Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge > Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site
Ipswich Road
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP12 4NS
Tel: 01473 736505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 94 Reviews
                9/10 from 94 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Folkestonegirl 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site. Tiny park with one swing but adequate. Nice surroundings and walks. Toilet/showers are decent and that is why I chose this site based on previous reviews. Stayed in main field which was good. The back field is a nice location with views so we would consider this. The sheltered field which we nearly chose was small so we are glad we did not stay in this field as it is pretty cosy with 8 tents in and does not have much field for kids to play without disrupting others. The night time noise curfew was great especially having young kids. 

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adarke 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Spent weekend with family and friends in the secluded tent field. Welcome from wardens was fantastic and could not of been more friendlier and helpful. Pitches were large and level and kept immaculately clean and rubbish free. The facilities were great and modern, showers wonderful always hot and shower heads removable so great for the wee ones but only two in each male and female but this was not an issue as was never busy even thou the site was full. Always clean and plenty of loo roll as wardens always there. The music playing in the shower blocks was a good touch too. Fridge freezer was handy to keep those all important beers cold, wash up area basic but does the job.

Play park was fairly new, clean and tidy and kids loved it but again this was basic with swings and slide. The on site shop was basic but supermarket on five min drive away and the local pub is only ten min walk too, did not visit but drove past and I am planning on going back again to sample the pub as looked gorgeous from the outside and have only heard wonderful things about it the local area was also beautiful and rural but within close proximaty to major town and others facilities.

Overall a fantastic site that is well looked after. The wardens and owners were great and attentive, site extremely clean and looked after and pitches well situated. If camping in tent I definitely recommend the secluded tent field which only has 8 pitches but is quiet and very close to kids park which is opposite entrance to the pitches and shower block is closer to these pitches then any of the others. The rest of my family and friends loved this site and we are already planning next visit. Definite recommendation for any camper. 

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cal72 9 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this lovely campsite during half term week on adjacent pitch to my parents in their caravan. Very pleased to see that the excellent customer service, cleanliness and atmosphere at this site was just as high as my first visit last year. Lovely walks through the neighbouring nature reserve. Plenty of space to play on the lower field. Tesco and M&S food store short car drive away. 10pin bowling and kids indoor play centre also close for a wet day activity. Small shop for milk & basics on site. Laundry & free use of fridge freezer. Showers are free with hot water. The owners & wardens were frequently checking loo roll & tidying round the shower/ toilet block so despite the site being full the facilities were always clean, tidy & well stocked. Step stools provided for little ones to reach the taps/ sinks. This is a great site & ideally located for lots of Suffolk days out, I am sure I will return again! 

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazsteff 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend on this site (shame the sun didn't come out). Pitches were a good size with picnic tables which you could use, toilets and showers lovely and clean. Staff were very friendly. Visited the Fox Inn for dinner one evening, lovely walk there from the campsite and very good food and service, take a torch for returning as its very dark.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return here again. 

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clan Pitt 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the camp site this weekend with our twins club friends and had a fantastic bank holiday camping. Great pitch, good facilities that were clean and of a good standard, friendly and helpful staff. You can have a fire at the site via the fire pits provided which was fantastic and the kids loved roasting marshmallows whilst we sat round later chatting until the wee small hours. Fantastic site and will now be a favourite of ours. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Supergirl 2 reviews from this member

 For our first outing with our new rig, we wanted peace and quiet and a beautiful location not far from the main route. Steadings Park was perfect. So peaceful and everyone said hello and was obviously also looking for a pretty and quiet rural location too. We highly recommend this site. We are a party of 2 adults and 2 children and loved it here. The owners are so friendly and really helpful. The plots are a great size and you just could not fault the site cleanliness or the facilities.

We will definitely be back very soon! 

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morgancolin 1 review from this member

 Great site. The owners were great hosts, they were very helpful and accommodating to our every need during our stay. Thoroughly recommend this site and looking forward to our return later this year. 

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alphaharps 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite with very friendly and helpful owners. Great facilities - the toilet block and showers were always immaculate and with a constant supply of hot water. There is a laundry room where the facilities are free - we didn't use it ourselves but it was great to know it was there if we needed it. There was a good mixture of adults only and families when we visited. Newbourne is a lovely village and The Fox pub nearby is recommended - great food and nice staff. It's a 10 mins walk through the nature reserve at the back of the field. Site is a good location for exploring the best of Suffolk. Hope to visit again soon! 

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3madboyz 14 reviews from this member

 We decided to take a break from our usual October campsite and visit Steadings park as it seemed to tick all the boxes.

We made a group booking and told the site that there would be seven units, all tents/trailer tents. They told us that it was no problem, the main part of the site was virtually full and we would all be pitched together on the field at the back of the site where we could have real on-the-ground fires and all be pitched together. Sounded perfect :-)

On arrival we were quickly checked in and shown to where we would all be pitched, I was concerned immediately by the close proximity of our tents to each other and was a little miffed when the last family arrived and were told to pitch in the main field (which for the record wasn't even half full) away from the rest of the group, this proved difficult as they have a baby and couldn't mingle with the rest of us as they weren't happy about leaving him in the tent on his own sleeping whilst they came over to us.

The site is nicely laid out in different camping areas and has a small play area near the entrance. The pitches we were on were very exposed and in an elevated position so quite windy but nice and flat, we were concerned about the amount of hook-up leads being plugged into one outlet but were told that it was safe??!

There was a pretty long walk to the toilets from where we were and we found it quite strange that in October, the newly refurbished, modern facilities had no heating! we even asked the site staff if they could switch it on but in the end avoided the showers as it was just too cold to stand when getting out!

The walk from the site to the pub (the fox inn) which is highly recommended is great fun in the dark and the kids thought it was a real adventure. Lots to do in the surrounding area and the site itself is pretty quiet and picturesque.

Unfortunately, I didn't find that this site lived up to the hype, which is a real shame, The staff were not very friendly (especially towards the children) and it is the only site I have been on where I have felt that caravanner's are treated as priority over campers, we really did feel that we were being shoved out of the way!

We all presumed that as it was a group booking, the site staff thought we might be a rowdy bunch (we we most certainly are not) and decided to keep us out of the way, this in effect, has made us to decide not to visit the site again in the future which is a real shame as it had huge potential. 
Management response: We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but would recommend that in future you raise your concerns when on site not six months later on the internet - this way we can do our best to remedy. However as you've chosen to use public forum I will do my best to address the points you make :

Pitch sizes - we operate 11m per unit wide pitches which are larger than most sites - when you called to book we advised you we only had a five tent group pitch available as the remainder of the field that you asked to be in was already booked out and paid for by another large group, you subsequently sent one of your group to site to view the pitch before booking - so I don't really understand why having pre inspected the area you are then complaining. The sixth member of your group booked at a later date and we advised you and them at the time they would not be able to be pitched with you due to our spacing rules & pitch distance fire regs. Upon arrival they insisted there was sufficient room for them (interesting given that you now say it was crowded with five units !), they repeatedly asked to pitch with you but this was not allowed as it would have breached the fire regs. We did however move people around to give them a pitch as near to you as we could.

We welcome tents caravans and motorhomes and regard all equally, the field you asked to be in is specifically reserved for tents and groups as it is the safest area for campfires and with great views and three acres of open spare space its perfect for groups and children to play in - ironically it's our most popular field and we don't normally allow caravans in this area much to the disgust of many caravaners !

Electric Hookup - all our tent pitches are served by 8amp supplies that are split from a single 16amp safety fused socket which is perfectly normal. We did lend you extension leads as your own leads weren't long enough to reach but again this is standard and perfectly safe practice.

Amenity block heating - our new amenity block does have heating but as we explained to you at the time it was still being commissioned and was awaiting certification approval from Ofgen prior to us being able to switch it on. - I am pleased to say that our amenity block is now heated when the weather is suitably cold.

Staff Friendliness - we are a small family run site and pride ourselves on our friendliness to both adults and children alike (as is affirmed in the numerous other reviews) - as I recall we repeatedly had to ask you to supervise your children as they were pulling trees from the local nature reserve and playing with the campfire - which is very clearly not acceptable - I then personally had to speak to your children several times and yes when it got to the third time of asking them the same thing I was as you would expect polite but to the point.

As a group you will know that a decreasing number of sites allow group bookings and even less allow campfires, we welcome both and have hundreds of happy customers throughout the year but this is reliant on people supervising their children and respecting campsite rules and their fellow campers.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bates 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely quite Campsite, lots of space, allow open fire's on most pitches great for cold evenings

They have new toilet and shower blocks, kept clean etc. Excellent spacious flat pitches.

Friendly Staff, very good farm shop close by that sells meat / fruit / veg / herbs-spices / bread / newspapers etc.

Local pub walking distance good for afternoon stroll, from site through nature reserve.

We were only there for a weekend, but easy access to Ipswich 7 miles, coast, etc.

Would recommend. 

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Steadings Park Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Woodbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

5012 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021