Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dumplings 4 reviews from this member

 If you want a peaceful, tranquil, location with room to sit outside or even BBQ then forget coming here. First impressions good, reception staff friendly and then it suddenly went downhill the pitch was more of a parking bay next to the main service road, we were crammed on with two other vans, there was no outside space to sit out let alone cook, my neighbours car was 18 inches away from my awning. My aframe was into the bush next to the kiddies play park which was taken over by teenagers and adults blasting a football about which hit my van and awning numerous times, no apologies. The nightly ritual was that the parents went off to the 'clubhouse'and their teenagers were left in the kiddies park playing music shouting and screaming and then wander around the site with cans of beer. Its the first time I have ever felt intimidated on a site, I even cleared my awning went I went out for the day it was hell. The staff are lovely the cleaner needs a medal clearing up the mess the shredded toilets rolls and half empty beer glasses left around the site. We had heard good reports about this site but it appears that it is catering for a different clinentel these days with the theme nights at the clubhouse pub rather than genuine caravaners. Also it is one of the most expensive sites. Terrible. 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyandjanew 4 reviews from this member

 Back from three nights from Boxing day onwards The site was so quiet but the weather the day after Boxing day had been forecast as Gales. And it was. This still didn`t detract from an excellent stay. We arrived to find the Tent field is no more as its being turned into a new area for statics but the rest is just the same apart from the new pub is nearing completion.

Still a fantastic site! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hallkerr 4 reviews from this member

 6 of us plus a 2 year old visited this site as we used to camp here all the time as children. I must say I was quite disappointed with the place. The toilets next to the camping field were the worst I have been in. For the full 3 days we were there I did not see 1 sheet of toilet paper. There was 1 shower that didn't even have hooks to hang your clothes on so had to lay them on the floor. The site generally is nice with a very good shop and large pitches. I think I should have just left this site in my memories. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

 We were disappointed with this site for the money we paid, we had paid 33. 00 per night for a 3 night midweek stay at the end of June after returning from touring the Highlands, we chose this site for all the amenities that it offered. After we booked in we were told that there was no food available as it was midweek and the site was nearly empty, the Bar was open though

Most of the caravans were either statics or long term tourers, we chose a fully serviced pitch and the two pitches adjacent to us were occupied by contractors who had to park there large National Grid lorries overshadowing our pitch and they were leaving for work each morning at 06:45 so it did not feel like much of a holiday for us.

This said the toilet facilities and was up areas were spotless, although they were starting to look a little tired with some of the cubicle partitions starting to crumble and I understand that there was only one hot shower working in the ladies. Clean site but overpriced. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ron62 4 reviews from this member

 Had a great couple of days here over the Bank Holiday weekend, site was busy but not overly, plenty of room to pitch, pool still on the cold side but only to be expected this early in the year.

We caught the sun just right which always makes camping that bit easier.

Toilet block as ever was spotless however the showers were a bit hit and miss with regards to hot water.

New bar area was a welcome as champions league final was on and the TV was a godsend, though got very busy service was swift, takeaway is very good as is the on site shop, well stocked with what you would need.

Play areas I was assured by my children are ok but the tennis/badminton area could do with a facelift.

Overall a great place to stay and well worth the fee's so much so that we intend to return at the end of Aug. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikedunne 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back after a 4 day stay over the Easter weekend and can honestly say I was a little disappointed. The site itself and the surrounding area are stunning with good pitches and a top club house but a couple of things let it down. The first thing was that in the morning I went up to the toilet block for a shower and was greeted a large queue as there are only two showers so I walked down to the other shower block opposite reception. When I got down there found no queue (bonus) but soon found out why. Showers were freezing cold so had to walk all the way back up to the first block and wait. The whole thing took up over an hour and I feel shouldn't happen on a five star site.

The other thing was on the last night I thought we would treat ourselves to a takeaway as we had seen many people walked past on previous nights. But when I went down to order it had shut early not sure why as the site was fully booked up. So we thought we would grab a meal from the club house only to be told the had ran out of everything and were not serving. This was a big problem for me now with a pregnant wife and a 1 And 8 year old as the site is in the middle of nowhere and I was unable to get any food for tea.

Generally a good site but these things really let it down and don't think it is worthy of the five star status 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyandjanew 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from wild rose again and had a great 4 days away. The site is still one of the best I know however the toilet block near the tent field is starting to look a little tired. The best addition by far is the cock o hoop bar and restaurant which is the icing on the cake for this site. Normal pub prices and a great local pub feel to it. Such a great stay we booked while we were there for Easter back on the super deluxe pitch. Very private and well equipped 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith5637 12 reviews from this member

 Wow top marks for this site

Good size pitches, super pitch deluxe

Good clean shower/toilet block

Very clean site

Not noisy at night

Good clean outdoor pool heated they say

Good club/pub/food, kids loved it and cheaply priced

Best shop ever seen on a campsite selling everything you could possibly need from guide lines to remote control helicopters

Great surroundings (local area)

Great for tents caravans and motorhomes

Great price per night

Two parks for the kids

Arcade room etc

Best site I have been on yet 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dianap 1 review from this member

 Please dont let all the other reviews put you off this place. We stayed here just last week, Sat-Sat. Ok, so the children's park is a little dated and the 'heated pool' is cold, but everything is very well kept and cleaned by the actual campsite. We took our dog onto the designated doggy walking area, where there are free bags for you to use to pick up your dogs poos, a shower and water bowls for your dog, you couldn't ask for more from a site, BUT people are still letting their dog/s poop all over the area and not picking up after them, so its not the place, its the types of people

The showers/toilets/sink areas are again cleaned regularly, the grounds on site are always cleaned/litter picked up etc, grass areas kept short n tidy! The shop on site is handy. Theres a fab launderette area. Again, clean and tidy and handy. They are very helpful at the reception. The food is fantastic at the bar/restaurant and very friendly staff! Theres a games room, but just full of kids left by parents. And litter all over it from the kids, some machines weren't working (probably from kids jumping on them or being rough with them)

All in all, we would go back again and met some lovely people who go there regularly! Nice place. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony t bone 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our 4th visit to this site. Quite a bit of money has been spent on the bar and restaurant area all much improved. The restaurant serves excellent food at realistic prices, drinks also at normal pub rates. The on site shop still continues to be excellent.

The swimming pool was able to be used in between bouts of rain, I was going to use it myself until I saw teenagers spitting in it apparently to the delight of their parents.

Pitches spacious, well drained and well served. The showers were hot and relatively clean although a bit dated. Perhaps some money could be invested in these as a next phase of improvement. All in all I feel the site represents good value and will definitely be returning but probably out of season to avoid school holidays. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement