Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Blue Anchor

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Hoburne Blue Anchor Reviews

Hoburne Blue Anchor
Blue Anchor Bay
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6JT
Tel: 01643 821360  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryan1324 16 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after we had driven past it previously. We were attracted to the fact that it DOES NOT have a club on site ((Bonus).

The roads to the site are a bit tight, our camping SatNav took us through watchet, but we went through Carhampton on way home.

On arrival the Pitch that we had booked (49) two months earlier had been given to another tourer, We were then given pitch 52, but alas this also had a unit on it.

The staff then gave us pitch 79 (which turned out to be a better pitch than pitch 49).

The touring site is level and each pitch has a hard standing. The pitches are a good size. We found the toilets and showers to be clean and ample. There was plenty of hot water. The washing up area was clean again with plenty of hot water.

The drinking water points were next to waste water emptying, This is the only bad point on the site as far as I'm concerned(Apart from dogs being allowed on site).

The reception was open until about 20:00hrs each day. The staff were always helpful.

The indoor heated pool was very good, communal changing areas, life guards in attendance throughout.

The shop on site was well stocked with alcohol, food items sweets and a few toys. The prices were reasonable.

The Childrens play park was great, It is also in the centre of the site which we were happy with, it allowed us to see our Grandkids when they were away playing.

The roads on site are good, children are allowed to cycle around the site.

The site is a quiet site (apart from our immediate neighbours, the Adults were worse than their kids) Dogs were accepted, and unfortunately I had to clean up some dog mess that had been left by someone (If you are taking your dog then CHUFFING clean up after it).

We stayed for a week Loved the site and its location being close to the beach, Loved the evening strolls with my Grandkids who were enthralled by the sea fish that were being caught.

We had a small mishap with my sons Bicycle, but the site Staff sorted out the issue for us, they were so helpful.

We ate at the Smugglers pub which is virtually next door. The food was brilliant.

We ate at the Butchers Arms in Carhampton, the food is awful. I was sick later in the night, luckily the Kids and my wife couldn't eat the slop that was served up to them.

The site is a great base for touring, we visted Watchet and took the steam train to Minehead. We visited Wookey hole which was a great day out. We also visted Crealey at Exeter another great day out. Finally we went to Dunster Castle where the kids attended Knight School, another great day.

I have no problem in recommending this site, it is brilliant. We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vulpitsa 1 review from this member

 Excellent value for money - they had a promotion and we paid 75 for 3 nights - 3 adults and 4 children. Electric hook-up, grass pitch - Motorhome + car

First of all it's clean! Don't expect 5 stars for the the money as it isn't. It's quiet and nice.

Location - you can see the sea from the gate.

Facilities - toilets block with showers, dishes area, laundrette with iron board and iron, free wifi, playground, covered swimming pool (heated), minigolf -1 per club, Nisa Local with a game room and books.

Water and grey water disposal

Close to the train station so it's easy to do day trips to Minehead or whatever you have in mind or English Heritage - Dunster Castle.

Huge carboot every Saturday next door where is also a pub with a free inflatable castle`to keep them occupied. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subry 7 reviews from this member

 What a location! could not have been any closer to the beach - which is great for walking on, not so good for sitting on - it's a bit pebbly and muddy (we went to Minehead when we wanted a proper sandy beach). The sunsets over the bay were second to none. We had a very nice spacious pitch, and were rather spoilt by being the only van on our row for the whole week. The steam train running behind the site is lovely, and you are aware of the trains passing but this is not intrusive. We bought a day rover ticket for the train and enjoyed the fact we could walk to the station from the site, and have a car free day (the train isn't cheap, but we used Tesco clubcard vouchers). The pool on site was great, we went 3 or 4 times, and it was never too busy. Nice shop on site with all the essentials. Lovely walk along the beach to the Blue Anchor pub, basic pub grub type food, but nice enough and reasonably priced, great garden with views over the bay. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

 Superb site, clean and well maintained.

At reception dealt with beautifully by the young lady in attendance, very welcoming.

The toilet block was warm and clean at various times visited.

Pitches have a hard standing area for your vehicle you are expected to reverse your van onto the grass.

A word of warning, if you are offered pitch 1 beware if its wet weather, this pitch gets waterlogged very easily.

As others have said an ideal base for visiting this part of the south-west.

Not the easiest site to get to with a caravan would recommend going to Carhampton and turning down the lane to Blue Anchor, also the better road in my opinion to get out of the village.

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO TOW THROUGH WATCHET. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gainfield 16 reviews from this member

 This site is in an excellent position, with good bus links along the coast to Minehead and watchet and of course the steam railway which is well worth a trip. We were placed in the corner of the camping field nearest the statics and near the sea and road,

Although very quiet (no road noise) we were bunched up close to other units although the site was far from full. The facilities were clean and tidy but there are the push button showers that a lot of commercial sites adopt presumably to save water/money, I personally find them inefficient and waste more water than the normal shower. There is a well stocked shop and swimming pool. I can recommend the Blue Anchor Hotel a short walk along the sea front, food was good and reasonably priced. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr and Mrs D 4 reviews from this member

 Good value at 68 for 4 nights over Easter which included hook up and use of the indoor swimming pool. Please be aware that, although the website states the touring pitches are hardstanding for car and caravan, the touring pitches only actually have hardstanding for your car and your caravan and awning go on grass. We were disappointed to discover this after a long, tiring journey and complained to reception immediately. I pointed out that I had specifically asked for hardstanding at the time of booking and was told by the receptionist that hardstanding meant for the car! After a little negotiation, they kindly offered us use of a vacant seasonal pitch which was hardstanding and much more suitable following the poor weather.

The toilet block was modern and OK but we were disappointed to find people taking their dogs in with them leaving muddy foot prints where you shower. Showers were hot and very powerful but you have to hold the button to keep them on. Swimming pool nice with unisex cubicles on the pool side. However, the only place to change with a baby was the disabled toilet as there were no changing tables in the changing rooms.

All the staff we met were very helpful and professional. The shop on site was useful, if a little expensive. Anyone concerned about noise from the steam train can relax if they are on touring pitches - could hardly hear it. The children's play area was very good and we felt our son was safe.

Very quiet site (although the Easter sub-zero temperatures probably put most people off BBQ's etc in the evening!) Used our Tesco vouchers on the WSR steam train and had a lovely day out. Dunster Castle is great for kids as it encourages children to interact with some of the exhibits/complete a quiz etc.

Lovely tea shops can be accessed direct from the castle's overflow carpark. The beach directly opposite the site is a pebble beach. There is a really nice cafe and also a pub, both within about 5 mins walk of the site. There are no recycling bins, other than at the top of the site.

Overall, a very good site but maybe we have been spoiled by the extremely high standard of the Caravan Club sites we have used recently. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

 A basic site that does have a indoor pool and a cost cutter. It's right on the sea front. The pitches are hard standing which was needed as it was quite wet and the grass was under water. The toilet block was clean and heated.

There was a proper motorhome service area like they have abroad that sadly seems be the exception rather than the rule in the uk.

Near to the entrance are static caravans, but you can walk off the site at the end where the tourers are sited, there is a gate, which is handy for getting to the pubs.

We went to the smugglers. Nice pub with real ales and scrumpy on draught. Had a meal, no complaints there at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Oldgazza 25 reviews from this member

 Booked in here for 4 nights and ended staying for six. Loved it. Great location, excellent toilet shower block, 50 yds from sea, great for swimming at high tide, but watch venturing out onto deep mud at low tide, or you will loose your shoes or worse.

2 pubs within walking distance, both serving local Otter ales, both serving food. Good for dog walking, go up past Smugglers pub onto public footpath through countryside. Yes they do now accept dogs on the touring site albeit it at a hefty 3 per night.

Leisure pool o. K for kids as very shallow, convenience store very handy.

Steam railway just down road good but pricey, 7 odd each return to minehead, better to get the day rover ticket I think.

At 14 per night with EHU when we stayed mid Sept that was cheaper than the C&CC CS site next door, which we incidentally tried to book first, but was advised was full. All in all good value, we will be back next year. Don't normally stop on big sites like this that cater for statics, but was impressed with this one, well done Hoburne, how about a sensible price for our mutts though, you only have one dog bin on the whole site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snakey 6 reviews from this member

 Very flat spacious campsite. Shower and toilet facilities beautiful and clean. Showers were power

Showers so plenty of water pressure. Nice swimming pool but rather shallow.

I felt the campsite was more suited to older people as their wasn't any thing much to do in the evenings for families apart from the play park. Beautiful view of steam train line which ran from 10ish until 5ish every day. We paid for a rover ticket which gave you unlimited travel on both steam trains and diesel trains for the whole day. Beach very disappointing at blue anchor we went into minehead for the beach but still muddy as the area is on the river estuary. Two pubs a short walk away with bouncy castles for the children. Wardens very diligent to unacceptable behaviours. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dj monster 8 reviews from this member

 A nice quite campsite, Pitches are a good size. Used the swimming pool near enough every day. Shower block did the job only had four showers in ladies but never had to queue at 07. 30 in the morning. Lovely large park on site right near caravans my 7yr old son loved it.

Local roads in area are very narrow watch your vans on the bends as it could get a bit scary.

Be prepared to travel as site is not near major attractions.

There was a chip van on sea front just outside campsite every day. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Blue Anchor have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Blue Anchor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement