Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peggy2011 17 reviews from this member

 This was our first experience on a racecourse site and we weren’t disappointed.

On arrival the warden did make me feel like I was a little bit stupid for not reading the small print on the booking and realising that when you book a standard pitch it means grass. She did redeem herself however by offering us an alternative tarmac pitch facing the racecourse if we preferred. We took her up on her offer and parked in front of the stand looking across the tracks. This site definitely has a different feel to it than other CC sites. The motorhome service point was really awkward to access and there was only one washing up sink. There was however a laundry room and the toilet block was spotless as you would expect from a CC site although one toilet was out of order in the ladies. I was surprised at how busy this site was for a November weekend and the Sunday 12. 00 noon check out caused a bit of a queue at the service point as incoming motorhomes wanted to fill up and outgoing ones wanted to empty their tanks. I really feel that this site would benefit from an additional MH service point. On the plus side the site is right next to lots of open land where we could let our dog off the lead for a good old run around. You are also allowed to exercise your dog on a lead around the site and along the race tracks. You would need to be aware that on race days you have to depart by 10. 00am.

The location of this site is just perfect with the lovely historic town centre just a five minute walk away. We were a little disappointed that dogs are not allowed into the grounds of Warwick Castle so we were only able to see it via the boundary perimeter wall. The town itself has lots of pubs, restaurants and tea rooms and it is very 'picture postcard'

To summarise, this is a lovely little site in a perfect location and very reasonably priced despite having a full range of facilities. We would definitely consider returning. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paula Watkins 20 reviews from this member

 Arrived just after 12noon signs reminding you not at arrive before noon. Told to use grass which was a bit soft.

Hook up point handy. Site needs more water points. Waste a long way from some pitches. Only 1 washing up sink in open area.

Toilet block just about okay, poor ventilation. Control knob broken in one of the showers. One toilet not flushing properly. I realise club runs site from the racecourse but attention is needed. Even the lock not working on gates. Not a cheap site even in winter.

Used bus to Stratford on Avon. About 5 min walk into town, M&S food store. Sainsbury about 5min walk. Few tea shops. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megastar15 8 reviews from this member

 First visit to Warwick what a beautiful place, as for the site could not have wished for better.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly Caravan Club wardens who quickly sorted out our pitch, we had a fantastic pitch very large and quiet. Everything about the site was immaculate as expected by the CC.

The place itself (Warwick) is a must, very oldy worldy with lots to see, on our visit there was a folk festival a must see, pleased be warned though Warwick gets very busy for the Folk weekend!

We visited a few local pubs and restaurants all very nice.

Also Visited the local park with a small fair ground for children, 2 miniature golf courses and a paddling pool weather permitting.

Never managed a visit to the Castle as we were only there for a couple of days.

Would definitely return to the site/Warwick. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hursta 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights to break the journey on the way back from Cornwall. On arrival we were greeted by the wardens who were very knowledgeable and friendly.

We have a folding camper and as it was very windy we asked for a sheltered pitch. They directed us to the best pitch for our unit. They could not do enough for us even helping me to push my unit into position.

The facilities here are very good. The showers are the best we have found on a campsite, very powerful and adjustable for temperature. There is only one washing up point and three showers. This wasn't a problem for us but it could be if the site was very busy.

Some of the hardstanding pitches were uninspiring. This is a racecourse site and some of these pitches are in what is basically a carpark area.

The location of the site is brilliant. In a short walk we were in the centre of Warwick with all of it's fine historical buildings, restaurants and shops this was excellent. In around 10 minutes you are at Warwick castle which was a fantastic day out (if a little expensive) the warden kindly gave us a voucher when we mentioned we were planning to go.

There is no playground on site and some faint road nosie was heard at night but this is to be expected as it is an easy site to get to being only a few miles of the M40.

Overall an excellent site we will definitely return to one day for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mr W E Powell 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site, very friendly wardens, clean toilets and excellent shower blocks.

Very close (app. 5miutes walk)to town centre which is absolutely charming, with plenty of atmosphere, restaurants, pubs antique shops, and of course, Warwick Castle.

Only stayed one night, en route to a family Party in Bognor Regis, but found the site a truly enjoyable place to stay.

Next time we visit, we will bring our Golden Retriever, Finn and our little granddaughter who is 7, to take further advantage of these great facilities

We shall certainly return again for a longer stay at this brilliant site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babzianne1 8 reviews from this member

 We (me, Hubby and Mom and Dad) stayed at Warwick Racecourse for a long May Day weekend. What a lovely campsite - set in the centre of the race course - 5 minutes walk from the town centre and the castle, and also only 5 minutes walk through the race course car park to Sainsburys - but this said, when you are on site you could be miles from anywhere!

It was a little breezy, but I think the whole of England suffered from similar weather (very sunny/breezy) this weekend so don't assume that windy is the norm.

Toilet facilities up to the usual clean standards of caravan club sites with the most powerful showers I have ever experienced! Wardens very friendly and helpful.

Plenty of room for walking around the race course and a nine hole golf course on your doorstep - also in the centre of the race course.

The bank holiday weekend was topped off with racing on the Monday which made for a great day out - which cost us nothing but the bets as we were already 'on-site'.

All in all a great site with an 'away from it all feel' but very close to everything you could possibly need.

Would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnepadley 15 reviews from this member

 Visited for 3 nights over the Royal Wedding weekend. Very good location of site only minutes off the motorway network and very close to the centre of Warwick.

This is the first time that we have used a racecourse site, we found that the site was well laid out with grass pitches and some pitches were on the tarmac stand used during race days. One thing that we found was that the wind really blows across the racecourse, with nothing to stop the wind it felt gale force at times.

The TV reception is very poor. Toilet block is showing signs of being dated but is kept very clean, the doors have a coded system for entry.

Warwick has a number of nice local shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance of the site.

Overall this is a good stopover site, if you are travelling on or just using to visit the castle, I would not recommend this site for a longer stay.

Be aware race days as you have to leave by 10am. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Double-Dutch 8 reviews from this member

 We were attending the Bowls Tournament in Leamington Spa so we had to find a site close by. Just before the Tournament was due to start we decided to try out a nearby site for a weekend, but it turned out to be of a standard we would not be happy with for any more than a weekend, so we rushed over to see Charlie, one of the two Wardens at Warwick Racecourse, and he couldn't have been more helpful.

We will always be grateful to him for squeezing us in as when we got there later in the month the pitch was lovely - a little bumpy perhaps, but it was a grass pitch so we were able to get the awning up, and had plenty of space.

We love this site. The Wardens are very friendly and clearly work hard - they are visible and busy 'doing things' all the time. The toilets/showers are kept very clean indeed, and there is obvious care and pride taken in the work of these two.

Interestingly too everyone on site seems to speak - just good mornings and comments on the weather etc. But it is a sign of a happy site and the Wardens play a large part in creating that atmosphere.

The fact that the site is so close to Warwick makes it an even more attractive place to be - 10 minutes walk and you have your choice of pubs and restaurants. Sainsburys is only a short walk away too.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

 Our party, as usual, was made up of me (Dad), the wife; our two boys aged 10 & 7 and our doggie.

We had booked Warwick racecourse as only an overnight stop over due to our drive from Manchester to the New Forest being done late in the afternoon.

Driving to Warwick Racecourse CC Site with the aid of a Sat-Nav was a breeze and the Sat-Nav was correct right down to the last turn.

We crossed the racecourse with our van and pulled to a stand at the reception. Check-in was straight forward and seamless but as the Warden checked us in, he used the words ‘because you have booked a hardstanding pitch without an awning’ and I instantly became concerned and then he promptly showed us the only pitches left.

My heart sunk when we pulled around the site to our pitch (1 of 5 all tarmac based) as we had unwittingly booked a pub car park hard-standing in front of empty aluminium steps used for viewing on race days. So by being good and booking a non-awning pitch, we ended up with no view, or rather stands to the rear and an empty marquee to the left and only a little bit different to any supermarket car park to the front.

The first pitch we tried to pitch on required a 35 meter electric cable and we only carry a standard 25 meter cable so after re-hitching and moving one pitch along, we settled into making the most of our stay.

The toilet / showers were, as usual, spotless with plenty of hot water all day and night long. The fresh water / grey water supplies are of a standard that looks out of place on a CC site but otherwise adequate.

This site is so peaceful outside of race days and we had a very restful night’s sleep. Its location is very central to Warwick Town and for our doggie, there is a whole race course and golf course to walk around at the site gates.

During the night, the gates are locked by a combination lock and the code is given to you upon arrival if you wish to come or go during the times the gate is locked.

In general, the whole was clean and tidy and shows what hard work the Wardens put into the site, but we just felt that the 5 tarmac pitches, with the associated cones put up to highlight the condition of the cracking tarmac, let an otherwise lovely CC site down.

While on site we found the Vodafone signal for phones and 3G Broadband connection signal to be of very good strength.

As this was only an overnight stay, we did not visit any nearby attraction, but we did visit the chip shop on Shakespeare Avenue which is very near to the CC Site, and all I will say is to not use this chippy.

We found the chips to be cold, cooked far too long and were most likely to be dinner time chips reheated. The sausage was again heated for far too long since its original cooking time.

We will be going back to Warwick Racecourse CC Site, we loved everything about it, but we will only return if a grass electric pitch can be booked.

Best regards

Andy O’Keeffe 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

 Visited for 3 nights on the way back to Nottingham from Devon, primarily because I wanted to take daughter to Warwick Castle.

What a lovely, quirky little gem of a site.

We loved the fact we drove across the racetrack to get on the site, the wardens were great.

One criticism is there is only one set of bins and waste/toilet water collection point, it's quite a walk from the furthest away pitch where we stayed.

Hard standing is tarmac - definitely no awnings.

Grass pitches fairly flat, a little bumpy, some bigger than others.

Sainsburys in walking distance, as are a park, Warwick Castle and Warwick town centre.

Spent one day at St Nicholas Park, fantastic for kids - crazy golf, paddling pool, river boats, play equipment.

Next day at Warwick Castle, amazing brilliant day out, can't recommend it enough, 10 year old daughter still talking about it.

Had evening meal in the pub and walked back to the van, feeling very happy and content.

Will visit this site again, great location, high standard and very relaxed. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement