Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Malton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: 07/09 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: GB6ee 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a few years ago. We were very pleased to find a brand new toilet and shower building, it is absolutely spotless.

The warden was very friendly. Very nice level pitch.

Pub just down the road with good food. Monks Cross shopping a couple of miles away.

We will definitely be back again
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fortyfoot 5 reviews from this member

We found this very typical of Caravan club sites, and as it had just undergone a refurbishment the standards were very high. Grass cutting was kept to a minimum with the use of hard standings and it was well laid out.

The staff were very good and worked hard to maintain the standards. It was a quiet site located off the York northern bypass.

Be careful when approaching the site from the East as the last roundabout requires you to move from the right to the left had lane in a short distance. I missed this turn off and when onto the next roundabout and came back. I found this to be much easier and safer. I consider it to be a poor site access which is the highways responsibility as far as I am aware.

Handy for the Park and Ride.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thoranna 8 reviews from this member

This is a nice site which was quiet when we visited as it was outwith school holiday times. It was quite difficult to find due to the council taking the signs away!

There is only one toilet block on site which was kept very clean but would probably be really busy during busier times. The pitches were of a generous size, however, during our visit a number of pitches were unavailable due to tree cutting taking place. There is a good dog walk on site.

This is a well laid out site with something for everyone. Very convenient for York. Would definitely come back again

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zeagle64 5 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Beechwood Grange, handy for our first outing this season as it's fairly close to home. Overall, this was a great site for us; our two dogs loved the dog exercise area, the facilities were clean, wardens friendly, and the location is excellent for site seeing in and around York, North Yorkshire Moors and even Yorkshire coast.

The only reasons we've not given 10/10 are that you probably do need a car to get around, (although the site is down a fairly long drive, the entrance to the drive is on a busy junction close to the A64 which is notorious for congestion, and probably not best for pedestrians), the toilet block is a little 'tired' and could do with refreshing, and there are no super pitches, which would always be our preference if there was a choice. We have no small children so can't comment on child friendliness.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dobby2148 4 reviews from this member

First visit to Beechwood and very pleased with the facilities. Showers were clean and able to vary temperature of water. Nice additional aids with a seat to use in the shower, and squeegee mop to wipe floor and even a hairdryer! Wardens were friendly and helpful. The field to walk dogs was fine for small dogs but not big enough if you have larger dogs but we were given directions to a river walk not too far away.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin.eneale 34 reviews from this member

Visited during October half term, the site was mostly full, but didn't feel crowded. Make sure you follow the directions provided by the club as it's quite tricky to find especially in the dark.

The pitches are generous in size, the site has a play area and play field for the kids to let off some steam. There is only one shower block which gives quite a walk from some pitches, they were always warm and very clean. Dogs aren't allowed on the lane to the site, there is some noise from the nearby A64, though this does reduce at night.

The park and ride is just that bit too far to walk to, especially as there is no footpath. Parking in the city is very expensive, having said that, we did find Sainsburys at 1 an hour just outside the city walls.

York is a beautiful place to visit, we couldn't fit it all in, Jorvik is a must see, but you will have to queue. The Minster is simply stunning, the wall walk is also worthwhile. We did the ghost walk, which was very busy, it was okay, but a bit disappointing.

Will definitely visit again as there is so much to do in the city and area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scats.miller 41 reviews from this member

Stayed at York Beechwood Grange as it is now called. Signage still very bad so suggest you download direction before you go. Very well tended and looked after, only one toilet block so sometimes a queue in the morning for showers but otherwise excellent. Recommend the Park and ride to York from Monks Cross well worth the 2. 70, , , , , and dogs go for free! Plenty to see around like Fountains Abbey and for Seaside Trips I recommend Scarborough. Overall a perfect site in a perfect place

Oh and like others the Toby Carvery particularly for a big breakfast before you move on!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Was very quiet while we were there as children had gone back to school. Toilet and shower block was kept very clean. We thought the pitches were of a generous size. There is a dog walk but you cannot walk your dog outside the site gates as there are thoroughbred horses in the drive in. There is only one toilet block and I think it would be quite a walk if you were at the back of the site. There are recycle bins throughout the site. A pleasant site and very convenient for York. Will definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

Just returned from an enjoyable long weekend at Beechwood Grange. Got lost getting there when we left A64 but used the Toby Pub car park to turn around. Rang the site and they guided us in.

Booked in no problem and got a good pitch with some grass for our little dog to roam about on. You have to park with your van in line with the white peg and park down the far side of your van (water/wastemaster side). They tell you this when you book in.

Washroom and facilities are excellent and well looked after. Big field to walk the dog and there is a children's playground too.

We went out to York Centre/Whitby/Goathland/Pickering/ Monks Cross Shopping Centre and had a meal out at the Toby Carvery. Massive portions and friendly staff too.

Staff on site friendly. You can book a newspaper for the following day.

Will definitely go back

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Golfjill 5 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to york for 40 years. So it took a lot of searching to find a suitable site for our visit. So, we did the usual York sights. The railway museum was just marvellous[and free] this was truly magnificent heritage stuff, and you could actually touch the exhibits, These great monsters are immense at floor level. Downstairs is the museum of everything British railways. Thousands of artefacts to do with a bygone age. The next visit was York Minster. A little surprised that there was a charge to enter, but still a beautiful church. The York Viking experience was interesting, You travel around underground on a monorail, passing time. Really good. York city itself was not quite what I was expecting, much larger than I thought;full of young people having fun in the sun. The site itself; After two attempts to actually find it[letter to caravan club over directions]we find a very attractive site. Plenty of grass pitches[which we prefer]wardens most helpful, as usual toilets and showers up to standard. There is a pub/restaurant just 5 minutes from the site, and the park and ride is not far away. Very useful when the car parks in York are so expensive. Took a trip to Castle Howard which is only 10 miles away. How the other half live!A great day out if the weather is good. All in all a lovely site. We will be back To go back to my comment on finding the site. From either direction you come upon an island where the site is a small lane off. Unfortunately as the island in on a dual carriageway it is impossible to see this small offshoot until it is too late. That means a return trip back up the road until you can return. The wardens have complained to their head office about this, but, as they say, nothing has been done. One day.

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019