Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CHRISALIZ 14 reviews from this member

 Quite a busy site with very good facilities, although it was kids summer holiday time. If you have a tourer go for Hazel Heights at the top of the site, which is a lot quieter than the with the hoards down near the tenting part.

Would definitely use again as a stop over on the way to Scotland. Excellent shower/toilet facilities. Lovely stream/ford nearby teaming with small fish and even saw a Kingfisher which made my husbands lifetime achievement wish.

Excellent static/holiday homes. Very friendly and helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindsey22 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here. Lovely site well set out. Toilet and showers dated but fine and clean with a hairdrier.

Staff were lovely and friendly. Flexible with letting you choose your pitch and warden came out to give us a EHU extension. Freezer available at waching up area.

Kids loved the two park areas but I felt they could have done with a bit of attention. We were lucky with the weather but the pool was still very cold, I didn't brave it but the kids did! Shop was reasonably priced with decent selection.

My main disappointment was noise, we arrived on Friday and the noise did not quieten down at 10. 30 as it should, seemed to go on very late!

Think a warden touring at night to check up on this would be a good idea. Overall a great break and would return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonia12 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay and were pitched at eggleston tiers on the top tier.

Fantastic view of hills and lower site and quieter than some other areas.

Despite the weather kids (11 & 8 yrs) had a fab time in outdoor pool, putting, above average play areas, tennis and constant cycling around park.

Shop was sufficient for all requirement or appleby was a 10 minute drive away.

Restaurant was very good with a couple of outdoor seats.

Only thing letting the park down are the toilet blocks which lacked showers (plenty toilets and sinks)- a bit dated.

A very friendly appealing site which i would recommend and return to. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Napier3333 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping holiday with 3 young children! Borrowed tent from our neighbour.

Excellent facilities on park, from swimming pool to playgrounds, showers and washing-up areas clean and closeby. The grounds were well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff.

Information room very good with plenty of leaflets to choose from. Great for places to visit in surrounding area, such as Appleby.

Even the wet weather did not dampen our enthusiasm. Will definitely return and try sister parks in north west. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KAIVY 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping in years & with two toddlers. We found the site perfect for young kids with 2 parks, an outdoor pool & indoor room for toddlers.

The toilets & showers were kept clean & with no queues even though the park was full & the pitches were a good size.

The shop on site stocked most essentials at reasonable prices & Appleby is only 5 miles away although there didn't seem to be much there.

The river Eden is right next to the park & great for kids to play in. We will definitely be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peewack 10 reviews from this member

 We tried to book this site in conjunction with the Daily Mirror camping offer but were told that they weren't participating in this promotion until September however they still gave us discount of 30%. The site itself is nice and we were pitched right by the swimming pool which our kids loved (so did I)but we had really good weather. The water was just the right temp. The showers were clean but a little dated. Not much around the site or in Appleby so never bothered eating out. We heard the food in the on site bistro was good though, but due to the weather we were bbqing. Good tip- ASDA deliver to site. The mini market also on site sells pretty much everything and is not too expensive either. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a five night stay at the Wild Rose, we were very impressed with this site, our pitch was in Hazel Heights.

The pitch was spacious with water, waste and electric point right beside the van.

Everything was of a high standard, clean and tidy, no problems with the toilets, showers and washing-up area.

The shop was well stocked but unfortunately the restaurant and bar was closed for the duration of our stay.

All the staff were approachable and helpful. Will definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kentouken 4 reviews from this member

 We stopped at the wild rose as an introduction to camping for my mother and father in law. I thought it would be a lovely site for them to start off with as it had all the facilities, and it was.

They loved it and we are already talking about going back.

- Massive shop with almost anything you want and everything is reasonably priced considering its locality

- Loads to do for kids including swimming pool, arcades, table tennis, pool and 2x playgrounds.

- We went on a lovely 40 min walk off the campsite (under railway lines and over streams), I'm sure there would be longer and shorter versions if that's what you fancy.

- Toilets were well cleaned only thing is there is only 2 showers in the mens block near the main camping area with a lot of traffic in the morning there was queing. Showers were push button but hot and good pressure.

- There is also a restaurant and takeaway on site, the former was shut as a private function was on so I cant comment but it did seem weird on a busy Saturday to have a private function. However we did go to the takeaway to get a pizza and in my opinion it was not very nice.

- The tent pitches were massive and the site is quite laid back with regards to gazebo`s and occupancy. We heard a lot of fighting on the Saturday night with a lot of swearing from a tent that was in the opposite corner to us and I'm sure it must of upset some of the parents camping. Bearing in mind the site was running a promotion so the site was packed, if booked online the pitch was only 8 per night which was fantastic value I think the usual fee is 23.

Overall a good weekend, good intro for the inlaws and a site we would recommend especially for families. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KevCheston 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site, shop well stocked and very reasonably priced,

Toilets a bit dated and more showers would be better and there seemed to plenty of room for more,

But view from our trip and pitch was spoilt by the view of one touring caravan supported by a car, transit van, horse trailer, transit pick up truck with a scrapped excavator on the back all on one pitch and directly opposite our super pitch which spoilt both our trip and pulled the site down really.

Surprised to see really and Hopefully this was just a one off!

Might stop again, pitches on the top of the hill seemed better. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michyp44 8 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a fantastic five nights here from Thursday 26th April to Tue 3rd May. The site was fairly large with a mix of statics, tents and tourers - though it never felt crowded.

We camped on Chester's Challenge and were very near to the park and pool. As other people have said the park facilities could do with a bit of updating, but that certainly didn't stop our children from loving every minute they spent on the parks.

The girls also ventured into the pool on a cool windy day - they loved it, but I'll wait until we visit again in the warmer months before braving it. That said we did all paddle in the neaby stream trying to catch some fish.

We arrived late on the Thursday night - so reception staff contacted us en route as they were closing, to let us know how to access the site and make contact with the warden we needed to(a nice touch we thought).

The pitches were spacious - and ours was very level. The only thing I would say was if you are putting an awning up you will need concrete pegs and a hammer to get them in / out.

Appleby is a nice enough small town, with lots of independent shops and a handful of pubs. Very few shops open on Sundays though the Spar and Co-op do. We travelled to Penrith (approx 25 mins away) and enjoyed the May Day carnival and fun fair.

The campsite also put on a fantastic free street party to celebrate the Royal Wedding - great food and face painting, and bouncy castles. It was a lovely touch - and brought lots of people out having fun. We thought this was very refreshing when lots of other places were cashing in on the big event.

Toilets and showers were clean and hot water was plentiful. There were plenty of staff around cleaning and maintaining the site.

We will definitely return again for a get away from it all week :-) 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4983 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement