Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Birchbank Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Birchbank Farm Camping Site Reviews

Birchbank Farm Camping Site
Birchbank
Blawith
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8EW
Tel: 01229 885277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 31 to 37                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/05/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/05/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tabs-R-us 7 reviews from this member

 I can confirm all of the previous comments about this place are true.

Linda, who takes bookings and runs the place is very helpful and an extension lead was provided as the EHU was out of reach

We have had a great week here and you do need to be prepared as I broke a tent pole when setting up but fortunately had some spare poles with me as a just in case thing.

It does get muddy and the drainage isnít good. There should be a road through this place to the other part of the campsite, I say this because of the next sentence. What really boiled my blood was folk driving 150m to the toilet so they didnít get wet or muddy I could not believe it and the damage this was causing to the site was shameful to the point where the owner had to make some emergency repairs to what was left of the access to this other field. ) I like to park my car next to my tent just like everybody else but I wonít drive the flaming loo! Camping does sometimes get muddy thatís just a fact, I donít mind it too much and nor did 90% of the others (some kids loved it of course)

This is a lovely part of south lakes and is ideal for folk that like to walk or rest all day and sleep at night and not listen to parties going on until the early hours. The 10PM no noise rule means that by 11PM its completely quiet.

Due to our large tent we asked for two adjacent pitches and was pleasantly surprised at out available space to pitch.

The stream that runs through this place is a great magnet for kids who can play in relative safety and kids also get to feed the chickens and lambs.

The toilet/shower block has a bigger room at the end is good for families with small kids (and as previously mentioned by others, is kept very clean)I will note that the drinking water looked a bit dodgy and Iím surprised that no one else has mentioned it before now?

We never went to eat out at night so I canít comment but Ulverston (25minutes away)has everything you need if you cook your own.

Some good local walks along the bridle way within 20 minutes with fantastic 360 panoramic views with Coniston old man dominating the area (not visible from the campsite)

The big question here though is it value for money and would you stay again? Yes on both occasions and its remoteness gives it that bit more 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rabent0 1 review from this member

 Stayed here Tuesday to Saturday after the bank holiday. Really nice site, toilets/showers etc were clean and fresh. Some lovely walks from the site itself. The road leading to the site from the main road is a little precarious if you're towing, it was my daughters first time towing and she followed me with her eyes peeled, but made it ok.

Kids will love the stream, parents may not be so keen with wet shoes etc lol. Within easy reach of all the lake district. Very quiet at night and being in the middle of nowhere, no traffic noise at night, just watch out for the farm machinery moving about during the day, although it does not come onto the camping field, as its a working farm.

Eggs on sale on site but the nearest shop is in ulverston or greenod, about 5 to 10 miles away, so come stocked up! Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hmjdesigns05 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 2 night stay weather was lovely when we arrived. Linda was really helpful showed us where to pitch and where everything was. The site is perfect for families lots of children to play with each other my son was so excited about the stream and made friends instantly with another small boy. The other children in my group made new friends too.
Toilets and showers were cleaned regularly and loo roll refilled. Showers were great you could adjust temp on them and didn't have to pay extra like some sites. We had electric hook up pitch which was excellent. We took all our own food so didn't need to eat out anywhere.
About half an hour drive away is the south lakes wild animal park this is a great day out for the kids. We will definitely be returning to this site as it was perfect for the kids and us. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KJB1 4 reviews from this member

 This is a rural campsite at a farm, with absolutely lovely views. We ended up here, at the last minute as our other campsite cancelled at the last minute.

We were in the main big field as the lower field was boggy due to the weather.

Campsite had everything for us, free showers, toilets, washing up area and freezer to re do blocks. All areas clean with plenty of toilet roll etc.

Campsite is very reasonable - £8 per night, for two adults and a four man tent, no extras added for cars etc!

Owners were friendly and we would visit again, hopefully in better weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cb002i7590@blueyond 1 review from this member

 This is a wonderful small site. We stayed there with 2 children. Thay feed the chicken's and sheep. You can get fresh egg's. We have a 4x4 so the mud at the bottom gate is no prob. Linda cleans the toilet area. Which was kept spotless. We will be back aug 2009. It is well off the main roads . You need to take everything with you as there is no shop. There is a small stream in the middle to entertain the young ones. The pubs serve good food . The main town is about 7 miles away . This has a coop. It was very wet when we where there but it did not spoil the time spent there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H1TM4N32 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night, their was loads of space for our big 6 men tent, as we work and can not get the time off work at the same time at the moment.

The facilities they have there is 3 toilets, there is 2 showers and 1 sink in a block right next to the camping area also a fresh water tap, just through the gates attached to the house was another toilet and shower. Next door to that is a sink for cleaning your plates and stuff, their was always plenty of hot water, as we arrived the owner Linda was cleaning out the toilets, her son shown us to our camping spot and as we asked for electric hook up and I did not think mine would reach he got me an extension cable.

As we only stayed the night, we cant say about the pubs and stuff, we did notice that if you are planning to visits this site I would advise you to take everything you need as I did not see any shops close by, their was lots of lovely views here and looks like a lot of nice walks could be had,

This site is in the middle of no-where but is a lovely site and we are planning to visit it again,

For a break and peace and quite it's a must try, We loved it! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lightyears 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site situated in the middle of nowhere. Stunning views from site plus a nice stream half way down. The facilities for the site are great for such a small site and are cleaned every day. We stayed during heavy rain so the site went a bit soggy. This wasn't helped allowing 4x4 landrovers on to the site which churned up the ground, a parking area for cars could be a good idea?
The site owner was a very nice lady and leant us some bbq lighter liquid when we ran out. A small down point was the amount of children playing uncontrolled without there parents caring. This was however corrected by the site manager. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 37     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birchbank Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement