Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Colchester Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Country Park Reviews

Colchester Country Park
Cymbeline Way
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO3 4AG
Tel: 01206 545551
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yellowmatress 1 review from this member

This was our first camping expedition - 2 children aged 8 & 11 and one adult.

We booked one night by telephone a few days before with no problems and paid extra to turn up at 9:30.Total cost £22.

The site felt secure and safe with plenty of loos, showers and washing up areas. There is a small shop too.

We had a nice pitch although we told to park our car in front of our tent. Naturally, I would want to park my car next to the tent as I want to have a view out of the front of my tent and not look at my car!

A major problem though, which we should have spotted prior to booking, was the close proximity to the A12 and its slip road. On the upside - it was easy to find and signposted with brown signs. On the down side we were continually woken throughout the night by tremendous noise and were glad to leave the following morning. The A12 is a link route for international lorries so the noise continued through the night. I imagine being in a caravan it would not be so problematical but in a tent it was nearly unbearable.

We have learnt our lesson to research sites more closely.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Addlestones 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a few nights with our children. When we booked, we found that the owners were friendly, but they were not overly welcoming or very helpful when we arrived.

The site itself is immaculate - the loo blocks do appear worn but were fairly clean. There is a nice play area for the children, a little dog walk, a shop and a nice info & phone area. It appeared that the site was mostly a stopover, as there seemed to be a lot of motorhomes and not that many people actually staying.

The big problem that we encountered through was that the pitch was literally a few metres from an extremely busy main road. We did ask to move pitch, but the owners were not helpful at all, despite the site being fairly empty.

There is a line of trees/hedging in between, but the noise was quite horrendous at times and we were all woken throughout the night by lorries rumbling past. The noise level does lessen throughout the park however, as the distance to the road increases.

The park is quite near to Colchester itself and there is lots to do in the area.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smart152 8 reviews from this member

The toilet block was not to a caravan club standard and was in a well worn state, but clean. The site has storage facilities, which come recommended by the few we spoke to. There is a children's allocated play area. The receptionist was very polite & helpful. The shop had the essentials, tea, sugar, milk (long life). I found the pitches quite small. If we had a neighbour, our porch awning would almost touch another caravan. Bring a long electrics lead too, as some pitches you have to trail around your neighbour to get to the hook up point. Ok for a 1 or 2 night stop off point. I found the price was quite high even though we went in February. 1 Night with porch awning no pets with extra time for departure extended for £29. The close proximity to the A12 can be a little noisy at first if the wind is blowing in the wrong direction, but we soon got used to it! Clean site.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Klunked 12 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site this last weekend, Friday and Saturday night. It might be close to the slip road for the A12 but it was not even noticeable. I admit that if I had been in a tent it might have been different. The lady who took my booking was extremely helpful, checking the length of my van, that I was on my own etc. And then arranging for me to telephone when near so that the owner could come and see me onto the site.

Very nice people, nice little shop, toilets clean with several blocks and showers - no issues there. Admittedly its out of season and there were only half a dozen people there, if it had been busy it would have been too close for me especially with kids and dogs but out of season brilliant. Walked up through the lanes to the main road and got bus straight into Colchester, didn't want to walk all the way. Brilliant telephone room with lots of books and magazines you could borrow, any churchgoers beautiful local C of E.

Only possible drawback, my T mobile would not work at all so no telephone or internet access and don't have expensive satellite for TV so only three channels. But for the £12 a night it cost me it was a bargain.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola Gillham 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 4 night visit to this site. We were very impressed with the quality of the grounds and the facilities were good. The children's play area was a hit with my 6 year old as were the badminton and basketball nets.

The only downside was the proximity to the A12 slip road. The noise was pretty bad all night to the extent that my husband slept in the car in an attempt to escape it. Probably fine for caravan / motorhome users but not too good for tents - unless you pack industrial earplugs!

Unfortunately, the noise problem has affected my overall rating which is a shame as it is otherwise a lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DogChops 10 reviews from this member

Wanting to just get away for the weekend locally rather than find a site further afield like usual, we tried our luck at Colchester Camping & Caravan Park having never visited before.

The owners were very helpful, and having a non-hookup tent they originally placed us on a small tent pitch away from the play area, but on asking them if we could move closer to it, they kindly obliged without question and allowed us to rock up onto a van hardstanding pitch right next to the play area, where we instead parked the car on gravel and pitched up just to the back of. Brilliantly helpful, perfect in fact, right between the lavs and the play area.

The play area is better than it looks on Google maps, it isn't just a log built selection anymore and our 2 boys (3 & 5) really enjoyed themselves.

The toilets were always clean and warm.

Across from the site is a park where we could let the dog run about off lead which was great too.

The pitch itself didn't suffer at all under a slight downpour and the lawn was well tended to.

The site is pretty big and there is a lot of tent pitches and open space, so I should imagine anyone looking for a site to go with a few families or small groups, you could probably pitch together.

The only detraction and I do really mean, the only bad point was the fact that you are right next to the A12.

In all honesty it isn't as bad as some make out, the traffic in general doesn't disturb, it's the 18 wheelers making their mileage at night that wake you up when you hear and feel the rumble. But if you are someone that is generally comatose when asleep, you'll be fine.

It's a good enough site apart, and a short drive out will take you to a number of places, shops, zoos, historic sites.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AliHo 15 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site, as it's local to where we live. Having just got a new full size awning, we thought that we ought to try it out first before going away. The site itself is fine, well kept, showers were clean and tidy, as was the washing up area. As others have stated, the road that runs parallel to the site, is very noisy, however, after a while you do get used to it.
Our children loved the play area, which has been 'done up', and they spent considerable time on it. Staying for one night only, I did feel that the cost is quite high, in comparison with others.
For those who are wanting to go to places like Colchester Zoo, it's ideal. Colchester Town, is a good walk away, but has many great shops and cafes, and a fabulous castle.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yellow_is_best 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this camp site for 3 nights. Arriving on a Thursday we were the only people camping - was mostly motor homes but by the Saturday we had 2 others camping near us. If you are camping the pitches would be very cosy if it had been busy as the pitches are marked out very close.

We found this place quiet expensive for us as we are currently not members of the camping and caravan club, so for 3 nights it cost us over £50 for a tent pitch. You should also be aware that there is a £10 deposit for a barrier key, unless you want to leave your car in the car park.

This is a very well maintained, organised and clean site however the road noise is very noisy and does take a while to get used too. At night the park is very well lit everywhere which is a big plus. There are 3 toilet blocks, 2 having been made more modern which seemed to be well cleaned daily.

Overall I think this is a lovely site but not for us due to noise level, we live in a noisy road so try to go camping for peace and quiet - I would say it's a good place for 1 night max - pit stop.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malwhite 4 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in April with our lads (13 & 11). The site is well kept, toilets very clean, no litter and grass well mowed. We did visit in a fairly quiet time of year so can't comment on what it would be like in summer. There is a children's playground which seemed ok for young kids.

There is a quiet after 11 or 11:30pm rule and the barrier to the campsite closes at 11:30pm but there were so few people there I can't tell how well this rule is enforced. There is quite a bit of noise from the A12 nearby but this fades into the background after a while and didn't bother us at all.

There is a pub about 5 minutes walk away and chipshops and the like within 5 minutes drive. If I have a gripe, and it is only a small one, we only had two 2 person tents and were allocated and paid for two caravan sized pitches but H&S grounds may have come into play there. I would recommend this site to anyone else.

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JOYLA 4 reviews from this member

Spent a couple of nights here whilst touring around visiting family members. Had used this site many times in the past when the previous owners were there. Had been led to believe it was better but found little evidence to support this. A new children's play park has been built which would appeal to families. Found the toilet block cold and past it's best but clean. The owners were friendly and helpful. The noise from the road didn't bother us and it is situated well for touring Essex. Quite a pleasant 40 mins walk into Colchester with all the shops and restaurants you could want.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019