Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Willow Valley Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Willow Valley Camping Park
Dyehouse
Bush
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 9LB
Tel: 01288 353104  or  07710 009245
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lakelou39 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, well maintained facilities.

Matt and Tina very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

Site is very peaceful throughout the day and into the evening, very well lit at night when you have to make the dreaded night toilet stop!

Site is located close to Bude and gives good base for touring North Devon and the whole of Cornwall.

Already booked for next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

As we live a good eight hour drive from Cornwall, I spent quite a long time looking at all the campsites in Devon and Cornwall to find the best one. I came across Willow Valley very early on and should have believed the review that advised, 'Don't bother looking for other sites, as this one can't be topped. ' I eventually came back to Willow Valley as the best, which fulfilled my priorities being clean facilities, wet rooms and not small shower cubicles, large pitches, picturesque and non commercial.

When we arrived we were not disappointed and we received a friendly greeting from the owners, who allowed us to pitch our tent early to avoid the heavy rains that started exactly when we should have been pitching the tent.

The site is in a beautiful valley and we did see deer when walking on the higher level of their land. The pitches are not squashed in and are large and the site is very clean. The facilities are excellent and well thought out, especially the wet rooms that are roomy and have two showers in each. There are plenty of toilets and showers for everyone and they have more than some sites with a lot more pitches.

I do like a site that is well lit at night and at this site you can easily walk to the toilets without a torch. The shop is well stocked and it made a change to have fresh milk instead of UHT milk, which we usually have to have, as we are non electric.

I loved the fact all the children on the site played together nicely and even turning dark didn't seem to stop them, and it was shame to make them go to bed. The playground was good, which I believe has been recently refurbished and there was also plenty of room for ball games. They even provided bikes, swing ball etc and the owner often played swing ball if someone was missing an opponent.

The owners are lovely and genuinely want to give you the best holiday experience they can provide, being campers themselves in the past, they have developed the site to include everything they wanted when camping and more. It is obvious from how the site is set up, that a lot of thought has gone into what they provide and it is all well maintained and very clean.

We used the nearby Morrisons a lot, as we only eat breakfast at the tent and their cafe provided great food that was very reasonably priced for dinner or tea and a selection of sandwiches for pack up for days out. We did travel quite a bit for excursions including Eden Project (tickets bought with Tesco vouchers), Tamar Otter Sanctuary, Hidden Valley Discovery Park and various beaches which were all excellent days out. The most amazing was a day trip to the Isles of Scilly, which we flew from Lands End (ten minute flight in an eight seater plane with a window for every passenger) and cruised back allowing just over four hours on the Island. For a family of four I thought it was great value at 242 and was such an experience for my children, who had never flown before. This did involve a car journey of just under two hours to get to Penzance to get the plane transfer, which made quite a long day, but worth it.

We had the best holiday ever, which Willow Valley played a huge part in making it so enjoyable. The day after we returned we rang to rebook for next year, only this time extended it from the 7 nights we had this year to 15 nights, as we really didn't want to come home. This means we will only camp once next year in the summer holidays, instead of two separate weeks at two different sites, as we loved it there so much. This has become our favourite campsite and we are all looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: H craik 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent a great holiday at willow valley.

The owners make your stay so enjoyable and relaxing.

You feel you are on holiday as soon as you drive in the entrance.

The site is level with large pitches and some hard standings.

Toilets and showers are first class, and always very clean with

Plenty of hot water. The shop is small but I always find what I need at good prices.

It is close to Bude, Supermarkets and the surfing beaches.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Russells 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from another lovely holiday at this campsite. A very well kept site with spotless facilities - no complaints at all. The introduction of the tandem, unicycle and mini bike are a nice touch. Very helpful, chatty, cheerful owners who are there when you need them but don't push themselves on you. I'd actually rather not tell too many people about this little gem but feel the owners deserve a good review. Well done Matt and Tina for all your hard work-see you next year!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MeadowBrown 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights during the school holidays (tent with hook up, two adults plus dog). The owner was helpful and friendly on arrival. The site is dog friendly and there is a nice off-road walk from the site. Good sized flat pitch with good facilities (separate toilet and shower block). Site is well positioned for a short drive to Bude for shopping, beaches and eateries and Widemouth for another nice beach and places to eat. The road was a little noisy at night time. Site is ideal for campers with children. Downside for me was that there are no rules which meant that some campers were a little noisy past bedtime.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmerny 1 review from this member

We have now visited this site 3 years running. We find it the perfect location to visit the beaches of Bude and surrounding area. The site is run by 2 of the nicest people you are ever likely to meet, Matt and Tina 'make' this site with their friendly attitude to camping. The site has generous sized pitches, which are beautifully maintained. The shop stocks everything you need so if you forget anything the chances are you will find what you need there. The new toilet/shower block is maintained to a very high standard and is always clean, even when the site is busy there is always plenty of hot water for showers and washing up. Other facilities include large capacity washing machine and dryer, ironing board, hair dryer, plenty of sinks and even a special sink for washing wetsuits. The refuse area is fully equipped for all recycling and is always kept spotless by Matt to reduce any unwanted flying pests.

I couldn't recommend this site highly enough, don't bother looking elsewhere as you won't be able to top the service Matt and Tina offer at Willow Valley.

See you next year chaps !

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazzie71 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week and wish it could have been longer. What a fab site. One of the best. They only have 1 rule. There are no rules!

This may sound bad but it works. Its a lovely well kept site, great owners with a fab sense on humour, other visitors were all friendly, no trouble no noise. Just perfect!

This is the only site that we have stayed in which we can say the facilities were spotless. And they are. They work hard to keep them clean whatever the weather. Plenty of hot water, loo roll, soap etc. Bins emptied often. Owners even sort through the rubbish themselves to recycle items that lazy, cant be bothered visitors don't!

Every shower has 2 showers in each tray. 1 adult & 1 child height which our 3 year old loved. It also makes shower time easier for us! Cubicles are nice and roomy with plenty of room to get dressed. The family bathroom is great with showers, toilets, basin, baby changing.

Great washing up facilities which are outside but under cover, laundry room, leaflets, and a very well stocked reasonably priced shop. They sell gas and a few other camping necessities just in case!

Pitches are well kept, cut often and level.

There is a lovely play area for the children and a great dog walking area where they can be let off with plenty of doggy bins on site too,

They have 3 camping areas with lovely large pitches. It sounds a big site but its not and has a great feel to it. Pitches are well shelterd esp compared to sites nearer the coast which would be very windy and exposed!

It is just off the main road however don't let this put you off as we had no trouble with noise and didn't even know it was there!

Owners were great, around for a chat if you needed, always laughing and maked the place feel like home.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone and cant wait to go back! For longer next time. Prob the best site we have stayed on and we have stayed on quite a few with over 20 years camping behind us!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bunting 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this campsite having stayed in 2013. The campsite continues to be kept superbly with the cleanest shower and toilet block you will ever find. The owners are very welcoming and accommodating. Being a smaller site even when busy the facilities remain a high standard.

Recent refurbished play area and a small shop on site for essentials. 5 minutes drive from Bude, and large local supermarket is within 5 minute drive.

Several good surfing beaches nearby.

The perfect campsite for those not wanting an on-site clubhouse or entertainment.

We look forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Bentons 1 review from this member

Just returned from a lovely week at Willow Valley. The site was recommended to us by some friends and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. We booked early in the year and were able to pitch next to our friends, both with electric hook up in a tent. We were in the middle field a bit further away from the road.

It was quiet on the site due to the bad weather we have had but despite the fact that the fields were muddy the toilet and shower blocks remained spotless. As others have said the water in the showers was hot all the time and I particularly liked the fact that there are two showers in each cubicle, one lower down for children to use!

There are good washing up facilities and recycling bins which is great. There is a laundry and I used the tumble dryer for towels as I couldn't get them dry in the rain. I thought the laundry was a little expensive (4 for a wash) but it was handy to have on site just in case, although I didn't need to use the washer.

The kids loved the play area and the shop stocked the basics and was reasonably priced.

The site is next to the main road but it wasn't that busy most of the time and at night time very quiet, we didn't really notice it was there so don't let that put you off.

The owners were very helpful and friendly, they were in no rush for us to vacate the pitch and said that we could wait until the tent had dried out before we packed it away. We will definitely stay there next time we go to Bude.

There is plenty to do within a 30 mile radius and we visited places in both Devon and Cornwall as we were so close to the border. A week wasn't long enough to see everything we wanted to. We spent the whole of our 1 hot day on Crooklets Beach in Bude, make sure you check the tide times first though as the top part of the beach is stoney like Sandymouth.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westcountrymaid 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a short break at this site and would like to recommend it.

It was only our second venture out with our 'new' caravan and our first trip with our two dogs.

We chose the site because it was only 30 miles from home, was dog friendly, small and easily accessible from the A39.

We arrived a little early and were greeted warmly by the owner Tina. She was very approachable and helpful.

The site was very quiet and we had our pick of pitches and so chose a level (all looked level), corner pitch with electric hook up near the river and amenity block. Pitch 26 I think.

It was lovely to be near the river and the dogs took advantage of it and had a cooling paddle on such a lovely hot, sunny day.

The toilets (4 in the main block) and showers (3 in the main block) were spotlessly clean, with lots of hot water. The showers had fixed heads and each large cubicle had a tall shower and a short, childs shower. The showers were free but of the type where you had to press them on again after about 30 seconds, which could be a little annoying if you were trying to wash your hair. The water pressure was very good.

There are 4 large washing up areas, which are covered and again had very hot water.

In this area there are the recycling bins and grey water /chemical disposal and laundrette with washer, dryer ( I think) ironing board, iron and hair dryer - all chargeable.

There are lots of water points dotted around the site and the site is immaculately kept.

Whilst we were there, we went to look at lots of other sites and none looked as neat and presentable as this site.

There is a shop on site, which we didn't use and dog walking above the site.

We walked our dogs on the the fabulous Sandymouth Beach, which is dog friendly and simply stunning. It is about a 5 minute drive from this site.

Bude is very close and the whole of North Cornwall is accessible due to the site's proximity to the A39.

One thing we did notice was that there was some road noise. We were in the main, middle field and on a busy Saturday, it was hard to ignore completely. I would imagine the first field with the play area can be quite noisy and is also quite open to the road (lovely and sunny though!) Our field was nicely hidden behind trees. The higher field with hard standing areas must be quieter still. As you can imagine, the road quietens down considerably in the evening and we heard nothing overnight or first thing in the morning.

The owner said that this site rarely gets busy outside of the school holidays and I would urge people to give it a try, especially when other sites are busy.

We would not hesitate to go back again.

We would like to thank Tina for allowing us to stay for a few extra hours on the Sunday. This really allowed us to make the most of whole weekend break with only one overnight stay. I think that more campsites should offer longer staying times out of season.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938