Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park
Llangorse
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7TR
Tel: 01874 658226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karen1357 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely setting, beautiful lake and lots of activities available for young and old alike. Shower and toilet facilities were not great for the amount of pitches available. We were unfortunate enough to have some very bad weather and our pitch flooded, we were watching the ducks on our own lake right outside our awning ! There are a lot of static vans on site, we guessed they are owned and they had no respect for others and partied until 1 am both weekends we were there. The area itself is stunning though, do not be put off by our experience it was a friendly enough site and staff were friendly and as helpful as possible. No one can help the weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bechoe 5 reviews from this member

 First time camping so nothing to compare to, but site was clean and tidy with all amenities within a few minutes walk. Pitches were large and well drained, staff were friendly and very helpful. Freezer blocks re frozen free of charge, shop also stocked a good selection of food.

Food on site was good however on the Saturday night it wasn't served until 9pm, 2. 20 for curry on the Sunday with free live music. Pint of Grolsch at 3. 20. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen Rees 1 review from this member

 Just spent the weekend on this lovely site. There were just a few pitches that the grass was a bit bare but after all the rain we were surprised how firm the majority of the pitches were.

Toilets were basic but clean in the main shower block and there was a lovely new block in the next field. Shop was well stocked and bar was great with Sky sports football and evening entertainment.

Boat hire was available ( although not ever day as not in main season and all weather dependant) and had a lovely row around the lake taking in all the breathtaking scenery.

All in all, a great site with beautiful surroundings and look forward to going back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lorn72 2 reviews from this member

 The name Lakeside does not mean its next to the Lake it was a few minutes walk accross a field! We camped in Ernie's Field which was unfit for camping, it had flooded 2 weeks prior to our arrival! It was a mud pit! The campsite should have informed us of the appalling conditions prior to our arrival. Our yearly holiday with 7 families was cut short (we packed up a day early) as having water running through your tent is no fun. We could not even walk between tents and to our group gazebo without slipping in mud and constantly changing children's clothes after they had slipped and got covered in mud was not the relaxing fun time we were hoping for, even after a dry relatively sunny day the field remained water logged.

The shower blocks and toilets are clean but very basic, with curtains falling down and shower water not always hot! There is another camp field which has had drainage fitted but its pitch black at night and has no hookups.

Thank you to the pleasant staff who did return one of our groups deposits they were arriving a day later but we forewarned them of conditions. The shop was well stocked and the men enjoyed there time out at the bar.

The Lake has fantastic views and lots of boat hire facilities or you can take your own for a few . Brecon is a nice place to visit, but there is no large town or village within a short walk of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackiesouthwales 1 review from this member

 Just the best location - next to lovely Llangorse Lake with all the facilities you need - nice clubhouse and well-stocked shop;

Within short walking distance of two fabulous pubs with fab food;

Stunning views of the Black Mountains and their highest peak, Pen-y-Fan and the weather was beautiful!

Only a flying visit as we live less than an hour away, so didn't test the showers, but the toilet block in the furthest away field looked new and was sparkling clean.

It might be a bit busy for some, but we didn't find the noise too intrusive.

Highly recommended! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 696 reviews from this member

 This site was positioned in a fabulous spot within a couple of minutes walk of the lake. Pitches were a fair size and hard standing available for 7 pitches.

Shower / toilets were in our opinion way below standard. We used block in static area and despite putting in 40p no hot water in shower.

Second shower appeared to have a coin jammed so couldn't use. No hot water in basins and no soap in dispensers. Shower cubicles had not been cleaned and spiders webs had been there for some time.

This could be a lovely site but until they sort out basic facilities would not recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BongoBongo 4 reviews from this member

 The site itself doesn't quite live up to its splendid location near Llangorse Lake and within the Brecon Beacons National Park.

Staff are helpful and prepared to be flexible. Facilities are reasonable and we didn't notice the dirty toilets mentioned by earlier reviewers - perhaps they have taken the criticism on board.

20p for showers seems mean but the time allowance is very generous and the water is too hot if anything.

Pitches are allocated at check-in and the allocation method seems haphazard - we were given a small pitch in a crowded corner when there were very few people in the far field. I think they assume everyone wants to be as close the common and the lake as possible. We would have happily walked further for more privacy. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helenlyn 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 9 days on this site.

The clubhouse was very friendly run by a lovely couple.

The pitch we had was very spacious.

The only downfall of the site was the portable loo(2) and portable showers (3) Which seemed to be used by everyone in the surrounding tent fields and not part of Lakeside caravan park.

There was a shower block in the static area which I used and had no problem at all. Always clean and tidy.

There was NO security to the site very open.

The warden was on the end of a phone and did come within a few minutes of a call made about loud music from a static owner.

The surrounding area is lovely. There is no shop in the village but the local pub Red Lion does sell the newspapers. Not the friendliest welcome here

Would recommend the Castle pub for food and friendliness made us very welcome.

Overall I would recommend this site such a friendly place. Very reasonable prices. Great place to base yourself for walking or just sight seeing. The views from the top is spectacular. Worth the climb 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dizzykeel 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome!

Lovely flat pitch for us in the orchard field, nice and close to the shower and toilet block.

Everything was nice and clean.

Real value for money and an ideal location to explore the whole area!

The pitch was quite a nice size although as there were 2 of us with a tent each they gave us a corner pitch each next to each other which meant that we had a massive area to pitch in and for the kids to play!

Not a lot for children to do (no play area that we could find), if you have kids who need to be entertained but for our 3 and 4 year old campers, who love just running around outside it was perfect! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjcp 2 reviews from this member

 The potential for this to be a great site is wholly unrealised. Whilst the surrounding area is absolutely stunning and the staff were friendly we encountered so many negatives I'm afraid we won't be returning to this site.

There are too few showers & toilets for the number of pitches and they were never cleaned adequately. Only 1 shower was suitable for use as the water pressure was insufficient in the other one. One portable cabin loo ran out of loo roll at least once/day (usually overnight).

The shop was pricey and had loads of bare shelf space which could have been used to stock loads of other useful items. The rules of the site were not enforced, eg lots of people had open fire despite the ban.

There didn't seem to be anyone monitoring the site throughout the day. The overall cleanliness of the site was also disappointing. There were scraps of paper and general rubbish just about everywhere you looked. The children's play area is in the middle of the static caravan park so you can't see or hear the children and it is in need of updating.

Beware the water sports hire place is run by different people and we couldn't hire a sail boat despite our extensive experience. This was really disappointing as it is the main reason we chose this site.

The positive feedback was the cafe is brilliant: good value, quick and tasty food. And the night sky was completely stunning.

We paid the same price for a far superior site in Cornwall. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement