Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Malton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dobby2148 4 reviews from this member

 First visit to Beechwood and very pleased with the facilities. Showers were clean and able to vary temperature of water. Nice additional aids with a seat to use in the shower, and squeegee mop to wipe floor and even a hairdryer! Wardens were friendly and helpful. The field to walk dogs was fine for small dogs but not big enough if you have larger dogs but we were given directions to a river walk not too far away. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 35 reviews from this member

 Visited during October half term, the site was mostly full, but didn't feel crowded. Make sure you follow the directions provided by the club as it's quite tricky to find especially in the dark.

The pitches are generous in size, the site has a play area and play field for the kids to let off some steam. There is only one shower block which gives quite a walk from some pitches, they were always warm and very clean. Dogs aren't allowed on the lane to the site, there is some noise from the nearby A64, though this does reduce at night.

The park and ride is just that bit too far to walk to, especially as there is no footpath. Parking in the city is very expensive, having said that, we did find Sainsburys at 1 an hour just outside the city walls.

York is a beautiful place to visit, we couldn't fit it all in, Jorvik is a must see, but you will have to queue. The Minster is simply stunning, the wall walk is also worthwhile. We did the ghost walk, which was very busy, it was okay, but a bit disappointing.

Will definitely visit again as there is so much to do in the city and area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

 Stayed at York Beechwood Grange as it is now called. Signage still very bad so suggest you download direction before you go. Very well tended and looked after, only one toilet block so sometimes a queue in the morning for showers but otherwise excellent. Recommend the Park and ride to York from Monks Cross well worth the 2. 70, , , , , and dogs go for free! Plenty to see around like Fountains Abbey and for Seaside Trips I recommend Scarborough. Overall a perfect site in a perfect place

Oh and like others the Toby Carvery particularly for a big breakfast before you move on! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. Was very quiet while we were there as children had gone back to school. Toilet and shower block was kept very clean. We thought the pitches were of a generous size. There is a dog walk but you cannot walk your dog outside the site gates as there are thoroughbred horses in the drive in. There is only one toilet block and I think it would be quite a walk if you were at the back of the site. There are recycle bins throughout the site. A pleasant site and very convenient for York. Will definitely come back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an enjoyable long weekend at Beechwood Grange. Got lost getting there when we left A64 but used the Toby Pub car park to turn around. Rang the site and they guided us in.

Booked in no problem and got a good pitch with some grass for our little dog to roam about on. You have to park with your van in line with the white peg and park down the far side of your van (water/wastemaster side). They tell you this when you book in.

Washroom and facilities are excellent and well looked after. Big field to walk the dog and there is a children's playground too.

We went out to York Centre/Whitby/Goathland/Pickering/ Monks Cross Shopping Centre and had a meal out at the Toby Carvery. Massive portions and friendly staff too.

Staff on site friendly. You can book a newspaper for the following day.

Will definitely go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Golfjill 5 reviews from this member

 This was my first visit to york for 40 years. So it took a lot of searching to find a suitable site for our visit. So, we did the usual York sights. The railway museum was just marvellous[and free] this was truly magnificent heritage stuff, and you could actually touch the exhibits, These great monsters are immense at floor level. Downstairs is the museum of everything British railways. Thousands of artefacts to do with a bygone age. The next visit was York Minster. A little surprised that there was a charge to enter, but still a beautiful church. The York Viking experience was interesting, You travel around underground on a monorail, passing time. Really good. York city itself was not quite what I was expecting, much larger than I thought;full of young people having fun in the sun. The site itself; After two attempts to actually find it[letter to caravan club over directions]we find a very attractive site. Plenty of grass pitches[which we prefer]wardens most helpful, as usual toilets and showers up to standard. There is a pub/restaurant just 5 minutes from the site, and the park and ride is not far away. Very useful when the car parks in York are so expensive. Took a trip to Castle Howard which is only 10 miles away. How the other half live!A great day out if the weather is good. All in all a lovely site. We will be back To go back to my comment on finding the site. From either direction you come upon an island where the site is a small lane off. Unfortunately as the island in on a dual carriageway it is impossible to see this small offshoot until it is too late. That means a return trip back up the road until you can return. The wardens have complained to their head office about this, but, as they say, nothing has been done. One day. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feebee 3 reviews from this member

 Had a very enjoyable 5 night stay. Easy access to the site although could be easy to miss exit but easy enough to rectify by going to next roundabout and coming back.

Wardens very welcoming we had to delay start of our holiday as my son had been in hospital rang them up and very they were good to roll our booking over to the following day. On arrival explained about some pitches could become waterlogged and these were marked with red markers although it had been dry so no worries for us and as we weren't using an awning decided to use one of the red marked pitches near to the play area so we could keep an eye on our little people. Excellent play area and large play field so kids could play football.

Although you aren't allowed to take dogs out for a walk out of the site there looked to be a large field for dogs to be exercised.

Good sized pitches and well spaced between pitches.

Toilet block up to the normal Caravan Club standard, always clean and warm.

Site is well located for access to York via Monks Cross Park and Ride only 2. 60 return for adults and kids go free. In Monks Cross retail park there was an Asda and a Sainsbury's as well as other retail outlets.

On the way to Park and Ride there is a Toby Carvery offering good value meal and along A64 the excellent Thompson's Fish and Chip restaurant.

Whilst site is close to a busy road this did not cause us any issue but if you are sensitive to road noise this maybe an issue for you.

Lots to do in York enjoyed the Railway museum and mooching around the Shambles as well as watching the various street entertainers. Walk along castle walls very enjoyable and free.

I would recommend this site and will look to stay again in the not too distant future! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smart Family 73 reviews from this member

 When we booked this site in December 2012, for a week in April 2013 we were torn between Rowntree Park and Beechwood Grange but as Rowntree Park was being evacuated again due to flooding we took the safe option and went for Beechwood. With 3 children I certainly made the right choice.

This is a very nice, well laid out site with excellent large hard standing pitches all in very good condition. The site has trees and hedges. The toilet block is centrally located for easy reach anywhere in the park. The children enjoyed the very good playpark and large playing field and visiting the pregnant horses at the nearby stud, where the lady there was happy to tell them about them.

We were not troubled by and road noise, one family next to us moved pitch because it was under a rookery and had a dropping problem, which did not affect us. We used the park and ride for York city Centre at nearby Monks Cross most days, parking was free and the return was 2. 60 with all our children free. The buses were every 10 minutes, but we never had to wait. We also used the large Sainsburys and ASDA store at Monks Cross and the kids loved the Waterworld Swimming Centre.

The site was also ideally located as we visited Castle Howard and Flamingoland. I would recommend a visit to Thompson Fish and Chip Restaurant about 2 miles out on the A64. As for York there is so much to do we could not see everything in a week, but the best thing for me was the walk around the old walls.

We would certainly go back to Beechwood Grange and highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 92 reviews from this member

 Whilst there are no narrow or winding single track roads to negotiate, there is no getting away from the fact that access to the site could be a little bit tricky for the first time visitor.

The site is very close to the A64, but is accessed off two traffic signalled roundabouts and involves a few lane changes.

The site is mostly hard standing and at the time of our visit, those pitches which are prone to getting waterlogged (marked with a red peg) were not in use.

The site has a quite open aspect to it and is flat with very few trees. There is an excellent play area for the kids and a large field for walking dogs.

The site is handy for visiting the city of York, with the Monks Cross pay and display being only a mile or so up the road. At only 2. 50 per person return with free parking it offers great value for money.

There are numerous supermarkets within a few miles as there are out of town shopping opportunities. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brookside 7 reviews from this member

 We spent a very enjoyable long weekend at Beechwood Grange as it was convenient for a weekend away and a family get together. In a good location close to the York park and ride, and with easy access to all of the major routes out of York this site is perfect for York, the North Yorkshire moors, and surrounding areas. Access to the site is good and easy to find, and just far enough away from the York ring-road to minimise traffic noise to a very low level. Site administration is the usual keen and well-organised CC affair, and pitches are well-managed and consist of a mix of grass and hard-standing. Normal electric hook-ups on all pitches, with water and waste points close by the pitch. The washrooms are heated, modern, and in line with the usual high caravan club standards, and throughout our stay were spotlessly clean.

There are a couple of pubs within a short drive (or moderate walk) including a Toby carvery which was good value. The site shop is limited to a few basic items but there are a choice of supermarkets within a couple of miles.

The list of worthwhile places to visit is endless, but during the weekend we visited the Yorkshire air museum (a mixture of indoor and outdoor) which was very good, the beautiful and fascinating Castle Howard, a trip through the North York moors and 'Heartbeat country', fish and chips at the harbour in Whitby, the Dalby forest drive back to the site, and of course York, the minster, and the shambles. And after that, a much-needed great pint ! 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement