Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crabtree Lane
Sutton On Sea
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 2RS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 16/03 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

A well laid out site with plenty of space between pitches. The wardens were friendly and helpful. The site is supposed to be due a refurbishment and it needs it. The hard standing surfaces are very unpleasant being a form of hardcore, large lumps of unforgiving rock. Regretfully our holiday was spoilt when an outfit with five dogs parked next to us. From that point on we were subjected to constant barking or their owners shouting at the dogs to stop barking. In the end we had to move to a new pitch, only to be subjected to more dogs barking constantly. This is a site that has the most number of dogs we have ever seen on a CC site. Eventually we gave up and went home early. We complained to the Club but they refuse to do anything about the dogs noise, even though they acknowledge it is a serious problem.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Sutton-on-Sea CMC camp site is located half a mile from the seafront at Sandilands, near Sutton-on-Sea. It has the usual CMC facilities, although (notwithstanding it was autumn) it seemed to lack a certain something. There was a drabness about it. And little things like the lights in the bin area not working. Upon talking to people, I was told that the site had been due for refurbishment in 2017, but that this had been postponed to 2018. Hopefully, by then the colour will have returned to the site (literally and metaphorically).

The nearby beaches of Sandilands, Sutton and Mablethorpe are easily accessible - as is the sea wall that links them, which is ideal for cycling along. Unfortunately, motoring in Lincolnshire can be a pain: miles and miles of flat countryside and yet every road seems to zigzag all over the place, making visiting even Skegness and Louth a chore.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Red Mick 28 reviews from this member

Fairly typical Caravan Club site, everything in it’s place, well separated pitches, excellent facilities, even a play area which is unusual. Wardens very friendly and helpful, keeping a very clean and tidy site.

Site is twenty minutes walk from the beach, but further for any beach facilities. Buses, hourly, I think, to Mablethorpe and Skegness from the bus stop ten minutes walk away.

Navigation tip, if on the Althorpe road, A1111, ignore the Hawthorn Farm brown sign on this road, go into Sutton and turn right onto the A52 for a short distance to the brown sign as Crabtree lane is long and narrow with ditches either side.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter Eccles 5 reviews from this member

The site was a bit remote from the beach, shops etc. The two male site supervisors were not very friendly, one was very rude on one occasion.

The toilets, showers were good but probably would be very busy at peak period. We did not have any kids so I can't comment on facilities for them. I've been caravanning for only two years, this was the most disappointing site we have been on.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerjools 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, well maintained site. On arrival we were given a map with the available pitches circled, so that we could go off and choose the one we wanted. We picked pitch 28 which is right next door to the playground (not everyone's cup of tea but it meant I didn't have to walk the length of the site to get my son to come back to the van). Obviously kids were at the park at key times but they never caused any bother and were not overly noisy.

The site was full for the whole time we were there but it never felt over crowded. The wardens did regular tours of the site to empty the bins and to do general checks. The shop sold the basics (ie milk, bread, eggs, sweets & ice creams) but if you're wanting anything more substantial the Main Street in Sutton on sea is a 5 minute drive away and is excellent for a variety of shops - Spa (small supermarket), cooplands bakery, newsagents, butchers, hardwear shop, pet shop and various take aways.

The site doesn't have a designated dog walk area, they do have a couple of dog waste bins on site but we got the feeling that they would prefer you to take your dog(s) off site for toileting and there is a public footpath that runs round the outside perimeter. We didn't use this so I can't comment on it, we just walked down the lane.

The toilet block is not ultra modern with sleek stainless steel and glossy tiles BUT it is clean and tidy (which to me, is important). The showers had enough space to get washed and then dried in, they were free (no 20p's required!) and they weren't push button operated. The wardens close the shop/office at 10. 15am everyday to close the toilet block for cleaning, so make sure you time your milk/bread buying and Loo/shower visits accordingly!

We would recommend a visit to Radcliffe Donkey Sanctuary, at Huttoft, to pass a couple of hours. We enjoyed it as much as the kids and all proceeds go back into looking after the donkeys. Lincoln is 1 hr 15mins drive away but is a very lovely city to explore, the only downside is, if you have dogs with you, there aren't many places you can go inside with them to eat. If there are seats outside at the front of a cafe/restaurant or if they have a garden at the back (which is accessible by not going through the building) you are allowed there with your dogs. Don't pick a day to go when it's raining, like we did! Otherwise you're stuck. We would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zeagle64 5 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely well-kept site. We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend and it was full, (apart from the grass pitches which weren't available), and it was still peaceful with no big queues for the toilet block. The site is an easy walk to the beach, (20-30 minutes depending on your speed), which is great for kids. There are restrictions for dogs on the beach at certain times of year but this wasn't an issue for us. Our only minor negatives are the ladies loos ran out of toilet roll and why do the general sinks still not have mixer taps to avoid scalding, hence the Facilities score. (A 'hot water' cautionary sign above the sink is not sufficient when there are other permanent options). We would recommend this site, and the only reason we wouldn't stay again in the near future is that the area generally doesn't have enough, (restaurants/pubs/places of interest etc), for us as dog-owners.

One other thing pitch 69 floods in medium to heavy rain which we found out.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scrunchkins 19 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fabulous week at this well kept site. It is well situated for the lovely old fashioned seaside town of Sutton on Sea, and just a short drive away is Mablethorpe which has a great beach. The facilities on site were clean enough but were starting to look a little tired so could probably do with a refit. The pitches were flat and spacious and the wardens were helpful and on hand if needed but not intrusive. I was initially worried about pitching at this site as I'd previously had a problem at a caravan club site with my continental van and hadn't been able to erect my awning. My fears were unfounded and the wardens couldn't have been more helpful. They gave me a couple of options and even pointed out the pitches which were more suited to my van. The children's play area was small but provided ample entertainment for my two children aged 5 and 7. We loved this site so much that we extended our stay. Food wise there is a fish and chip van which visits on a Wednesday evening, but if you're looking for something a bit more sophisticated I can recommend The Fat Seagull Bistro just down the road at Sandilands. A great site that I will almost definitely return to.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the area and were very impressed with this Caravan Club site. Wardens were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and helped us choose two adjacent pitches for us and our friends. Very well planted site with any overhanging shrubbery being kept trimmed. Grass was also kept trim even though there had been a lot of heavy rain before our arrival. Toilets and showers were kept spotless. Lovely spacious promenade at Sutton on Sea and nice selection of small shops and eateries. Lincolnshire Aviation is about 30 mins drive away in East Kirby where one of the last Lancaster bombers is on show as well as a lot of wartime memorabilia and a nice café and shop. Well worth a visit while you are in the area.

Overall this is a lovely, quiet, relaxing site and we will certainly visit again when in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr blue sky 2 reviews from this member

Hi everybody, have just returned from the S.O.S. Site, the wardens are friendly. Now the bad news, every time it rains heavy, parts of the site becomes waterlogged, now its not rocket science to put some land drainage in. Every year its the same problem. Also the trees could do with topping in certain areas. The shower block is very clean, so overall the site is fine, and who knocked the barrier down? Last of all why does the CC put the fees up before and after the bank holidays or is it just me

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr blue sky 2 reviews from this member

We have been to this site many times over the years and we have seen a few changes in those times.

At last we have very good wardens who really

Leave you alone to enjoy your holiday but if you need anything just ask.

The toilet block is fine, yes maybe a refurb in the future is needed but it's very clean.

The children's playground is pretty new and safe.

The gate which we used to take the dogs out and then lock behind us is now locked permanently so don't waste your trying to open it.

Don't pitch under the trees as the pigeons are a real nuisance and mess all over your caravan and awning!

Sutton on sea town has a good Spar shop, post office, two chipshops( Waldo's is good) and a selection of other shops, but if your looking for any amusement arcades, there are none in the town. Try Mablethorpe!

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019