Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Malton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: John Raeburn 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site perfectly situated to explore the City of York. Next to a stud farm the site is flat and well landscaped with everything you expect and need. We chose a grass pitch in the centre under some trees, plenty of room and close to the amenities. There is a dog walking area and a playground for the children. The Park and Ride in to York is a few minutes drive away, with designated parking for motor-homes, you can walk but there is no footpath along a busy main road so best to drive. The City of York, well what can you say with so much to see and do the day just flew past. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hughandpenny 23 reviews from this member

 Good clean site, good reception area with very welcoming staff who explained everything and gave us choice of pitch explaining where play area was so we could avoid/or not according to our wishes. Well laid out site with very clean spacious toilet block. Plenty of water /refuse points well spaced out but always close at hand. Good sized dog walk with plenty of poo bins. Only downside not being able to walk dog off site as not allowed on drive way shared with stud farm.

Imagine will be lovely in summer with trees, shrubs and foliage in full bloom and more than adequate for a few days chillaxing 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Livewires 11 reviews from this member

 We were only able to book one night here as it is a very popular site but we wish we could have stayed longer. This is a very well maintained, spacious site with very pleasant and helpful wardens and we found it to be far better than the Caravan Club's other site in York, Rowntree Park [although I think that it is being upgraded soon]. It is very handy for the park and ride into York and there is an excellent shopping park about a mile and a half away.

The pitches are large, mostly hard standing and with plenty of green areas.

This was our first time out with a motorcaravan and we found the service point to be a little awkward - it was poorly positioned right next to one of the roads through the park and on a corner with cars having to be careful when trying to get past.

We were not disturbed at all by any noise. The water/service points were a short walk away from our pitch but not a problem. The one toilet block was very clean and seemed to be perfectly adequate even though the site was full.

We especially appreciated the excellent dog field where our two border collies had a brilliant time off-lead. The grass was kept short and it was very clean. Adjacent, but completely separate, was a very good children's playground and playing field.

This is a site which we would recommend and return to. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ecocamping 8 reviews from this member

 This site is pleasant though we wish we had read these reviews first, the traffic noise was very noticeable, not a very peaceful site. Most of the pitches are now hard standing (none of the grass pitches were open on our visit) and so big in places it feels like you are in a car park.

Just one toilet block located to one side of the site and a little bit of an odd lay out - for example the washing up is indoors at the bottom of the corridor between the two doors to lady’s toilets and showers.

We did find it quite easy to get in to the city centre from, plus convenient for touring.

There is a large ball field and separate children’s play area all within sight of the caravans so I think its safer for children. There is also a petanque piste – unfortunately near the play area and not fenced so children were using it to build mounds with! So you had to flatten them first – not to mention warning children not to pitch their play tents there when you are playing!

The other down sides for us were Wi-fi antennae covering the whole site (located at toilet block and at service points), which we would choose to be away from, and mowing of the small grass strips between pitches most days, not just when pitch vacated which was worrying as going close to caravans and cars with mower and stone chips could potentially cause damage or injury.

On balance we would not go back to this site again as too noisy and too much hard standing to us.

Nearly forgot there was a dog walk too. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

 If choosing this site for its convenient situation to get into York, be aware that it has all the noise of an urban site with none of the benefits of actually being in the city. We found it noisy due to the surrounding roads, and thanks to low-flying aircraft (sometimes very low!), but it's not so close to York that you can easily access the city on foot unless you relish a long walk to the bus stop - so it's the worst of both worlds in that respect.

None of that matters too much if you're only staying for a night or two, however, as the park-and-ride (a five minute drive away) works well, delivering you by bus into the heart of the city for a reasonable fee. However, the buses stop running by 8pm, so if you're after city nightlife you'll have to make other arrangements.

The site is a little odd in its lay-out, with the facilities block tucked away to one side, so campers on the other side of the site have a longer-than-average walk to get to the showers. Also, there are only two water/waste points (other than at the facilities block) which seems too sparse for a site of this size.

Overall, I would recommend either camping in the heart of the city or in the heart of the country - this site is neither one nor the other and suffers as a result. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathyhudd 4 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site. The pitches were a generous size and, although we were quite close to the road, the noise did not bother us at all. If you get fed up with the carvery up the road there is a very nice and cheap alternative called the Four Alls which served generous portions is on the road to Scarborough. We had a fabulous time and this site is on our list of places to revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gingerbread 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with a designated play area for children. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Toilet facilities etc are to the standard expected from a caravan club site.

Excellent Farm Shop a few minutes drive from the site. A carvery is within walking distance of the site and a large retail park and park and ride into York are within a few minutes drive from the site.

We have been to this site 4 times in the last 2 years. We shall be going back to this site again this year. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flosssy 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. Location is an easy 3 mile drive to York and well placed to access good roads to Harrogate and Knaresborough or to head to the Yorkshire coast. Excellent nearby shopping facilities at Monks Cross as well as a park and ride service into York.

Site is picturesque with established trees and well-kept grassed areas. Driving through the stud farm with the horses on either side of the road is lovely. Dog walk is excellent - huge! Children's play area and games field are also good quality and confined to one area of the site to suit those without kids. Pitches are large and mostly hardstanding. Wardens are efficient and pleasant. Toilet facilities are good and well-maintained.

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay - booked for another 12 night stay in August before we left! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

 Our party was made up of Mum, Dad, our two boys aged 9 & 7 and our dog.

Beechwood Grange was a welcome relief and was most impressive even for Caravan Club standards.

Directions to the site were a breeze being right near to the A64 but set far back from the main road so as not to hear any road noise.

Check in was straight forward and easy and pitching was easy. As far as I could see, there was no pitches here that I would not have liked as the whole site and each pitch has advantages.

The toilet block is well heated and as usual, lovely and hot water always available. Chemical disposal was also easy as it seems most service points had this facility.

We came here with our dog and were fully aware of the restrictions placed on walking of dogs outside the gates to the site before arrival, but we were very pleased when we saw the good size dog walk. We have a Dalmation X Collie and so by her nature needs to be worked 2 or 3 times daily but even our doggie was tired by having such a good run nearby.

There is also a very good playing field on the site and can easily accommodate many families playing different games.

On some days of the week a mobile chippy comes onto the site and on the days of our stay each portion of chips was very tasty and good price considering.

While here we visited National Railway Museum in York, Creepy Crawlies and Yorkshire Air Museum both located not far from the CC site and would recommend all of these without hesitation but we also visited Yorkshire Farming Museum and this, with kids aged as ours are, I would give a miss. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catsanddogs 6 reviews from this member

 Our first trip with a caravan so we decided to keep it local (40 miles or so) in case of major unforeseen / oversights.

To paraphrase others, the approach road to the site is easy to miss but the new road layout makes that a mistake equally easy to rectify, go back on yourself at the next roundabout and take another shot.

The wardens on arrival were very friendly and as helpful as you'd expect from Caravan Club staff. As it was our first visit to a club site, everything from EHU instructions to basic site rules were explained clearly. We were given a map of the site and some leaflets (things to do in the area and site information) and told to pick a free pitch. Once we let the staff know where we had pitched, we were given a key to operate the entrance barrier (no deposit for the key).

Most pitches are hardstanding although I believe some grass pitches are available. We chose the pitch nearest the play park, or rather, our 3 young kids did. The noise from the play area between 6pm and 9pm may not be everyone's cup of tea but all goes quiet at 9pm, I wasn't aware that this was a rule on site but it has been mentioned in a previous review. This pitch also happens to be one of the nearest to the dog walking area so worked well for us. The dog walk area was clean and spacious with 5 or 6 bins.

The toilet block is faultless, very clean and piping hot water always available. I would say it is perfectly suited to a site of this size, rarely empty but never full.

We had the experience of the 'fish-and-chip-mobile' on our first night and it did exactly what it said on the tin. Good quality food cooked to order, I've had much worse food from regular chippies with good reputations.

Recycling facilities are a bit hit and miss but after speaking with a warden, it appears that the council take care of waste separation so the site is not at fault.

All in all, a great experience and one which we'll repeat. This is a 5 star site and it's easy to see why. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement