Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Birchbank Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Birchbank Farm Camping Site Reviews

Birchbank Farm Camping Site
Birchbank
Blawith
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8EW
Tel: 01229 885277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/05/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/05/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gracieirish 1 review from this member

 Just stayed for the bank holiday weekend, we were lucky with the weather as there was supposed to heavy rain all weekend. That must have been why there were only a few other caravans and people with tents. The location is stunning and a great place for walking. There is a utility type cupboard with a washing machine and tumble dryer both of which are just 2 each and also a small fridge with ice box that can be used free of charge. The showers and toilets are kept immaculate and the owner mrs Nicholson was very friendly. Great place to stay and would have no hesitation coming back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Its raining again 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this lovely site for 3 nights in a 6 birth tent and a pup tent. The pitches were mainly flat and very spacious. The hook up worked well and the owners lent us an extension lead as our hook up lead was not long enough. The owners could not have been more helpful, even moving the trailer for me while my husband moved the car.

The toilets and showers were always clean and we never had to queue even though the site at one point seemed quite full.

The freezer section at the top of the fridge was tiny but we had taken our own 3 way fridge so this was not an issue for us but could be a problem if you were relying on ice blocks to keep your cool box cool. We never checked with the owners but they may have an extra freezer for this problem.

Even when there was heavy rain, the land drained really well.

Only 14 a night for 4 of us including 2 teenagers, very good value for money!

We would highly recommend the Indian restaurant in the centre of Ulverston. Coniston was also lovely. We made good use of our National Trust membership, especially when visiting Beatrix Potter's house etc. Visit Booths (Ulverston) if you want an independent supermarket with a good variety of good quality food.

Altogether a really lovely campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plosey 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights during the first week of the Summer holidays, two adults and our boys aged 9 and 7.

There are 8 EHU, very spacious pitches, we have a 8 berth Vango tent but there was plenty of room for tent, car, table and chairs. There is also an area for non-EHU and hardstanding for motorhomes/caravans.

The site is on a working farm down a 1. 7 miles single tarmac road, nothing around apart from the sheep and cattle! Peace and quiet!. There is a shower/toilet block with two toilets, a shower on it's own and a toilet and shower together at the end which is useful if you are showering children. This is attached to a barn so quite airy. There is also a toilet and shower next to the washing up facilities attached to the house. There is a fridge with a small freezer compartment that you can use.

Facilities were basic but clean and even when the site was full to capacity for a few nights we never had to queue for toilet/shower.

There is a small stream that runs through the site which the boys with wellies had hours of fun. Bats come out at dusk so they enjoyed watching them fly around. There are nice walks around the site and the owner has helpfully put maps out that you can use.

Shops/pubs are a drive away, or a good walk! I think Ulveston is the closest but we didn't go there. We went to Barrow which has a large Asda/Tesco and Morrisons (as well as all the other big retailers you'd expect).

South Lakes Wildlife Farm was really nice if you have children, well worth a visit.

We paid 14 per night with EHU which is great value for money. Had a thoroughly enjoyable week, no problem in recommending and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bambilez 5 reviews from this member

 This place really is remote. We bring all our own food and cooking utensils so for us it was perfect.

Definitely not glamping, quite basic facilities, although the toilets were cleaned at least daily.

There really is one unit of two toilets, a shower cubicle and a family room with a toilet and shower, and a separate toilet and shower a drop farther away.

We had a gorgeous 5 days, including one night with a storm. All the reviews we read about this campsite mentioned muddy ground but it was good when we were there, even the day after the storm.

Stunning views. Walks from the campsite in almost any direction.

Excellent value for money.

Owner is happy to help.

Would love to be back there. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Parthianshot 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in a great location and we strongly recommend it.

It's really quiet (not counting the sheep, and I understand counting sheep is a soporific!) and isolated and ideal if you want solitude and access to great walking and cycling. We only stayed 2 nights, the first a Saturday (first day of summer holidays) and there were many families in tents but most of them left on Sunday morning. A regular stayer said it can be busy at weekends but as we found the opposite after that.

The facilities are fine for the site and capacity, as others have said the owner keeps the shower block in great condition.

This is on the Cumbria Way so serious trekkers could use it as a stopping point.

We cycled to Lake Coniston which was about 4 miles by tracks and took about an hour each way.

As others have said, and the owners warn, access is along a 1 1/2 mile single track, there are a fair number of passing places but it could be tricky for a larger vehicle if you met something large.

During our stay the sheep were being herded up and dipped; very entertaining, especially seeing the dogs at work.

Finally the charge was just 11 plus 4 for EHU which we think is good value. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meadowbank1 1 review from this member

 We visited this small campsite for a weekend in good weather with friends who had never camped before. In total we had 4 adults, 5 children (10-16yrs) and 2 dogs.

We stayed on pitch 5 which is located quite close to the main shower block. It was fantastic. We have camped all over the country, in a range of different places and this has been by far the best experience for us. If you want peace, quiet (with the exception of the odd bleating sheep) then this is a good place to be. It is remote (but easy to find and not too far from the main roads) so you need to be well prepared, but it has hot free showers and clean loos. You can also take a fire as long as it is raised off the grass.

The children spent the whole time playing in the brook. We also visited Coniston water which is close by (5 mins drive). No noisy play areas needed!

The owner was very friendly and the campsite was, as promised quiet after 10pm. Can't wait to go back and our friends are coming too! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MikeAndSophie 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite really is in the middle of nowhere which is fantastic. The scenery is beautiful even a little stream running through the site. Excellent for walking, there were walking route maps (that started from the campsite) with directions laminated and hung up to borrow in the pot wash area. There was quite a few narrow/steep/winding roads leading up to the farm that might be difficult for caravans

Facilities were clean, decent hot showers, but its all just in a barn so was very cold and draughty.

Site was very soggy and quite muddy in places, but there had been a lot of rain before we went.

Never saw the owners other than when we checked in but they were friendly enough then. They let us leave the car there all day on departure day for free 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BradHeather 24 reviews from this member

 Peaceful, tranquil and very rural!

We stayed at Birchbank Farm for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The campsite is situated amongst the beautiful hills. Access to the farm/campsite is down a long track which winds through the valley. Our camping trip was following some very heavy rainfall so the ground was a bit soggy but dried out fairly quickly with a bit of sun. The soil is a bit rocky so it is a good idea to bring sturdy pegs with you.

The site itself is really nice and very rural set in a field right next to the farm. It is very quiet at night as there is no noise allowed after 10pm which is really good. It was quite noisy in the morning on the farm as there were people transporting livestock around. If you are interested in farms then staying at Birchbank is a great experience to see what goes on!

There was a uni-sex washblock with 3 toilets, 2 washbasins and 2 showers. There was also an additional toilet and shower located a short walk outside the farmhouse. The facilities were good and the showers were electric so there was a constant supply of hot water. There was no charge for the showers which was an added bonus! The water was a little discoloured but it tasted really nice and was safe to drink.

It cost us 11 per night for one tent, two people and a car. Overall it was a good value trip and staying at Birchbank was a really nice experience. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sum123 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from just one nights stay in this campsite, we left due to torrential rain. When we arrived we were shown around and we choose our own pitch, we chose pitch 10 as it was near the toilets/ showers.

It was the week after the jubilee so we were expecting it to be really busy but it wasn't. It was really quiet, just exactly what we were looking for,

Yes it is in the middle of nowhere, down a single track road but it was great, quiet with lovely walks, we didn't get to see much as the weather was bad,

The facilities were really clean, their is no shop and a long drive to anywhere but as long as you are well stocked up,

Yes this is definitely the place to go, 11 per night with no ehu, great value 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Newnatjj 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed on the sole pitch (first one as you go in through the gate, right next to the stream) with wall & trees for shelter.

2 Adults, 2 children (aged 12&9) + 1 dog, Hi Gear Khalahari 8 tent plus porch - plenty of room, didn't feel squashed together with other campers at all.

*Lovely, small site away from it all (literally!) with or without EHU.

*Unisex clean, basic toilets (x4) hot showers (x3 - no push buttons!) and 1x washing up sink

*Set in the middle of nowhere - gorgeous! Still amazed we found it!

*Fab stream which our kids loved to play in

*No shop - nearest about a 20 min drive

*Dogs on lead a must (farm animals)

*Based on open moorland (rural, isolated - in a good way!)

*Grass got a bit boggy

*Very hard to peg down tent (we seemed to be hitting bricks and bent most of our pegs), but this may have just been lack of experience (on our part!) or where we were pitched

*Check in/departure 12pm

All in all we loved it here and would most certainly return (even the torrential rain that stopped for only 20 mins one day couldn't put us off!). 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birchbank Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement