Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The White Swan Inn

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Pickering > The White Swan Inn > Reviews

The White Swan Inn
Newton Upon Rawcliffe
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 8QA
Tel: 01751 472505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham1405 10 reviews from this member

 Our second visit this year, and I'll just repeat what I said before because it doesn't come better than this glorious pub site. Flat grassy site with 6 electric hookups. Arrived late and was pointed to pitch no 1, a large pitch. Showers and toilets immaculate, modern and hot water just like last time. Owned by the pub which serves fantastic meals including Sunday carvery. We had home made steak pie (twice) big portions at sensible prices and smaller portions at low prices for those without a big appetite. Will be visiting time and time again. Nearby the North Yorks Moors Railway and the interesting town of Pickering within easy reach, also good for York and North Yorkshire coast. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snakebite 2 reviews from this member

 The Wife and I stayed on the 2 3 and 4 September and to be honest in a good way I regret giving this review because I don't want too many people to find this Gem of a site in case it is full the next time I want to use it. It must be one of the best sites I have ever stayed on. The toilets and showers although unisex were kept immaculate and the showers weren't the usual drip drip type, but a good flow of water.

The pitches are large and the grass is kept very short in fact the landlord was out 2 of the 3 days we stayed there cutting the grass. Great food and drink in the pub and a very friendly Landlord.

There are no shops at all in the village so get stocked up before you arrive or be prepared to drive into Pickering for the nearest shops. Cannot say anything about being child friendly as it was only me and the wife and 2 dogs. There are some very good walks from the site with great views over the Moors, and not forgetting the NYMR. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xplore 4 reviews from this member

 Small friendly site. Lots of dog walks accessible from site. Showers were hot and clean. Pub had good food and if you booked in advance you could take your dog in with you.

Only a few electric hook ups in a well sheltered area. Lower field for tents and caravans not needing hook ups. Got very busy on the saturday, which was the day we left.

The quiet time between 10pm and 6 am was adhered to, so cannot complain about the neighbours all being up and talking noisily in their tent at one minute past 6am! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jillian Cutt 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a fantastic few days at the White Swan,

The campsite was so peaceful just what we needed,

The facilities were immaculate at all times, very modern shower rooms with plenty of space to keep all your clothes dry,

The staff were always very pleasant and welcoming.

The pub had a nice olde world charm about it.

Also a great base for sightseeing the local area we thoroughly enjoyed it

Will definitely be returning in the future 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Len Smith 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four night stay at this site and it will not be our last. The generous sized pitches are grass with EHU available, dogs are welcome and there are a number of walks direct from the site. The shower/toilet block is unisex and was kept clean at all times. There is also washing up facilities.

Situated behind the owners White Swan Pub the site is well drained and maintained. Dogs are welcome in the pub which serves excellent bar meals.

All the staff (pub and campsite) were friendly as were the locals. Situated just four miles from the Market Town of Pickering, this quiet relaxing site is well placed for exploring the moors and valleys of North Yorkshire either on foot, bike or car. As a bonus the North Yorks Steam Railway has a station just 15mins walk down the hill just below the site from where you can ride into Pickering to the south or Goathland/Whitby to the north. A site well worth a visit if you enjoy walking and the outdoor life. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirby Lady 2 reviews from this member

 Visited for 2 nights, 2 people, 1 dog. A lovely, peaceful site, with excellent facilities and a great friendly pub. We were made very welcome, with a choice of pitches, all of which would have been suitable.

The shower block was cleaned regularly, and the showers were warm at all times of the day. We were told of walks in the area, and given brochures about the North York Moors railway, which we visited. The pub, The Swan, was comfortable and friendly, with excellent choice of bar meals and beer. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graham1405 10 reviews from this member

 What can you say about a site like this. It is almost heaven. Flat grassy site with 6 electric hookups. Arrived early and was greeted personally and shown to our large pitch. Showers and toilets immaculate, modern and hot water. Owned by the pub which serves fantastic meals including Sunday carvery. Big portions at sensible prices and smaller portions at low prices for those without a big appetite. Will be visiting time and time again. Nearby the North Yorks Moors Railway and the interesting town of Pickering within easy reach, also good for York and North Yorkshire coast. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DebnPete 1 review from this member

 This was the second year we have camped at this site over the Easter period, what a difference a year makes, last year hot and sunny, this year cold and frosty.

We arrived on Thursday evening and we had booked a pitch with EHU, however due to heavy snow on the Tuesday night the power was off, we had been informed that the power was due to come on sometime that evening, which it did around 8. 30pm.

This is a great site for exploring the North Yorkshire Moors and makes an ideal base for touring round or walking.

The showers/toilet block (which are unisex) are kept very clean and there is a large pot wash within the same area under cover. The showers are heated and stay lovely and warm provided people close the door after use, I went in several times only to find the doors had been left open, I closed them every time as it's not very nice getting undressed in a cold shower room especially at that time of year.

The White Swan Pub is very warm and friendly and the food is very good, although it has a limited menu, we loved their homebaked ham, they also do a lovely Sunday Lunch which we would recommend.

We have stayed at this site 5 times over the last 3 years and all in all we think it is great and also great value for money at 16 per night including EHU. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amw1969 4 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights here over the Easter period. Really lovely place to stay. You can access a nice morning walk from the site allowing the dogs to be exercised well before we had our fry up

We decided to eat at the pub for our evening meal which proved to be a brilliant decision. I can recommend the meat pie, the chicken curry, the ham and eggs and most of all the sticky toffee pudding is to die for. It is better to book if you wish to take your dog in while you eat as you eat in the bar rather than the restaurant.

This site makes a great base to explore the NYM and Dalby Forest (be aware of the 7 toll charge for driving through the forest. We stopped off at the visitors centre and took a walk in the woods having paid this fee)

An excellent place to mountain bike, also there is a go ape there. It was nice to relax in the pub after a busy day out and about. There is also a nice beer garden but not warm enough to enjoy it in April.

The toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water and a very spacious wet room type shower.

All in all a great find and we will be returning. It also made a nice change not to be charged for taking our dogs onto a campsite. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ashy55 14 reviews from this member

 I camped here for 4 nights in March and what a great site!

There are accessible walks directly from the site. The NYMR trains can be heard chugging through the valley. You can walk down to the valley from the campsite. The pub is great. Black sheep Ale. Say no more! The owner is very helpful and friendly. If you want a mobile phone signal you need to go to the duck pond! Having said that, on one night when I was there my phone suddenly received a good 3G signal from the tent field!

Don't take a chill pill, go to the White Swan. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The White Swan Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is The White Swan Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pickering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement