Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Alkaz18 3 reviews from this member

 The park itself is excellent especially for kids with plenty of activities to keep them occupied. We stayed on the field for tents which in some parts was sloping and divided into natural sections by hedging. Site was very clean and well kept.

The various parts of the site which was allocated for caravans did appear very crammed and some had very little privacy and wouldn't have fancied trying to manoeuvre a caravan into some of the pitches.

The 10.30pm curfew was adhered to without any issues. We had young children in our group and found the site to be very safe whilst they were running about playing. Well worth a visit if you have children. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirwood 1 review from this member

 My daughter and two grandsons arrived at the site ahead of my husband. After waiting for a considerable time for my husband to arrive with the caravan in tow we began to worry and due to mobile phone problems ie Low/no battery had difficulty contacting anybody. We finally found out the car had broken down and would not be able to get the caravan to the site until the next day. So there we were at a camp site with no caravan and as my belongings were either in the van or car I only had what I was wearing and my handbag.

We sheepishly explained to the staff on reception what had happened and they could not have done more for us. They found us a static for the night and were genuinely friendly.

The following day we found out the car had been towed back home and my son in law picked up husband and van and came up to meet us.

We were upgraded to a super pitch which was fantastic. My son, wife and family arrived that evening with their tent and pitched in the field close to us.

The grandchildren loved every minute from swimming in the heated pool to paddling and catching little fishes in the nearby stream. They found other children to play with and were no trouble at all.

We ate take away from the on site restaurant 2 night which was excellent and kept all happy.

The toilet and shower facilities were immaculate with hair drying facility.

Basically I cannot praise this site enough and will be returning very soon, in fact this weekend.

I would recommend it to anyone.

My only minor criticism is that I might have liked a slightly better view from the van but you can't have everything and we sat outside my sons tent one evening which had wonderful views.

I might add that myself and husband have minor disabilities and we had no problems at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hightower 7 reviews from this member

 Had a great two night stay at this park, and even had the weather to go with it (quite a rarity in this part of the country)!

We were dealt with by the reception staff in a pleasant manner, and were directed down to the Donkey's Nest where another member of staff told us to take our pick of pitches. We were pretty early so there were plenty to choose from, but a few on the bottom side were quite uneven and even had small patches of stones.

The pool was the first facility I tried out, and it was clean and refreshing - although it certainly didn't feel like the 23 degrees it had advertised.

After that we went to the mini-mart on site, which was really well stocked (with some good deals on drinks), and even offered cash back which allowed us to remain on site the whole weekend instead of slinking off to find a cash back.

The toilet blocks, to us, looked a bit dated compared to other 5-star sites. There was also a bit of a queue for showers at peak times, and seemed that they only had the same amount of showers/toilets of other smaller sites we've visited recently.

The on-site restaurant offered take out (full menu) which we used for tea on the first night. It also offered a range of food to eat in, as well as breakfast, or just a beer if that's all you wanted (2.90 for a lager - not badly priced). The staff in the restaurant were really friendly, and although we didn't eat for an evening meal there, we did try a breakfast which was great.

The site had a great atmosphere about it, and it was our best camping trip yet. The only downfall I would say is the shower blocks. They were clean enough but could do with an updating/more facilities adding. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shellfishb5 6 reviews from this member

 We also visited this site in Sept for a week thanks to the Mirrors 95p camping, yes it is a nice site, but I have to agree with Not4me's comments about the noise. We arrived at the weekend early afternoon managed to get a pitch near toilet block there were 4 tents together opposite. Later in the evening we had to put up with loads of noise which went on till after midnight, at no time did we see warden. This crowd then went home on the Sunday evening thank goodness and the rest of the week was peaceful and quiet. Then the following friday they all turned up again and the Friday and sat night went the same way as the previous weekend. On the Friday night we saw what we assumed was a warden drive around he passed the noisy crowd and nothing was done and they just carried on. Surely if you have a quiet time then owners should enforce it, rather than let a few people spoil it for the rest. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Not4me 3 reviews from this member

 I must be missing something here but I have just returned (early!) from this site. Granted, you can't book the weather but we were pitched up in a mud bath as were 6 of our friends (who also left early) and our tent is now wrecked. Noise from neighbours went on till well past 1.30 in the morning when they were politely asked if they could be a little quieter - there was no warden patrol after 'quiet time' on site to control any noise at night, you have to phone a number if you have a problem which we were only made aware of the morning after! Numerous complaints were made to reception by other campers about the noise. Next morning I opened the tent door to be greeted with some guy peeing in the bushes and later his kids were doing the same. Toilet block very dated and weren't cleaned often enough even taking into account the weather and amount of people using them.

This is such a shame as the site is situated in some of the most beautiful countryside this country has to offer with some fab walks in the area. The kids enjoyed the pool and the playground facilities were really good. If you own a static or stay in a caravan then this is a good site but tenters beware! as you get stuck in the donkeys nest 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: OLLIEB 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site

We had asuper pitch, although it was located next to toilet block and as the tent field was busy we incurred a lot of noise from the little uns on scooters etc.

First site we have stayed on and enjoyed enough to return.Good facilities although the pool was a little cool to say the least.

Well situated for the northen lakes / a66 corridor.

Local rivers offer fishing for the kids and wonderful wildlife, red squirrel & mink to say the least.

Site was clean, toilet blocks ok with push button showers. Access to site during silent hours is restricted to a pass via a refundable deposit.

Two good enclosed playparks for kids 


Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jamelsi 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first place we visited in our new van and still remains our favourite!

This must be our 6th visit in 18 months and we were here for the whole of February. The staff are always very happy and helpful. The restaurant staff in particular are very friendly and accommodating.

The toilet/shower facilities here are second to none and are very close to all areas. Very clean and tidy with a real cosy ambiance as soon as you enter. Only 2 shower cubicles but never busy and ample toilets and wash basins.

The restaurant/takeaway serves very good food but is slightly pricey.

The children's' playground is excellent and the tennis court is popular although very small!

We stayed on Hazel Heights this time and were very happy with the peace and privacy and the convenience of fully serviced.

The only downside I can think of is this site is a drive from local attractions but is still worth that drive!

It's very easy to see why this is our favourite and we are never disappointed.

We can thoroughly recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hammys 1 review from this member

 Visited this site end of April as our first family camping trip. Reception staff very helpful on arrival, giving us a map of the site and a local information brochure.

Very spacious pitches told to choose whichever pitch we wanted as they were pretty quiet, although they were on a gradient and some were quite bumpy at the bottom end of the site. Also noticed there were plenty of water points and EHU points for each pitch although we didn't need to use one.

Kids enjoyed chasing wild rabbits around and using the play areas although these were located in the caravan areas. The outside swimming pool was being refurbished so unable to use.

Toilet blocks were extremely clean and plenty of cubicles, sinks, showers. Plenty of dishwashing facilities located close by.

Would recommend this site and will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scary1 14 reviews from this member

 We sited our van here for the whole month of March, and it was worth every penny.

The site is well organised, and the serviced pitches are well spaced with hedging at either side. Plenty of hot water in the spacious showers which were kept very clean, the toilets too were immaculate, heated and the radio playing when you enter the toilet block was a lovely touch.

There is a small restaurant on site which we used a couple of times, the food was lovely, and I would recommend the breakfast! They also have a takeaway service.

A well stocked shop with some local produce, and friendly staff, its worth a look around.

The views from the site are amazing, with clear skies at night, a truly beautiful place, and we cannot wait to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petertowbar 33 reviews from this member

 This site was chosen for its scenery for a summer break and it didn't let us down. The area surrounding this first class site is outstanding This excellent site boasts much to amuse and entertain you, come rain or shine. , Pitches are level but as the site itself is not level, they are sculptured into various levels terraced and with good views. Shower blocks are warm and serve the purpose well An outdoor swimming pool is also available, staff are friendly WI-FI is available The campsite is also a member of Best of British (BOB)prices are fair/-worth trying a break here children are welcome 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement