Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe > Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crabtree Lane
Sutton On Sea
Mablethorpe
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN12 2RS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 16/03/2022 to 01/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ian + Margaret 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. In the countryside and yet by the sea. All the usual facilities to the Caravan Club standard, and wonderful wardens on site that really made you feel special.

Sutton-on-Sea is just like seaside resorts used to be, Sand, Sea, Ice creams and the odd fish and chip shop. Not like the surrounding area of Mablethorpe or even Skegness.

Will certainly return to this site to recharge the batteries again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaqugra 35 reviews from this member

 This is a nice well kept site surrounded by trees. The wardens on the whole were very friendly and helpful.

The site was nearly full over Easter but there was never a queue for the facilities which were up to CC standards. The reception stocks very little but there is a small supermarket in Sutton on Sea a couple of minutes drive away.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach at Sandilands and you can walk along the promenade to Sutton which takes about half an hour. The Grange and Links Hotel serves very good meals with specials on certain nights, it is also child and dog friendly.

The approach is very narrow with passing places but extremely uneven - if you arrive via the Alford to Sutton route I would recommend driving into Sutton, turn right at the roundabout signposted Skegness, the site is signposted right into Crabtree Lane.

We had a good 4 night stay and will be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathguest 5 reviews from this member

 We have enjoyed a one night stay at the Hawthorne Farm Site. The site had only been open for one day and already was quite busy which to me shows the quality of the site.

We were met by a very friendly and helpful couple who couldn't do enough to help us settle in. We were given lots of information about the site and the surrounding area which we found useful.

The site is extremely tidy and pretty. The showers were hot and the whole site very clean.

We will go back to this campsite if we visit this area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craig1020 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Hawthorn Farm, For us, a family including a 2 year old and a 5 year old, it didn't live up to the usual caravan club standards. The pitches were very cramped. There were about 5 hard standing pitches that were nice but I think these get snapped up quickly. The grounds were not as well kept as other CC sites, although clean, the grass was long and unkempt. The site itself is just in the middle of a field with nothing really surrounding it.

'The playground' comprises of a wooden frame with a climbing net, no swings or slides and is in a small area, there are signs everywhere saying no ball games but there is nowhere suitable for children to play.

The toilet block is clean but with the size of the site I think they could maybe have another toilet block as there were often queues for the showers.

Female staff were not the usual CC friendly. Demanding to know why were an hour late on arrival. Also we had a 92 year old relative visit us who is in a wheelchair and they were very unhelpful in letting a car just drop her off at our caravan, we had to remain at the barrier until the car that dropped her parked into the visitors area, although sometimes we found the barrier open so it contradicted their strict policies

The shop didn't really stock essentials We ran out of washing up liquid(which I would class as an essential) The nearest shop was a 10 min drive away.

The area itself consists of nearby resorts of Mablethorpe (Which I would avoid at all costs) It is dirty, run down and in need of some money spent on it. Skegness is only a short drive away. This is an old fashioned seaside resort, with an amusement park and a nice beach, very tacky but if you go expecting a typical seaside resort you wont be disappointed. We absolutely loved visiting Lincoln a beautiful place. Also Louth is a lovely market town.

But unfortunately we wont be returning to this CC site 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pumpkintskh 1 review from this member

 Lovely site-all that you expect from the Caravan Club. 20 minute easy walk to the huge beach, which was really empty despite the beautiful weather. Great beach for kids to play although we were warned to be careful of swimming because of the currents.

Good bus route into Sutton on Sea and you can walk down the promenade to Mablethorpe. Not much to do for 9 and 12 year old in Sutton-on-Sea for more than an afternoon, but for a weekend stay, this site was great. Would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 The first big indicator to a great site is when you leave and are already thinking of when you go back next. We only live 20 odd miles away and have never ventured to this site before; but after a truly sublime weekend it is top of our list of favourite sites.

Firstly, although a map might lend you to think the site is by the sea; it isn't, (it's close and a short walk, but don't expect sea views). But once you venture through town and find the beach you will be hooked; the shore is long and clean and sandy; and has none of the cheap tackiness of near-by Skegness. Sutton on Sea is a short walk along the prom away and you can even walk all the way to Mablethorpe, (if you do take the Sand Train, we loved it!)

The area is peaceful and has many points where a beach can be accessed without enduring the crowds at Skeggy or Mablethorpe, these little spots are well worth finding, and because of this the beach is often quiet away from the larger towns.

The site itself is small, charming, and probably the friendliest and most sociable of all the CC sites we have visited. Members only I'm afraid, but the little shop stocks essentials, the amenities are spotless and the wardens friendly. The pitches don't have TV sockets, but otherwise are the usual CC fare. Maybe too far from the flashing lights and donkeys for kids but as a relaxing weekend by the sea for a couple this has few betters.

Oh, and we plan on going back next month! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 For us this site had a nice peaceful relaxed feel, it has many hard standings and quite a lot of grass pitches which we opted for as it was dry.

There are a lot of trees and shrubbery which gives the site it's appeal but does shade several of the pitches as in our case it didn't bother us though it was a small price to pay to hear such lovely bird song.

There is a play area though we saw very few children during our stay. The reception sells the essentials, also ices sweets etc.

The facilities are clean and good but if I was being picky could do with a bit of an update, though the showers were nice and hot.

There are a lot of flat walks in the area, you can walk straight from the site across the back to the main road, there is a bus stop near here but if you cross over and walk through the houses you come to Sandilands beach. I would say this is about a 20 minute walk from the site.

Sutton would be about a further 15 mins, we caught the bus to Mablethope and had tea at Daves on the high street, famous for his home made steak pie which I can recommend. I have never been anywhere and had 6 fresh veg with a meal before and asked if we wanted more chips, gravy etc.

We like it here and will visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lespingu 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean and tidy site welcome was very friendly and made you feel good the site was peaceful and relaxing. Toilets and showers were good and warm/clean and no bad smells at all. We really enjoyed our stay there and would or rather will be back but stay a bit longer next time. So thank you all at Hawthorn for a nice and friendly enjoyable stay  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TinTenters 2 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely well cared for site. Very spacious pitches, giving lots of privacy. Toilet blocks were lovely and clean, showers have plenty of hot water and a hair-dryer that actually blows hot air.When the toilet blocks were being cleaned you have access to the uni-sex toilets.

Mixture of older campers and families with youngsters. Having older children we chose a pitch away from the play area.

Need a car as nothing is within easy reach, especially when raining!

Nothing to do in sutton on sea, especially with two 15 year olds, so had to travel to Skegness.

Fish & Chip van visits on a Tuesday night at

7.15pm,lovely food and excellent value for money.

The time of year we visited got covered in midges when the neighbouring field was cutting the rape seed.

Excellent chemical toilet disposal,lots of fresh water taps around the site. Bins emptied every day.

Warden on arrival was a bit abrupt when I asked how we chose the pitch. As this was our first time on a Caravan Club Site, a bit more help would have been nice.

Would visit again but without the teens. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicelady60 9 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find and was well sign posted and you can rely on your sat nav. Large site well set out with half hard standing

The site is very clean and tidy the shower block is central and well equipped with all you need. Fish and chip van is on site Tuesday evening and not to be missed (good value and very good quality. Plenty of places to eat locally and The Half Moon in Alford is especially recommended and good value (with a jazz club one evening a week), the Chinese take away in Sutton is also very good, and there is a camping equipment shop in Sutton as well as a good caravan specialist in Louth.

Sutton is a lovely place and also has a working mans social club which also does food.

Would visit there again. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sutton On Sea Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mablethorpe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2109 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement