Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park
Llangorse
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7TR
Tel: 01874 658226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrandmrsjones 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed twice in 2007. If you like canoeing, fresh air, messing about in boats, horses on the common and good views, then this is possibly the best campsite in the world. Not sure what it's like in peak season with all the water-skiers out, but it's idylic when the lake is quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Just can't fault it. Will be back again and again and again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cheekychimps 2 reviews from this member

 We were given a spacious pitch with hook up in Ernies field almost overlooking the lake. Water and pot washing facilities in the camping field however the toilet and shower block were a reasonable walk away amongst the static caravans. Toilet and showers were clean and adequate but nothing special, also 20p for 2min shower.
 
The village has little other than 2 pubs and post office/shop, the main attractions are the lake which is great for watersports and the beautiful surrounding countryside.
 
We had a great time here, the campsite staff were friendly and helpful however we felt it a bit pricey considering the average facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MudIark 1 review from this member

 I spent the Mayday bank holiday weekend here and had a enjoyable time

There were a group of us, four vans and two tents, and we were allocated pitches side by side at the bottom of Ernie's Field, even though we arrived at different times on the Friday afternoon.

Water was obtainable from the other end of the field, where there was also washing facilities and rubbish disposal bins. However waste water disposal was situated at the toilet/shower block in the middle of the static caravan park, about as far again.

The toilet blocks themselves were cleaned once a day as far as I was aware, unfortunately by the end of the day the shower floors were very wet and hairy although the rest of the facility was reasonably clean, well at least in the men's. I understand that the toilets are next on the agenda for a upgrade before the next season.

The surrounding area is stunning and full of history so there is plenty to do, being next to a lake gives an abundance of water sport and there is certainly many walking routes in the Brecons and Black Mountains. Just down the road in Cwmcrawnon is the Monmouthshire and Brecon canal, and Brecon itself boasts a Castle, museum and three supermarkets.

In all I thought it was a good site providing you don't mind using your own toilet facilities or are happy to walk a long way in the middle of the night, it has a restaurant and a bar well away from the site to not cause a nuisance and friendly staff who are genuinely helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrandmrsjones 6 reviews from this member

 We have three small children and a large canoe, so were looking for somewhere where we could camp and canoe in a spectacular setting. This campsite certainly provided everything that we wanted. It was an unseasonably hot easter week, but the touring part of the site was virtually empty - which was surprising. We camped in Ernie's Field at the back of the site where the pitches have good hard standing and electric. Pitches were large and level. Facilities were OK - not great, but passable. They were cleaned every day, but there was no soap or paper in the gents.

The holiday was made by the spectacular setting, which was great for canoeing and other forms of messing about in boats, and the spectacular weather.

We will definitely be coming back, but doubt that we will have the space and peace that we had in this trip. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kurts 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely area to visit - our first time.  Plenty of things to do in the area with the local activity centre and with boating / walks at the lake.
Didn't book, turned up on the off-chance there was a pitch available prior to the Easter weekend.  Took some time to establish if we could pitch at the site - kids getting hot and bothered waiting in the car on a particularly warm day.  Staff were polite and apologised for the delay.
To get to the tent field, had to drive through the caravan site - bit of a zigzag drive, but we were able to see where the toilet / shower block were located - in the static caravan site, not in the tent field!  The toilet / shower block was dark and not the cleanest we've been to.
Pitched in a small-ish field some distance from toilet / shower block - a few non-family groups nearby, was initially concerned for me and my children, but they were quiet.
In site shop closed at 5pm, so if you needed anything after that you'd have to drive into Talgarth or Brecon.
I found the individual pricing a little on the pricey side (£12.75 for me and my three kids) and having to pay extra for showers!
I would certainly return to Llangors for the activities, but can't see me returning to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jkp2 4 reviews from this member

 A beautiful area.  We were situated by the river.  Lots of wildlife to be seen, swans, signets, ducks, ducklings, moorhens, coots, horses, sheep, you name it, we saw it!
 
We had electric hook up, which we didn't need in the end, so a refund was given.  Everyone was friendly and helpful.  The shop stocked the bare essentials so we were travelling just down the road to Talgarth to get supplies.  The restaurant was lovely and clean and the food was good.  They even had a takeaway service on Saturday nights.  BBQ also in the bar with entertainment, we did not use the bar as we have very young children.  But heard from other campers that the entertainment was good.
 
The play area for kids could have been better.  The swings were so low to the ground that  the kids couldn't actually swing on them, the climbing frame was not too bad though, the kids still enjoyed playing on the equipment though.
 
The toilet block was not too bad but it could have been better.  Only one shower working so had to get their early so as to not be in a long queue.  Toilet paper in some toilets but not all.  Regular checks are needed, as some campers leave the toilets in a bit of a mess, toilet paper being dropped on the floor instead of the toilet!
 
The lake was beautiful with again plenty of wildlife to be seen.  A variety of boats were available to hire, which we made use of.  A public footpath of 3km took us part way around the lake to a lovely little chapel.  We did another walk just up the road from Talgarth which took us to a beautiful waterfall.
 
Just outside Talgarth there is also The Black Mountains Gliding Club.  We went gliding and it was the most wonderful experience, we could see our campsite on the lake.  Well worth a visit. 
 
This was our first camping trip and we liked it here son much that we have booked to come again next month.  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pinkfz750 2 reviews from this member

 1st-4th June 2006. Campsite suitable for tents and tourers. Static caravans available for hire. Level pitches. We arrived at the end of half term so were fortunate enough to have the fabulous weather, prior to this the week had seen lots of rain and therefore the ground was very spongy and people had had a few problems getting off their pitch. Think the site would suffer a lot if the weather was against you, apparently prone to flooding.

Lovely pretty site. Electric hook ups, shop stocking basic items. Lakeside restaurant - ate there once - lovely and clean, good food with good prices. Boats, pedaloes etc to hire, lots of ducks and swans for the kids to feed. Also a pub with pool table and table football. At various times of the day horses can be found grazing across the common which the kids loved.

Let downs -ladies toilet block adequate although never any soap in the dispensers and always out of toilet paper! Apparently men's were fine. Two showers, didn't use them looked damp and dark. Another downside - shop and restaurant only open 9-5pm and no late night shops in Llangorse, you'd have to go into Brecon town if you desperately want something.

Kids playground ok. They also have an Orchard field where only a few pitches have electric hook, however went to see what it was like but full of gangs of youngsters camping with music blaring - Don't stay on this field!

All in all a nice site, good pub just down the road - The Red Lion - good food, good prices and child friendly! Would go back to Lakeside Camp Site. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Bigchrisrogers 5 reviews from this member

 I'd agree with most of the other reviews. Nicely placed site with plenty to do in the area. Lake access is good for those into boating/fishing etc. The Swans and Ducks on the lake amoused our kids in the evenings. We were in the overflow field (August bank holiday weekend) which was great. Plenty of room, good grass on a flat well drained surface, surrounded by a variety of trees. Bit of a walk to the toilets but not far enough to complain about.

The toilets were, though, of barely acceptable standard, rather cramped, not particularly clean and dark dingy showers with a trickle of water. We didn't use the bar/restaraunt except for some takeaway chips one evening. Looking into the bar area though it looked very comfortable. A marquee had been erected outside on the lawn with plenty of tables and seating for an expected bank holiday rush I think.

Brecon is only 15 minutes drive away for main shopping as the on-site shop stocked only the barest essentials.

Overall a very nice site and we'll probably return again one day, hopefully the toilet block will have improved by then. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Rtowell 2 reviews from this member

 I really enjoyed visiting this site. It has many things going for it, not least the sheer amount of things to do. The facilities are great and the site is nicely laid out, the toilets and showers are clean and well kept. For me this site is the first choice while staying in the brecon area.  


Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: Stonecold 1 review from this member

 What a gorgeous campsite. Lovely large pitches, wonderful scenery, and a welcome off the local wildlife (ducks, swans and squirrels). The showers were OK. Little bit of damp, and cost 20p, but were lovely and warm. Toilets OK, with paper. Shop was good, although not exactly Tescos. The people were really friendly and helpful. Its a shame they took the swimming pool out ! Unfortunately, the weather cut our stay short, but we long to revisit.
 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement