Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Willow Valley Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Willow Valley Camping Park Reviews

Willow Valley Camping Park
Dyehouse
Bush
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 9LB
Tel: 01288 353104  or  07710 009245
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 41
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robnclaire 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a bank holiday trip at this lovely little campsite - we expected bank holiday madness, but although the campsite was fairly full, because of the way it is laid out, it felt almost empty.

We had a huge pitch - seriosuly, you could have parked a 747 on the pitch and still had space - in the first field. This is oppisite the busy A39, but the road noise really didn't bother us - the pitch was far enoough away for noise during the day not to be an issue, and it's quiet at night. Although it's a major A road, it's really not that busy.

The pitches are well laid out, and we noticed that trees at the back of the pitch were well tended, which meant we didn't get loads of birds poop on the tent. There's a small fence between the pitches on this field, so good seperation, but our neighbours were really friendly, so this wouldn't have been an issue anyway.

Ammenities were great- very clean toilets and showers (I did have to queue for the gents loos once) and, as previous reviewers have said, the showers are really spacious.

Nice little shop with everything you might need last minute.

The owners (Chris and Jen) are really friendly and helpful, and are obviosuly thinking hard about how to further imporve the site since taking it on last year (there's really not that much to improve).

The site is about 3 miles outside Bude - an ambitious but OK walk. There is a pub within walking distance over fields, and there is a plethora of takeaways in Bude and Kilkhampton if camp cooking isn't your thing.

We had a fab time, and are looking forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ady Eccles 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite.

Large well laid out pitches, with lots of space on the site.

Fantastic shower and toilets blocks, always clean, never had to queue for a shower.

The shower cubicles are well laid out so that your clothes stay dry whilst showering.

The showers are large with two different height shower heads so that parents and children can shower together.

Great (well priced) little shop on site.

Very friendly caring owners on site.

Nice play area and field for children to play in.

Close to Bude. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raspberryqueen 9 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 2 nights at this lovely spot. It is only a 5 minute drive from Bude, and our favourite Northcott Mouth, with its fabulous long sandy beach, rockpools and surf.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival, and given a quick tour of the facilities, which besides the generously sized showers as previously mentioned, even include a designated sink for washing wetsuits. Everything else you could possibly need is provided.

The site itself makes a welcome change from some of the more characterless sites. It is leafy and green, with the sound of birdsong, and of particular interest is the wild area behind the site where little paths have been mowed, and picnic tables provided. It makes a lovely adventure area for children in particular, and dogs can run free here.

The pitches are very generous in size, and all are kept neatly mowed. There are many footpaths in the area for those who like walking.

I would totally recommend this site, both for families with children, and for older campers looking for somewhere green and pleasant and with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

 Located on the A39 on the way to Bude. Mainly grass pitches, with some hardstanding gravel ones.

A stream runs through the property. Really nice couple own this park with a well stocked shop in reception. This is rarely open, so a bell to ring to get them to open it would be good. Separate toilets and showers, very clean. One family/disabled room and another mens toilets in the old house.

The chemical toilet is the worst one I have ever used; right down on the ground, and open, I had to rescue bugs and other things that had fallen in. Lovely sloping grass walk up the hill for dogs.

So many birds and frogs, we found some under our awning, thank goodness we did not stand on them. No privacy between pitches, they mix tents and caravans, which we don't like.

Did not notice the road noise at night, but the people who live behind have two dogs who bark when they see you, and that is the only thing that I didn't like about this place, and we love dogs! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Frazzle- 6 reviews from this member

 Willow Valley 1 week Nr Bude on the A39

A family owned and run site. We spent a week at Whitsun here. We are a family with 3 young children.

The booking was seamless and they were so helpful on the phone and even answered my MANY questions. The site has a wooden cottage or two and NO mobile homes but takes tents, caravans and campervans. Some pitches have EHU and others are without (like ours). The pitches are massive.

We had our Montana 6P tent, extension porch, trailer, car, our table and chairs and one of their wooden picnic tables and there was still space. The wooden picnic tables, the ones with the benches attached each side, were free to borrow, just move them to your pitch and use them. There is a shop/office which is mostly open; if it is shut the owners are around and will open it for you.

They have ice-block hire which we did not use, but one day we had bought supermarket ice creams and they offered to keep it in their shop freezer for me until we got to dessert (about 2 hours). They are so kind and thoughtful. As it is in a valley there are no problems with strong winds which you have at coastal sites.

Playpark: There is a small patch of flat grass in the centre of the pitches, a sort of central area for small children. This is good for small children or parent and child ball games where the ball is controlled and other people will watch too.

The play park is at the entrance of the site and is on a huge hill. The site is at the bottom and at the top is the A39! I let my little one play if the big ones looked after him or we were there our tent was very close and we could hear the children. Probably age 6 plus would be fine with other children there.

Washblock: The site has one main wash block and a separate mens old one (only saw it from a distance). The main wash block is spotless but only contains a couple of toilets and another entrance has showers 2 or 4 but they are huge family sized ones.

There is room for all the family in the shower and room for all the family to dry (that big). The other side of this block is the washing up sinks x 5. There is also a laundry room with washer and dryer which we used it took money so no waiting to get tokens from the shop.

Food / Outings: Visited The Old Market Inn in Holsworthy for a Sunday carvery. Was very nice and the children enjoyed deserts too. Parking behind the pub. Used Morrisons on the way to Bude and Sainsburys near Bude beach.

Parking on residential streets before the main beach car park was free but is further to walk. Good crabbing on the beach. Cliff tops brilliant for kite flying there is a campsite up there but it gets lots of the wind and we were so pleased we were not staying there. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thegables123 1 review from this member

 Well what a lovely site. For our first time touring caravan outing with a 2year old and 4 year old, it was a lovely experience. We are farmers so like the quieter sites so this was ideal.

We arrived and were greeted by the owners who were very laid back and welcoming. We set up whilst the children burnt of some energy on the green area opposite. Picnic benches were great help for the kids to sit and eat outside.

The shop was very handy, and the toilet and shower block were lovely and clean. The washing up area was also a great area, to the point we did not bother setting up water in our caravan just to make life easier on our first outing. Could not fault the services.

It was that lovely we did not want to come home and will book again if staying in the area. It was also lovely there were only a few there, the children all played together in view of all the parents sat drinking wine whilst cooking the BBQ's. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sammyjean 1 review from this member

 Just got home from spending two weeks at this lovely site.

The toilets and shower facilities where spotless, the site itself was very well kept and the owners where friendly and helpful and welcoming.

Bude was a good walk with lovely views and helped with there being a pub halfway. We will be going back loved it.

Julie, mark and Bella. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

 Great site, lovely owners, good pitches. Nice, Clean showers and washing facilities.

Can't fault this site.

Walk is achievable into Bude via public footpath, but definitely not good for those who want a flat, slow, easy walk!,

The picnic tables on the walk are a lovely touch, which sums up the site totally. Nothing is too much trouble.

Recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidjac 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely superb campsite, lovely flat pitches with a particularly well stocked shop.

Located very central to local towns and attractions and just a short drive into the beautiful town of Bude itself.

Toilet block was kept very clean and we always had hot water.

Only slight negative was road noise but overall no complaints. Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our second year staying at Willow Valley campsite. Our holiday was for nearly two weeks and what did surprise us was the number of families we met last year that had also returned as we had.

This site is very friendly and this year we met lots of lovely people, some visiting for the first time, but mostly people who had holidayed at Willow Valley many times, including one couple who had been coming every year since 2003. I can thoroughly understand why people return to this site, as it is such a well run, clean and an excellently maintained campsite we have ever been too, that it would be difficult to find better. The owners, Matt and Tina, go out of their way to make your holiday special and as enjoyable as they possibly can, making them an essential part of why this is a gem of a campsite.

My priorities of a good campsite must start with immaculately clean and plentiful toilets and showers, good pitch sizes, not be a large commercial site and preferably a smaller picturesque site that is child friendly. Near the campsite we like there to be a large supermarket for supplies and even better if it has a cafe that will do reasonably priced cooked meals. This campsite ticks all our boxes for us.

We visited places again that we went to last year like Eden Project, which we enjoyed, but twice for us was really enough. However Tamar Otter Sanctuary and Hidden Valley we enjoyed just as much as last year and the children have already said that they want to visit them again next year.

A new place we visited this year, that we felt was great value for money, was Adventure International in Bude. My son spent two afternoons on their high ropes, which was on offer, 15 for each three hour session. There was a varied timetable of lots of different activities to do, but appears only to be open to the public in the first three weeks of the summer holidays, as it is usually exclusive to schools.

Nearby the campsite was a lovely walk we hadn't done before, the Rebel cinema was quaint and the Bude sea pool was fun, although my children would have preferred the temperature to be a bit higher. We went to Morrison's cafe most days for a cooked meal, which we felt was reasonably priced for a good meal and also had pizzas delivered for free from La Bocca in Bude.

We had a great holiday and have already booked to return next year. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Willow Valley Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Willow Valley Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Willow Valley Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements