Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Birchbank Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Birchbank Farm Camping Site Reviews

Birchbank Farm Camping Site
Birchbank
Blawith
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8EW
Tel: 01229 885277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/05/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/05/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebullbok 8 reviews from this member

 What can I say? This is a truly magnificent site. We stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful time despite the weather being a bit 'British'!

The owners are lovely people, friendly and welcoming. The free range eggs, (a £1 for six), are to die for, so nice to eat 'proper' eggs. The views are superb and the spot is idyllic.

We had an electric hook-up pitch with loads of room. The facilities are good and always clean.

The walks around the farm and surrounding area are fantastic. We climbed all the hills surrounding the site and the views are breathtaking.

We will go again in 2 years time, but my advice to anyone going, don't go in late August. Apparently it's the 'wet season'. So we will be going in July and for 2 weeks this time.

At £13 a night, (with electric), this site cannot be beaten. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+Co 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights at end August. We arrived in pouring rain and the ground was exceptionally boggy everywhere! We were lucky to choose a spot that at least didn't end up as an enormous puddle. Wellies a must !

As it is a sheep farm, we expected there to be farm and sheep noises, but on our final night, we were kept awake ALL night by the sheep, and they'd had lambs removed week prior, so no idea why!

Very remote spot and for us was a little too far from anywhere. Seemed to spend half of the holiday in the car. Brook was a constant source of entertainment for all children, including ours.

Toilet and shower facilities were clean, but cold and drafty at times! Regularly no toilet paper, but think someone was eating it as whole rolls would disappear in time it took me to walk back to tent and husband to walk straight back up! Soap and some way to dry hands would have been appreciated. We took soap with us and ended up leaving it there for others to use.

Can't complain for £11 per night for 2 adults, 2 under 5's and a dog, plus a gazebo. One word of advice - make sure you have a 'lake-district-proof' tent - ours proved to not be and on one particularly bad night with driving rain, wind and thunder/lightening, ours leaked!

Probably wouldn't go back, but more because we'd like to be slightly nearer to the Lakes and amenities. Otherwise, lovely basic site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeanStockwell 2 reviews from this member

 For our very first ever camping trip my wife and 14 year old son stayed for two nights at Birchbank Farm site. Having been instructed by Mrs that she wanted to try 'real' camping and not a holiday camp site Birchbank was chosen at last minute from UKCampsite.co.uk.

Having negotiated the very narrow single track road up the fell we were greeted by a very friendly Mrs Nicolson. We had not pre booked but arriving at lunchtime the site was fairly quiet, Mrs Nicolson gave us a quick tour and pointed out the available pitches allowing us pick our own.

We opted for a spot next to the brook close the farm building (pitch no3) which stands alone with room for tent and car, this was a ehu pitch although we didn't use it.

A word of warning, the sound of a babbling brook by your tent seemed very attractive at first, not quite so good throughout the night as you try to sleep! Other pitches are well spaced although higher up the fields the ground isn't quite as flat.

The site is a working farm but the camping area is very clean, tidy and well kept. A wash up room, shower room and toilet are attached to the farm house together with a laundry room (£2 per load), a fridge with small freezer compartment is available to campers to use.

A second shower/toilet block has been built by the entrance to the camping area. Toilets and shower were spotless, Mrs N out cleaning them two or three times a day, but be warned are unisex.

The site is very isolated, great for walks but a good drive to the nearest pub/shop etc. Be careful if using sat nav, there are several tracks leading to to the farm shown on the sat nav maps, only some are only suitable if your driving a tractor!

At £10 per night (plus £3 if you want ehu) we were very happy with our first camping trip and would be happy to use Birchbank again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dilbert1968 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this very lovely site for a couple of nights at the beginning of July 2011. If you want the feeling of 'away from it all' but be only 10 mins drive away from shops, pubs etc then this is the place for you!

The (unisex) toilet block is clean and about the right size for the site. There are 3 washbasins, 3 toilets and 3 electric showers. A plus point was the ‘soft’ toilet paper but a negative was the lack of any kind of hand dryer or paper towels. A chair or extra hooks in the showers would also have been useful.

There is an adequate washing-up point and a 'utility' room with washing machine, dryer and fridge. All hot water is free but there is a £2 charge for the washer or dryer.

There are a few pitches with electric and these are nearest to the facilities. They are also the flattest with much of the rest of the site being on quite hilly ground. We stayed on one of the few flat points on the upper field which gives you the benefit of a beautiful 360-degree countryside panorama!

The site is very quiet aside from the usual farm noises and animals but on our visit we were troubled by a particularly belligerent 3 year old. I did my best to raise objections to this but as he's mine there was not a lot more that I could do about it.

As mentioned elsewhere, there is a small stream that runs through the lower field. This was a bit of a magnet for my little boy so visitors with small children need to keep a constant eye on their offspring. It’s not deep – but it’s deep enough.

It should also be borne in mind that this is a working farm and there was a bit of to-ing and fro-ing of agricultural vehicles.

Those looking for any form of non-natural child entertainment should look elsewhere.

At £10 a night for the 3 of us, tent and a car this site cannot really be faulted and I can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martin + Louise 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 3 days with 2 other families and despite the weather trying its best to spoil it,we had a great stay. Cant fault the site, facilities were clean, it was in a lovely spot and the kids loved the stream, I knew it was only a matter of time before one came back soaking and my son didn't let me down when he came back wet through but grinning from ear to ear.

My kids commented that it was good that we didn't have have the big site facilities, and they got a tour of the animals on the farm also.

Went to grizedale forest and cartmell races which were both good days out and are within 20 mins

If you want a good site that is quiet and relaxed and within 20 mins of some good days out I would give this a try.

The electric hook up pitches were less exposed and in windy conditions and are the premium pitches, but you will also have people walking past you to the toilet all the time on the downside. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MikeandSam 20 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed 2 nights camping here in a small tent, no hook up required;

The site is pretty basic but absolutely fine if you don't require too many 'extras';

There are enough loos and showers, somewhere to do your washing up. And all clean with free hot water.

The location is wonderful, tucked away from towns and villages, so yes you do need to be prepared with provisions. The site is made up of a flattish field nearer the farm buildings and one with a fair bit of variation in height and slope,with a stream running through, so not a football field of close mown turf.

This felt like camping like it used to be a few years ago but at £10 per night it was a fair price.

We'll be using this site again and recommending it; looking forward to going back next year, this time with the children. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Horus01 6 reviews from this member

 My wife/dog and self recently spent a week at this superb site.Access to the site is along single track road through open farm and fell land with breathtaking views. It has to be said that Birchbank really is in the middle of nowhere which greatly enhances this site. We were booked onto one of the dozen EHU pitches. Pitch size is more than ample for a 6/8 berth tent and car. The EHU's are provided in the field closest to the farmhouse and facilities.

There are two further camping areas;the second of which is a large field that gives you a bit of a walk to the wash facilities. The toilet and shower block is unisex. The converted cattle shed provides adequate toilet/wash and shower points. There is an additional shower and toilet next to the farmhouse. Next to the farmhouse are two small rooms that provide (A)pot wash (B) wash and drying machine-£2 charge for it's use. Theres also a small fridge for camp use.For a small site there is ample waste facilities.

As stated earlier the site is remote-the nearest shops/pubs etc are about 15mins away. Birchbank is a working sheep farm set in idyllic surroundings great for walking. Upon request children are shown the working areas of the farm. This site is not a 'Haven' site and provides a real basic feel good camping experience. It was fantastic to see the main camp entertainment for the children (and adults) was pooh sticks in the beck that runs through the site. I think the only negatives would be that the site could benefit from an additional pot wash area. Also a point of fault of campers;who could do to better recycle-t here are facilities not just the big skip bin.

All in all-what a fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vgreen1979 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic campsite and in such a beautiful location. Myself, Partner & dog have just got back from Birchbank over the bank holiday weekend and have had a fantastic time would recommend it to anyone who loves the great outdoors. The facilities are adequate not the best or worst I have used but plenty of hot water in the showers and are all kept extremely clean by the owners.

We spent 3 nights here in our tent with ehu we had plenty of space for the tent & car, and the space between pitches was brilliant.

If you love walking this is the perfect place for you and direct access onto the open fell.

There is a stream which runs through the site which was the attraction to children it provided them with hours of fun.

We enjoyed our time here so much that we have booked again for August bank holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SneekyPeeps 15 reviews from this member

 What a lovely setting and site. Scenery wonderful, on arriving we were given a choice of pitches and set up under a wall. Loos, showers were clean and there was a family room with loo,shower and sink combined which was excellent. Linda will also allow you to use her washing machine and tumble dryer for the price of £2 per machine which was very useful as weather was not that good.
This is a very friendly, excellent little site, the road in is a bit dodgy if towing and meeting someone else coming in opposite direction but the views more than compensate. The prettiest site that I have visited and yes I agree that you are out in the wilds so you really do need provisions in.
Will definitely return when next visiting lakes. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkkie 11 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views, you approach the site over open moorland, there is no passing traffic so solitude is guaranteed along with other campers.

The site is on a farm. EHU was available near the farm buildings or acres of room on adjacent fields for none EHU.

The toilets and showers are in a converted barn and also attached to the farm house. Clean and usually free but some lack hooks so clothes can get damp if they fall on a wet floor, could easily solve this problem with a few hooks and shelves to put your clothes and belongings on.

The farm is isolated, it sells eggs but other items need to be brought in so do not rely on quick visit to shop as this is not possible. With forward planning this need not be a problem.

The grass got a little boggy but true to Lake District climate the rain was frequent so be prepared for this. It did not spoil our 5 days there as there were plenty of bright spells as well as the downpours.

Near some good walks and Hawkshead and Conniston Water were within an easy drive so you can access most of the Lakes in a reasonable time.

The owner was friendly and the rate to camp was, in my opinion, reasonable. For a small farm site it was good so I would gladly recommend to anybody wanting a very rural, isolated, beautiful location, but not suitable if you want to walk to the pub and shops or want other facilities that larger sites may offer. In our case it was just what we expected so we were very happy. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Birchbank Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Birchbank Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement