Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The White Swan Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Inn > Reviews

The White Swan Inn
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 38 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely weekend at this simple straight forward site. Because we booked late we couldn't have electric hook up, we managed without.

The landlord met us on arival and exsplained all we needed without being overbearing. Due to recent rain the ground was a bit soft but with care we got on and off the pitch ok.

Toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water. You may have to time you're shower carefully if the site is busy as there are only two showers.

We ate in the pub one night. Nice pub type food and no problem with taking the dog in.

A good base for walks on the North Yorkshire Moors and within walking distance of the station at Levisham. Be aware you will have a steep walk down and back up to the site and it can be a bit muddy.

Walking to the view point at the back of the site and watching the trains climb up the valley is amazing.

Another site we will go back to with the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisplummer 1 review from this member

 Stayed 4 nights in this lovely little site. Owners were very helpful on arrival (they didn't have our booking but helpfully accommodated us). Site is right next to Newtondale, with steam trains and fabulous walks. Also not far from Cropton Forest for bike rides and close to Pickering for a nice restaurant.

Real bonus having the pub on site with well kept Timmy Taylor's beers and nice sunny seats outside on an afternoon/evening.

Very accommodating, sat 11 of us at a nice big table for Sunday dinner.

All in all a great spot 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joym 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this site. The owner Stephen couldn't have been more helpful when we arrived. He showed us to the pitches and explained about a lovely walk we could take, with a viewpoint down towards Levisham station. He also took the time to welcome us to the site and tell us about the new chef he had, who had just introduced a childs menu. We had an early meal which everyone enjoyed especially when his son gave our young grandson, on his first camping trip, a snake skin he had found at work that day. If you go to the site do take the walk Stephen suggests as the view is spectacular. The first full day there we walked down from the viewpoint to Levisham station and as there was a steam gala weekend we took the train to Goathland and back. This was fabulous and well worth the hike down. The only down side to the site is the trek to the shower/toilet block especially in the middle of the night!They are however spotless! thanks for a lovely weekend and hopefully we will be back in the not too distant future. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 nights - and it was lovely. Steve was welcoming and showed us around the site and the facilities.

There were great walks from the site. We did a circular walk which included coming back up the hill others have mentioned. There's a small circular walk around the back of the campsite and back down through the village that was perfect as a dog walk.

We ate in the pub on our first night, again our host was welcoming and dinner was good pub grub. Dogs are also welcome into the pub. Showers and loos were always clean - and on our first night, when we advised Steve that one of the showers was not draining away very quickly, when he had a quiet moment he went out and fixed the problem.

We found the pub and the locals friendly. This is definitely a campsite we will be visiting again when we are in the area. Well done Steve and Linda - keep up the good work! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Esiotrot2 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have stopped at this site at least 4 times this year, and hope to get 2 more weekends there before the end of the season.

The pitches are spacious and level.

The toilets and showers are clean. There may only be 2 showers, but that has not caused us any problems. If you are pitched at the far end of the field you will have a 2 minute walk to the toilet/shower block, but is that really a problem??

The pub offers a good selection of homemade food, with generous portions.

There are some superb walks straight from the campsite.

It is also a pleasant change to see that the rule on keeping the noise down after 2200hrs is politely enforced - a big bonus in my eyes.

And finally, we have always found Stephen & Linda very friendly, welcoming and happy oblige where possible. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purple Pair 1 review from this member

 What a gem.

The welcome and friendliness was lovely, the landlord and landlady have their children on site and helping out making it a family business. All were very chatty and made us feel very welcome.

The pitches are all well kept- flat- and big.

Toilets and showers and clean, modern and bight. Please be aware it's approx 2 minute walk to the toilets that are behind the pub- but it's well lit to get there if you don't have a loo in your unit!

'Rules':It says on the T&C's quiet by 10pm and they stick to it- BRILLIANT and one of the reasons we booked as we wanted a good quiet nights sleep and that's exactly what we got. Those who want to stay up later and party, this is not the site for you!

Things to do: without getting in the car are amazing views and walks- you can even walk down to the steam train and have a day out(though it's a steep walk back)

Pub Food: Oh my goodness- homemade, tasty and big portions. The couple next to us travel and stay and order the veggie lasagne as it's so good they said!

Stay again? Of course and without hesitation- we haven't yet explored the area and this is the place to stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quality seeker 1 review from this member

 Myself and son decided to just get away for a weekend and chill out. For a change we decided to buy two small tents and just find a site. The white swan turned out to be exactly what we wanted. From our initial enquiry to arrival we were made to feel welcome. Never being camping before we had no idea what to expect. The owner suggested the perfect pitch and it was huge. We felt more like friends that had been invited in for a drink than customers in the bar. We ate in the pub and the food was great with a wide choice all reasonably priced.

There was a fair selection of caravans and tents with a mixed selection of couples, family's etc.

The shower block was clean with loads of hot water.

I could go on an on but if you are looking for a quiet well run site with owners that are interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible then look no further.

I have no doubt that we will return in the future 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mky100 5 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed at this site, the first been a pleasant one with great walks in the surrounding area, clean toilets and handy with a pub.

Very little room for kids to play, not very good views from campsite.

Then we returned for the second time with a poor reception from the owner not been very welcoming.

He was telling us to be quiet after 10pm as stated in the rules and regulations, we were in the awning and not making excessive noise as we all had children ourselves sleeping in the 4 caravans. I even noticed the owner stood listening to us at the end of the drive.

We asked a couple of people around us the next morning and they didn't seem to have heard anything.

There was 4 caravans that visited this site and needless to say we will not be back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big Gary 6 reviews from this member

 The positive to start with, This site is well placed for walks with plenty leading from the site. But unfortunately the site itself is not that impressive, when we stayed there was a generator running all day from one of the season pitches that after a couple of hours got to be a real drain. Also some of the power points were just a couple of extension cables tie wrapped to the fence. There was one small area where our children and some of the others we playing and then the owner put a campervan there when there was plenty of space further down the field. Also there were only 2 showers and toilets that were always full with the showers not draining away so you were stood in water all the time. Top this off with a not very polite owner then I can say that we wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sduff4 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 3 times now. Fab location for access to great walking network which we love. However prices have increased since new owners took over and there's better value sites with better facilities in the area. Only 2 toilets and showers which are kept clean and with hot water but can get busy. Everything located at one end of long campsite so bit of a trek for those at the end. We were just disappointed this time with the welcome we received and the hospitality whilst on the site. Its the simple things sometimes that put you off and make you go explore new places. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The White Swan Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The White Swan Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement