Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park
Llangorse
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 7TR
Tel: 01874 658226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gi11 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly site, with all the facilities needed. Mix of all sorts of camping.

The static caravan was super, chose to pay a little extra to have bed linen provided of the right sizes.

Reception has lovely helpful staff, and a shop with all the basics and some great tourist tat.

The common outside the site has wild but calm horses.

The lake is just a short stroll away.

Not so keen on the adjoining pub since it changed hands. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sabrinaman 7 reviews from this member

 Check-in was online in advance. I couldn't make it work but the problem was solved instantly by email. Whilst this was very good, it would have been nice to be welcomed by a member of staff at the site.

We camped in the tent field in mid August. The preceding lengthy dry period was, of course, beyond the control of the staff but the field was very worn with several bare patches, small and large and an abundance of mole hills. We were disturbed in the night by a mole beneath the groundsheet and the next day we could see that adjacent sites had suffered the same problem.

Dogs are allowed and a £5 charge is made but no provision seemed to have been made for them. Even a few poo bins would have been nice.

The shower and washing-up facilities were excellent with individual cubicles containing toilet, shower and basin with plenty of room to move. Additional toilets were also available. These were cleaned daily.

I got the impression from the website that the shop, cafe and pub were part of the site but they're outside the gate, maybe 100 yards away. The shop has only basic supplies and certainly doesn't compete on price. The cafe closes at 4 and the pub wasn't doing food on Mondays or Tuesdays, the two days we were there. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bekchops 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a SUP, Bike, Run event and were pitched in the Orchard field which is a little way from the main site.

It was really pleasant, quiet and cosy.

Facilities are good and had easy access to the road.

There is a lakeside cafe, serving food and drinks. An equestrian centre, a sailing club and activities centre.

The common is a popular location for all activities, dogs and horses, Lake for canoes and boats.

Would happily return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Gi11 23 reviews from this member

 Great site. Static caravan a little less equipped due to Covid, eg no cloths or washing up liquid.

Staff very efficient with adaptation of procedures for distancing. Caravan was immaculate.

Already booked again for next year! 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Chaddite 18 reviews from this member

 I stayed in an area known as The Orchard which was a small enclosed area with space for about 7 caravans/motorhomes, it was grass with hardstanding. Close by were showers, toilets, refuse disposal, water and grey/toilet waste disposal.

It was lovely, surrounded by trees it was peaceful and private. The facilities were excellent.

The rest of the site had a bar, café and shop although I did not personally use them other than the shop so I cant comment. It was generally quiet, probably owing to the time, kids back at school etc but I can imagine it attracts a lot of day visitors in summer owing to proximity to Llangors Lake, where boats can be hired and you can fish.

Location was perfect for me, the site is an ideal base to visit nearby places such as Brecon, and for walking the many hills in this area, the general area is beautiful, peaceful and rural. So to summarise, location, facilities, area, were all excellent and I would certainly go there again, but not in busy periods.

I cant comment on customer service as I had no need to use them other than the café and that was fine, by the way the Management have sensibly insisted on the continued wearing of face masks despite easing of restrictions, some were moaning about that but I think they are right to do so. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Victor 1 review from this member

 Site was everything it said it was, was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the negative feedback.

Beautiful views. If I could do anything to improve the site, maybe a cafe or shop.

Would go again.

We were told off when putting our rubbish away for not separating recycling, was an innocent mistake as we were not told to do so, and didn’t see any recycling facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gi11 23 reviews from this member

 Beware: our SatNav would have taken us to the wrong campsite. Luckily we knew the name, and another 2/10ths of a mile found it. Booked for a week, with many friends and their classic cars joining us for the weekend in Statics, tourers and tents.

Lovely welcome. Shop, cafe and pub adjoining the site were all excellent, couldn't have been better. Charming area, lots to see and do. The only downside was appalling rain and wind, but we still had a very enjoyable stay. Site well cared for. Going again next September :-) 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KevP 10 reviews from this member

 We were part of group of 9 friends who had a fantastic weekend at the Lakeside campsite. On arrival we checked in at the reception and were shown on a map where we were to pitch. We'd asked to be situated together and had a large pitch on Elwyns Meadow with ample room to set up. Able to park our cars next to tents so very easy to unpack. Stayed for 2 nights. First evening after our communal bbq we went to the bar on site where a Karaoke session was in full swing. Nice beer and friendly people. Following breakfast we went for a walk around Llangorse Lake which took us about 4 hours (12km - leisurely pace). We saw some spectacular views as we climbed above the lake and we finished our walk at the Castle Inn in Llangorse. Lovely ales and a fine selection of gins to revive our weary legs. Couldn't be bothered cooking so called the chip shop in Talgarth and phoned our order through. Just as well as they were telling customers they were running out of food! Regarding other campsite facilities the toilet block was very clean and was well serviced. Never had to wait for the showers which were 20p for 4 minutes and good and hot. All in all an excellent place to stay. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suns 13 reviews from this member

 After travelling we visited this site again as circumstance on trying another two site were rude or near impossible to phone. Got to Lakeside, called number on the door to to contact and got straight through. Pitched up and paid the day after. Glad to say the site has improved as weeds had been removed by EHU points and bark was there to stop them. Pathways around the lake had been repaired. Porta cabin shower block are still the same but are clean. Showers still 20 pence but clean and spacious. Loads of ducks around the lake so make sure you take proper food as the are not shy. Views are beautiful. Reception friendly and helpful. Glad we ended up back there. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suns 13 reviews from this member

 Visited here as we had found out this site is classed as a 'Dark Sky Reserve' Arrived on the friday to reception and two very helpful ladies with a map stating where they though was best to pitch, take a look and come back to us. Nice flat site, toilets and showers are clean. 20 pence for a 4 minute shower, bonus as no presstex buttons. Two camping fields one with EHU one with out, toilet block on both.

Horses are called off the common but one decided to jump and join us in the camping field. A lot of wildlife you can hear most of the day and ito the night. Lake is gorgeous for a walk and boats for hire. A lot of day visitors turn up but its not near the camping field.

Not as dark as expected on site. Visited Talgarth Bread mill and the Showcaves while there and thoroughly enjoyed both 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lakeside Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4455 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement