Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Birchbank Farm Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Birchbank Farm Camping Site
Birchbank
Blawith
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8EW
Tel: 01229 885277
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campintent 13 reviews from this member

I only stayed for one night, so my experience of the facilities was limited. It is a peaceful farm campsite a long way from anywhere. There were two camping fields, but during my stay, the second field was being closed off as I think they were about to bring some cattle or sheep down closer to the farm. The one field that was available was fairly small and had a lovely little stream running through it, but the remaining pitches were soggy underfoot and my tent felt as if I were sleeping on a water-bed. Iíve been camping for many decades, but this is the first time that Iíve ever had massive slugs coming in to try to get at my food supplies! But it was OK. If staying in this particular area is important to you, I would recommend checking the state of the pitches before arrival. For £10 per night for one person, it was a little dearer than I expected, but I believe the rates become more reasonable if there are more people in a unit and at least the showers were free to use. There was one wash block in the field and another attached to the farmhouse, just across the spotlessly clean yard. There was also a fridge available in this second block, along with a fully-equipped washing-up sink, which is quite unusual.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LindsayW 1 review from this member

I arrived and pitched alone, with help from the very friendly other campers. I always felt safe and relaxed as a lone female camper.

The site is well off the beaten track, but the road surface to get there is excellent (better than my local urban roads!)

The facilities are fine - showers & toilets sufficient and well maintained. There is also a fridge and washing machine/drier for campers use. There are hook ups, but these were all taken by the time I booked.

It was lovely to see children playing in and around the small stream which is in clear sight of all the pitches in the main field.

Ulverston (20-30 min drive away) has all the facilities you would need (including several Pokemon lures and gyms for one of our party!) It is a lovely town to potter in and I can recommend the Fish & Chips from the town center cafe. The site is also within an easy drive for the South Lakes, Fells and coastline. There are local walks from the site with maps available from the washing up room.

I loved it so much I'm planning to rebook, as are the friends who joined me for the last 3 days.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Octopusann 2 reviews from this member

Excellent little site well off the beaten track (down a narrow winding road) surrounded by beautiful countryside. Stream running through the campsite a great draw for children (of all ages) and dogs alike.

Basic facilities but clean and well cared for. Very friendly. Directions spot-on.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: B.sweeney 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site. It is small enough to be close to the fells and paths and big enough to have space to enjoy a stay. Facilities are very good and there's a fridge, new washing machine and tumbler. Linda is really helpful but not intrusive.

It is a working farm and busy but we enjoyed this aspect of our six day stay.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this camp. Facilities were basic and shared but were adequate and clean. A fridge with freezer section and a washing machine was available.

A stream does run through the camp, which needs to be considered if you have small children.

At £12 per night for a family of 4 it was very good value for money.

The countryside is stunning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wallyjg 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for a few nights in August. Nice site away from hustle and bustle. Lovely views and nice to wake each morning to the sound of the cockerel and farm animals. Toilet block is basic, no hand drying facilities and no soap on many occasions but never ran out of loo roll and never had to queue. (Shower head in large cubicle needs descaling or replacing) There is no heating in the loos/showers so can be chilly but this didn't bother us at all. All in all, a great place to stay. Would we come again?? DEFINITELY!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Silent Camper 3 reviews from this member

Used this site as a first stop on the Cumbria way walking trail. Basic farm site so not a lot in the area, within walking distance at least. No pubs or nightclubs, if you are after an all singing all dancing plastic interpretation clubhouse included of what camping is about, I suggest this is not for you. But this is a fantastic site; facilities first class and a very warm welcome. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxervan 10 reviews from this member

If you're looking for lots of activities, a bar, disco, and good TV reception this may not be the place for you. If you like peace & tranquillity in a remote rural setting with simple, clean facilities and friendly helpful owner, this is perfect!

Care is needed driving to the site along a narrow twisting, hilly road, especially with a larger vehicle.

Toilets / showers clean and well maintained. Waste / recycling bins clearly marked. The site is small enough for water taps to never be far away but there's plenty of space for each (numbered) pitch. Level pitches with reasonably short grass are easily accessed from the track. The small beck adds it's own charm. This IS a working farm, but there were no early or late noises, just the occasional tractor and the sheep bleating nearby after being rounded up. Extremely quiet at night!

Looking forward to many more visits.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Kazza 6 reviews from this member

Just back from 5 nights at birchbank. Smooth and simple booking in process and acknowledged with receipt for deposit. Instructions given are accurate to get you to site and very scenic. Met on arrival and given choice of available pitches, also given a tour of facilities. Had a good feeling on arrival as the setting is superb, the view stunning and the animals to keep you amused. Toilets and showers immaculate and well maintained. Plenty of non ehu pitches on other side of beck. 5 minutes drive to get back on main roads and explore all this area has to offer - cannot knock this place at all and will return.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gracieirish 1 review from this member

Just stayed for the bank holiday weekend, we were lucky with the weather as there was supposed to heavy rain all weekend. That must have been why there were only a few other caravans and people with tents. The location is stunning and a great place for walking. There is a utility type cupboard with a washing machine and tumble dryer both of which are just £2 each and also a small fridge with ice box that can be used free of charge. The showers and toilets are kept immaculate and the owner mrs Nicholson was very friendly. Great place to stay and would have no hesitation coming back again.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1407 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!