Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trevarrack Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Little Trevarrack Holiday Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Trevarrack Holiday Park
Laity Lane
Carbis Bay
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2013

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolycomb 6 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this site by someone who said it was the best campsite that they had ever been to and, to be fair, they probably weren't far off the mark.

The welcome was friendly and efficient and our pitch was a good size, well drained, surrounded by hedges and immaculately kept - as were pretty well all the others that I saw (we were in Cadgwith).

It does get windy as this site is very high up - to guage which way the wind is going to blow take a look at the trees at the top of the site before pitching if your tent.

The pool was as good as it looks in the pictures, although only the children went in as it looked a little chilly and the weather was hardly balmy.

The showers and toilets were as described by many - ie lots of them, plenty of hot water and pretty clean. However, I would make a couple of points.

(1) Although the showers were cleaned thoroughly each day, as soon as the first person had used them they were then dirty as there was no mop available to clean up hairs, talc etc.

(2) The staff were wandering around during peak periods cleaning the floor and wash basins and counters after people which helped. But I am sure that they weren't supposed to be using the same old towel to wipe the basins and counters as they used to also wipe the floor! Furthermore, if they had had a mop to hand to mop out the changing areas of the showers in between users, that would have helped too. A nice touch though was that you could use your own hairdryer and there was plenty of space to do so.

The washing up facilities were very good with plenty of very hot water and ample sinks - we rarely had to queue.

On the whole it was a very comfortable site and largely pretty quiet - the staff were very hot on implementing the no noise after 11pm rule which was appreciated. Although we backed onto Godrevy field and a lot of the parties there were very noisy before 11pm. If we went again I think we would want to be along the back hedge of Cadgwith - farmland and the wind behind with a great view plus the benefit of all day sun.

Finally we would say that it would have been handy to have had a shop on site - even if reception stocked milk it would be a start. That said Costcutters is a 3 min drive away and Tescos not much further.

With regards to the area - don't even think of just driving into St Ives in the hope of finding a parking space as you won't. The site's bus service is excellent, as is the train service from Carbis Bay.

If you do want to park in St Ives we found that the Rugby club on the far side of town was the best and cheapest - they run a park and ride service every 15 mins to Porthmoer Beach.

To get to this without sitting in a traffic jam or driving through the winding streets of the town you need to turn right out of the campsite, follow your nose to the next t-junction and turn right again, follow the road for a mile or so and turn right again at the next t-junction and then right again and next t-junction.

You are now in St Ives. Follow the road as it begins to descend and look for the sign on the left for the Rugby Club.

If you are looking for surf we found Gwythian to be the best beach for this (go back to Hayle and follow signs - approx 15 min drive). However, if you want a beautiful white sand beach and calm torquiose sea then Carbis Bay is the place. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scot.cradden 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic, friendly and safe campsite, Camera's at every exit ensuring it's a kid friendly and safe site, clubhouse is cool.

Stayed here in my old VW van and didn't have far to go for good surf, there was individual plots for vans, also stayed here in a tent loads of times, Cannot fault the site at all.

First stayed at this here in 1993 and have always loved it.

I recommend this campsite to everyone (we walked the short distance to Carbis bay, but it's on a killer steep hill ).  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyandSara 3 reviews from this member

 This site is really well maintained and the staff were very helpful during our stay.

The pitch we were allocated was right at the top of the site although it was a trek (the site is very large) we had the most amazing view across the bay. The pitch was huge and there was plenty of room to lounge around outside our tent and park the car right next to it.

The hedges around the pitch give it shelter and privacy. We were right next to a footpath that goes all the way to St Michaels mount that goes through the site and the walkers never bothered us as the site have planted tall conifers by the side of the pitch to screen the path.

The facilities are spotless there was a small block near to our pitch which were cleaned daily and a seemingly endless supply of hot water for the showers. The washing up facilities were indoors (A new experience for us).

The reception area had plenty of information and the staff were brilliant in looking up the address and phone number of a restaurant we wanted to go to. The games room was a handy place to pass the time whilst waiting for the very reasonably priced bus (£1. 75) that runs from the campsite to St Ives.

We didn't use the laundry area but it had everything we would have required if needed. The pool area looked lovely but again we didn't get a chance to use it.

The walk into Carbis Bay is a very steep one but we did find a foot path that kept us off the main roads when walking back in the dark and made the whole trip out much more of an adventure!

All in all a great place to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Racky123 1 review from this member

 Being novice campers (our party consisting of 3 adults - husband and wife combo + wife's mother, no children) this was our first week-long camping experience and naturally, we were a little apprehensive about what to expect.

However, the reception staff were friendly and gave us useful information about the site on arrival. A word of warning though - as you drive onto the site, beware of the very harsh speed bumps along the road leading through the campsite! If you have a car fully loaded with camping gear like we did, you run the risk of your car bottoming out!

Our pitch with electric hook-up was spacious and afforded room to park the car beside our 6-man tent. Unfortunately we didn't have a sea view which would have been lovely, and I think that the website would benefit from stating which pitches do have sea views in order to aid people in making their pitch choice.

A plus point is that low hedgerow do separate most pitches, which is good for privacy and establishing boundaries.

The campsite was well laid out, tidy, quiet, with an ample number of very clean/warm showers and toilets in the main block. The heated, clean outdoor pool with sun terrace was lovely and refreshing on our first two days when the sun was shining, but due to the weather changing for the remainder of the week, it unfortunately didn't get much use from us thereafter!

On one particular day mid-week when we were very concerned about the spectacularly severe winds battering our tent, the reception staff again were helpful, offering to let us move pitch to a less 'open' and windy pitch, but we weathered the storm and thankfully, woke up the following morning still in the campsite and not in the Land of Oz

The bus (single adult faire £1. 75) that runs regularly in high season to/from the campsite into St. Ives is a big plus point, as the campsite is a fair way-away from St Ives. This bus service thankfully saved us from having a very long walk to the town, even though the cost of regular bus journeys did add up. However, Carbis Bay beach is walk-able if you don't mind a 30-40 minute walk one-way down/up a very steep hill.

The only other slight downside for us was the lack of a shop on site - this would be a valuable addition. However, if you don't mind not having beaches / shops / cafes / pubs / restaurants on your doorstep and don't mind taking either a long walk, a bus journey or driving a short distance for them, we would recommend this site given all the other good points that have been highlighted, plus it is a good base for exploring lots of other pretty sites in and around this stretch of Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daddymap 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 5 days and couldn't really fault the site.

The staff were nice and helpful and the pitch we were given was plenty big enough for our 7m x 5m tent. All the pitches on the site appeared to have a wall/hedgerow around each pitch which makes each one feel a bit more private.

We were a bit far from the nearest shower block (about 100m I guess), but I suppose that's the luck of the draw (you can only book a pitch if you stay for 7 days). However, showers were nice and clean and hot and were cleaned every day.

The Play area was good for our two and the swimming pool was a real bonus.

As for the surrounding area, St. Ives is a beautiful area with some lovely beaches, but don't even think about trying to drive into the town on a busy day - parking is a nightmare. Use the Park and ride from the site, which is cheaper than parking anyway, or if you do drive, park at the leisure centre (I eventually went back to the centre after looking for a space for 1 1/2 hours!)

If you are feeling flush go to the Italian restaurant near the site ('Casita' I think) where I had the biggest tiger prawns I have ever had! My wife is still wanting to go back to have the lasagne again. Also If you want fish and chips go to the one just past the italian (turn right at the cross roads and it's on you left). Not cheap but the best you'll ever have.

In summary, we could not fault the site, it's just a shame that it's over 5 hours from where we live, else we'd be going back more often. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greengael 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Little Trevarrack and overall had a very positive experience here. Although quite expensive compared to some of the farm camping in the area, it really is a world apart: at the end of the day, you get what you pay for.

The pitches were huge, and were able to accommodate even the largest tents. The whole site was immaculately kept, especially the toilets and showers which were cleaned perhaps up to three times a day during peak times. They are quite possibly the best facilities I have used in any campsite. In the gentsí side, there was always a free toilet or shower, while on the ladiesí side my wife occasionally had a short wait during the busiest times. I am sure that every gent reading this is as mystified as I am about this phenomenon!

As mentioned previously, there are fantastic play areas for the children: ball-playing areas, playgrounds, and the swimming pool, which was surprisingly large and quite warm, even on one of the colder days.

There is a Costcutter Minimarket within walking distance of the campsite, although we did not encounter the shop-van which came around last year. Tescoís is less than 5 minutes drive away.

We stayed for the best part of two weeks: one just prior to the main school holidays with our second week coinciding with the deluge of families that this entails and the site copes very well with the hike in numbers.

The site is a little out of the way at the top of a very exposed hill (when the wind blows you will know about it!) but the bus service into St Ives is brilliant and we thoroughly enjoyed our evenings in town. There are plenty of local beaches to choose from: Carbis Bay is about a fifteen minute walk down a very steep hill (which means at least an hour and fifteen minutes walk to get back to the site!); while there are three very different beaches in St Ives itself: Porthminster, which is a sheltered, family beach, Porthmeor which is popular for body boarding and surfing, and Porthgwidden at the far end of the town. Casting the net a little further afield, there are two of the nicest beaches in Cornwall, if not Britain less than 45 minutes away: Porthcurno, a little past Penzance, and Kynance Cove, near Lizard Point.

The only issue I had with the site was with regarding to their booking system. We didnít book, as I have been camping all over the world for twelve years and have never booked a campsite in my life. That in itself wasnít a problem: this site is huge and they had plenty of space. The only problem is that I did not specify a length of time when I arrived (personally I like to be flexible with my travels, if I like a place I will stay for longer, if not I move on) and when I asked to extend my time at the site I was told that there was a booking made for my pitch for the first day of the school holidays and that I had to move to a different pitch.

The staff were friendly enough: they did check to see if it was possible to move the booking but the other group had requested that particular pitch. Like I say, irritating but not a big deal at the end of the day: just make sure if you arrive ad hoc without a booking that you are clear about how many days you will be staying for.

Overall a very good site, and we will likely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vwmrytle 6 reviews from this member

 It was low season when we stayed at this site. So nice and quiet, my concern would be that at peak times there would not be enough facilities for example showers, toilets and washing up sinks etc. I could see you would spend a lot of time waiting.

It is a short walk to the train station to travel into St Ives or alternatively to the coastal path to walk into St Ives - which I can highly recommend.

The site and facilities and very clean and well maintained.

The site has high tech security gates but they are closed at 23. 30 and not opened again until 06:30 so if you are out in your campervan you have to return by 23:30 or spend a night parked on their car park.

During our stay we had cause to speak to the reception who were very friendly and helpful and sort a workable solution to our problem.

I would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juju2501 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site for 7 nights in the May school holidays and we couldn't fault it. Large tent, 3 children and two adults.

We are very new to camping and the whole experience was enjoyable and settled our worries.

Brilliant facilities, ample showers, toilets and pot-washing areas. Heated outdoor pool, games room for older kids. Bus that went into St ives and very reasonable. £4 for us all each way, Taxi costs about £7-60 so not too bad.

The site is so well looked after, I don't understand the other comments about bin emptying and the man coming round early to check if you had gone in time on the day you left - surely these are all signs of a well organised site.

We will be going back, again and again and I would recommend to anyone. St ives is truly amazing and I cant wait to return.

Any negatives. Maybe one. No on site shop. A little shop for milk and papers would have completed it. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev+jo 5 reviews from this member

 We have a large outwell vermont xl tent we are a family of 5 and camp on a regular basis. Can not fault this site staff are extremely friendly the site is spotless, toilets and showers some of the best we have seen, bins emptied every day, even the grass is cut with a mower that collects the cuttings as it goes along so no grass in tent! The pitch we had was more than big enough even for our tent and our trailer & landrover. The pool really lovely only slight negative to many older children on park but that's more parents not watching their children rather than the sites fault. Would highly recommend the bus service perfect for a hastle free visit to St Ives.

This site is really well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johughes72 6 reviews from this member

 We have just had the best holiday EVER in Cornwall.

The site is beautifully maintained, clean and well manicured! The hedges between pitches are a great touch!

The shower blocks are large, clean and with 10 showers and 10 toilets, any queue soon goes. Showers are hot. My only moan is that all the mirrors are far too low, and whilst there is a long 'dressing table' there was only one chair, and one hair dryer! Take your own as there is always someone using it!

Large playing field for ball games was great, and the laundry facilities were very quick and cheap, so it was easy to keep towels dry etc. Reception sells washing tablets but closes at 6pm, so get them in advance!

Plenty of freezer space for ice blocks but if this is a new concept to you as it was to us, keep your blocks tied in a carrier bag - but not a TESCO bag!, and name everything. When faced with loads of TESCO bags and blue blocks - finding yours in impossible and ours went missing for several days!

Downside was the pool closing at 6pm - many people only came back about then after a day out.

Small playground, and all closed in so safe for kids of all ages. Some pitches slope, and those nearest the shower blocks suffered from the shower block door slamming shut (on a spring). 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2282 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement