Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park
Llangorse
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7TR
Tel: 01874 658226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

 Our stay was due to be 02/07/16-10/07/16, and was booked well in advance. We chose this site as we were assured over the phone that it would be quiet, and no large groups are allowed.

We asked for a quiet out of the way pitch, as we have a rescue dog, who is nervous around people.

When we arrived on Saturday, we were assigned a pitch in Ernies field, dead centre of the field (not what we booked). The site was filled with weekend campers. The sort of people who aren't really interested in camping, just more interested in drinking themselves into oblivion, whilst making as much noise and mess as was physically possible.

We thought that this would be just a one off, and gave the place a chance.

Throughout the week, (after the weekend campers disappeared) the place was fairly quiet(ish). The site is used by schools, whose students have no regard for the privacy of campers. They used the field we were on, as a short cut to and from the lake. As well as for a place to get a mobile phone signal!

The facilities weren't very good either. The nearest toilets and showers were a temporary set up. I use the word temporary loosely, as it was clear from the rust, that they'd been in situ for some time. They were clean, but not suitable for the amount of people. 4 showers for 2 fields, and only 2 toilets (which got dirty, very quickly). Another block was not too far away, but was mainly for the use of the permanent caravans.

The hand dryers in all of the toilet blocks were out of order.

The showers cost 20p and last for around 5 minutes (ladies, you'll need more than one 20p if washing hair). WARNING, if you are the first to use the showers in the morning, you'll need more than one 20p piece, as they took a while to warm up. They were powerful, and remained hot after the initial warming period.

The on site cafe serves food until 1700, but they refuse to cook anything after 1600 (so it's sandwiches only after 1600). The on site pub is only open on weekends, unless you camp in high season (serves food after the cafe closes).

As I mentioned earlier, the site is plagued by the weekend camper. This is due to its proximity to the lake, and nearby access to the A40 (10 minutes away).

There is an out of hours phone number to report any grievances, but that doesn't help if you don't have any signal (vodaphone users beware!). Despite being assured that no large groups would be permitted, our second weekend on site was cut short, as it's obvious that the site managers don't care what size group arrives, just as long as they get money. Several large groups arrived, the largest consisting of 2 caravans, 2 camper vans, 3 tents and over 25 people (including children). The site isn't patrolled by wardens during the evening, so the noise levels grew as the alcohol flowed. We didn't manage to get to sleep until after 0200, and were awoken by the group again at 0615! Not enough sleep if you are planning on doing any activities like climbing nearby Pen Y Fan the next day. This was the last straw for us. We packed up 1 day early and headed home.

We are both experienced campers, and we were disgusted by the behaviour of the weekend campers, and the lack of compassion of the campsite staff. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LettuceFish 1 review from this member

 We booked initially for the first May bank holiday weekend, but due to work commitments had to rearrange our booking to the second May bank holiday weekend. We were able to transfer our deposit from one week to another, which in my book is brilliant customer service!

We knew we wouldn't make it to the campsite before 5pm so were told that our pitch information would be left on the notice board at the reception.

We arrived around 10pm and due to the poor light, arrived at the wrong campsite. We turned left into an adjoining campsite, rather than carrying straight onto Llangorse Lake campsite. The following morning we received a telephone call asking if everything was ok as we had not turned up. It then became clear that we were not at the correct campsite, so packed everything up and moved.

When arriving at the correct campsite, we were met by two very friendly ladies who gave us a choice of pitch. We were delighted when we found the camping field as it was much nicer than the campsite next door!

The toilet blocks were clean and very spacious as were the shower blocks. There were 3 sinks for washing up, which were very busy at obvious times, but there were washing up bowls and liquid provided for those who needed it.

There was plenty of drinking water points which were clearly labelled.

We took our dog with us and they (like many other sites we've visited before) request that dogs are kept on leads on the site, and it was nice to see that everyone adhered to this. A short walk from the campsite was Llangorse common where dogs were free to run off lead (under control). The horses are put on the common over night which wasn't a problem for us, as our dog is fine with them.

There was a cafe and bar on site, which we didn't use, but the bar had lots of entertainment going on. It's a shame that it isn't dog friendly as we may have used it.

The small shop at reception was brilliant for all your essentials; bread, milk, cheese, ice cream etc and was open every day. They even re-froze our freezer packs for us at no cost!

We took a trip on a rowing boat, while friends sailed and it was great that we could take our dog on the boat with us. We provided our own boyancy aid for him so wasn't sure they'd have any for dogs otherwise.

There are various walks you can do around the lake and we arrived in the village where there are two pubs, neither of which we could use as they weren't dog friendly. Which was really disappointing!

In summary, we had a lovely bank holiday weekend away and couldn't find any fault, other than the signage to the campsite being a little clearer to ensure that people arrived at the correct site. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ladybaby53 6 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed, we had booked for 2 nights but left after 1 night for the following reasons and went elsewhere and wasted a nights payment. The location very good the lake being lovely. Found staff to be disinterested when checking in. Pitches for tourers isolated. Commercial vans arriving after reception closed and parking up and wandering around site. Thankful we had a dog. Toilet facilities not really up to scratch. One set of toilets were very clean the others were porta cabins which were not nice. Showers were clean in one section and not good in the other. You also had to pay. Think when you pay for facilities you should not have to pay to have a shower. On the upside a good shop on site a cafe in the day time and a pub at weekend but would not return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tadpole007 1 review from this member

 Surrounded by the beautiful hills of the Brecon countryside, and sited within a short walk to Llangorse lake, this site has everything for most campers who are passing through or even a long stay.

There is a playground for the children and the clubhouse gets quite busy on weekends, there is also a shop which sells a variety of foodstuffs and camping equipment and a cafe which sells meals at a reasonable price.

Also Brecon town is about a 15min car journey for some attractions and big supermarket shopping.

Toilet and shower facilities are adequate at 20p a shower and dish washing is provided with hot water.

What makes this site especially attractive for me as this is not the first time I have stayed there is the friendliness of the staff, they will try to accommodate you if you have concerns, I plan to visit this site again with my family as we are avid campers and it has been delightful staying there. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave4242 2 reviews from this member

 Intended to stay for 3 nights with my dog and go walking, using the site as base. Thankfully I only paid for one night, that was enough. The showers and toilets were a port-a-cabin that wasn't very clean and were certainly cramped. We were along way from the shop and bar. The bar wont accept dogs, and the beer was flat and warm. I was lectured about my dog and sorry, I know how to look after him. The site was like a council estate on wheels. Never again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwmcarn34 11 reviews from this member

 This could be a lovely site it's in a great location near to a super lake.

The toilet and shower blocks need to much better than what they have there I actually thought the toilet block was the tool shed, and they charge for the showers. The pitches need to be tidied up simple things like neaten the edges of the grass, and the gravel looked as though they just thrown it in places.

It did have a good shop and the staff were very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 An average large site in a good location.

As was mentioned this site is wrongly named Lakeside, when in fact 'Fieldside' would be far more appropriate. The lake is reached, but if camping it's 5-8 minutes walk and cannot be seen from the site.

Very friendly staff who provided a superb route & map on late arrival. The on-site clubhouse was quiet, but get the impression can be very busy at weekends - again very friendly staff. There is a small shop selling most things also.

Toilet blocks/showers were clean & ok, but quite basic.

One bad point that almost ruined my overnight stay was the nearby Red Lion pub in Llangorse village by the bridge, they flatly refused to serve food at 8. 30pm while I watched them for an hour bringing food out in front of me, they even refused to make up a sandwich or bowl of chips. Worth bearing in mind as the clubhouse only serves food on weekend nights.

Would return, but would give the village a miss & support the site instead. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teifion 2 reviews from this member

 Awesome weekend!

Stayed 1night two families 6adults, 2 children, 2 infants. Really pleased with facilities really clean. Pitches were big and enough room for 3 tents. Kids had a fantastic time playing football until late. We unfortunately are like night owls and tend to stay up chatting til late. Some people were not pleased but they must have forgot they were on holidays relaxing having fun! Will definitely go to the campsite again. We were camping virgins, but now feel confident and will now be regular visitors to the lakeside. Thanks lakeside, see you soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScaryCanary 7 reviews from this member

 This site is called Lakeside, but don't be fooled into thinking that you are actually camping on the banks of the lake, or that you can even see the lake from your tent! The lake is nearby, within an easy stroll, and is really lovely, especially in the sunshine, but you can't actually see it from your pitch.

This site is primarily a static caravan park, with a couple of small fields at the back for camping. It feels like the camping is an afterthought and in my opinion, the static caravan owners seem to think that the place is entirely theirs, and are prone to partying / chatting / watching TV very loudly until very late. However, this criticism can also be levelled at some of the campers too, especially those with electric hook ups, and there seemed to be little evidence of wardens to keep this kind of antisocial behaviour under control.

Pitches are marked out with numbers and you will be allocated specific pitches on arrival. These are generously sized and did not feel cramped. The field is fairly flat so no issues with hills. We actually has a very nice pitch next to a small river and with a nice outlook, but I think the site is let down by rather shabby facilities; porta-loo style toilets and showers which seemed to work only sporadically. Showers and hairdryer cost 20p, so you need to remember your bag of coins each time! Overall, the shower/toilet block needs a good and more regular clean (especially when rainy and muddy)and lick of paint.

Ball games are not allowed in the camping field, although everyone seemed to ignore this, and that was fine. There is a small kids playground on site, but surrounded by statics, so again, not ideal for ball games.

The main reason we chose this site was to sail our small dinghy and there is convenient access to the lake from the jetty. Friendly and helpful staff at reception and at the jetty, although a bit pricey to actually launch (13 minimum per day for a dinghy). The lake is beautiful but a bit limited in what you can do; there is an island in the middle but you can't stop there, and you are not allowed to land the boat on any of the shore lines as they are either privately owned or part of nature reserves. So you can only land at the jetty, which is quite limiting. Also there is a lot of weed in the lake which gets tangled in the rudder/keel etc and also in the pedaloes (8 per half hour). There is no swimming or snorkelling allowed in the lake either, so really very limited to watercraft, which we hadn't really realised.

The shop is reasonable and there is a canteen and bar/pub on site, although far enough away from the camp fields not to cause any disturbance.

Overall, I didn't feel this site was really what I wanted from camping so would probably not return, although a lot of people seemed very happy with it. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhidian33 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite in the most beautiful of locations. Campsite overlooked by spectacular mountains and rolling hills. Large spacious pitches, well maintained grass and spotless facilities. Cafe, shop and pub on site, reasonable prices. The weekend we stayed there was an Irish themed night, with a bouncy castle outside in the grounds for the kids which they loved. Location was perfect to explore the beacons. Great website to check out facilities and location prior to holiday. Will definitely be back, hopefully very soon! 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement