Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Malton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigehall 4 reviews from this member

 We’ve just returned from 5 nights at Beechwood, at the start of the Easter holidays.

The site is up to the usual Caravan Club high standards. All pitches are level and of a good size. Nearly all are hard standing so rock pegs are essential.

Although the site was full the toilet/shower block was always very clean.

There is a good play area with swings and climbing frames that our 2 children (3 & 5) loved playing on. Also there is a large playing field with football pitch and goal posts.

Plus a separate field for dog walking. (You can’t walk your dog off site as it shares a drive with a stud farm).

Also there’s a really good Fish & Chip van that comes round the site every Mon, Wed & Fri at 6:30pm!

The site is very easy to get to from the A1237 or A64 so no need to fight your way through York.

The only down side at the moment is that there are a lot of road works around the roundabouts near the site. We found that there was no problem getting out of the site but you could be stuck in a 20min jam on either the A1237 or A64 trying to get back in! Hopefully this won’t last too long. Although for information we found that the A1036 (Monks Cross) always had much smaller queue’s!

As for things to do, well apart from the obvious attractions in York, you are just a 5min drive from Monks Cross retail park, with all main shops plus a large Asda and Sainsbury’s. There’s also a large swimming pool complex and a Park & Ride service.

We took our children to Creepy Crawlies, a large indoor and outdoor adventure play site which is about a 10min drive back along the A1237 at Cliftongate Business Park, Wigginton Road.

They stayed for hours and loved it!

Also nearby is Clfton Moor retail park with another Park & Ride, and also ten pin bowling and multi screen cinema if the weather isn’t so good!

So to sum up this is a great site in a great location, and we will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nov02 23 reviews from this member

 Facilities are really good and clean. There is so much to see and do in York we didn't spend many days at the site, but when we did it was quiet and always clean. We used the park and ride at Monks Cross which is under 2 miles from the site. There is a great Information room just as you enter the site.

A really nice place and one that we will visit again next year. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flossie64 3 reviews from this member

 We had never been to York camping before so were unsure of site position.

It was a nice size site far enough from main road to avoid traffic noise.

All facilities very good. Shower block immaculate.

I wish other campsite operators would implement the mop and bucket approach as it definitely encourages people to keep the place tidy for other users.

As I have found on all other caravan club sites the wardens are very helpful.

Great transport links into York centre and only a couple of miles from the outlet shops.

We even saved our Tesco points and had a day at Flamingo Land 30 minutes drive away. A good day out ,would have been better with warmer weather ,as it is quite an exposed place.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Armo 4 reviews from this member

 Arrival - The staff are always friendly and approachable

Stay - Our last visit (we go several times a year) was again brilliant and relaxing, there is plenty for the kids to do be it bike rides, kite flying, football and so on.

Facilities - Kids playpark was previously ok, however had bark chippings and old equipment now it is fantastic for a caravan on site facility. It is brand new and better than my local council park. It has swings, climbing frames and is enjoyed with a little section for my 2 yr old and larger section for my 5 yr old. Landscaped and soft floor for when they fall off. Large football, kite fying area and a separate dog walking area.

The toilets are always clean, cubicles good and spacious and showers hot and powerful.

The park itself is clean and well laid out.

Nearby Attractions - York and everything that this wonderful place offers (see york council website). Perfect location with park and ride close by, plus retail outfits at the end of the road.

Overall - Our favourite club site for what it offers, clean, location and facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vics2003 2 reviews from this member

 Having tried, unsuccessfully to book onto the central York Caravan Club site at Roundtree Park, we booked a week on the Beechwood Grange caravan club site and it was terrific.

The facilities were immaculate. We especially appreciated the superb toddler/baby room (ask for the key). The play area and ball game field were both very well maintained and appropriate for a wide range of ages, we sometimes find play areas prohibitive for under fives, but this one was great for children of all ages. The staff welcoming and helpful during our stay with a handy hut of tourist information leaflets near the site office. The only negative point was the quality of the fish and chip van, but accept that this is beyond the control of the site!

Although lacking the proximity to the centre as Roundtree Park, the site was in very easy reach of the Monks Cross retail area and park and ride (£2 adult return, parking free). It is also easily reached off the main York ring road. We didn't find traffic noise an issue at all. We didn't need to move the car much during our stay and never had to drive into the city centre. It also enabled us to easily reach other out of city attractions such as Harrogate and Skipton. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jcs5patter 9 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for one night at the end of May 2008.

On arrival I found the warden a little rude, which is unusual for a Caravan Club site (perhaps she had had a bad day!).

On the whole a clean and tidy site, good for exploring York.

There is a Park and Ride near by, probably 5 mins drive, but we chose to walk (took about 20 mins). I did notice that there was a secure bike 'garage' at the park and ride, if I were to visit again, I would take the bike and cycle to the Park and Ride.

The site is situated near to a busy main road and the road noise can be heard easily. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for three nights, again caravan club standards maintained. This is a good site for visiting York and the surrounding countryside. However we parked near the dog walking area and found the noise from the A64 was constant. On the subject of dogs there is only a small exersise area and very strict rules due to the horses nearby, you have to make a car drive to give your dog a good run. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr Cal 3 reviews from this member

 Accessed via a long shared drive, the site opens out into an area of several acres. The pitches are nicely spread out, & of a good size. Ther is one toilet block, which is substancial & never overly busy. The standard of maintainance & hygene is excellent. Other facilities include an excellent kids play area, in which our three children spent many hours, a dog walking area & information room. There is also a small shop within reception. Three nights a week the site is visited by a fish & chip van. There is a Toby carvery, situated 2 minuites drive from the site, which offers great food & good value for money. My wife, myself & 3 kids 3,10 & 11, ate there for about £30.

You are only 10 minutes from the centre of york, &there is also a great retail park, which hosts both Asda & sainsburys, a mere five minutes from the site.

Staff on the site were very friendly & obviously work hard to maintain it.

Highly recomended! 


Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

 Well I think all of the previous reviews have said it but I will add my ten pennorth. This was my first time on a CC site since joining and I was extremely impressed. The site is well laid out with huge pitches and everything is clean and tidy. The toilet block is immaculate and the showers hot and plentiful with lots of hooks to hang stuff on! I also like the fact that the showers had proper mixers and not those silly push buttons that give you about ten seconds worth of water.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, toilet block cleaning was a bit obtrusive as they take them out of action from 1030 till 1230 but if you want immaculately clean facilities its a small price to play.

There was also a kids play area and a dog walking field. It was noticeable that there were lots of 'rules' signs around which I believe is typical of CC sites. Doesnt bother me a bit as I like it quiet and peaceful but might not be a site for big groups who want everything a bit more free and easy.

The chip van which comes regularly was a great treat, make sure you try them.

The best thing about the site is its proximity to a huge park and ride that even has a specialist area for motothome parking. Pop down there and park for free then its a £2.00 return bus ride into York which is a great place with loads to see and do and plenty of eateries. Only problem is that last bus is about 8.00 which precludes going into town for an evening meal but its not too far so a taxi shouldnt be exorbitant for MH owners and caravan car owners will probably find parking in the evenings.

A fantastic weekend site which is going to become a regular for me. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glallan 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent, this is the way all sites should be. Nice large level pitches, excellent children's play area. Toilet blocks immaculate with excellent HOT showers. Friendly site staff, chip van visits the site every second night. Easy access to supermarkets and Park & Ride to York ( don't bother trying to take your car into York). This was our second visit to Beechwood, we will be back and I would recommend this site to anyone visiting the York area. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement