Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helenmears 5 reviews from this member

 Our second visit here for an overnight on our way north. Very convenient as less than 2 miles from M40. A 10 min stroll takes you into the heart of Warwick with an abundance of eateries and pubs plus of course the castle. You can walk from the site to the canal (we didn't have time to do this ourselves) and the walk around the racecourse itself is a nice stroll. Facilities are smaller and more dated than at some CC sites but as always were spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water. The wardens here provide a very warm welcome, one of the friendliest we have had on the network. All in all highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueboy2 9 reviews from this member

 The site is a gem. Its actually on the racecourse and just a short walk to town. Loads of eating places, we went to Chopstix and Giovsnni's both excellent food. Walking distance to the castle which was well worth a visit. Leamington Spa just a short drive away is also worth a visit. National Trust sites within a few miles.

Site is not very big and the washrooms small but up to the usual caravan club standard.

Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 93 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights there as it was convenient for a visit to the NEC motorhome show.

On arrival I was told that we had booked a grass pitch. This was unknown to me and I've never fully understood the Caravan Club differentiation between pitches with or without awning. I'd booked the last available pitch which was one with an awning (even though we don't use one) and all became clear as the grass pitches could take an awning and the tarmac pitches couldn't!

Yes, that's right the non-awning pitches are on tarmac, which I believe is used as a car park when races are held. Obvious now.

Anyway, the 'van ahead moved on to a corner pitch and we set up alongside. We'd already connected up and were having lunch whilst the other folk were still manoeuvring their motorhome back and to. In the end they moved elsewhere and another motorhome moved on to the corner pitch. Some time later, they too moved off and it transpired that the pitch was very boggy and they kept sinking.

So be warned where you set up.

Anyway, the new wardens were very friendly and chatty and the facilities were fine.

We visited the Mill gardens, which were a delight and ate in ASK, where the food and atmosphere was rather disappointing.

I think it's a good site, location wise, if you're visiting for something specific, it's just not one of the CC's most glamorous sites, but it is excellent value. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue6 29 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome from the Wardens. Clean Facilities. Good Location. Excellent dog walking area.

We visited Warwick Castle, it is best avoided during the school holidays. It is a pity Merlin do not look after the artefacts as well as the National Trust do.

Lord Leycester Hospital, is worth a visit and much information can be provided by the lovely gentlemen who are on the reception desk and live there. Be aware it may be closed some afternoons and evenings due to private hire. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol Jean 38 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 days at this site. It was very unusual being next to a racecourse! But there are only about 21 race days a year so never saw any races. The site was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. We like to do a bit of easy cycling on the flat and the wardens have directions already printed out for the cycle ride to Hatton locks. It was so easy to get to. I think it was about 2 miles to the canal and maybe another 2 miles along the many locks. We had lunch in a nice café there by the canal. It was also easy to cycle around Warwick. Warwick is lovely. It is so compact and easy to walk around and see everything. We visited the Mill Street open garden which was idyllic and had a great view of the castle and I also visited the Hill Close gardens which are just outside the entrance to the site. We didn’t go inside the castle this time. I thought you could walk around the grounds for free but you have to pay - but it is a stupendous castle! St Nicholas Park is lovely and has everything that you would need –lots of amusement for children there –and again it is within easy walking distance from the site. We hired a motor boat on the river. We enjoyed having a drink in the Market Square. When the sun was shining we preferred to sit outside Wetherspoons or the Twisted Wig as Rose and Crown was in the shade but we did go there one evening. We ate at Spice Hut in Market Place –it was ok but not very spicy. We went to Micatto restaurant in the Market Place –nice food if you don’t mind being ripped off! Next time we go we will try the many restaurants on Smith Street. We went to the New Bowling Green pub on St Nicholas Street as that had a nice beer garden at the back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineandBert 2 reviews from this member

 Good place to stay. When there a races a very nice plat to stay. Good price good value. Watwick is also a good place te walk around and to do the shopping. A lovely castle. Good management (Harwich people) saw later in Harwich on the beach site. We will return. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pippah45 3 reviews from this member

 This is one of the first sites I took the children to about 38 years ago and it was great to return! Easily found if you follow the CC directions. Everything as it should be - and lovely wardens who went the extra mile for me in a crisis. Great site to walk dogs off straight onto the area round the racecourse. Walking distance to the town centre - and all its attractions including the castle which I think is one of the best I have visited. Something for everyone here I would say. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizahigham 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site twice, both times as stop-overs. We found it perfect for this purpose. One nighters are all accommodated on a large tarmacked area next to the race course, which is fine. Fabulous toilet and shower block, perfectly clean. Lashings of hot water. Staff very friendly and helpful. The site is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Warwick, which is well worth a visit. Will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FloC 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant location, almost in centre of Warwick [lovely town, lots on] great site to take a night off from self-catering. Signposted once found the entrance to the racecourse itself. Bigger than expected, good size. Booked direct through The Caravan Club and we were expected and all information came through and correct. On site team helpful and lots of local information available. Quiet- racecourse on one side, fields on the other. All usual amenities, clean & well maintained. Felt secure & thought the price was very good. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

 Arrived late and in the dark, for a 1 night stop over to attend a seminar at the course. Unfortunately the signage to the site is not the best, I didn't realise at the time that you had to drive across the racetrack. However having found the site I got a very friendly and helpful welcome by one of the new wardens, having decided which hardstanding pitch would be best to park my tag axle motorhome they kindly walked me to it.

As previously mentioned in other reviews it is a relatively small site and the facilities are comparable with the size and are 'dated' but clean and warm with plenty of hot water for the powerful showers, great!

Site is very neat and tidy, well kept and idealy placed for a short walk into town. Being in the middle of the racecourse it is quiet and peaceful.

Definitely worth a repeat visit when I have more time. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement