Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meacock 10 reviews from this member

 We only stayed on this quirky little site for 1 night on our way home, we arrived a little later that expected so didn't really have time to enjoy everything that warwick has to offer. The wardens were really helpful and pleasant, they even lent us and extension for our electric as our lead was not long enough. Our pitch was on the tarmac area and backed onto the racecourse stand the kids had fun running up and down it, the security was very good the gate was kept locked and we were given the padlock code to gain access whenever needed, we are hoping to re-visit this site for maybe a bit longer, as Warwick and the surrounding area had lots to see and do 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Psandy60 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night over the May Bank Holiday, Hadn't booked just took a chance and was welcomed by a lady who seemed to be just locking the office up, but she was helpful and friendly. Level tarmac pitch with hook up next to the race course. Elsen, was easily accessable for drive over waste disposal. Very short walk into town from site - with some restaurants and pubs scattered around the square. Had to pay an extra premium because we are not members of the Caravan Club. But would stay again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paula Watkins 20 reviews from this member

 Visited on spur of the moment, hadnt booked

Met by Warden at gate he was a bit brisk, why hadn't we booked ? Told which pitch was free,i t wasnt,very poor surface, at least it was level.

Toilet block okay. Water hot. Only 1 washing up sink. Not enough water points.

Lots of people walking around, wondered if all on site or not. Easy walk in to town .

Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 Having read other peoples' reviews; I am surprised at the criticism of the wardens. We arrived at a suitable time and followed the site rules, and we found them very helpful and pleasant.

The site is small and not the most scenic CC site we have stayed on, the large tarmac area beside the track is unsightly and the course too busy to feel at ease and relaxed, (dog walkers and joggers passing withing 5 ft of our outfit is less than we had hoped for). But this is a site within a race course so you should expect some compromise, especially on race days.
There was a 'traveller' site elsewhere on the race course during our visit, but the wardens seemed to have site security at the forefront of their minds, and apart from having to unlock the main gate everytime we wanted to drive in or out we were not put out at all. The grass pitches are fine, and there are a few gravel pitches too, the wardens know their site well and kept us away from pitches with drianage problems.

The shower block is clean but a bit small for a 50+ van site; and as we were parked at the furthest end of the site we found it a bit of a trek for our needs, there is a water tap at the far end but with no drain or waste point it was a fair amount of work when we came to leave.
The sites' main plus point is its' proximity to the castle and town centre, we walked to the castle in about 5 minutes and had a great day out, we haven't been on a site as handy for a major attraction, and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the area.

Like all CC sites the feeling is of a friendly place; everyone says good morning, and the site is clean and well managed. I would advise trying to pitch as close to the showers as possible, it makes for a less stressful stay and you don't have to look at the awful tarmac area from there either! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

 Easy to find site, just follow signs for racecourse. The wardens were very friendly and helpful to us, but there was no relief help and they worked well in excess of their hours, so late and early comers were not welcomed. It is a small site and definitely has two sides to it.
The land is shared/leased from the race course owners and once the small but pleasant grass pitches and hardstandings are gone you have to put up with the tarmac road area of the racecourse. Its surface is breaking up and plain dangerous at night as you cannot see the large potholes. The tar also melts and it is difficult to avoid treading in it.
In our opinion, the Caravan Club should not be using this area, much less charging full pitch price for it. Quite a bit of road noise. Used a lot by local dog walkers and late night larking rowdies who wandered about being a bit of a nuisance. This worried some motor home owners who felt that security was lacking.
Easy walking distance to Warwick castle and town centre with lots of eating and drinking holes.
The toilet block was always clean but in the ladies shower, it was less than satisfactory in that you got the dirty water from the other cubicles washing over you. There is a laundry area. Overall, we felt that this was a site to avoid, unless like us you are desperate to find a pitch in this area for a couple of nights. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jollyvan 5 reviews from this member

 Very convenient site for town centre.  Facilities very clean. I am sure you will be assured of a warm welcome if you turn up after 12 noon but DARE turn up before and park outside the gate and you will be severely reprimanded!  (Rules are rules but there are ways of conveying these).  I feel the staff at this site could benefit from a course in customer relations. There is a car park on the right before you actually get onto the racecourse which is where you are suppose to wait but there are no signs to say this. (We weren't the only one parked outside the gate so obviously this is where people think they have to wait).  Needless to say I will not be visiting this site again - I like a friendly start to my weekend break. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cbeddoes 2 reviews from this member

 On the whole a good site. Toilet block brand new but not happy if you are using the ladies showers as if you happen to be using the end one you get every ones dirty water over your feet not good if peak season. Dog walking is excellent all the space is brilliant. Shame the site could not be a bit bigger. Lighting round the site is good when you want to go off site for a meal.
 
warden not friendly, needs communication lessons
 
p.s not sure the month of my visit is right as stayed at loads of sites last year 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DogsandCo 18 reviews from this member

 Not a pretty site because of its city centre location but unbeatable for convenience if you are visiting Warwick and surrounding area. Some of the pitches are on tarmac by the racetrack which obviously is great if you've come to watch the races, but wouldn't suit everyone. Site is surrounded by common land so there's plenty of off-the-lead dog walking (especially if your dog is sociable - every dog in Warwick walks here). There is also a Sainsbury's supermarket within walking distance so again, very convenient if you need to stock up on supplies. A good stopping off site if you are heading down the motorway towards London or into the Cotswolds. 


Reviewer: Pat Worsfold CLIC

 We had a two night stay on this site.

Good facilities for a racecourse site which has a golf course in the centre and is only a ten minute walk away from the town centre.
Major attraction is Warwick Castle which is highly recommended. An historic and interesting town though as the market square is currently being redeveloped it looked a bit of a mess. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement