Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site
Ipswich Road
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 4NS
Tel: 01473 736505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 94 Reviews
                9/10 from 94 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy12361 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 5 days on this site it was the most enjoyable holiday I have had. The site and its owners where very friendly and most helpful. The toilets where immaculate the showers were Lovely and clean and very spacious with proper shower trays not just a drain in floor. There was always toilet paper and not cheap stuff it was proper paper. There was music playing in the toilet block which was very nice too. The whole site was tidy and clean. Very well laid out with attention to detail with play areas for kids away from campers but in view and very safe for them. The pitch sizes are massive and each pitch has a picnic table and fire pit some of the pitches had no fire pit but they lend you free of charge a metal fire pit so they are very accommodating. I took my dog which was free of charge and he loved it too. Very quiet and relaxing with gorgeous views of surrounding area and woodland. There's a local village pub the Fox just down a walkway about 15 min walk that is also very nice and they do food too. I would highly recommend this site to anybody of any age it's suitable for all please try at 20 a night inc electric hook up and dogs go free I don't think you can beat it. Can't wait to go back again very soon Debs and Damon where so warm and friendly and the whole site is very secure with barriers which are locked after 11pm so no worries at all. 

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackie12 1 review from this member

 Our welcome was friendly and helpful, with advice given on the best place to pitch tent. The site offered was sheltered with trees all round a grassy area with generous spaces for eight tents and hook-ups included in the price. The toilet block, washing up sinks and water tap were close by. Hot water was always available and the provision of mops, cloths and washing up liquid meant that the facilities were always clean. The fishing pool and the play area provide extra areas to the tent and caravan pitches. There is a very pleasant fifteen minute walk through the adjoining wooded area to the local pub. We found the situation of the site ideal for visiting many places in the area, and with many other facilities close by. 

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stan Blatchford 1 review from this member

 My friend & I stayed here for 10 days & it was a fantastic 10 days.

Damon & Debs the owners could not do enough for us & the facilities were brilliant.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to all my friends & family & anyone asking for a nice camping/caravanning site.

& they have fresh eggs straight from their chickens & the local produce that they sell in the shop is top class. 

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevie wonder 1 review from this member

 My wife, dog and I have just had a lovely weekend at Steadings. We only booked for a 2 night stay but ending up staying a 3rd night. The tent pitches are spacious. The facilities nice and clean, and the owners were very pleasant and helpful.

The park is in a great location, free from traffic noise, with walks available through the corner of the park into the nature reserve and if you fancy a nice pint of Adnams, a ten minute stroll to the local pub.

We will be back in August. 

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClaireScaris 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely 2 day stay at Steadings Park. We were a party of 2 families comprising of 4 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs.

We chose this site for the ability to have a real campfire and boy are we pleased we did! We had a lovely corner pitch, the fire was perfectly placed and provided perfect entertainment for all. It was so nice to see the children tending the fire and being in Valley View, we were ideally located near the large playing field for the children.

The bins and recycling amenities were clean and clear. The shower blocks, clean and pristine. I notice previous reviewers have mentioned the distance from Valley view to the toilets, however it's literally a 1-2 minute slow amble, there are pitches much closer to the toilets but personally not sure I would have wanted them any nearer.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating and delivered our wood to us and even found us a pack of cards to play with. The wood did feel expensive at 10 a bucket but having discovered that this is for health and safety regs and means fires are controlled and I'm guessing helps the site pay for the insurance necessary to allow campers to have fires, it's well worth it. We had 4 buckets in our 2 day stay but we kept the fire alight most of the day and through the evening 'til 11pm, 40 between us well spent.

We were reminded of the 11pm curfew by the owners which although we felt like we weren't ready for bed at the time, we appreciated the peace and tranquility and they were very pleasant and friendly.

Being seasoned campers, we have now decided we won't camp anywhere that does not allow campfires and will definitely be returning to Steadings park. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pasqualina 1 review from this member

 I had a fantastic family holiday in half term at steadings park.

On arrival we received a warm greeting and were quickly shown to our pitch. The pitch itself was very spacious and I felt that we had plenty of room around us, a much larger pitch than I have previously had on other camp sites that have been advertised as 'super pitches'.

The facilities on site were great. We took showers at various times of the day, and the longest I had to wait was 5 minutes. The facility was always clean with plenty of hot water at what ever time we used them. I often saw the facilities being cleaned and checked.

My 11 year old son had a brilliant time, so much so we have re booked for the summer! He really enjoyed the large open play area where he made many friends and spent his time on the site playing football.

The park was very quiet and relaxing, the lake area is lovely and we will definitely be bringing fishing rods when we next stay,

I really enjoyed being able to have a camp fire, it was great that once you had paid for the logs that all the necessary equipment and logs was delivered directly to you.

The owners were so helpful and approachable that I am sure that if you had any problems what so ever they would be easily resolved.

There are plenty of things to do on this lovely area of the country, we a lovely time in Felixtowe, visited the snape Maltings and Shingle Street beach. We also a had a nice meal at the Fox.

All in all a brilliant time had by us all, would recommend this site to anyone. 

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CLS21 2 reviews from this member

 I don't usually leave reviews but felt I should as I always use them when booking a campsite.

We stayed at Steadings over the weekend after being recommended this site by friends of a friend. I am afraid to say I was disappointed. We didn't receive a particularly friendly welcome, not rude but just not what we usually experience at other sites. I was shocked to find there were only 2 showers, had I known this before I would not have booked, as my pet hate with camping is having to queue to have a shower in the morning. This wasn't helped when I found myself having to queue for 20 minutes when getting to the shower block at 6. 45am! I dread to think what it would be like as more people woke up, or in peak season. There really does need to be more showers for the number of pitches. Yes there are 2 family showers too but there were no hooks or benches to put your bags and clothes on whilst showering and the floor wasn't clean.

Also, be warned they charge 10 per bucket of logs and stipulate that you can only use their wood on site! We all felt this was overpriced and 5 per bucket would have been more acceptable for the amount provided.

We were lucky that we got a corner plot as it meant we had a decent size pitch, but some of the other pitches are not as big as we are used to with other sites.

If you book Valley View, expect a bit of a walk to the facilities!

I feel like this is all negative but I just wanted to point out the things that are important to me as a camper that I felt this campsite failed on.

We did have a lovely time but felt it was more down to the company we were with rather than the site. We wont be returning to this site, but would love to find a good campsite in a similar area as lots of nice places to visit.

Sutton Hoo well worth a visit and only about 15 minutes away from Steadings, all kids and adults enjoyed it. If you're a National trust member you get in free too! 
Management response: As the bulk of our reviews show as a small family run business we take great pride in our campsite and always welcome constructive feedback / views and are always here on site and happy to talk to customers during their stay. Anyway to address the points you have made: Im not sure why you think we only have two showers as we actually have seven including the two family wet rooms (which you actually mention later in your comments). All of our amenity facilities are cleaned at least twice a day and consistently the feedback we get is that we have great clean facilities with plentiful hot water - as with any campsite there are sadly customers who don't use the mops provided to clean up after themselves when showering so it is possible that in between checks / cleans the floors can get wet & dirty. On a positive its worth confirming that during your stay it was a peak period and the site was actually fully booked every night and therefore the facilities never actually get any busier; and with a significant number of our pitches being seasonal caravan pitches (who have their own toilets and showers) we have a much lower demand on the amenities than other 80 pitch sites.

Logs - yes we do charge 10 for a large builders trug of logs complete with kindling and fire lighters and yes we do insist that logs are purchased from us- as is clearly displayed on our website pricing page. Firstly there is a safety issue in that we can manage what is being burned, but equally as a business we naturally have costs involved in supplying, cutting, packaging and delivering the log trugs to your pitch and then there is the increased insurance costs associated with the fact that we are one of the few sites that still allow proper campfires. Rather than increase pitch prices we recover this through the log charges so as those not using the campfire facilities are not carrying the higher insurance costs and overheads. As regular campers ourselves we also know that other sites in East Anglia charge more for logs and have the same purchase rules. Interestingly this segways nicely into your comments regarding pitch sizes. As we allow fires we ensure that for safety all our pitches are extra wide when compared to most campsites, with every pitch being at least 12m wide and 12m+ deep. Obviously we can't comment on what 'you' are used to but the bulk of our customers positively comment on how large our pitches are when compared to other sites.

Yes there is a couple of minute walk from our Valley View field to the facilities but for many the fact that they can have a 3 acre field with only 14 pitches on it backing onto Newbourne Springs nature reserve with all its wonderful wildlife and walks etc outweighs that - hence why the field gets booked up so early and is so popular. As the springs is a National SSSI (Site of Special Scientific Interest) due to the wildlife it is not possible to locate an amenity block any closer as sewerage and nature don't mix !!

We spend a lot of time out on the site and are always happy to chat with customers so I would encourage you to talk to the site owners when staying on a site as most will welcome feedback and ideas.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HankJJ 6 reviews from this member

 We have had a great couple of weekends at Steadings Park. We camped on the field overlooking the Nature reserve and had a big expanse of grass for the children to play on which led to an area with a swing and climbing frame. We have two boys aged 5 and 7 and they had a fantastic time. It is very safe for them to play and a short walk away is a fishing lake which is all fenced off. Our boys and my husband enjoyed some good fishing and caught many carp. The large pitches where we stayed had a purpose built fire pit and you order your logs from the reception and they get delivered to your pitch complete with fire lighters. It was great fun and enjoyed by all of us. A fantastic idea. The campsite was a short walk away from a lovely pub called The Fox which serves delicious food. The nature reserve at the bottom of the field is really worth investigating and provides lots of birds and general wildlife noises including owls, pheasants and a nightingale.

The owners are lovely people and very helpful and friendly. You get escorted to your pitch. The facilities are great, the shop provides the necessities and overall you can see we had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back.

Thank you. From the Carrolls. 

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lesliehs 13 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a weekend break, and found it to be very nice overall, reception was very efficient and the owners very helpful, and we were soon on our hard standing pitch, all seemed to have EHU. Pitches are all very spacious, and level, ours had a hedge behind it which would be nice once in leaf. The site is quite large and separated into several fields, some have views over the small fishing lake. About a 10 minute walk through the woods was a lovely pub, The Fox, which did great meals, and the staff were very friendly. A little hilly but we managed to cycle the lanes without too much trouble. About 5 mins drive away is a large Tesco and Woodbridge town is about 15 mins drive, some nice shops and a riverside walk. The only niggle for us was the shower block, just two showers and loos so could get busy at high season, although they were very clean and well presented. Shame they were so cold, no heating whatsoever. As 'Motorhomers' we would have liked to see a service point where we could have drained our grey waste. 

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judipearce 23 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Steadings after our first caravan trip and was very impressed with this site. Made really welcome when booking and on arrival. Choice of hard standing or field pitch each of a good size with hedges backing them. Plenty of taps and bins all around fields. Although a relatively new site it is very well maintained and lots of green areas.

The owner was really friendly and helpful and willing to give his time. The facilities were excellent, spotlessly clean with huge wide showers and piping hot water.

Our dog loved the easy access to a variety of walks from the site and didn't mind the very dog friendly Fox local pub, we loved their food too.

Altogether a fabulous site that we will definitely revisit soon. 

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5055 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021