these were full of weeds.

The toilet block, whilst fairly clean was tired, the showers had cracked tiles, the toilet seats were lose and some lights didn't work.

The site staff were friendly offering information on local shops etc.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amys85 1 review from this member

This site is absolutely beautiful!

It is close to the A12 so there is a low hum from the traffic but it's really not that bad. Any negative factor from that is outweighed by everything else.

I met two members of staff (possibly owner?) in our day there and they were so nice and helpful, seemed like nothing was too much trouble.

The grounds are stunning, I wanted to live there! The night we stayed we arrived back on site around midnight and were stunned to see hundreds of little rabbits everywhere, it was brilliant!

The toilet/shower/washing up/laundry blocks were very well kept and really clean (having three across the site meant they were never too busy). There were fresh water points and bins every 200 meters or so. The reception is also a small shop that has a few of the basics you might need.

For families there is also a small playground that you are able to pitch up right next to.

A short walk away there is a nice looking pub (we passed it but didn't need to go in), as the site is next to the A12 getting out and about is easy.

If you couldn't tell already. We're definitely going to be coming back for more!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SvenBoy 11 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights, on my motorbike in a small tent.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the noise from the A12. It was very useful to know of this, so my earplugs that I use on the bike were very useful.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly and I had a spacious pitch with hard-standing for the bike.

The price was more than I would pay on a Camping and Caravanning Club Site, but its the same as a non-member would pay on a Club Site.

There was a good bus service into Colchester and the site manager gave me helpful advice on a short-cut to the bus-stop.

I enjoyed my stay at this site, and would certainly stay there again if visiting the area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sdhoughton 2 reviews from this member

This site is very close to the A12 which is busy 24/7, unfortunately. This is such a shame as the facilities otherwise are very pleasant, lots of showers, toilets, washing areas etc and all well maintained.

I am not just saying it was a little noisy - it was extremely noisy and virtually difficult to sleep all night! But then at home we are fortunate enough to live in the countryside with no ambient noise other than the occasional owl to wake us. Maybe others wouldn't find it as noisy as we did?

I don't know if there have been security issues in the past (possibly?) but the security on the site is very tight; CCTV everywhere and a security barrier that is a total pain! We had to wait 20 mins to be let in (despite booking an arrival time) and then it took us 5 mins to find somebody to let us out when we were leaving! If you are staying a few days and have a better initial admission then I think you may get a pass. They seemed a little short staffed during our stay with reception often empty and the shop closed during it's normal opening hours.

These things aside the site is lovely with rabbits everywhere (our dog was fascinated with them).

The site contained many other very friendly and pleasant campers in tents, trailer tents and caravans. There were no loose dogs, rubbish or unruly children which was great!

We would not return due to the noisy location next to the A12.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

Stayed here early in the season so site almost empty. Nicely laid out site with plenty of room. A bit of noise from A12 but you get used to this after a while and it was not enough to spoil visit. Toilets/showers clean but in need of TLC and water slow to drain away in shower trays so you end up covered in soap waiting for tray to empty before you can rinse! Nice central position for touring Essex Suffolk. Buses into Colchester a short walk away.

Staff friendly. Have stayed here before and would stay again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

Greetings

The noise from the main east anglian arterial route is on first reflection quite noisy but its a main road and very busy, add to this the noise from the trains and the although it could be quite loud it didn't bother us at all and we got used to it very quickly to the point it didn't bother us. Its not that bad to warrant giving it minus points.

On arrival we found that the disabled toilets were missing rolls of toilet paper but a quick call to reception and it was sorted in under 5 mins

Whilst we were there they had a blockage in one of the facilities which they were quick to sort out but it didn't cause any grief as there is 2 other facilities blocks

The pitches are plenty and big enough for all units although if your big like ours then avoid 118 as the lamp post makes it awkward

This is a big site with both grass and hardstanding pitches.

The facilities are fine for both short stay and longer stays, although not modern in design they are well cleaned, the showers are wicked and not push button.

There is plenty to do in the area including the castle, town centre and the football team.

The reception is well stocked with items and the team we met were very friendly and welcoming

The site is locked at night 2300 - 0700 ish with a secured barrier

There is quite a reasonable play area for the kids at the beginning of the site

The costs for the weekend thurs - sunday for 3 adults were very reasonable

The big question then, would we go again,

Yes we would and will be planning in a trip back there.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Doggy do little 1 review from this member

It was Very dark around the entrance area to this site at night time, if walking you need a torch or you won't see where you are walking.

It was very well maintained during my stay by the groundsman who is very hardworking from what I saw.

The toilets and showers on this site are very basic. No hot water in 2 out of 4 showers in the last shower block, and only cleaned twice a week.

I wouldn't stay here again as the road noise was pretty unbearable.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steph1409 1 review from this member

The site itself is very nice, big plots and very well looked after.

However being in a tent the noise from the A12 was very distracting especially first thing in the morning and when we were trying to sleep at night! We had asked for a pitch furthest away from the road as we had read the reviews about the noise and the lady on reception told us we had 'a lovely pitch far from the road' I don't actually think we could of been any closer than we were! Another thing we found was that the welcome and information from the reception was very cold. My partners parents are keen campers and wanted to join us for a quick cup of tea to look around the site. The man on reception tutted and moaned and said they were allowed to have a look around for 10 mins! He even added '10 minutes means 10 minutes' I found this very rude!

On the upside, the site is pretty close to Colchester town centre and there are plenty of things to do out of the site, however I don't think we will be going back!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gemandrichard 1 review from this member

We booked this site at fairly late notice.

We arrived at 20:00 on a Friday evening (as we advised the camp site) and were greeted on arrival as promised.

The site is close to the A12 and after reading other reviews on this site we requested a pitch away from the road. To be honest the road noise is obviously there, however if you get the pitch we did you don't notice it at all.

The facilities were generally clean, though there were a few occasions when the toilets needed a clean.

The site shop seemed to be well stocked.

We would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Up-in-20-minutes 1 review from this member

We turned up for a long weekend with a small dog and were put right down the bottom end of the site nearest the A12. The dog exercise area was a good 10-minute walk back to the Reception area so bear this in mind. Great open park opposite the site entrance though.

Facilities clean and ok. 'hot' water unpredictable (mostly warm) in showers. Water and EHU readily available.

Nothing much within walking distance of the site in the way of food and drink.

Let's cut to the chase. That A12 is very, very noisy - take your earplugs because you really will need them. If we got any nearer we'd have been camping on the hard shoulder - in fact it sounded as if we were!

Well kept site - a bit 'health and safety' crazy but we're new to all this and at least you felt secure.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019