Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crabtree Lane
Sutton On Sea
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 2RS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 16/03/2022 to 01/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gingerjools 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, well maintained site. On arrival we were given a map with the available pitches circled, so that we could go off and choose the one we wanted. We picked pitch 28 which is right next door to the playground (not everyone's cup of tea but it meant I didn't have to walk the length of the site to get my son to come back to the van). Obviously kids were at the park at key times but they never caused any bother and were not overly noisy.

The site was full for the whole time we were there but it never felt over crowded. The wardens did regular tours of the site to empty the bins and to do general checks. The shop sold the basics (ie milk, bread, eggs, sweets & ice creams) but if you're wanting anything more substantial the Main Street in Sutton on sea is a 5 minute drive away and is excellent for a variety of shops - Spa (small supermarket), cooplands bakery, newsagents, butchers, hardwear shop, pet shop and various take aways.

The site doesn't have a designated dog walk area, they do have a couple of dog waste bins on site but we got the feeling that they would prefer you to take your dog(s) off site for toileting and there is a public footpath that runs round the outside perimeter. We didn't use this so I can't comment on it, we just walked down the lane.

The toilet block is not ultra modern with sleek stainless steel and glossy tiles BUT it is clean and tidy (which to me, is important). The showers had enough space to get washed and then dried in, they were free (no 20p's required!) and they weren't push button operated. The wardens close the shop/office at 10. 15am everyday to close the toilet block for cleaning, so make sure you time your milk/bread buying and Loo/shower visits accordingly!

We would recommend a visit to Radcliffe Donkey Sanctuary, at Huttoft, to pass a couple of hours. We enjoyed it as much as the kids and all proceeds go back into looking after the donkeys. Lincoln is 1 hr 15mins drive away but is a very lovely city to explore, the only downside is, if you have dogs with you, there aren't many places you can go inside with them to eat. If there are seats outside at the front of a cafe/restaurant or if they have a garden at the back (which is accessible by not going through the building) you are allowed there with your dogs. Don't pick a day to go when it's raining, like we did! Otherwise you're stuck. We would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zeagle64 5 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely well-kept site. We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend and it was full, (apart from the grass pitches which weren't available), and it was still peaceful with no big queues for the toilet block. The site is an easy walk to the beach, (20-30 minutes depending on your speed), which is great for kids. There are restrictions for dogs on the beach at certain times of year but this wasn't an issue for us. Our only minor negatives are the ladies loos ran out of toilet roll and why do the general sinks still not have mixer taps to avoid scalding, hence the Facilities score. (A 'hot water' cautionary sign above the sink is not sufficient when there are other permanent options). We would recommend this site, and the only reason we wouldn't stay again in the near future is that the area generally doesn't have enough, (restaurants/pubs/places of interest etc), for us as dog-owners.

One other thing pitch 69 floods in medium to heavy rain which we found out. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scrunchkins 19 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a fabulous week at this well kept site. It is well situated for the lovely old fashioned seaside town of Sutton on Sea, and just a short drive away is Mablethorpe which has a great beach. The facilities on site were clean enough but were starting to look a little tired so could probably do with a refit. The pitches were flat and spacious and the wardens were helpful and on hand if needed but not intrusive. I was initially worried about pitching at this site as I'd previously had a problem at a caravan club site with my continental van and hadn't been able to erect my awning. My fears were unfounded and the wardens couldn't have been more helpful. They gave me a couple of options and even pointed out the pitches which were more suited to my van. The children's play area was small but provided ample entertainment for my two children aged 5 and 7. We loved this site so much that we extended our stay. Food wise there is a fish and chip van which visits on a Wednesday evening, but if you're looking for something a bit more sophisticated I can recommend The Fat Seagull Bistro just down the road at Sandilands. A great site that I will almost definitely return to. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the area and were very impressed with this Caravan Club site. Wardens were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and helped us choose two adjacent pitches for us and our friends. Very well planted site with any overhanging shrubbery being kept trimmed. Grass was also kept trim even though there had been a lot of heavy rain before our arrival. Toilets and showers were kept spotless. Lovely spacious promenade at Sutton on Sea and nice selection of small shops and eateries. Lincolnshire Aviation is about 30 mins drive away in East Kirby where one of the last Lancaster bombers is on show as well as a lot of wartime memorabilia and a nice café and shop. Well worth a visit while you are in the area.

Overall this is a lovely, quiet, relaxing site and we will certainly visit again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr blue sky 2 reviews from this member

 Hi everybody, have just returned from the S.O.S. Site, the wardens are friendly. Now the bad news, every time it rains heavy, parts of the site becomes waterlogged, now its not rocket science to put some land drainage in. Every year its the same problem. Also the trees could do with topping in certain areas. The shower block is very clean, so overall the site is fine, and who knocked the barrier down? Last of all why does the CC put the fees up before and after the bank holidays or is it just me 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr blue sky 2 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site many times over the years and we have seen a few changes in those times.

At last we have very good wardens who really

Leave you alone to enjoy your holiday but if you need anything just ask.

The toilet block is fine, yes maybe a refurb in the future is needed but it's very clean.

The children's playground is pretty new and safe.

The gate which we used to take the dogs out and then lock behind us is now locked permanently so don't waste your trying to open it.

Don't pitch under the trees as the pigeons are a real nuisance and mess all over your caravan and awning!

Sutton on sea town has a good Spar shop, post office, two chipshops( Waldo's is good) and a selection of other shops, but if your looking for any amusement arcades, there are none in the town. Try Mablethorpe! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rickyd 9 reviews from this member

 First visit here and it won't be our last. The site is well located and within an easy walk of Sandilands and the coast path that stretches from Huttoft to Mablethorpe. Glorious Autumn weather helped but this site is worth a visit. Pitches are well spaced and some back on to woodland.

The site is well placed for both walking and cycling as the country lanes are very quiet. The wardens are very friendly and although we visited towards the end of the season, they were still maintaining the site even though it was less than half full;

The toilet block was spotless and although we did not use the showers, friends of ours did and said they were spotless and warm even if they are a little dated. This site is local enough to visit for a weekend break and we will certainly use it again for a peaceful weekend break. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Great area to walk or cycle. Plenty of cafes to stop and refuel at good prices.

Showers clean, although tired. Having recently been to poolsbrook the difference was noticeable

Fish and chip van on Wednesday.

Dog walk very poorly maintained- by whoever is responsible, presumably local council. The site is NOT dog friendly. The warden WILL reprimand you if the pooch goes to the toilet anywhere on site. No matter that you clean up afterwards!

Beaches clean and family friendly.

Wardens- one set very nice, helpful and friendly. The other not at all equipped with ''people skills' and the reason we will not be returning.

In heavy rain everywhere floods. Our hard standing pitch ( which we didn't choose, but were asked to have) is currently covered in two inches of rain. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitzb 3 reviews from this member

 We stay here every year as my parents live in Sutton on sea, but we would still stay if they didn't.

It is a lovely site right by the beach, which is lovely sandy with toilets near by. There is a dog walk to the beach, through a gate - a key is provided. Good sunny pitches.

Wardens are very helpful with problems. Toilets can get busy but are kept clean and tidy.

Our boys love it here and make lots of friends, there is a playground if you want to be near you can pitch next to it.

Lots of nice things to do in the area.

Lovely garden centre with a maze. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kim59 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, all the usual CC standard and the wardens were very cheerful.

Good information room.

Great dog walks through a lockable gate.

Lovely 15 mins. Walk to Sandilands beach ( it is vast, flat and sandy ) nice walk along the beach to Sutton, where we had a lovely lunch at a good cafe called Cafe and Cream. Spar supermarket in Sutton or Lidl and Co-op in Mablethorpe - 10 mins. By car. Also village shop in Sandilands about 5 mins. Walk from site.

Pitch sizes were great ( don't believe the Aug 2010 review on that count! )

Please don't drop the end off the toilet tube on the cassette, the waste area does not have a trap to save it from going into the cess pit, we did ask the wardens if it could be retrieved but no it had only been emptied last week and there were about 40 in there!

Will definitely return, the best site for dog walking that we have visited and we have been to quite a few. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mablethorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement