Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Blue Anchor

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Hoburne Blue Anchor Reviews

Hoburne Blue Anchor
Blue Anchor Bay
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6JT
Tel: 01643 821360  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: June David 2 reviews from this member

 We took our granddaughter to Hoburne, she loved the swimming pool and play area.

Facilities were clean site tidy and quite quiet(I expected some noise from the kids but all were well behaved)

Close to beach

Good base for exploring the minehead area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bumble2 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, reasonable fees considering there was an indoor pool for use. Pity I forgot my swimmers!

We arrived late, 21:00 but was already allocated a pitch on the late arrivals board, great service! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Friendly and helpful reception staff. Pitch flat and maintained. Didn’t use facilities closed to us however we were self sufficient so able to stay. Cafe on site was open.

Good location beach across road, no bus route close by walk up hill about a mile to main road to access public transport.

Local pub within walking distance and cafe close too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martin Bristow 2 reviews from this member

 What a let down this site was. Been to several hoburne sites and raved about them to other people.

They advertised being dog friendly. There was no dog exercise area on site. Had to use the beach. Got moaned at for playing with my dog outside out tourer off lead catching balls. There where 5 other units on the field away from us.

The website shows a lovely picture of a cafe. The best they could offer was a bacon or sausage bap. That shut at 6 PM. There is no shop to speak of for provisions. The nearest is in minehead 5 miles away.

The other facilities like shower block where excellent. Lots of hot water.

We where so bored we cut our stay short.

Wont be going back there or raving to other people how good Hoburne are 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hardygollop 6 reviews from this member

 Well kept site, my big niggle is the showers, after paying £25 a night the shower block was freezing cold, when my husband asked the warden why, she said it is because it's getting to the end of the season. And like another reviewer said the shower buttons were in very strange places and didn't stay in longing enough to get wet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Padrog 1 review from this member

 Great for the Steam Railway, the trains pass by the site every 45 minutes during the day and make a great spectacle. The Station is just a few minutes walk and your stay includes a discount voucher.

On site is a cafe, shop, a kids play park and a lovely indoor swimming pool, use of the pool is included in the price. There is a laundry room and a shower/toilet block central to the touring pitches. The shower block is clean but basic.

The nearby beach and pub are dog friendly as is the steam railway, the site is dog friendly too but we were told some larger breeds may not be welcome.

Getting there you'll find the roads off the A39 a little narrow especially if you follow the sat-nav instructions through Watchett. Head into Carhampton and follow the signs for Blue Anchor Bay to avoid the worst of them. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kim34 2 reviews from this member

 We went to this site last weekend and had an absolutely lovely time. The weather was absolutely beautiful which helped. The toilet facilities were good, clean with plenty of hot water and the showers are free. The site was cheap (£17. 50 per night). We didn't use the swimming pool or other facilities but we did have a meal in the Smugglers Arms next door which was lovely. The pub is a short walk along the sea front. The Site is right next door to the station for the steam railway so you can go off to Minehead and enjoy a drink without having to worry about driving. Overall we had a lovely weekend and will definitely go again. I would worry how bogging the touring field would be if it was raining though. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davtuc 3 reviews from this member

 Surprised to see 2016 reviews, booked this after viewing them, simply very inaccurate or out of date.

My experience, very second class campsite charging first class fee, £35. 00 per night, two people no pets, car and van, ehu.

Toilet block very dated, but floor kept clean, showers worst we've ever used, low push buttons, some won't stay in, some stay in for three seconds, all of them flood the next cubicle and main area. Water power so strong you can hardly stand under.

Did report it to no effect.

Black mould around top of all cubicles.

Grass on most of site not maintained very well, outer edge park has a dozen seasonal pitches where grass is kept better.

Reception shop good, didn't use pool.

Crude pitch layout, uhu but no tap or drain. Plenty of waste bins.

I asked a few others for there opinion, all agreed, too expensive and a poorly run touring site,

All expected better of Hoburne, Blue Anchor, we won't be coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Black-major 10 reviews from this member

 We found this on the net and got a great last minute deal for £365. 00 with EHU for 14 nights

Pitches are spacious and some are only a stone throw away from the beach

The showers and toilet block were cleaned regularly and well maintained

There is a laundry and drying facilities

There is an on-site shop which will cater for all your basic needs

There is no club house on-site, which to be honest did not bother us

The swimming pool was free and safe for all ages

The play area including ball game pitch would suit most ages, lots of kids when we were there

There is a Tesco’s – Morrison’s – Lidl supermarkets about 5 mins’ drive from site in Minehead

A couple of nights in the week a mobile chippy wagon is on the sea front which served freshly cooked cod and chips, really nice would recommend to try

There are 2 pubs on the blue anchor sea road, did try them out but was not impressed with food and drink selection, they both did not cater for children meals in my option and one was a dump, we did find a pub call the butcher arms just before Minehead and it served good beer and family type meals

Wachet was good with its old sea harbour, we had great fun crabbing and spent a few hours there, only gripe was 2 cod and chips – 2 sausage and chips – 4 cans of pop and four sachets of sauce was £28 very rude if you ask me

Minehead is a long high street with some of the well named branded shops on it high street and you can get what you need.

WARNING TO TOURERS TRAVEL VIA CARLHAMPTON DO NOT GO THOUGH WACHET

Cant wait to go back there were lots that we did not do 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cl51ffe 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site by accident and I am glad we did,

The pitches are level and we'll spaced out with hook ups

The shower, toilet block is the cleanest I have come across and are well set out and the showers are free they could just do with being on a timer

The site is clean and we'll placed

There are 2 pubs serving food and local beers very near with 1 overlooking the bay and at sun set this was beautiful, it is a good walk into watcher village an old fishing harbour

We were not equipped to use the pool so can't come to on this

We would define try come back and it was cheap at £17. 50 in august a real bargain

There is a good shop by the entrance serving the the site and local community

The steam train is also located by the site 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Blue Anchor have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Blue Anchor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement