Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Nothing to dislike about the site and choice of pitches. We chose non awning and found a lovely position at the back of the site furthest away from the racing track. We would have been as happy on the front tarmac area all the same or on any of the grass pitches.

In my opinion, there was every kind of pitch available to suit every need. The wardens were friendly, hard working and very approachable.

The motorhome service point wasn't situated in the easiest of places and we had to turn our outfit around to use the waste drain. I hope this will be updated to a drive over grid at some point.

We walked some 8 miles there and back from the site to Hatton Locks. Warwick itself sadly I thought was soulless. There was no atmosphere in the town but a caveat to that was the history and architecture which we found interesting and beautiful.

We did walk to the castle but didn't go in as the carpark was heaving with coaches and we didn't fancy battling with crowds of people. We were lucky to experience a day, well afternoon at the races and it was nice to be amongst fellow camc members enjoying the atmosphere without leaving the site.

We would happily visit the site again and maybe use it as a base to visit more of the area as I believe public transport is very good for Stratford upon Avon and Royal Leamington Spa. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed over August bank holiday weekend. Originally booked hardstanding with awning for Fri-Mon but decided last minute to extend stay from Thurs to Tues to avoid traveling on busy days.

Unfortunately we had to book non-awning pitch for Thurs and Mon nights as there were no availability for a hardstanding with awning.

Arrived later than planned there was a sign directing us to the laundry room where we picked up a pack containing info about the site and our pitch number.

Our first pitch was 39 which unfortunately was behind the toilet block which meant we could hear the door banging and the hand dryers frequently.

Met the wardens Jo and Malc the next day when we went to find out when we could move across to our awning pitch. They were lovely, very chatty and friendly, and made a fuss of our dog giving her a treat.

They did their best to try arrange for us to stay on our pitch on the last night rather than move to a non-awning pitch, but unfortunately as they were fully booked it wasn't possible. They showed us the available hardstanding with awning pitches on the map and said just find an empty one that suits you and let us know the number. We found 3 empty ones and moved over at about 10am.

The site was lovely. Surprisingly very quiet and peaceful with lots of open space considering it's in the middle of the town. It says no dog walk on site on the booking page, but although not officially on the site itself there was a long flat walk on the access road that went all round the racecourse.

With loads of bins dotted around. Great for cycling or running as well as dog walkers. There was also loads of open grassland where the dog could be off the lead to play with a ball. There were lots of little paths cutting across the race track which other walkers said led to a woodland area and a canal although we didn't explore these.

The facilities were not the most modern but were very clean. In the ladies there were 3 showers and 2 sinks with privacy curtains. The showers were hot and powerful.

My only issue was that as the shower curtains had been removed the area by the door in the cubicle got very wet and it was hard to get dressed and keep things dry. The site was clean and tidy.

Most campers seemed to be older people, with only one or two families. There was no playpark or anything for children but loads of space around the racecourse for them to play on bikes etc.

Warwick was a 5-10 min walk from the site as was the castle, with lots of little shops, dog friendly cafe, and a Sainsbury's also within walking distance.

We had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Tilted Wig pub sat inside with the dog. We also drove to Hatton Locks (we didn't fancy walking there and back but it would have been possible) and had a breakfast roll and a coffee watching the narrowboats navigate the locks. There was a large pub there too.

On the Saturday night we went the outdoor cinema which was being held in the field behind the site - just a short walk around the hedge with our camp chairs. We thoroughly enjoyed watching Grease, and as a bonus we saw fireworks from the castle in the distance also.

We hired a car for a couple of days from Enterprise, a short walk from the site as we are new to motorhoming and didn't fancy trying to park a large vehicle somewhere unfamiliar until we are a bit more confident.

One day we drove to Diddly Squat, Jeremy Clarkson's farm which was about 45 mins away. My advice would be get there early! It opened at 9:30 we arrived just before opening and queued for an hour. By the time we left the queue had at least doubled.

On Bank holiday Mon we drove to Stratford-upon-Avon and wished we hadn't as it was really crowded everywhere we turned.

On the whole we thought it was a great site, perfect for motorhomers as there was a lot within walking distance. We'd definitely return. 


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DFMids 47 reviews from this member

 Our final visit to Warwick as we have decided not to renew our CMC membership next year

Always been a favourite site for us especially good in winter as the tarmac hardstanding is far better than the gravel especially with a dog

The CMC seem to have become very regimental with their new booking system and rules

We pre booked on the day and arrival was fairly easy although we did have to wait in a line of about a dozen vans, as we had pre paid we did not need to go into reception the male waden checked us in outside

We were talking to several others who were complaining about the new booking system as it it very un flexible. The price has risen steadily making it very poor value for money now

On our last morning the wardens were round literally chasing us off site for 12noon

Such a shame as it is a great site in a lovely location and Warwick is such a lovely little town with great shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Laurenceslater 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this campsite for two nights and as the title suggests found things to like and things we didn't like about it.

The Good - The location of this campsite is fantastic. Just of the M40 motorway with very easy access it provides a perfect base for exploring the Midlands. It is also very close to Warwick town centre, thus enabling us to walk into town for food and drink.

The Bad - Unlike others we found the welcome unfriendly. We were closely watched when whilst parking up (I assume to check we didn't infringe) and when my wife was forced to go around the wrong way (because of two caravans blocking the normal route) were soundly told-off. I don't know if we got the relief staff, but this was not the welcome we expected from a Caravan and Motorhome Club site.

The Ugly - There is no getting away from the fact that half of this campsite is simply a car park which doesn't really look like a campsite. Also, some of facilities appeared in need of updating/a new coat of paint.

Although I would probably use the campsite again it would only be as an on-route stop. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 74 reviews from this member

 His was our first visit to Warwick Racecourse site, so didnít know what to expect. The greeting from the wardens was very friendly and helpful, and were not at all obtrusive during our stay.

The site is quite small, with just over half the pitches on a hard standing or grass, and the others on a tarmac area near the racecourse rail.

Call me old fashioned, but being on a large tarmac area it is not my idea of going away for a relaxing break. It didnít help that it was also the hottest weekend so far, so the heat radiated up from the tarmac making it unbearable during the day and evening.

A top tip is before you arrive, check if there is anything on at the racecourse. When we got here there was a Thai celebration of culture, with extremely loud music that would have given Glasto a run for its money!

It did finish early evening but it would have been good to know if it was on and make arrangements to be out during the day.

Didnít try any pubs or restaurants in Warwick, but we walk up past the 21 Hatton locks on the Great union Canal and stopped for brunch at a great cafe at the top lock.

Warwick castle is well worth a visit using the club discount when pre booking.

If you do go make sure you make time for the falconry show, itís superb.

I would use this site again as a halfway stop if I was going to somewhere else, or for sure if coming racing 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 39 reviews from this member

 We used this site for an overnight stop as we get our caravan serviced in nearby Leek Wooton.

Nice that the wardens called us to see if we were ok as we missed our intended arrival time losing ourselves in Kenilworth castle.

Nice welcome and great facilities. We were able to park by the side of the course to avoid unhitching.

If you have previously used this site and walked into Warwick to buy your dinner from M&S, like we have, be warned, it has closed but the Sainsburys is still there, 5 minute walk along the race track in the direction of the golf centre. 


Date of Visit: December 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Well placed site inside racecourse.

Amenity blocks clean but need updating.

Warwick centre & castle are about 20 minutes walk away. Hatton Country world is a short drive away & worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David8858 4 reviews from this member

 I booked 4 nights here about 6 months prior to the visit. As we have been mainly staying on private sites or Camping and Caravan club sites I neglected to book a pitch with awning. We have stayed at this site on a couple of other occasions hence the return visit.

We were greeted on book in by a none too welcoming warden who pointedly told me I had booked a non awning pitch. They claimed to be fully booked however during our stay on each of the 4 nights there were awning pitches free. No attempt was made to accommodate our wish for an upgrade.

On finding a pitch which was shingle, my wife returned to the office to say that she was not happy staying on the equivalent of a parking slot, and could anything be done. The male warden was placatory Ď weíre busy- small site etcí, and suggested that we look around the site for another non awning pitch to move to the next day, and present ourselves to the office at 9. 15 am ( this was our holiday) to try and nab one. Another person behind her was in the same position. We didnít move, no benefit as other pitches would have been non awning and shingle or tarmac.

Also on check in we were informed that there would not be any site facilities available whilst the toilet blocks were closed for cleaning and that we had to use our own facilities during this period.

There was a Disabled facility on site but this was not made available as is the normal practice elsewhere on the Caravan Club site network or indeed on Camping and Caravan club and private sites. This may not be an issue for most but it was for us as my wife has IBS and can require the use of a loo at very short notice.

During our stay we spoke to a couple of motorhome owners who had been instructed to put their vehicles on the pitch forwards because they had continental doors. As is the custom on caravan and motorhome club sites you are required to pitch car caravan awning and this was strictly enforced with the exception of the motorhome on pitch 30 who was there for the duration of our stay and had arranged his continentally configured motorhome which had been reversed onto the pitch in an awning, motorhome, car configuration in direct contravention of CMC rules.

Site is ideally placed with easy access to Warwick. Toilet blocks were tired and require upgrading. Warden could benefit from a customer care course as the attitude we encountered would not have been tolerated in any customer facing business I have ever worked for!

We have stayed on many a private site and also Camping and Caravan club sites where they manage not to close the toilet block entirely for an hour a day. I donít understand why this isnít possible for Caravan and Motorhome club in the 21st century when others manage to achieve it without difficulty.

I am posting this here as despite an email invitation from Caravan and Motorhome club asking me to provide a review the tab to do this existed until I logged in at which point it vanished. CMC club website could also do with improvement.  


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Saraha 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, arrived late but no problems

Staff really helpful, knowledgeable and friendly,

All facilities were clean.

Lovely site would stay again without hesitation 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on the racecourse.

Friendly welcome, clean facilities and powerful showers.

Close to town centre and castle. Shower blocks are dated but otherwise good.

Will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement