Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The White Swan

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Reviews

The White Swan
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ziggy Martin 3 reviews from this member

Just been to this site for the first time this weekend and had a very enjoyable time, the site is not the biggest but all the better for it, the pitch was a good size, toilets /shower room and pot wash all good, The village pub was spot on, we have dogs and there are no issue on the site or in the pub, we will be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 19 reviews from this member

Hmm. I'm scratching my head a little here because my wife told me what she thought and anyone would think we'd been to two different sites. So in the interests of fairness I'll leave both reviews.

She didn't like it. She was a bit upset with the time we had to wait for our meal one night, especially as she had offered to change the booking time for our table to suit the owner. She thought the lasagne and especially the chips she had were disappointing. She said that the water pressure in one of the two showers was too low and that one of the toilets wasn't clean when she used it.

I on the other hand didn't notice the time it took for our food to be cooked because I was too busy going through photos I'd taken since arriving and looking at things to do the next day. The toilets were clean when I used them, and I only used the shower she told me to use and it was fine. I agree that the food in the pub was not the best, but it wasn't the worst either and the beer and cider were nice. Just accept that it's a village pub and not a restaurant.

We both liked the location, which is on a hill about 4 miles outside Pickering and offers lovely views over the North Yorkshire Moors. The views are even better if you can live without electric hook-up and pitch up in the second of their two fields farther from the pub. The walk to Levisham Station, from which steam trains run to Whitby, is beautiful. Yes it's steep, but this is North Yorkshire and that's how it comes.

So to try and sum up and say something helpful. If you want a pretty pitch with a pub nearby and especially if you can live without electric hook-up, this site should be fine for you. If you also want food, toilet and shower facilities on hand, well, you'll just have to make up your own mind.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 32 reviews from this member

We have just spent a lovely weekend at this simple straight forward site. Because we booked late we couldn't have electric hook up, we managed without.

The landlord met us on arival and exsplained all we needed without being overbearing. Due to recent rain the ground was a bit soft but with care we got on and off the pitch ok.

Toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water. You may have to time you're shower carefully if the site is busy as there are only two showers.

We ate in the pub one night. Nice pub type food and no problem with taking the dog in.

A good base for walks on the North Yorkshire Moors and within walking distance of the station at Levisham. Be aware you will have a steep walk down and back up to the site and it can be a bit muddy.

Walking to the view point at the back of the site and watching the trains climb up the valley is amazing.

Another site we will go back to with the dog.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisplummer 1 review from this member

Stayed 4 nights in this lovely little site. Owners were very helpful on arrival (they didn't have our booking but helpfully accommodated us). Site is right next to Newtondale, with steam trains and fabulous walks. Also not far from Cropton Forest for bike rides and close to Pickering for a nice restaurant.

Real bonus having the pub on site with well kept Timmy Taylor's beers and nice sunny seats outside on an afternoon/evening.

Very accommodating, sat 11 of us at a nice big table for Sunday dinner.

All in all a great spot

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joym 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at this site. The owner Stephen couldn't have been more helpful when we arrived. He showed us to the pitches and explained about a lovely walk we could take, with a viewpoint down towards Levisham station. He also took the time to welcome us to the site and tell us about the new chef he had, who had just introduced a childs menu. We had an early meal which everyone enjoyed especially when his son gave our young grandson, on his first camping trip, a snake skin he had found at work that day. If you go to the site do take the walk Stephen suggests as the view is spectacular. The first full day there we walked down from the viewpoint to Levisham station and as there was a steam gala weekend we took the train to Goathland and back. This was fabulous and well worth the hike down. The only down side to the site is the trek to the shower/toilet block especially in the middle of the night!They are however spotless! thanks for a lovely weekend and hopefully we will be back in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights - and it was lovely. Steve was welcoming and showed us around the site and the facilities.

There were great walks from the site. We did a circular walk which included coming back up the hill others have mentioned. There's a small circular walk around the back of the campsite and back down through the village that was perfect as a dog walk.

We ate in the pub on our first night, again our host was welcoming and dinner was good pub grub. Dogs are also welcome into the pub. Showers and loos were always clean - and on our first night, when we advised Steve that one of the showers was not draining away very quickly, when he had a quiet moment he went out and fixed the problem.

We found the pub and the locals friendly. This is definitely a campsite we will be visiting again when we are in the area. Well done Steve and Linda - keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Esiotrot2 1 review from this member

My wife and I have stopped at this site at least 4 times this year, and hope to get 2 more weekends there before the end of the season.

The pitches are spacious and level.

The toilets and showers are clean. There may only be 2 showers, but that has not caused us any problems. If you are pitched at the far end of the field you will have a 2 minute walk to the toilet/shower block, but is that really a problem??

The pub offers a good selection of homemade food, with generous portions.

There are some superb walks straight from the campsite.

It is also a pleasant change to see that the rule on keeping the noise down after 2200hrs is politely enforced - a big bonus in my eyes.

And finally, we have always found Stephen & Linda very friendly, welcoming and happy oblige where possible.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Purple Pair 1 review from this member

What a gem.

The welcome and friendliness was lovely, the landlord and landlady have their children on site and helping out making it a family business. All were very chatty and made us feel very welcome.

The pitches are all well kept- flat- and big.

Toilets and showers and clean, modern and bight. Please be aware it's approx 2 minute walk to the toilets that are behind the pub- but it's well lit to get there if you don't have a loo in your unit!

'Rules':It says on the T&C's quiet by 10pm and they stick to it- BRILLIANT and one of the reasons we booked as we wanted a good quiet nights sleep and that's exactly what we got. Those who want to stay up later and party, this is not the site for you!

Things to do: without getting in the car are amazing views and walks- you can even walk down to the steam train and have a day out(though it's a steep walk back)

Pub Food: Oh my goodness- homemade, tasty and big portions. The couple next to us travel and stay and order the veggie lasagne as it's so good they said!

Stay again? Of course and without hesitation- we haven't yet explored the area and this is the place to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quality seeker 1 review from this member

Myself and son decided to just get away for a weekend and chill out. For a change we decided to buy two small tents and just find a site. The white swan turned out to be exactly what we wanted. From our initial enquiry to arrival we were made to feel welcome. Never being camping before we had no idea what to expect. The owner suggested the perfect pitch and it was huge. We felt more like friends that had been invited in for a drink than customers in the bar. We ate in the pub and the food was great with a wide choice all reasonably priced.

There was a fair selection of caravans and tents with a mixed selection of couples, family's etc.

The shower block was clean with loads of hot water.

I could go on an on but if you are looking for a quiet well run site with owners that are interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible then look no further.

I have no doubt that we will return in the future

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mky100 5 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed at this site, the first been a pleasant one with great walks in the surrounding area, clean toilets and handy with a pub.

Very little room for kids to play, not very good views from campsite.

Then we returned for the second time with a poor reception from the owner not been very welcoming.

He was telling us to be quiet after 10pm as stated in the rules and regulations, we were in the awning and not making excessive noise as we all had children ourselves sleeping in the 4 caravans. I even noticed the owner stood listening to us at the end of the drive.

We asked a couple of people around us the next morning and they didn't seem to have heard anything.

There was 4 caravans that visited this site and needless to say we will not be back again!

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019