Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Trevarrack Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Little Trevarrack Holiday Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Trevarrack Holiday Park
Laity Lane
Carbis Bay
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2013

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulZ 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just after the bank holiday and it was clearly getting towards the end of the season with only a few tents on the top camping field. We loved the secluded pitches surrounded by hedges and the views of the bay were magnificent. With so few other visitors, it was a very peaceful stay.

The facility block coped fine during our visit but I suspect would struggle when the site is much busier - there is only 1 shower and 2 basins but the main block in the main part of the site has more (we didn't use this so can't comment).

Many of the pitches have a bit of a slope so could be a bit of a problem with bigger tents.

The staff were very friendly and helpful although I sympathise with what another reviewer said about being read a long list of rules on arrival - it is a bit off-putting!

There is nowhere to buy provisions in the immediate vicinity - it's about a 15-20 minute walk to a shop.

We really enjoyed staying here and would go again. But I would avoid it at peak times (bank holidays and early August) because of the limited facilities.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baileybob 6 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. Loved it when we arrived on a sat in Aug summer hols, it was so quiet and peaceful and that's how it stayed the whole time we were there despite the site being nearly full. The toilets and showers were lovely and clean, never had to wait for a shower and the water was always hot. The whole site is immaculately kept and although we had a fair bit of rain the pitches never became boggy, they are so well cared for. There is a bus into st ives in the summer which is very handy. Also about a 15 min walk to Carbis bay beach which is stunning and one of my favourite beaches on cornwall. The wardens do a brilliant job here and clearly enjoy what they do and without a doubt we will be booking again for next year 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to be with our son and family as we wouldn’t normally stay in a family campsite in August. I was pleasantly surprised that although the site was busy I never had the feeling of being crowded and never needed to queue for the showers. Although the site is well run and maintained we all had the feeling that the owners had provided the bare minimum to justify the fees charged.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tjokane 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site during the first week of summer holidays. Had the best weather of the whole 6 week holiday. What can I say beautiful site, extremely clean and very quiet considering it was the school holidays. Not too large or too small, swimming pool very clean but a bit too chilly for me. This didn't seem to worry the kids though. Absolutely loved it. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickersx 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site during the double bank holiday. Upon arrival we were immediately put off this site! After the initial 'hello' and 'welcome' this was followed by a very long list of rules, very long! We were also charged for having a porch to our tent, which was a first. They also charge extra for gazebos.

Although the pitch was of a good size, it was very uneven; the majority of pitches are on a slope.

For the size of site, I feel that there could be more toilet and shower facilities.

On the plus side, the site is very well maintained, clean and tidy. The toilet and showers are very clean with plenty of hot water and good pressure. The down side is that they are closed for several hours in the afternoons for cleaning!

Site security is very good with CCTV and number plate entry recognition.

The location is very good for nearby St Ives and beaches. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynndilooloo 7 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd stay here. First stay we had pitch 99 which is largest on site. This wasn't available for 2nd visit so we were offered pitch 100 which is opposite 99 and was told this was a large pitch too.

However on pitching up in pouring rain a warden told us we couldn't use the full pitch as half of it was reserved for tents! If you look at the website and the map given to us on registering it clearly shows the boundary is the same as pitch 99!

Don't be fooled when booking pitch 100 as it isn't as it looks on website and map! This is very misleading and wrong. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taybine 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the end of August beginning of September 2011 and had a great time. The staff were friendly from the moment we got there and gave us loads of local information even down to a shortcut to get the beach.

Even though there were lots of children on the site, in the evening if was so quiet and the view of the sea was magnificent.

The toilets and showers were clean and tidy and our pitch was surrounded by hedges which sheltered it and gave us that bit more privacy.

We didn't use the pool but had a look at it and next time we go, we shall be using it.

We didn't catch the bus as it was such a lovely walk to St Ives and as we weren't in any rush we took our time and enjoyed the scenery.

Great area, great site and highly recommended and yes we are going again next year, already made plans to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Urabus 8 reviews from this member

 Once we got over the confusion at the entrance (you have to park before the gate), the check-in staff were helpful, courteous and directed us straight to our pitch.

Our pitch was well maintained with hedges on 3 sides and plenty of room for our (large) tent and the car.

Loos and showers were good and well cared for, I only once had to queue for a shower despite it being the height of the school holiday season.

The pool area is secluded and the pool itself is good. It would benefit from a shallow end as the toddlers pool was too shallow for our 6-year old and the main pool too deep. The play area was good, it could do with a bit more parent seating though. The separate ball-games area was most welcome.

The dog-walking area was a bonus but this would have benefited from a fence and gate so that dogs could be let off the lead. There are also some good walks along the local lanes and footpaths.

We would recommend the bus service from the site car park into St Ives - much better than paying for parking and then having to walk in anyway.

The views for the site are great but this does mean that it can be a bit windy. The hedges do help with cutting down some of the wind.

If we visit Cornwall again we will consider staying here as we had a great time. We will however travel mid-week or out of season to avoid the carpark on the A30 and M5! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljswm153 4 reviews from this member

 Booked online for 4 might stay beginning Sunday 28th August 2011. The directions to the site take you down some very narrow roads where on certain parts only allow 1 car passing.

However as I have family who live in Hayle we were directed the back way into the site which has a more accommodating road especially for the larger vehicle.

We were greeted by a friendly male attendant at reception and a not so friendly female receptionist. He gave us all the information we needed about the site and what pitch we had been allocated (shame you cant book your pitch as purchase stage).

The pitch (non electric) was a great size and more than adequate for my 6 berth tent and canopy. Eager to explore we ventured down to the toilet and shower block which I have to say is probably 1 of the best I've seen and used.

There were 9 shower cubicles, 9 toilets and 9 wash basins with a separate area for hair drying and titivating with 4 large mirrors along 1 wall with electric points at every mirror and chairs at each mirror. The wash up area consisted of 8 outdoor sinks with plenty of hot (too hot at times) water. There was another shower/toilet block facility just behind our plot but this looked and felt inferior to the newer modern block we tended to use.

Plenty of water taps dotted around the site, almost 1 tap per 10 pitches. The only down side being that in the plots that are non electric there is no night time lighting provided by the site so can be very hazardous when taking a trip to the loo in the depths of the night.

The kids park/ play area was large enough to keep my 6 year old happy for a good hour or so and the outdoor swimming pool was fantastic and well cared for. The only down side was that it was not Life guarded /attended.

Our pitch has a nice view out to Carbis Bay but toward the evening when the sea breeze picked up you could feel the chill in the air. Each pitch is separated by hedgerow so your plot has an element of privacy from your neighbours (but not from their noise!. We did see a few rats early in the morning amongst the hedgerow but you kinda expect that sot of thing when camping.

In all a fantastic little site and I would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kat67 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from our week on this lovely site. It is very well kept indeed and the owners and staff work very hard all day to keep it looking spick and span.

I have to say that I had read reviews about them being very strict about times you leave and the quiet time at night, etc and was a little worried that we might find it a bit too regimented - but it wasn't like that at all.

Don't get me wrong, the site was quiet, but they certainly didn't mill around pitches banging on their watches and I did see a couple of people leave the pitch slightly later than the 10am deadline without being hassled.

There isn't really a shop, although they do sell a few items in reception, and a 'Sizzle' van visits on Saturday mornings if you fancy a bacon roll without having to cook it yourself!

Our pitch was on a gentle slope. Some pitches did have a more obvious slope than others, I rang them up after making my online booking and discussed pitches with them and they spent a long time with me to ensure that we got a pitch big enough for our tent, with surrounding hedges that didn't slope too much. Excellent service.

The toilet block was adequate for the size of the camp I would say - we were there over August Bank Holiday weekend and I never saw anyone queuing and never queued myself.

Although I did take the last available shower one morning so not sure whether anyone else came in after me that had to wait - but no-one was waiting when I'd finished either.

Toilets and showers were kept clean, they close the shower part for cleaning between 1pm and 4pm but you can still go in to use the toilets. I also saw staff in there outside of these times cleaning around as well.

Water was hot, showers were the push button type. There was a good size shower cubicle and a drying area with a bench. Only thing I could maybe suggest to make it better would be to provide a mop so that people could mop their cubicle out after themselves (especially the ones that insist on showering the cubicle with talc ) and maybe put in a couple of privacy cubicles.

There are occasions when you just want to go and freshen up but there were no privacy cubicles. There was apparently another toilet block with one shower in but I didn't go in that, and there are some toilets and a baby changing room (with big sinks to bath younger children) in the reception block.

The main toilet block also had a hairdryer in it which was free to use and plenty of sockets if you take your own hairdryer or straighteners.

Launderette was always busy, washing machines weren't really very good and didn't seem to get the washing clean but the dryers were fantastic and never took more than 15 minutes to dry even the towels!

Again, maybe this is one area that could be improved by replacing the washing machines and maybe adding a couple more? There are irons and ironing boards which are free to use.

You can buy washing tablets from reception if you have forgotten yours - and I do recommend that you either buy them from there or use a 2 in 1 powder/tablet because there doesn't seem to be an option to put fabric conditioner in!

Next to the launderette is a games room but this is really for older children as it has pool tables and a football table in it - a great room but not something we used.

The swimming pool on the site is superb and access to it requires a code being entered on the gate. Not only did this stop people using it that weren't camping there, but also it gave me peace of mind that my toddler couldn't wander off and end up in it! There is a huge playing field and a small playground in this part of the site too. Our 2 year old loved playing on that!

We walked into Carbis Bay a few times, having been there before we knew that the hill on the way back was steep and long, but we did manage it! However, there is a bus service that runs from the beach car park up to the top of the hill if you prefer.

The car park is very expensive and not the biggest in the world but the beach is fab. Also worth mentioning is the bus service that runs from the campsite into St Ives in high season.

The traffic in St Ives can be a nightmare. For £1. 75 per adult you can take the bus from the site car park - it runs hourly until 11. 20pm, last bus back from St Ives is 11. 10pm. Well worth the money if you don't fancy driving or walking there!

Lots of places to eat/drink in St Ives. But if you want to eat closer there is Becks fish and chip restaurant/takeaway and La Casita. There are a couple of pubs nearby (but probably a drive rather than a walk. ) but we didn't go to them so I can't comment on those. Local transport runs regularly from Carbis Bay to many places, we took the train to Penzance one day.

All in all, we loved our stay on Little Trevarrack and if we venture as far as Cornwall again, we would not hesitate to go back. I most definitely recommend it! 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3955 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement