Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The White Swan Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Inn > Reviews

The White Swan Inn
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 41 to 47                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 A group of 10 of us spent several days at this and we all loved it. The facilities are impeccable. We ate in the pub on two evenings, the menu isn't extensive but boy, you do get enormous helpings. For the less ravenous they do do half servings but believe me even that will defeat some.

Good company, good food and good beer, what more could anyone ask? You note I didn't mention the weather.

If you are looking for excitement and all the fun of the fair, then this isn't the site for you, if however you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, the go for it. You certainly won't regret it.  


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philven 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at The White Swan, site was spot on. They allowed a group of us - but we were just 5 dads with their kids - put as at the end of the site, which made sense.

Toilets and showers were excellent, pitches were flat and easy to put pegs in, you could hear the Steam Trains close by and its a good location for going either to the coast or Flaming Land.

Pub was really busy and the Beer was good.

I would definitely go back, if there was one small fault could do with 2 washing up basins but that's it 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Usually happycamper 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite just a few miles north of pickering set behind a quiet village pub.

Me and my family could hear no noise from the pub on a night so I would not let that put you off, noise was not an issue.

Toilets and showers were kept spotlessly clean and always had plenty of hot water.

We had electric hook up and for the size of our four man tent we had plenty of room as the tents weren't crammed in close together. Also the pitch was perfectly flat.

Overall I would rate the site 9 out of 10, lovely family run site 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo.scott41 2 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. Small and quiet with good clean facilities. The key coded shower block was very modern with good family facilities and free hot showers, a washing up area and even a hairdryer.

It's 100 yards behind the village pub, which is a nice traditional pub with no late noise. It does good hand-pulled beer, nice food and also has a children's menu.

The site has pitches either side of a track with seasonal pitches and caravans first then behind a hedge is the tent area. This is all laid out with markers so you get a large plot. We were near the bottom and there were a few midges as we were near some large trees but nearer in the site was midge free!

There is a public footpath at the bottom of the site which leads into the woods or down to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and Levisham Station where you can get steam trains to Whitby or Pickering. You can hear them 'tooting and puffing' throughout the day which our kids loved!

The village is very pretty and has an excellent play park with the usual adventure equipment and also an astroturf type football/ basketball pitch and a grass pitch too - very handy.

The village doesn't have a shop but Pickering is about 15 minutes away and has a vast amount of shops.

We thought the rates were good value at about 17 for a tent, 2 adults and 2 children, and we would stay here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C4RL 1 review from this member

 This site has to be my favourite site I have ever stayed at. I have stayed at this site several times. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic.

We visited Whitby, Pickering, Robin Hoods Bay, Goathland and various other places from this site.

We used the North York Moors Steam Railway, which you can get from the nearby Levisham station, only about five minutes walk from the site.

There are lots of really nice walks you can take from the site, from short evening strolls (which we intended to do but ended up walking miles) to longer all day walks.

The space on site is good, with plenty of room to pitch a four man tent and still have space for a car and for children to play without encroaching on other pitches. There is a play park in the village and the village itself is beautiful with a lovely pond opposite the pub.

The campsite owners also own the pub at the front of the campsite. The campsite and pubs facilities are perfect, extremely clean and well maintained. The food in the pub is delicious.

I love this campsite, my wife loves this campsite, my five year old loves this campsite and I am sure my new born baby will also love this campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 691 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as looking for somewhere close to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. There is a footpath from the site to the train station at Levisham (approx 20 mins walk). The village itself should be on a chocolate box, the pub, beautiful cottages, a small village pond and big green spaces.

This is a pub site but doesn't feel as such as the campsite is 100 yards down a small track behind the pub. There we were 10-15 seasonals (all well kept) and then 6 pitches with ehu for tourers which were all together. The toilets / showers were in a key coded area which meant only campers could use. Showers were good with plenty of hot water.

The site was also used by camping groups of teenagers. They were pitched at the far end and would have to say no noise from them at all.

The pub itself serves good home cooked food. Average meals are 9. 50 with steak etc costing more. We found food to be well cooked and good value and would recommend.

The site is 4 miles from Pickering which has a good selection of shops and cafes - worth a visit.

Overall we really rated this as a good site which was clean and tidy at all times. We did worry re pub noise but the site is far back enough from the pub you cant hear anything to disturb you. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 48 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in a motorhome.

Pitch almost level, clean and tidy and each pitch was clearly marked out with a small fence which I thought was good.

Cost was 7 per person plus 2 for electric. Toilets and showers open 24 hours.

Pub food was outstanding. Very large portions and nicely cooked although sirloin steak and chips was 14 - not the cheapest of meals, but very nice. Good selection of beers but sadly no stella or other strong lager.

Overall, a nice little site that's worth a visit.

No complaints at all, but could be cheaper. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 47     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The White Swan Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The White Swan Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement