Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Paul2911 2 reviews from this member

 Appreciate that this is a busy time for sites etc at the moment, but now more than ever they need to be at the top of their game re cleanliness. This is absolutely not the case at this park. Firstly have to say all of the staff encountered were excellent and the touring pitch itself was lovely so no issues there.

The site is generally well kept and nicely located with areas to walk dogs etc. However, and to be quite frank, its a wonder it is still allowed to operate given the current Covid-19 guidelines.

The toilet block is in desperate need of updating and honestly, it is disgusting. Only observed this being cleaned once on a morning, throughout our 3 night stay one of the soap dispensers had no soap throughout, as did the hand sanitiser at the door - very important as this is a frequent touch point. When coming to the chemical emptying point at the end of the stay I have to honestly say I simply have never stayed on a touring site with such a disgusting facility - the flush system seems to be inadequate and there was faeces floating around the bowl, the floor was disgusting and to top it off the hand sanitiser, an absolute must given the frequent touch point of this area didn't even contain a bottle of sanitiser.

On a final note, I think the definition of social distancing should be looked up. Really looked forward to this stay and had seen some fantastic reviews but honestly have no intention of returning and would strongly recommend its avoided until the hygiene and toilet block issues are addressed. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonsey 01 5 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at wild rose for 2 nights over the weekend and that was to many. The site is large and has statics/tourers/pods and seasonal touring. We stayed on a fully serviced pitch with a picnic bench and a little shed for storage. Getting on was difficult due to the overhanging trees and conifers which where against the side of the van. ! In my opinion they need to go. !

The first night was nice and quite due to us returning there late as visited the illuminations at Blackpool. The next night there was a few seasonal people there with kids to witch were running about hitting of the flower heads witch made a mess. And collecting the gravel from other pitches in buckets to put on there own pitch.

The toilets were nice and clean the showers were warm but there was no curtain in the cubical or no where to hang your clothes as the hooks had been ripped off so had to leave clothes outside. If this site was busy I think it would b difficult to get on and off the pitches as narrow roads and cars are parked in front of caravans. !

Can't comment on the club house as never visited but it looks a new build. Am afraid I would not visit again. ! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podbods 13 reviews from this member

 Large site with a large amount of static homes. Touring pitches could do with a bit of TLC, grass uncut, weeds on hardstanding. Showers and toilets are basic - no shower curtains in cubicles so clothes get wet. Covered pot wash areas and chemical disposal areas. Newish bar/restaurant. Shop has all the basics.

Good views from some pitches. When busy some of the touring pitches with awnings have cars parked in front making maneuvering difficult. Need to pay extra for wifi.

Would appear to be plenty to do for children. During school holidays beware of lots of children riding around on bikes unsupervised with no road sense. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daizee554 15 reviews from this member

 Very nice well maintained caravan park.

Stayed on a premium fully serviced pitch with small garden and seating, has enough room for a full awning plus car.

The shop on site has everything you need.

Laundry room is clean and tidy with plenty of space.

Swimming pool was lovely and clean, just a shame it's not heated.

Kids play areas were also nice and clean.

We will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LEO02 26 reviews from this member

 Stayed in campervan for 5 nights.

Site is good for kids, and my 12yr old particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the games room.

Toilets/showers fine.

On site shop a real gem.

Restaurant is only average, with a limited menu and average quality.

Location is obviously very isolated, and a good 30 min drive to anywhere.

Not located in lake district national park.

Kids enjoyed it though, so that's main thing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spazmajaz 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights early July

As it was early season the site was quite empty which was ok.

On site shop was really expensive, had most things you needed though.

Good clean toilets and showers.

Couple of play areas one for the smaller kids and one for the old ones.

Overall very pleased and would stay again if they sort out the pool. They had it open though was so cloudy you could not see the bottom, dangerous in my opinion! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: RustyDepp 1 review from this member

 This site had the most spacious, well-equipped and clean facilities we had ever seen at any site and there were multiple toilet/shower blocks with ample washing-up facilities. Nice extra touches like a free service allowing you to freeze ice-packs. The staff were very helpful. The site was pleasant with a magnificent view of the Pennines. Would recommend to anybody, especially families. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ems1976 17 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend in a wigwam at Wild Rose Park Ormside. We (being my husband and I and our 6 yr old son) had a wonderful time. Even though it was the coldest weekend this year and there was snow outside where it was -3 overnight, we were lovely and snug in our very warm wigwam We had all the facilities we expected, including microwave, toaster, TV, cutlery, crockery etc. All we needed was bedding, food and wash stuff. The washrooms were relatively near to the wigwams in the touring caravan area next door. They are very large and plentiful and had lovely warm showers. They maybe do need a bit of a spruce up but its all just cosmetic and functionally were perfect.

The Cock a hoop bar was brilliant. The food was lovely and the staff were so friendly and welcoming, we spent both fri and sat nights in there (which is unheard of for us), they even had a chess board set us so we had great fun teaching our 6 yr old how to play and then subsequently being beaten by him . There are 2 parks on site, one of which was directly opposite wigwam 1 so great if you have kids to want to keep an eye on. Again both parks could do with a spruce up, a bit of a lick of paint and generally a hug but it is January and perhaps they have plans to do this when before the main season starts again. Functionally both parks were entertaining for the kids, safe and tidy. Although it is in Cumbria the site is not in the Lake District National Park and it is a good 40 V 60 min drive to a decent area of the park, just in case youre considering this as accommodation for a park visit, but there are stunning views all around this site and plenty of countryside walking and places to visit in the near vicinity and we found that generally not being in the park meant everything was that much more reasonably priced. Up on the tops of the fells we saw some of the most stunning views of the Lake to the right, the Yorkshire Dales to the left and the Lancashire flats in front of usV all covered in snow, we felt like we were quite literally stood on top of the world. On a final note, the is also an outdoor swimming pool and paddling pool and general stores but as we were out of season these were closed. We loved our stay so much we booked another weekend in June. Cant wait to go back :) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheeprider79 14 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a Saturday and the site was buzzing, pool busy, bar open serving food. Come the Sunday 5pm the place was deserted. We were on the Scottish school holidays and although the site was full the majority is seasonal pitches who go home during the week.

We chose the super deluxe pitch. There is only a few of these but you have privacy, out door picnic table and storage shed, there off the main road. They are a 5 min walk from the pool and bar. I am glad that I had chosen this pitch.

The site toilet block is looking old but does the job, likewise with the amusements (few arcade machines and pool table) the kids park was grubby just needing a jet wash and a paint. I am sure that's next on the cards. Shop is excellent and good prices, bar food was good and restaurant lovely and brand new and again reasonably priced. The take away was not a good experience, I waited an hour for a kebab and a pizza.

I'd return again, but be wary of the time of year. ( I. E bar/ restaurant not open mon-wed off peak English summer holidays) 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dumplings 3 reviews from this member

 If you want a peaceful, tranquil, location with room to sit outside or even BBQ then forget coming here. First impressions good, reception staff friendly and then it suddenly went downhill the pitch was more of a parking bay next to the main service road, we were crammed on with two other vans, there was no outside space to sit out let alone cook, my neighbours car was 18 inches away from my awning. My aframe was into the bush next to the kiddies play park which was taken over by teenagers and adults blasting a football about which hit my van and awning numerous times, no apologies. The nightly ritual was that the parents went off to the 'clubhouse'and their teenagers were left in the kiddies park playing music shouting and screaming and then wander around the site with cans of beer. Its the first time I have ever felt intimidated on a site, I even cleared my awning went I went out for the day it was hell. The staff are lovely the cleaner needs a medal clearing up the mess the shredded toilets rolls and half empty beer glasses left around the site. We had heard good reports about this site but it appears that it is catering for a different clinentel these days with the theme nights at the clubhouse pub rather than genuine caravaners. Also it is one of the most expensive sites. Terrible. 


Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5385 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement