Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Blue Anchor

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Hoburne Blue Anchor Reviews

Hoburne Blue Anchor
Blue Anchor Bay
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6JT
Tel: 01643 821360  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikecandsarhab 7 reviews from this member

 We found the reception nice and helpful, the diagram of how we were meant to park on our pitch was useless as our pitches didn't match the diagram, we found the pitch size good and the spacing was good with easy access to water waste and chemical points.

The showers were always clean even though there was only 4 of them, they were a little to powerful when only one was in use but this should drop if all 4 were in use.

The site was lovely and peaceful, our only main fault was we could not take our dog with us, we didn't have any problems with wind which we thought we might have being right on the seafront,

The steam train which was only a short walk to the station was a great part and it was a great ride into mindhead.

Overall we would love to go to this site again but cant because its not fair on our dog.

I would advise anyone who is going to this site to approach from the minehead end as the road through watchet and villages are a little tight. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindyloubag 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 2 nights on this site. The facilities are limited but good. The swimming pool was great and not too crowded, even on our rainy day. There was crazy golf which was fun. There is a playground area and a football area to the side of this. These are all under tree cover so chilly when weather is cold but great in keeping the midday sun off the kiddies.
The toilet / shower / washing up blocks were are kept very clean and tidy and there was never a queue to shower, etc. The staff were very helpful too.

It did feel as if we were in the middle of a car park as all the pitches were so close together and we were right in the middle of the touring field. However, I feel that if we were on one of the outer pitches it wouldn't have been quite so bad.

The site is right on the beach front and there is a lovely little cafe next door. There is also a steam train that stops at the little station down the road and will take you to minehead if you wish. We also visited Dunster Castle which our children (7 & 5) found fascinating and the village of Dunster itself is beautiful and quaint.

Overall, an enjoyable, quiet holiday and great for a couple of nights. Don't think I could hack a week but great for weekends. We will return at some time I'm sure. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 Lovely site right opposite the beach. Was very windy from 3pm - 7pm when the tide changed but apart from that it was glorious.

Very clean shower block, only 4 showers but the site was full and I never queued. Nice indoor pool and play area, the only grumble was a noisy neighbours, but you can get that anywhere! One evening the electric kept tripping out but they kept an eye on it and switched it back on very quickly, they put it down to too many people plugging microwaves etc in!

We will be returning at some point. 


Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chapman -Jones 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just for one night just to get some time away. The satnav took us through Watchet - lovely little place but very winding in our big motorhome. The way we went back (turn left outside campsite towards Dunster) was easier.

The site felt very functional and soulless. Very level, facilities good (eg easy electric hook-up, grey water drainage etc) but no wow factor at all. Shop was good. Swimming pool looked lovely.

Very windy and exposed to the channel. Great pub up the road (next to caravan club site and tiny smallholding) which served really good food.

We weren't organised enough but the steam train to Dunster and Minehead is just down the road and would have worked really well for us.

We went to Dunster in the motorhome. Tried initially to park in the village car park but we really couldn't get in there without taking up two spaces or going in the coach park so decided to drive up to the castle car park. We were early so no problems but we struggled to get out later - probably best to park in the overflow which is on the grass on the right before you get to the hardstanding car park.

Dunster Castle was fabulous - really worth visiting and the views are great. The walk around the mill was lovely and the village very picturesque. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie13bailey 4 reviews from this member

 We have just got back after staying two weeks at this site. The weather wasn't brilliant but the site made up for that. We had a lovely pitch not far from the play area which my 11 year old Daughter used quite a lot, she made some wonderful friends there.

Although the toilet block was small and I thought we would have trouble with only having Four showers we never had to queue for them at all. They were cleaned often too.

We only used the pool twice as it was quite small and got very busy on wet days as it was open to the public as well, the public had to pay to get in but if you were staying on site it was free.

We did miss them not having a club or pub on site but there was a lovely one within walking distance (The Smugglers) who did lovely meals, not having a club on site also meant it was quiet at night which was lovely!

We did struggle a bit with local attractions when it was raining as most were outside and the ones that were inside did not really appeal to our Daughter.

We would think of going back again, it was a lovely site and really close to the beach, bonus! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martinez 5 reviews from this member

 First the good bits.

Lovely location, and nearby (20 minute drive) is the town of Minehead (best to stock up at the large Tescos). Very pretty scenery, and as mentioned in other posts two pubs nearby. (The Smugglers is by far the best for food, but you must book, we saw dozens being turned away). Staff are very friendly and the site shop is well provisioned. The steam railway is a must and the best way to do it is buy a family rover ticket and spend the day jumping on and off at all the different villages.

The bad bits.

Some of the pitches are very small, and the site map in no way reflects the differences. I pointed out the size of the unit when we booked and we were allocated a decent sized pitch, but when we arrived we had been moved to a smaller one.

You are supposed to park your car in front of your unit, which we found impossible to do. We could have managed if we put the hook up post inside the awning!

Also the pitches are supposed to be hardstand. What a joke, the majority have a strip of tarmac about the size of a car. Some have an strip for the awning, but again I think you would need to ask.

The toilets are very poor. Clean? Yes, due to the hard work of the staff-but totally inadequate. There are four cubicles and four showers in the mens block. They ran out of hot water twice, and the showers are the awful push button type with no adjustment for the temperature-I personally found them too hot. I know Holbourne have only just taken over, and perhaps this will be one of the areas they address. But 1980's toilet blocks are not good enough these days.

Another point they fail to mention when you book is that the swimming pool is not free, which I felt strange, particlulary as the prices were akin to a public swimming pool, and a big sign outside advertises the fact it is also open to the public, which given its size is not appropriate. On two days they also closed the pool early with no explanation!?

Overall, this site is okay, but only average. There are a huge number of statics and I felt the site is more focused on them than touring units. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CrowleyJ+L  reviews from this member

 1: Easy to find.

2: Super location - so much to see in surrounding area. Very diverse - something for everyone. Gorgeous coastal and inland areas. Nature or commercialised you won't want for anything in this area.

3: Campsite itself is very clean. Reasonable sized pitches. Not overly huge but o.K.

4: Helpful and friendly staff. Always smiling.

5: Really clean toilets and showers.

6: Plenty of variety in on-site shop.

7: Didn't use the swimming pool but it looked lovely.

8: Good pitch prices - very reasonable.

We definitely will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Femalecaravaner 6 reviews from this member

 This site is actually on the sea front and is quite exposed, consequently when it was windy it was VERY windy. As a previous poster commented, the caravan was rocking all night!

The site is mainly statics with a smaller proportion given over to tourers. Pitches are flat and there is hardstanding for the caravan surrounded by grass. We have a twin axle and requested one of the larger pitches but we were allocated to pitch 11 which is a corner pitch and one of the smallest. Not sure whether the ladies that take the bookings are all that familiar with the touring pitches.

The facilities were generally very good. The toilet block was large and clean. The swimming pool was quite shallow and full of noisy children. Obviously great if you have kids but not so great if you were expecting a quiet swim. It seemed a bit strange that there weren't any proper showers in the changing rooms, though. There is a well-stocked shop on site with a small cafe that does a good full English. There is also a play area, a steam railway adjacent and plenty of wandering ducks to keep the kids amused.

There are two pubs within easy walking distance. The closest one (the Smugglers) does a good Sunday Carvery but booking is essential.

It cost £24 for three nights in mid September (Fri, Sat, Sun) which I think is good value for a hook-up pitch. I would definitely return here. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farley 11 reviews from this member

 This is the second time weve used this site. Love it because its so near the sea ,quiet and clean. One downside we found this weekend was that it became very windy on Sunday evening .We were pitched by the sea wall and It felt like gale force winds (weather said otherwise) rocking the caravan all night .We could get no more sleep so got up early and went home. Having experienced an aw full night would still use the site again but check the weather conditions. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: TheHuttons 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first trip in our new folding camper and chose this site. The first good point was that it was very flat, so no levelling needed!
The pitches were of a good size with a hard standing area for the car.
The site has a nice swimming pool that was quiet, despite it being the Bank Holiday and a n excellent play area out of the way from the camping area.
The steam train going past the site was great and a much nicer sound than a modern train!
The location was an excellent base for this part of the country with easy access to Minehead, Watchet and Dunster.
The beach (watch out for the sinking sand!) was across a road which was quite busy at times and the noise of speeding cars at night was excessive.
The shower block was adequate (time your showers right before the hot water runs out!)and the shop was basic and could have done with a spruce up as the it let the rest of the camp down.
Night times can be VERY windy so baton down the hatches.
Overall the site was good and a great base for touring the area, we would use it again. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Blue Anchor have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Blue Anchor?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Blue Anchor dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3247 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement