Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Warwick > Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Warwick Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hampton Street
Warwick
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV34 6HN
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 02/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theothertwin 11 reviews from this member

Good location close to centre of Warwick which can be reached on foot in 5 minutes. Large supermarket nearby and a pub.

Mixed pitches on grass and hard standing. Some pitches run along side race track and others face away from the stands. As site is open on 3 sides can be quite windy when it blows across the course.

Strict curfew on arrival time and other times and rules vary on race days for example exercising of dogs.

For a site of 58 pitches I feel that 3 showers and 3 toilet cubicles in the mens’ side could lead to some waiting when the site is full.
via mobile

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 214 reviews from this member

This is an update of my 2013 Review

To Find Site:- Leave M40 at junction 15 and take A429 towards Warwick. In about a mile watch for a left turn into Shakespeare Avenue signed to the Racecourse. At the end of the road turn right into Hampton Street. Continue past Racecourse Stands and turn left into Bread and Meat Close, from here the entrance to the site is in view across the racecourse. If coming from the Coventry direction on the A46 bypass continue to junction 15 and then as above to avoid coming through town.

The Warwick Racecourse site is convenient as it’s quite a short walk into the town. Like all racecourse sites it does not quite match up to the normal standard of Club sites but this one probably comes a bit closer. There are 58 pitches on a mix of grass, gravel hardstandings and tarmac. When booking the non-awning pitches they are generally on hardstandings, stone or tarmac, check out the site plan on the CMC website. Depending on conditions motorhome are usually accommodated on the hardstandings. Electric points are convenient to pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors.

The main facilities are located in the reception building including a small laundry room which doubles up as an information point and behind the office is the toilet/shower block which whilst kept perfectly clean is of an older design. A semi enclosed washing up area, but only one sink, fresh, waste water and toilet waste points are situated around the outside of this building. This is only service point on site but there is another tap at the other end of the site. For motorhomes there is a grey water dump point, unfortunately with a heavy metal drain cover which has to be lifted. It is also slightly awkwardly situated if an adjacent pitch is in use. Additionally there is a tap for refilling fresh water tanks. Recycling provision is at the site entrance. There is no WiFi on site, the 4G is reasonable as an alternative. Access to the site will be restricted on Race Days and dates are published on the CMC website.

The major advantage of this site is its close proximity to the centre of Warwick which is a short walk away and the Castle a little further on. If visiting the Castle it is cheaper to buy the tickets online beforehand rather than on the gate. There are many restaurants and takeaways in the town. For food shopping there is an M&S Food store near the Bus Station and a larger Sainsburys within walking distance. For excursions further afield Royal Leamington Spa, Stratford upon Avon and Coventry are within reach by public transport. The actual Racecourse provides the opportunities for walks and for exercising dogs.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 30 reviews from this member

A fairly small site conveniently situated on Warwick Racecourse, check on website for racedays as access is restricted, and some pitches not available.

There is a range of awning(grass) pitches and non awning which are hard standings or tarmac.

Some grass pitches are tight for long vans.

We received a friendly welcome and were given a choice of pitches.

Facilities are clean with plenty of hot water.

The site has plenty of walks as you can walk around the racecourse area, wwhere there is a 9 hole golf course and plenty of open spaces for dogs.

Its a short walk to the lovely town centre with a good choice of pub, shops and restaurants.

There is parking in town but limited and not free! We just walked into town.

There is a fairly large Sainsburys five minutes walk from the site.

Buses run from outside the site or from the centre bus station. There are frequent services to Coventry, Leamington Spa and Stratford.

Warwick Castle is within walking distance, worth a visit.

The site is a few miles from the M40 so is used for night stops

Its location makes it great for motorhomers as the town is so close.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

Excellent location for stop off from M40. Well located for the town centre and Sainsbury's. Toilet and shower facilities clean and functional but a bit tired and not quite usual Caravan Club standard.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 41 reviews from this member

This is a nice little site on the outskirts of Warwick with easy access from the M40 (follow Club route instructions in site book). Shower block although small and a bit dated is kept very clean. There are hardstanding (gravel or tarmac) non-awning pitches or grass pitches if you want to put up an awning. Wardens were very nice and polite and keep the site looking good.

For Motorhome owners we should mention that the waste emptying point was not easy to access and could do with re-designing but this is not the first time or probably the last that we will come across this on campsites. We do wish campsites would give a bit of thought to the users.

You can walk into the centre of Warwick in less than 10 mins where there are numerous pubs, restaurants, shops, tea rooms and bars but unlike most places these days a lot of them are independent and not part of a chain. We had an excellent evening meal in the Tilted Wig Pub (it is not called the Twisted Wig as a reviewer below has stated) however we would recommend booking if you want to eat inside. There is also a large outdoor area in front of the pub as it is on the square which would be very nice in summer I expect.

We visited Warwick Castle which was very good but a warning to those of you who are not easily parted with your cash – it is expensive! but if you have kids or grandkids it is a must. The Club however had two-for-one vouchers in the Information Room so this will help. We also visited the Canal Trust and walked all around the Town. There are also gardens to visit but we ran out of time.

We would highly recommend this site and would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Helenmears 5 reviews from this member

Our second visit here for an overnight on our way north. Very convenient as less than 2 miles from M40. A 10 min stroll takes you into the heart of Warwick with an abundance of eateries and pubs plus of course the castle. You can walk from the site to the canal (we didn't have time to do this ourselves) and the walk around the racecourse itself is a nice stroll. Facilities are smaller and more dated than at some CC sites but as always were spotlessly clean with plenty of hot water. The wardens here provide a very warm welcome, one of the friendliest we have had on the network. All in all highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueboy2 9 reviews from this member

The site is a gem. Its actually on the racecourse and just a short walk to town. Loads of eating places, we went to Chopstix and Giovsnni's both excellent food. Walking distance to the castle which was well worth a visit. Leamington Spa just a short drive away is also worth a visit. National Trust sites within a few miles.

Site is not very big and the washrooms small but up to the usual caravan club standard.

Would definitely go again.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 73 reviews from this member

We spent 2 nights there as it was convenient for a visit to the NEC motorhome show.

On arrival I was told that we had booked a grass pitch. This was unknown to me and I've never fully understood the Caravan Club differentiation between pitches with or without awning. I'd booked the last available pitch which was one with an awning (even though we don't use one) and all became clear as the grass pitches could take an awning and the tarmac pitches couldn't!

Yes, that's right the non-awning pitches are on tarmac, which I believe is used as a car park when races are held. Obvious now.

Anyway, the 'van ahead moved on to a corner pitch and we set up alongside. We'd already connected up and were having lunch whilst the other folk were still manoeuvring their motorhome back and to. In the end they moved elsewhere and another motorhome moved on to the corner pitch. Some time later, they too moved off and it transpired that the pitch was very boggy and they kept sinking.

So be warned where you set up.

Anyway, the new wardens were very friendly and chatty and the facilities were fine.

We visited the Mill gardens, which were a delight and ate in ASK, where the food and atmosphere was rather disappointing.

I think it's a good site, location wise, if you're visiting for something specific, it's just not one of the CC's most glamorous sites, but it is excellent value.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 27 reviews from this member

A warm welcome from the Wardens. Clean Facilities. Good Location. Excellent dog walking area.

We visited Warwick Castle, it is best avoided during the school holidays. It is a pity Merlin do not look after the artefacts as well as the National Trust do.

Lord Leycester Hospital, is worth a visit and much information can be provided by the lovely gentlemen who are on the reception desk and live there. Be aware it may be closed some afternoons and evenings due to private hire.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol Jean 21 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 days at this site. It was very unusual being next to a racecourse! But there are only about 21 race days a year so never saw any races. The site was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. We like to do a bit of easy cycling on the flat and the wardens have directions already printed out for the cycle ride to Hatton locks. It was so easy to get to. I think it was about 2 miles to the canal and maybe another 2 miles along the many locks. We had lunch in a nice café there by the canal. It was also easy to cycle around Warwick. Warwick is lovely. It is so compact and easy to walk around and see everything. We visited the Mill Street open garden which was idyllic and had a great view of the castle and I also visited the Hill Close gardens which are just outside the entrance to the site. We didn’t go inside the castle this time. I thought you could walk around the grounds for free but you have to pay - but it is a stupendous castle! St Nicholas Park is lovely and has everything that you would need –lots of amusement for children there –and again it is within easy walking distance from the site. We hired a motor boat on the river. We enjoyed having a drink in the Market Square. When the sun was shining we preferred to sit outside Wetherspoons or the Twisted Wig as Rose and Crown was in the shade but we did go there one evening. We ate at Spice Hut in Market Place –it was ok but not very spicy. We went to Micatto restaurant in the Market Place –nice food if you don’t mind being ripped off! Next time we go we will try the many restaurants on Smith Street. We went to the New Bowling Green pub on St Nicholas Street as that had a nice beer garden at the back.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019