Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crabtree Lane
Sutton On Sea
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 2RS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 16/03/2022 to 01/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 36 reviews from this member

 Immaculate site with modern shower block. Really friendly welcome. Great play area for kids.

A new gate at the back of the site gives immediate access to the old railway line walk & it's then a 15-20 minute walk to the sand dunes & beach.

The town is very small & a further 15-20 minute walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rmt192 1 review from this member

 Had an excellent stay - site was clean, tidy, and very well maintained; staff were welcoming and very helpful.

Site was generally quiet and peaceful. Impressed all round ! 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 34 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site, couldn't fault anything during our stay.

Great wardens, always ready to go that extra mile to help.

Excellent facilities although the showers were closed due to Covid, no problem as we were on a service pitch.

Good TV signal and Wifi speed. Everything was spotless and we'll kept.

Good size level flat pitches with countryside views and walks direct from the site to the beach and town.

Fabulous beaches and plenty to see in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidandrews 15 reviews from this member

 Easy site to find, Crabtree Lane can be a bit narrow so take care as there are not really any places to pull over for larger vehicles.

Very easy, friendly check in. Wristbands in use for toilets and showers which to me looks immaculate and very clean. Good motor home point for waste water and filling up with water. Good hard standings for larger motorhomes.

A lot of sites discriminate the larger unit especially 8-8. 5 metres plus but not here so a bonus for the big motorhomer.

For walkers and cyclists Mablethorpe is a good 4 miles each way on an easy accessible sea front. Near the site one can walk the old railway line for a yomp the other way.

Friday night the fish and chip man arrived 5. 30-6. 30 pm. Jolly good grub boys and girls at a very good price. Recommended for a Friday night treat.

A few kids on site but we'll behaved and a play area for them. Did not see a dog walk but there is a footpath next to the site.

There seems to be a few smaller sites dotted about the area but if you want all the frills this is a very good CAMC site. My usual gripe is the pricing system especially when one does not use facilities, even with the vat reduction it's £23 a night.

Saying that I would return here, I imagine the spring months with a bit of sun and less wind, like anywhere else in the country make a good break. Nearly forgot!

The local people all seemed so polite! Life's so much better with a smile and cheery Good morning hey?

A very good place to stay. Thanking you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 62 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 3 times over the past year as 2 hours from home and we love Waldos fish and chips in Sutton. Site has been recently refurbed and is very clean. Showers and toilets are excellent.

Due to Covid, they operate a wristband system for entry to facilities. You hang your wristband if there is an empty hook outside the facilities - best system of 5 different ones we have witnessed.

Pleasant walk into Sandilands and on into Sutton. Via paths and residential streets then the prom. Beach lovely and great work done restoring dune planting. Site mainly caravans and motorhomes obviously, but a few grass pitch options with ehu for our small campervan.

Quite expensive if you're not a member but we generally try and avoid CMC sites as they tend to line up the big whites which is not the prettiest view. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

 A well laid out site with plenty of space between pitches. The wardens were friendly and helpful. The site is supposed to be due a refurbishment and it needs it. The hard standing surfaces are very unpleasant being a form of hardcore, large lumps of unforgiving rock. Regretfully our holiday was spoilt when an outfit with five dogs parked next to us. From that point on we were subjected to constant barking or their owners shouting at the dogs to stop barking. In the end we had to move to a new pitch, only to be subjected to more dogs barking constantly. This is a site that has the most number of dogs we have ever seen on a CC site. Eventually we gave up and went home early. We complained to the Club but they refuse to do anything about the dogs noise, even though they acknowledge it is a serious problem. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Sutton-on-Sea CMC camp site is located half a mile from the seafront at Sandilands, near Sutton-on-Sea. It has the usual CMC facilities, although (notwithstanding it was autumn) it seemed to lack a certain something. There was a drabness about it. And little things like the lights in the bin area not working. Upon talking to people, I was told that the site had been due for refurbishment in 2017, but that this had been postponed to 2018. Hopefully, by then the colour will have returned to the site (literally and metaphorically).

The nearby beaches of Sandilands, Sutton and Mablethorpe are easily accessible - as is the sea wall that links them, which is ideal for cycling along. Unfortunately, motoring in Lincolnshire can be a pain: miles and miles of flat countryside and yet every road seems to zigzag all over the place, making visiting even Skegness and Louth a chore. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

 Fairly typical Caravan Club site, everything in itís place, well separated pitches, excellent facilities, even a play area which is unusual. Wardens very friendly and helpful, keeping a very clean and tidy site.

Site is twenty minutes walk from the beach, but further for any beach facilities. Buses, hourly, I think, to Mablethorpe and Skegness from the bus stop ten minutes walk away.

Navigation tip, if on the Althorpe road, A1111, ignore the Hawthorn Farm brown sign on this road, go into Sutton and turn right onto the A52 for a short distance to the brown sign as Crabtree lane is long and narrow with ditches either side. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peter Eccles 5 reviews from this member

 The site was a bit remote from the beach, shops etc. The two male site supervisors were not very friendly, one was very rude on one occasion.

The toilets, showers were good but probably would be very busy at peak period. We did not have any kids so I can't comment on facilities for them. I've been caravanning for only two years, this was the most disappointing site we have been on. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gingerjools 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, well maintained site. On arrival we were given a map with the available pitches circled, so that we could go off and choose the one we wanted. We picked pitch 28 which is right next door to the playground (not everyone's cup of tea but it meant I didn't have to walk the length of the site to get my son to come back to the van). Obviously kids were at the park at key times but they never caused any bother and were not overly noisy.

The site was full for the whole time we were there but it never felt over crowded. The wardens did regular tours of the site to empty the bins and to do general checks. The shop sold the basics (ie milk, bread, eggs, sweets & ice creams) but if you're wanting anything more substantial the Main Street in Sutton on sea is a 5 minute drive away and is excellent for a variety of shops - Spa (small supermarket), cooplands bakery, newsagents, butchers, hardwear shop, pet shop and various take aways.

The site doesn't have a designated dog walk area, they do have a couple of dog waste bins on site but we got the feeling that they would prefer you to take your dog(s) off site for toileting and there is a public footpath that runs round the outside perimeter. We didn't use this so I can't comment on it, we just walked down the lane.

The toilet block is not ultra modern with sleek stainless steel and glossy tiles BUT it is clean and tidy (which to me, is important). The showers had enough space to get washed and then dried in, they were free (no 20p's required!) and they weren't push button operated. The wardens close the shop/office at 10. 15am everyday to close the toilet block for cleaning, so make sure you time your milk/bread buying and Loo/shower visits accordingly!

We would recommend a visit to Radcliffe Donkey Sanctuary, at Huttoft, to pass a couple of hours. We enjoyed it as much as the kids and all proceeds go back into looking after the donkeys. Lincoln is 1 hr 15mins drive away but is a very lovely city to explore, the only downside is, if you have dogs with you, there aren't many places you can go inside with them to eat. If there are seats outside at the front of a cafe/restaurant or if they have a garden at the back (which is accessible by not going through the building) you are allowed there with your dogs. Don't pick a day to go when it's raining, like we did! Otherwise you're stuck. We would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mablethorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement