Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 17 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on the racecourse.

Friendly welcome, clean facilities and powerful showers.

Close to town centre and castle. Shower blocks are dated but otherwise good.

Will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Anphro 7 reviews from this member

 Selected this site purely for geographical location related to trips out - lots of sights in the area.

We are not in the M&CC (we're in the other one as it gets us cheaper insurance) which makes the MCC sites more expensive.

The site is compact, seems to be in the middle of the racecourse, so not very scenic or spacious, but level and good quality pitches.

Despite the small size, not easy to find water pipe and waste disposal was quite a walk from our pitch.

My first MCC visit, and not expecting to be told exactly how to park my caravan/car, but this is their way, I prefer a larger, spacious site with more casual arrangements. Staff were efficient and friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richard61 6 reviews from this member

 Good site with easy walking distance to Warwick town centre.

Spotless toilet block cleaned to a very high standard every day. Showers as powerful as a power shower.

Good friendly managers, canít fault the site highly recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: John4703 14 reviews from this member

 This is our second time at this site. The fact that we returned shows that we like it.

It is a fairly small site and is well looked after. We were welcomed by a very friendly warden who said the site was nearly full so we had only two pitches to choose from. The one we are on is lovely, the other looked fine as well.

The site is well looked after, the grass and hedges are neat and tidy and the toilet blocks are very clean.

The site is close to the town with a few pubs and restaurants within a short walk from the site.

We are now working out when we want to come again as it is such a good site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 22 reviews from this member

 Good location close to centre of Warwick which can be reached on foot in 5 minutes. Large supermarket nearby and a pub.

Mixed pitches on grass and hard standing. Some pitches run along side race track and others face away from the stands. As site is open on 3 sides can be quite windy when it blows across the course.

Strict curfew on arrival time and other times and rules vary on race days for example exercising of dogs.

For a site of 58 pitches I feel that 3 showers and 3 toilet cubicles in the mensí side could lead to some waiting when the site is full. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 This is an update of my 2013 Review

To Find Site:- Leave M40 at junction 15 and take A429 towards Warwick. In about a mile watch for a left turn into Shakespeare Avenue signed to the Racecourse. At the end of the road turn right into Hampton Street. Continue past Racecourse Stands and turn left into Bread and Meat Close, from here the entrance to the site is in view across the racecourse. If coming from the Coventry direction on the A46 bypass continue to junction 15 and then as above to avoid coming through town.

The Warwick Racecourse site is convenient as itís quite a short walk into the town. Like all racecourse sites it does not quite match up to the normal standard of Club sites but this one probably comes a bit closer. There are 58 pitches on a mix of grass, gravel hardstandings and tarmac.

When booking the non-awning pitches they are generally on hardstandings, stone or tarmac, check out the site plan on the CMC website. Depending on conditions motorhome are usually accommodated on the hardstandings. Electric points are convenient to pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors.

The main facilities are located in the reception building including a small laundry room which doubles up as an information point and behind the office is the toilet/shower block which whilst kept perfectly clean is of an older design. A semi enclosed washing up area, but only one sink, fresh, waste water and toilet waste points are situated around the outside of this building.

This is only service point on site but there is another tap at the other end of the site. For motorhomes there is a grey water dump point, unfortunately with a heavy metal drain cover which has to be lifted. It is also slightly awkwardly situated if an adjacent pitch is in use. Additionally there is a tap for refilling fresh water tanks. Recycling provision is at the site entrance. There is no WiFi on site, the 4G is reasonable as an alternative. Access to the site will be restricted on Race Days and dates are published on the CMC website.

The major advantage of this site is its close proximity to the centre of Warwick which is a short walk away and the Castle a little further on. If visiting the Castle it is cheaper to buy the tickets online beforehand rather than on the gate. There are many restaurants and takeaways in the town. For food shopping there is an M&S Food store near the Bus Station and a larger Sainsburys within walking distance.

For excursions further afield Royal Leamington Spa, Stratford upon Avon and Coventry are within reach by public transport. The actual Racecourse provides the opportunities for walks and for exercising dogs. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 664DaveS 33 reviews from this member

 A fairly small site conveniently situated on Warwick Racecourse, check on website for racedays as access is restricted, and some pitches not available.

There is a range of awning(grass) pitches and non awning which are hard standings or tarmac.

Some grass pitches are tight for long vans.

We received a friendly welcome and were given a choice of pitches.

Facilities are clean with plenty of hot water.

The site has plenty of walks as you can walk around the racecourse area, wwhere there is a 9 hole golf course and plenty of open spaces for dogs.

Its a short walk to the lovely town centre with a good choice of pub, shops and restaurants.

There is parking in town but limited and not free! We just walked into town.

There is a fairly large Sainsburys five minutes walk from the site.

Buses run from outside the site or from the centre bus station. There are frequent services to Coventry, Leamington Spa and Stratford.

Warwick Castle is within walking distance, worth a visit.

The site is a few miles from the M40 so is used for night stops

Its location makes it great for motorhomers as the town is so close. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

 Excellent location for stop off from M40. Well located for the town centre and Sainsbury's. Toilet and shower facilities clean and functional but a bit tired and not quite usual Caravan Club standard. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 27 reviews from this member

 Good location for visiting Warwick, but site felt quite regimented and even though our motorhome was less than 7m we still struggled to fit onto the pitch we were allocated without overhanging the road.

We chose this site because we wanted to use a free site voucher but when we tried to pay with it we were very rudely told that being a racecourse site they don't accept them and that we should have already (somehow!) known this (it wasn't mentioned on the voucher itself).

The site facilities would have been ok for a site about half the price, but were not up to par considering the price we paid. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevor57 58 reviews from this member

 This is a nice little site on the outskirts of Warwick with easy access from the M40 (follow Club route instructions in site book). Shower block although small and a bit dated is kept very clean. There are hardstanding (gravel or tarmac) non-awning pitches or grass pitches if you want to put up an awning. Wardens were very nice and polite and keep the site looking good.

For Motorhome owners we should mention that the waste emptying point was not easy to access and could do with re-designing but this is not the first time or probably the last that we will come across this on campsites. We do wish campsites would give a bit of thought to the users.

You can walk into the centre of Warwick in less than 10 mins where there are numerous pubs, restaurants, shops, tea rooms and bars but unlike most places these days a lot of them are independent and not part of a chain. We had an excellent evening meal in the Tilted Wig Pub (it is not called the Twisted Wig as a reviewer below has stated) however we would recommend booking if you want to eat inside. There is also a large outdoor area in front of the pub as it is on the square which would be very nice in summer I expect.

We visited Warwick Castle which was very good but a warning to those of you who are not easily parted with your cash Ė it is expensive! but if you have kids or grandkids it is a must. The Club however had two-for-one vouchers in the Information Room so this will help. We also visited the Canal Trust and walked all around the Town. There are also gardens to visit but we ran out of time.

We would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Warwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement