Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The White Swan Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Inn Reviews

The White Swan Inn
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bryred 1 review from this member

 We were very pleased with the campsite, it was a nice quiet site well situated to explore local attractions (Whitby and Scarborough both around 25 minutes drive). Lots of walking routes too.

They are very dog friendly and are welcomed in the pub too.

The facilities were very good, nice hot water in the shower and kept clean and tidy.

The food in the pub was superb 👌and excellent value ! At the moment the pub is only open Friday Saturday and Sunday and booking a meal is essential.

We will definitely be back ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jaydee 1 review from this member

 Great place, well maintained, nothing too much trouble

Will go again

Thank you for a great week

Electric price a bit high of 6 pound a night

Lots more improvements are being made in the future to include an extra toilet block and log cabins 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mr+Mrs H 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three night stay and didnít want to leave.

Very peaceful site, with beautiful walks in the surrounding countryside.

Pickering is just a few miles away and is handy for picking up essentials.

Toilets and showers are clean and warm, lots of hot water in the shower.

Wash up area is also undercover which is a bonus.

Will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brown3 1 review from this member

 Only booked week prior to going, Guy & Melissa along with Melissa's parent couldn't have been more welcoming along with the locals & seasonal site users. No food available at pub due to renovations, but beer good along with good assortment.

Toilet facilities clean, hook up good, only a couple of freshwater taps in top field along with one waste water disposal.

Easy to get down to Pickering by car when a bus can be caught to Whitby & Scarborough & all stops en-route, other services available but not used.

Levisham station not far away from the bottom of 2nd field down a hill for seeing NYMR steam trains.

Easy access to most tourist places by car from sight.

A sight I enjoyed staying at & one to return to as well. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Redbart1 1 review from this member

 Great little site with a lovely pub.

Owners and all the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Great location and superb mountain bike trails.

Well worth a visit. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Daznd1 3 reviews from this member

 Great stay here. Owners were very welcoming and did everything they could to help out with the difficulty of restrictions with covid 19. No showers etc but we where well informed prior to arrival with the situation.

Great pitch areas, friendly staff and pub did a great job serving food and drinks.

Fantastic location for exploring and was great for us on a mountain biking weekend. Highly recommended and we'll be back in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ziggy Martin 3 reviews from this member

 Just been to this site for the first time this weekend and had a very enjoyable time, the site is not the biggest but all the better for it, the pitch was a good size, toilets /shower room and pot wash all good, The village pub was spot on, we have dogs and there are no issue on the site or in the pub, we will be going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 27 reviews from this member

 Hmm. I'm scratching my head a little here because my wife told me what she thought and anyone would think we'd been to two different sites. So in the interests of fairness I'll leave both reviews.

She didn't like it. She was a bit upset with the time we had to wait for our meal one night, especially as she had offered to change the booking time for our table to suit the owner. She thought the lasagne and especially the chips she had were disappointing. She said that the water pressure in one of the two showers was too low and that one of the toilets wasn't clean when she used it.

I on the other hand didn't notice the time it took for our food to be cooked because I was too busy going through photos I'd taken since arriving and looking at things to do the next day. The toilets were clean when I used them, and I only used the shower she told me to use and it was fine. I agree that the food in the pub was not the best, but it wasn't the worst either and the beer and cider were nice. Just accept that it's a village pub and not a restaurant.

We both liked the location, which is on a hill about 4 miles outside Pickering and offers lovely views over the North Yorkshire Moors. The views are even better if you can live without electric hook-up and pitch up in the second of their two fields farther from the pub. The walk to Levisham Station, from which steam trains run to Whitby, is beautiful. Yes it's steep, but this is North Yorkshire and that's how it comes.

So to try and sum up and say something helpful. If you want a pretty pitch with a pub nearby and especially if you can live without electric hook-up, this site should be fine for you. If you also want food, toilet and shower facilities on hand, well, you'll just have to make up your own mind. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave 418 37 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely weekend at this simple straight forward site. Because we booked late we couldn't have electric hook up, we managed without.

The landlord met us on arival and exsplained all we needed without being overbearing. Due to recent rain the ground was a bit soft but with care we got on and off the pitch ok.

Toilets and showers were clean and tidy. Plenty of hot water. You may have to time you're shower carefully if the site is busy as there are only two showers.

We ate in the pub one night. Nice pub type food and no problem with taking the dog in.

A good base for walks on the North Yorkshire Moors and within walking distance of the station at Levisham. Be aware you will have a steep walk down and back up to the site and it can be a bit muddy.

Walking to the view point at the back of the site and watching the trains climb up the valley is amazing.

Another site we will go back to with the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisplummer 1 review from this member

 Stayed 4 nights in this lovely little site. Owners were very helpful on arrival (they didn't have our booking but helpfully accommodated us). Site is right next to Newtondale, with steam trains and fabulous walks. Also not far from Cropton Forest for bike rides and close to Pickering for a nice restaurant.

Real bonus having the pub on site with well kept Timmy Taylor's beers and nice sunny seats outside on an afternoon/evening.

Very accommodating, sat 11 of us at a nice big table for Sunday dinner.

All in all a great spot 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The White Swan Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The White Swan Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement