Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The White Swan Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Inn > Reviews

The White Swan Inn
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maggib 1 review from this member

 We received a very warm welcome to this lovely quiet site, the site was very neat, the toilet and shower block very clean and everywhere appeared well cared for.

Plenty of walks nearby, perfect for our dogs, in fact was disappointed I didn't get chance to do more of the walks. Will definitely be returning!

Perfect for trips to Whitby, Scarborough, Pickering and Helmsley(to name just a few). Well worthwhile visiting Eden Camp.

A short walk up the field to the pub, what more could you ask for? And dogs are welcome too.

All in all a site I can see us returning to time and time again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davidhere1 5 reviews from this member

 Had a great at night there the bar is dog friendly so great if you fancy a meal. The landlord was friendly and kept his beer well. The campsite was basic but adequate for my needs lovely location with nice scenic walks at the back of the two fields that is the campsite, the grass was well kept and the ground flat. Only thing I would have liked to see perhaps were a couple of lights on the fields. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EllieR 6 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at this site and were impressed with facilities. The site is very well maintained and is kept neat and tidy. Although we used our own facilities, the toilet and shower, etc. , looked to be very clean.

You are about 4 miles from the market town of Pickering. We had a great day out using the steam railway to visit Whitby. There are many places of interest nearby and the surrounding countryside is wonderful.

We would recommend this site to both caravanners and campers for its cleanliness and friendliness. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham1405 10 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here before we were looking forward to visiting again. The weekend was busy with events in nearby Pickering. The impact on the site was evident. The two shower cubicles and two toilets were occupied most of the time. There is not enough facilities on this site for the number units it can accommodate. In addition on this occasion we were looking for the disabled facility after my wife’s hip replacement, and regrettably there is no disabled facility in the pub or on the site. The food as usual was impeccable and of good value, however they have now stopped Sunday lunch roast, and their previously excellent roast beef is off the menu. Disappointing experience this time, the weather didn't help. A noisy and poor quality band were engaged for Saturday night entertainment. Our previous experience here has been tarnished, this time by dog deposits on our pitch which was reported but not acted on. This is likely to be our last visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mittaliano 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site, owners not very friendly, £7 per night cheap. The walk to Levisham is down a steep hill via a cow field, so beware if you have dogs. Pub food ok, not special, no life in the pub, shame because its a nice site in a pretty village. It was dry while we were here so no issues there. If you are in the top field, the furthest from the pub, you have to walk all the way back to the pub to get round the fence, because of the locked gate, but ok for us as dogs jumped over the gate and we climbed over 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silvercamp pod 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 nights over the late May bank holiday. The site was nearly full for 2 of the nights and less busy for the rest. There are 2 fields, the first containing mainly caravans, (some EHU points available) and the second tents. The fields are narrow but the pitches are reasonably wide to counteract this. The site is well sheltered and drains well.

The facilities have 2 unisex toilets, 2 unisex wet room style showers and 1 pot wash. They are situated just at the back of the pub and it was quite a walk from the second field. Also, on a number of times the hot water in the shower reduced itself to a small dribble- I'm guessing when the other shower or pot wash was in use. They were a little strained when the site was full but there are extra loos when the pub is open.

There were a lot of dogs on the site when we stayed and about 1/3rd of the owners did not adhere to the site request of keeping them on a lead.

We had a meal at the pub one night- the main menu has at least 8 options and there were specials available. The portions are big- I opted for a small so I could fit in a pudding! I would go back to the site just to order the sticky toffee pudding again.

From this site we visited Robin Hood's Bay, Scarborough, Whitby using the steam train from Levisham, and the National Park centre at Danby which was great for our kids.

It is a well located site for attractions, and good value. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timjim 2 reviews from this member

 What a little gem this site is, quiet and not too big, spotless facilities, roomy pitches and plenty of walks and places to visit within the vicinity. The pub is welcoming and serves great home cooked food and serves cask ales too, we were also allowed to take our dog in to the pub which was great. The pitches are nice and level which is great for tents and are all numbered and well-spaced out. The only thing we found although a minute detail was the lack of a fridge/freezer for our freezer packs however the proprietor was happy to refreeze them for us in her freezer. Will definitely return in the future 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrsed20 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site, the reviews were excellent but we picked this as we had friends staying locally. The site was in a real 'get away from it all' location. However, this also means no shops for 4 miles (pickering). Access is very tight down the side of the pub. I had to guide the husband through as there were various unnecessary hazards along the lane (that would be better removed given that it is the only access).

The shower block consists of 2 loos and 2 showers (unisex) and whilst free, they were the push button type which aren't ideal with young children. Also, if someone was in the other shower, the water stopped as 'they' pressed the button. 2 out of 3 nights we ended up washing in the sink. The block was also freezing. There were heated towel rails which were not on. If we had paid £15 per night I wouldn't have been disappointed but at £24 per night, I have to say we were.

Having a pub in front of the site was lovely, however even on a bank holiday weekend this didn't open until 6. Our overall impression was overpriced and not properly thought out or managed. We never saw any member of staff go beyond the bar of the pub during our stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TeresaBillington 1 review from this member

 Booking for this site was very good, We went for a mountain biking weekend with a mixture of Campervan and Tent. The Field for both are excellent quality grass and level. The site is very clean and tidy and well maintained. The owners of the pub and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Toilet and Shower block was perfect for our stay. However, The water did seem to go up and down in pressure when more than one shower was occupied. Very clean and electric sockets in the block. There were only 2 toilets and 2 showers and the site was very quiet when we stayed, so don't know how good this would work at peak times.

Beers and food in the pub were excellent and reasonably priced.

Lovely location in the village and nice setting overlooking duck pond on the green, ideal way to sit and chill out with a book or pond dipping with children.

Excellent Mountain biking from the doorstep and road cycling into the North York Moors. Goathland just a 9 mile ride along a very pretty moors quiet road with lovely views.

I would def recommend this site to others. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jhardy1145 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent last night there Sat29/9/12 what an excellent little site, will definitely be back for longer next time, lovley pub serving excellent

Beers & very dog friendly.

Lots of walks straight from site including a view

From the top of valley over moors and steam train track below overlooking Leversham station.

Didn't use on site facilities but was told they were very good.

Nice little village but no shops so come prepared or drive 4 miles back to Pickering. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The White Swan Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The White Swan Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement