Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Blue Anchor

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Hoburne Blue Anchor Reviews

Hoburne Blue Anchor
Blue Anchor Bay
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6JT
Tel: 01643 821360  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 41 to 47                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tonyreay 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site. Very open to the wind and rain. Toilet block exceptionally clean with large shower cubicles. It was quite empty when we visited so the staff didn't mind us changing pitches. Facilities were not brilliant, however, the cost of just £27 for three nights made it great value for money.
The Steam train is definitely worth a trip. If you have the time, go all the way to Bishops Lydiard and back. Its like travelling back in time.
 
Overall we would give it 8 out of 10 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aj007 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back after two nights stay, nice basic site it was fairly quiet with not all the pitches taken, very flat, nice clean shower block, good playground for kids.
 
Excellent value for money £27 for two nights for 2 adults and 5 kids.
 
Take note though the buses do not run on saturday or sunday but we took a steam train into watchet  on saturday for a few pints and a walk around the harbour, the train station is just outside the campsite entrance.
 
Good views across the channel to wales, good site to just chill out and do nothing, will probably return in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris owens 2 reviews from this member

 First outing with the caravan and a great flat site so I didn't have to worry to much about levelling up. As mentioned you literally walk to the gates and you are on the beach great for sea fishing over the wall. Plenty of wildlife running over the park mainly rabbits and ducks. The kids play area is well presented and maintained even though when I stayed there they were having problems with the locals vandalising it but even so they would inspect the park first thing every morning and if any problems they would be rectified straight away.

The pool area was great clean tidy with mini pitch and putt alongside the reception area ,shop was basic but enough for what you needed.

All in all a nice site but storm straps would be recommended as it does get very windy when the weather cools down. Minehead sea front is about 10 minute drive away with well stocked tesco and there are plenty of activity centres for the kids if the weather does get a bit bad and puts going to the beach out of the question. Tropiquaria is worth a visit bit of wildlife and a decent play park for the kids.Butlins also recommended £36 2 adults 2 kids for day pass. Watchet is also nice if you are looking for an olde English seaside town with antique store and fishing supplies. Some great views to be seen as well 


Reviewer: SCOOBYJASMINE 10 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Great site, Nice Location, across the road is the sea and beautiful views of Minehead. Choice of two pubs in close walking distance.Old steam train runs at the back of the park. Friendly staff, clean toilets and showers (would recommend you shower before 7pm ish as hot water ran out)
For kids a shallow indoor swimming pool 4ft deep max, mini golf and a lovely play area,my 7 year old son loved it.

We are going back as soon as we can.
 


Reviewer: sterlingcrazy 2 reviews from this member

 April 2004.
Blue Anchor is quite a big site with around 120+ pitches in one large field.

Spaces are not that big but big enough to pitch your van/awning/windbreaks etc.

The site has a shop/play area/swimming pool/crazy golf which kept the kids busy, but at peak periods can be very crowded and intimidating for smaller children.

Toilets/showers nice and clean but are shut for an hour each day for cleaning at around 10-11am which was a bit of a nuisanse.

The site is lovely as it is right on the sea front but remember to tie your awning down as you may lose it as it can get very windy.

The only major downfall of this site is that you are told that you cannot arrive until 2pm but on our 2nd day vans were pitching up at 9am so we though that was a bit unfair.

You also have to vacate your pitch by 10am, which was a bit early we thought.

Overall a good,clean site, with excellent facilities both near and far, but can get very busy and a little noisy late at night.

6 out of 10. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Colin

 July 2003
What can we say the best site we have ever stayed on, hop skip and jump and your in the sea, wonderful staff very friendly, exceptionaly clean, Great pub up the road (not on the site ) The kids have a great park away from the caravans brilliant swimming pool (indoors), and watch the steam trains 10 till 5, definetly returning 


Reviewer: Clair

 July 2002
Excellent dropped on this site by sheer luck .Should have stayed on a CL site in Minehead(rufc) arrived a 2pm but after waitng 2 hours for someone to come back to the site to move there van has all pitches was full and there was no warden we decided to get the camping book out and call around.Can't fault Blue Ancher at all indoor pool only small but kids (9,12) liked it excellent adventure play area showers &loos very clean pub 1/2 a mile away could hear some noise from that but couldnt blame the site .Only one moan day we was leaving new unit arrived at 9-30am and akes how long we would be befor we were gone. I did speak to the manager who told me he had let them on but told them to pick a empty pitch untill we had left.  


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 47     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Blue Anchor have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Blue Anchor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window