Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Malton Road
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bigpresh 4 reviews from this member

 We picked this site for an Easter break with the kids, we wanted somewhere that we could easily get in to York for a day trip for the railway museum & castle museum etc and didn't much fancy the other club site in York itself as some of the access roads looked like they may be a bit "fun" with a caravan in tow - access to this site on the other hand straight off the A64 is really easy.

We also wanted a site with a half decent playground for the kids to play and this site certainly ticked the boxes there too - they had a wonderful time, made some new friends immediately and had lots of fun.

The facilities block is of excellent standard - modern, clean, plenty of toilets and showers for the size of the site, we never had to wait, except for when the blocks were closed for cleaning - at that point, all that's available is the disabled & family bathrooms. The showers were powerful, lovely and hot, no silly timer push-buttons just proper controls, and plenty of space to change and hang up clothes.

We had a lovely friendly welcome from the wardens, who gave our kids activity packs etc and made them feel special too.

At night there was a little bit of road noise from the nearby A64, but nothing at all major, not loud enough to be a problem, and mostly covered by wind & rain in typical British Easter weather fashion anyway! The location isn't great if you fancy walks directly off the site - a more countryside located park would probably be better for that - but as we were planning to use it as a base for day trips out in the car that was no problem at all for us.

For our daytrip to York itself, it was an easy five minute drive to the park and ride at Monk's Cross where there was plenty of parking, and the "All York Family" bus ticket for all four of us including parking for 5. 50 was good value, a clean electric powered double-decker bus dropped us right into York near The Shambles. Monks Cross has a decent variety of shops too.

We went to the Pizza Hut there for dinner when we got back from York, but after seeing the prices and being expected to order ourselves by scanning a QR code on the table with our phone etc we changed our minds and walked out - it's not a fine dining restaurant for sure but for the prices being charged we'd expect to actually be served.

All in all the site was very nicely kept and we'd be more than happy to return. 


Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Iandps 1 review from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and a quote from my 15 year old Australian niece sums it up "it was lovely"

Brilliantly located for park and ride to York.

Very clean and warm facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Masham 5 reviews from this member

 Pitches are unusually large, with loads of grass for sitting out.

It feels quite rural although there is some traffic noise from the bypass and A64.

Wardens are absolutely excellent, very friendly and helpful and keep the site and modern facilities immaculate.

There is a camping field on site. Probably better if you have a car although I believe the bus stop is only 20 to 30 minutes walk away.

Expensive but this seems to be normal for club sites now.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonlocke58 3 reviews from this member

 Very well presented and clean site, run by pleasant welcoming people.

Unfortunately during our stay there was ongoing works in the Gents facilities. This meant that we had to use the ladies facilities as a unisex facility which we thought was not ideal. Couldn't understand why the facilities were being upgraded as they were in very good condition 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trace1 1 review from this member

 Loved it we will return.

Showers were lovely and clean.

The lady and gentleman that welcomed us were very helpful and friendly.

The pitches were a good size and all amenities were very all on hand. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lukeledge 38 reviews from this member

 Nice spacious site with decent size pitches, mainly hard standing.

Excellent facilities as you would expect from a CAMC site.

Friendly staff.

Site is 4 miles outside York. We found 2 bus stops within 15 mins walk of the site and there is a deal with a local taxi company for a set fare into town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 55 reviews from this member

 We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and asked to choose a pitch. Regrettably our van jockey wheel, suffered damage on a speed bump on the way in! At very low speed too.

The warden kindly gave us directions to nearby dealers. We were able to site our van on the pitch before heading off buy a new wheel.

Pitches are a good size, separated by hedges mainly hardstanding and flat, one or two grass. We were asked to choose a pitch but it was pretty full as we arrived about 3. 30.

The facilities block is really smart and maintained in immaculate condition.

Reception sells a range of foodstuffs and ice cream etc.

The site is a few minutes drive from the Monks Cross Park and Ride which is has a cinema and retail park with fuel.

The park and ride is excellent with frequent efficient electric buses.

York has loads of attractions and a great range of pubs and restaurants.

We enjoyed a river cruise, walking on the city walls and the Railway Museum as well as local hostelries.

The site wifi was pretty good. TV and phone signals good too.

There is a pub about 10 minutes walk from the site.

You could walk or cycle to the park and ride which has storage boxes for bikes.

We would happily visit this lovely site again, we had really nice weather during our stay.

It is popular so if you arrive early will have to wait outside.

Please obey the 5mph speed on the approach road as there are horses in the fields either belonging to the stud farm and watch the big speed hump by the entrance!

There is a kids play area and dog walk on site You cannot walk or carry dogs off the site due to the horses either side so must take them in the car. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracybutton 2 reviews from this member

 Highly recommend for visiting York. The pitches are very spacious and the facilities are some of the best I have seen. The shower block and toilets are immaculate.

There is a small shop which sells the essentials and TV reception was good.

Will definitely return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asfc70 47 reviews from this member

 Warmly greeted and explained Covid policies in place. Told to pick any pitch. Nice shower block which incorporated washing up and laundry. Site is the best laid out I have ever been to.

Dog walking area was great, our miniature Dachshunds met lots of friendly dogs. Site is at the end of the lane from the roundabout, do not turn into Beechwood Caravan Park 50 yards before Beechwood Grange.

Toby Carvery is just on the opposite side of the roundabout. Monks Cross shopping centre is a 5 minute drive away and very popular. We drove into York, parking is 2. 60 an hour.

Scarborough is a 45 minute drive and plenty of parking at North Bay fir the castle and Peasholm park. Prefer Willow House though due to the bus stop outside that site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Colinlob 15 reviews from this member

 Had a pleasant three day stay at Beechwood Grange.

Better than usual CAMC standards for the services block. The revamp has worked really well. Having more than two hooks in the shower compartments means you can hang all your stuff up without having to move it around to get dry.

We arrived on a day when it had rained continuously for hours. There was surface water on a few of the hard-standing pitches, but these had dried up enough by the next day.

Site a couple of miles from Monks Cross park and ride for an easy journey into York, which drops you at the bottom of The Shambles.

Easy enough to get to the site, just count your roundabouts. Some road noise in the background, but not intrusive and I suspect most people will have worse at home.

Site is not particularly cheap, but as it was full, I suspect they charge what they can get away with.

The access road has a speed limit on it, but as usual a few seemed to ignore this; most don't.

Overall, a fairly good site if you want to visit York and the surrounding areas. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is York Beechwood Grange Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement